CTNF 18/294,686 CTNF 99789 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on February 02, 2024 is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: PHOTODETECTION DEVICE INCLUDING SUPPRESSED OPTICAL COLOR MIXING OF PIXELS AND ENHANCED SENSITIVITY RATIO OF PHASE DIFFERENCE PIXELS . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 6-7, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Kurose (JP-2020174158-A) . It is noted that the Examiner is referencing Kurose (US 2022/0173150 A1) as a convenient English facsimile of Kurose (JP-2020174158-A). Claim 1 , Kurose discloses a photodetection device (solid-state imaging apparatus 1 includes a photodetection device, hereinafter, photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) comprising: a substrate (semiconductor substrate 12 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 12 , [0079], Fig. 1); multiple pixels (pixel array 3 is composed of multiple pixels 2 (i.e. pixels 2a / 2b / 2c , [0205]), hereinafter, multiple pixels 3 , [0079], Fig, 1) arranged two-dimensionally in the substrate 12 (multiple pixels 3 are arranged two-dimensionally in the substrate 12 , [0079], Fig, 1), and including photoelectric conversion parts (each pixel 2 includes a photoelectric conversion element (i.e. photodiode) which are photoelectric conversion parts, hereinafter, photoelectric conversion parts 42 , [0080], Fig. 1); a microlens layer (on-chip lenses 52 are a microlens layer, hereinafter, microlens layer 52 , [0092], Fig. 2) arranged on a side of the substrate 12 on which a light receiving surface (the p-type semiconductor region 41 (i.e. body region) is a light receiving surface, hereinafter, light receiving surface 41 , [0093], Fig. 2) of the substrate 12 lies (microlens layer 52 is arranged on a side of the substrate 12 on which a light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 lies, [0092], Fig. 2), and including multiple microlenses (on-chip lenses 52 are multiple microlenses, hereinafter, multiple microlenses 52 , [0092], Fig. 2) for concentrating incident light onto the photoelectric conversion parts 42 (microlens layer 52 includes multiple microlenses 52 for concentrating incident light onto the photoelectric conversion parts 42 , [0092], Fig. 2); and pixel separating portions (inter-pixel separation portions 54 are pixel separating portions, hereinafter, pixel separating portions 54 , [0099], Fig. 2) arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the substrate 12 (pixel separating portions 54 are arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the substrate 12 , [0099], Fig. 2), and having trench portions (pixel separating portions 54 has insulator 55 filling the trench portions, hereinafter, trench portions 55 , [0099], Fig. 2), wherein the multiple pixels 2a / 2b / 2c include normal pixels and phase difference pixels (pixels 2a / 2b / 2c may include normal pixels and phase difference pixels, [0205], Figs. 25A-25B), the multiple microlenses 52 include individual-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in the normal pixels 2a (multiple microlenses 52 include individual-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in the normal pixels 2a / 2b / 2c , [0098], Fig. 2), and shared-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of photoelectric conversion part groups (photoelectric conversion part groups, hereinafter, photoelectric conversion part groups 42-1 / 42-2 , [0207], Figs. 25A-25B) each including the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in adjacent ones of the phase difference pixels 2 (shared-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of photoelectric conversion part groups 42-1 / 42-2 each including the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in adjacent ones of the phase difference pixels 2 , [0209], Figs. 25A-25B), and the pixel separating portions 54 / 101 include first pixel separating portions (intra-pixel separation portion 101 is a first pixel separating portions, hereinafter, first pixel separating portions 101 , [0207], Figs. 25A-25B) arranged between at least some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 (first pixel separating portions 101 is arranged between at least some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 , [0207], Figs. 25A-25B), and second pixel separating portions (silicon oxide film 64 form second pixel separating portions, hereinafter, second pixel separating portions 64 , [0175], Figs. 25A-25B) arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 where none of the first pixel separating portions 101 is arranged (second pixel separating portions 64 are arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 where none of the first pixel separating portions 101 is arranged, [0175], Figs. 25A-25B), and an end portion of each first pixel separating portion 101 on a side closer to the light receiving surface is positioned on a side of the light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 closer to a surface of the substrate opposite to the light receiving surface (i.e. bottom surface of light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 ) (the bottom end of first pixel separating portion 101 is an end portion, hereinafter, end portion of each first pixel separating portion 101 _ B of each first pixel separating portion 101 is on a side closer to the light receiving surface is positioned on a side of the light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 closer to a surface of the substrate opposite to the light receiving surface, Figs. 2 and 25A-25B), while an end portion of each second pixel separating portion 64 on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 is positioned closer to the light receiving surface 41 than is the end portion of the first pixel separating portion 101 _ B on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 (i.e. end portion of the first pixel separating portion 101 _ B is further from the light receiving surface 41 than an end portion of each second pixel separating portion 64 ) (end portion of each second pixel separating portion 64 