DETAILED ACTION
Claim 8 was added.
Claims 1-8 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-4, 7 and 8 are withdrawn from consideration (see discussion, below).
Claims 5 and 6 are examined in the current application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 5 and 6 in the reply filed on February 17th 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 7 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 17th 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo et al., (JP 2014064488 A).
Regarding claim 5: Kudo discloses a carbonated beverage where 50ppm-1500ppm of glycerol are blended in order to improve, or maintain the good flavor of the beverage (see Kudo abstract; 5th paragraph from the bottom of page 2; 8th paragraph from the bottom of page 3). Since the glycerol content in claim 5 overlaps the glycerol content in Kudo, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to the purpose of