on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 is positioned closer to the light receiving surface 41 than is the end portion of the first pixel separating portion 101 _ B on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 , Figs. 2 and 25A-25B). Claim 2 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1. Kurose discloses wherein the first pixel separating portions 101 are arranged between every adjacent ones of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 (first pixel separating portions 101 are arranged between every adjacent ones of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 , Figs. 25A-25B and ), and the second pixel separating portions 64 / 55 are arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in adjacent ones of the normal pixels 2a / 2b / 2c (second pixel separating portions 64 / 55 are arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in adjacent ones of the normal pixels 2a / 2b / 2c , Figs. 25A-25B and 32) and between some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in the normal pixels 2a / 2b / 2c and some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the photoelectric conversion part groups 42-1 / 42-2 that are adjacent to the some photoelectric conversion parts 42 (second pixel separating portions 64 / 55 are arranged between some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in the normal pixels 2a / 2b / 2c and some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the photoelectric conversion part groups 42-1 / 42-2 that are adjacent to the some photoelectric conversion parts 42 , Figs. 2, 25A-25B, and 32). Claim 6 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1. Kurose discloses wherein the trench portion 55 of each second pixel separating portion 64 / 55 is a groove portion having a uniform groove width (trench portion 55 of each second pixel separating portion 64 / 55 is a groove portion having a uniform groove width, Figs. 2 and 32), and the trench portion 55 of each first pixel separating portion 64 / 55 has a groove width smaller than the groove width of the trench portion of the second pixel separating portion 101 (trench portion 55 of each first pixel separating portion 64 / 55 has a groove width smaller than the groove width of the trench portion of the second pixel separating portion 101 , Figs. 2 and 32). Claim 7 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1. Kurose discloses wherein the substrate 12 has a semiconductor region of a conductivity type opposite (n-type semiconductor regions 42 is a semiconductor region of a conductivity type opposite to that of a charge accumulation region of each photoelectric conversion part 41 , hereinafter, semiconductor region 42 , [0091], Figs. 2 and 32) to that of a charge accumulation region of each photoelectric conversion part (p-type semiconductor region 41 is a charge accumulation region of each photoelectric conversion part, hereinafter, charge accumulation region of each photoelectric conversion part 41 ), the semiconductor region 41 being formed between the photoelectric conversion part 42 and the trench portions 55 (charge accumulation region of each photoelectric conversion part 41 is formed between the photoelectric conversion part 42 and the trench portions 55 , Figs. 2 and 32). Claim 9 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1. Kurose discloses wherein each normal pixel 2a / 2b / 2c has multiple recessed portions (recessed region 48 are multiple recessed portions, hereinafter, multiple recessed portions 48 , [0102], Figs. 2 and 32) in a shape of an inverted pyramid at the light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 (multiple recessed portions 48 are in a shape of an inverted pyramid at the light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0102], Figs. 2 and 32). Claim 10 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1, comprising: a color filter layer (color filter layer 51 , [0097], Figs. 2 and 32) arranged between the substrate 12 and the microlens layer 52 (color filter layer 51 is arranged between the substrate 12 and the microlens layer 52 , [0097], Figs. 2 and 32), and including multiple color filters that allow light of specific wavelengths (i.e. red, green, or blue, [0097]) included in light collected and condensed by the microlenses 52 to pass therethrough (color filter layer 51 includes multiple color filters that allow light of specific wavelengths included in light collected and condensed by the microlenses 52 to pass therethrough, [0098], Figs. 2 and 32), wherein an array pattern of the color filters 51 is a Bayer array (array pattern of the color filters 51 is a Bayer array, [0097], Figs. 2 and 32) modified such that at least one of color filters in the Bayer array is substituted with another color filter 51 (Bayer array is modified such that at least one of color filters in the Bayer array is substituted with another color filter 51 , [0244], Figs. 2, 32, and 33) to arrange color filters 51 of the same color for the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the same photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 (Bayer array is modified to arrange color filters 51 of the same color for the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the same photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 , [0246], Figs. 2, 32, and 33), or a modified 2m × 2m array in which color filter unit groups (i.e. quadrangle) are cyclically arranged (4x4 (m=2) array is modified in which color filter 51 unit groups are cyclically arranged, [0140], Figs. 7 and 8), each color filter unit group including a 2 × 2 array of color filter units each including 2 x 2 color filters 51 of the same color (each color filter unit group including a 2 × 2 array of color filter units each including 2 x 2 color filters 51 of the same color, [0139], Fig. 7), the 2m × 2m array being modified such that at least one of the color filters 51 in the 2m × 2m array is substituted with another color filter 51 (4 x 4 array is modified such that at least one of the color filters 51 in the 2m × 2m array is substituted with another color filter, [0252], Figs. 2, 32, and 33). Claim 11 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1. Kurose discloses wherein each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 includes 2 × 1, i.e., two, of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 (each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 includes a 2 × 1 array of photoelectric conversion parts 42 , [0252], Figs. 2, 32, and 33), or n × n (n is a natural number equal to or greater than 2), i.e., n 2 , of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 (each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 includes n x n photoelectric conversion parts 42 , [0139], Fig. 7). Claim 12 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1. Kurose discloses wherein each first pixel separating portion 101 is formed by two of the pixel separating portions 54 that project into a set of two of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 - 1 / 42 - 2 adjacent to the first pixel separating portion 101 from each of two sides in an outer periphery of the set (each first pixel separating portion 101 is formed by two of the pixel separating portions 54 that project into a set of two of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 - 1 / 42 - 2 adjacent to the first pixel separating portion 101 from each of two sides in an outer periphery of the set, [0207], Fig. 32), the two sides lying opposite to each other in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the two photoelectric conversion parts are arranged, when viewed from a side on which the microlens layer 52 lies (the two sides lying opposite to each other in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the two photoelectric conversion parts are arranged, when viewed from a side on which the microlens layer 52 lies (i.e. top down), [0207], Fig. 32). Claim 13 , Kurose discloses an electronic device (solid-state imaging apparatus 1 is an electronic device, hereinafter, electronic device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) comprising: a photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) including a substrate (semiconductor substrate 12 is a substrate, hereinafter, substrate 12 , [0079], Fig. 1), multiple pixels (pixel array 3 is composed of multiple pixels 2 (i.e. pixels 2a / 2b / 2c , [0205]), hereinafter, multiple pixels 3 , [0079], Fig, 1) arranged two-dimensionally in the substrate 12 (multiple pixels 3 are arranged two-dimensionally in the substrate 12 , [0079], Fig, 1), and including photoelectric conversion parts (each pixel 2 includes a photoelectric conversion element (i.e. photodiode) which are photoelectric conversion parts, hereinafter, photoelectric conversion parts 42 , [0080], Fig. 1), a microlens layer (on-chip lenses 52 are a microlens layer, hereinafter, microlens layer 52 , [0092], Fig. 2) arranged on a side of the substrate 12 on which a light receiving surface (the p-type semiconductor region 41 (i.e. body region) is a light receiving surface, hereinafter, light receiving surface 41 , [0093], Fig. 2) of the substrate 12 lies (microlens layer 52 is arranged on a side of the substrate 12 on which a light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 lies, [0092], Fig. 2), and including multiple microlenses (on-chip lenses 52 are multiple microlenses, hereinafter, multiple microlenses 52 , [0092], Fig. 2) for concentrating incident light onto the photoelectric conversion parts 42 (microlens layer 52 includes multiple microlenses 52 for concentrating incident light onto the photoelectric conversion parts 42 , [0092], Fig. 2), and pixel separating portions (inter-pixel separation portions 54 are pixel separating portions, hereinafter, pixel separating portions 54 , [0099], Fig. 2) arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the substrate 12 (pixel separating portions 54 are arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in the substrate 12 , [0099], Fig. 2), and having trench portions (pixel separating portions 54 has insulator 55 filling the trench portions, hereinafter, trench portions 55 , [0099], Fig. 2), wherein the multiple pixels 2a / 2b / 2c include normal pixels and phase difference pixels (pixels 2a / 2b / 2c may include normal pixels and phase difference pixels, [0205], Figs. 25A-25B), the multiple microlenses 52 include individual-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in the normal pixels 2a (multiple microlenses 52 include individual-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in the normal pixels 2a / 2b / 2c , [0098], Fig. 2), and shared-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of photoelectric conversion part groups (photoelectric conversion part groups, hereinafter, photoelectric conversion part groups 42-1 / 42-2 , [0207], Figs. 25A-25B) each including the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in adjacent ones of the phase difference pixels 2 (shared-type microlenses 52 each formed for a separate one of photoelectric conversion part groups 42-1 / 42-2 each including the photoelectric conversion parts 42 included in adjacent ones of the phase difference pixels 2 , [0209], Figs. 25A-25B), and the pixel separating portions 54 / 101 include first pixel separating portions (intra-pixel separation portion 101 is a first pixel separating portions, hereinafter, first pixel separating portions 101 , [0207], Figs. 25A-25B) arranged between at least some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 (first pixel separating portions 101 is arranged between at least some of the photoelectric conversion parts 42 in each photoelectric conversion part group 42-1 / 42-2 , [0207], Figs. 25A-25B), and second pixel separating portions (silicon oxide film 64 form second pixel separating portions, hereinafter, second pixel separating portions 64 , [0175], Figs. 25A-25B) arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 where none of the first pixel separating portions 101 is arranged (second pixel separating portions 64 are arranged between the photoelectric conversion parts 42 where none of the first pixel separating portions 101 is arranged, [0175], Figs. 25A-25B), and an end portion of each first pixel separating portion 101 on a side closer to the light receiving surface is positioned on a side of the light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 closer to a surface of the substrate opposite to the light receiving surface (i.e. bottom surface of light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 ) (the bottom end of first pixel separating portion 101 is an end portion, hereinafter, end portion of each first pixel separating portion 101 _ B of each first pixel separating portion 101 is on a side closer to the light receiving surface is positioned on a side of the light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 closer to a surface of the substrate opposite to the light receiving surface, Figs. 2 and 25A-25B), while an end portion of each second pixel separating portion 64 on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 is positioned closer to the light receiving surface 41 than is the end portion of the first pixel separating portion 101 _ B on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 (i.e. end portion of the first pixel separating portion 101 _ B is further from the light receiving surface 41 than an end portion of each second pixel separating portion 64 ) (end portion of each second pixel separating portion 64 on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 is positioned closer to the light receiving surface 41 than is the end portion of the first pixel separating portion 101 _ B on the side closer to the light receiving surface 41 , Figs. 2 and 25A-25B) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurose in view of Ha (US 2021/0143191 A1) . Claim 3 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1. Kurose does not explicitly disclose wherein the trench portion of each second pixel separating portion is formed by two groove portions having different groove widths. However, Ha discloses wherein the trench portion (Ha, isolation pattern 210 is a trench portion, hereinafter, trench portion 210 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , Fig. 2) of each second pixel separating portion (Ha, trench portion 210 comprises a second pixel separating portion, hereinafter, second pixel separating portion 210 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, second pixel separating portion 64 / 101 , Figs. 2, 32, and 33) is formed by two groove portions (Ha, second dielectric isolation pattern 212 and conductive isolation pattern 215 are two groove portions, hereinafter, two groove portions 212 / 215 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2) having different groove widths (Ha, trench portion 210 of each second pixel separating portion 210 is formed by two groove portions having different groove widths (i.e. width of second dielectric isolation pattern 212 vs. width of conductive isolation pattern 215 ), [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, second pixel separating portion 64 / 101 , Figs. 2, 32, and 33). The combination to utilize a trench portion having two groove portions having different groove widths allows for the removal of interface defects that may increase an image quality of the resultant photodetection device (Ha, [0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a trench portion having two groove portions having different groove widths to allow for the removal of interface defects that may increase an image quality of the resultant photodetection device (Ha, [0055]). Claim 4 , Kurose/Ha discloses the photodetection device (Kurose, photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1; Ha, image sensor 1 is a photodetection device, hereinafter, photodetection device 1 , [0053], Fig. 2B) according to claim 3. Kurose/Ha discloses wherein the two groove portions (Ha, two groove portions 212 / 215 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2) are a first groove portion (Ha, second dielectric isolation pattern 212 is a first groove portion, hereinafter, first groove portion 212 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2) having a mouth portion at the light receiving surface of the substrate (Ha, first groove portion 212 has a mouth portion at the first surface 100a is a light receiving surface 100a of the substrate 100 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2), and extending in a direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface of the substrate (Ha, first groove portion 212 extends in a direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface 100a of the substrate 100 , [0044], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2), and a second groove portion (Ha, conductive isolation pattern 215 is a second groove portion, hereinafter, second groove portion 215 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2) having mouth portions at a bottom surface of the first groove portion (Ha, second groove portion 215 has a mouth portion at the bottom surface of the first groove portion 212 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2) and at the surface of the substrate opposite to the light receiving surface (Ha, second groove portion 215 has a mouth portion at the surface of the substrate 100 opposite to the light receiving surface 100a , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2), and extending in the direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface of the substrate (Ha, second groove portion 215 extending in the direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface 100a of the substrate 100 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2). The combination to utilize two groove portions as a trench portion allows for prevention of a crosstalk phenomenon between pixel regions of the substrate (Ha, [0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize two groove portions as a trench portion to allow for prevention of a crosstalk phenomenon between pixel regions of the substrate (Ha, [0052]). Claim 5 , Kurose/Ha discloses the photodetection device (Kurose, photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1; Ha, photodetection device 1 , [0053], Fig. 2B) according to claim 3. Kurose/Ha discloses wherein the two groove portions (Ha, two groove portions 212 / 215 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2) are a first groove portion (Ha, second dielectric isolation pattern 212 is a first groove portion, hereinafter, first groove portion 212 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2) having a mouth portion at the light receiving surface of the substrate (Ha, first groove portion 212 has a mouth portion at the first surface 100a is a light receiving surface 100a of the substrate 100 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2), and extending in a direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface of the substrate (Ha, first groove portion 212 extends in a direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface 100a of the substrate 100 , [0044], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2), and a second groove portion (Ha, conductive isolation pattern 215 is a second groove portion, hereinafter, second groove portion 215 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2) being apart from the first groove portion in the direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface of the substrate (Ha, second groove portion 215 is apart from the first groove portion 212 in the direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface 100a of the substrate 100 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2), having a mouth portion at the surface of the substrate opposite to the light receiving surface (Ha, second groove portion 215 has a mouth portion at the surface of the substrate 100 opposite to the light receiving surface 100a , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, light receiving surface 41 of the substrate 12 , [0093], Fig. 2), and extending in the direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface of the substrate (Ha, second groove portion 215 extends in the direction perpendicular to the light receiving surface 100a of the substrate 100 , [0055], Fig. 2B; Kurose, trench portion 55 , 0099], Fig. 2). The combination to utilize two groove portions as a trench portion allows for prevention of a crosstalk phenomenon between pixel regions of the substrate (Ha, [0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize two groove portions as a trench portion to allow for prevention of a crosstalk phenomenon between pixel regions of the substrate (Ha, [0052]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurose in view of Jeon (US 2021/0126028 A1) . Claim 8 , Kurose discloses the photodetection device (photodetection device 1 , [0079], Fig. 1) according to claim 1, comprising: a color filter layer (color filter layer 51 , [0097], Figs. 2 and 32) arranged between the substrate 12 and the microlens layer 52 (color filter layer 51 is arranged between the substrate 12 and the microlens layer 52 , [0097], Figs. 2 and 32), and including multiple color filters that allow light of specific wavelengths (i.e. red, green, or blue, [0097]) included in light collected and condensed by the microlenses 52 to pass therethrough (color filter layer 51 includes multiple color filters that allow light of specific wavelengths included in light collected and condensed by the microlenses 52 to pass therethrough, [0098], Figs. 2 and 32). Kurose does not explicitly disclose a color filter separating portion arranged between the color filters, wherein the color filter separating portion is formed by at least one of air, a metal, and a low refractive index material having a refractive index lower than that of a material of the color filters. However, Jeon discloses a color filter separating portion (Jeon, fence structures 170 are color filter separating portions, hereinafter, color filter separating portions 170 , [0063], Fig. 4; Kurose, color filter layer 51 , [0097], Figs. 2 and 32) arranged between the color filters (Jeon, color filter separating portions 170 are arranged between the color filters 180 , [0063], Fig. 4; Kurose, color filter layer 51 , [0097], Figs. 2 and 32), wherein the color filter separating portion is formed by at least one of air, a metal, and a low refractive index material having a refractive index lower than that of a material of the color filters (Jeon, color filter separating portions 170 is formed by at least one of either a metal (i.e. barrier layer 171 ) and/or a low refractive index material (i.e. low refractive index layer 172 ) having a refractive index lower than that of a material of the color filters 180 , [0063], Fig. 4; Kurose, color filter layer 51 , [0097], Figs. 2 and 32). The combination of utilizing a light shielding pattern in combination with the color filter material would allow for a decrease/prevention of cross-talk between adjacent pixels (Kim, [0035], Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a light shielding pattern in combination with the color filter material would allow for a decrease/prevention of cross-talk between adjacent pixels (Kim, [0035], Fig. 2) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 2021/0136303 A1) discloses an image sensor 100a including an M x N array of pixels on a substrate 1 , wherein a plurality of microlenses ML / AML are disposed on color filters CF1 / CF2 / CF3 , which are separated by light shielding patterns 25 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHEVY J BOEGEL whose telephone number is (703)756-1299. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Partridge can be reached at 571-270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 12 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 14 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 15 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 16 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 17 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 18 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 19 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 20 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/294,686 Page 21 Art Unit: 2812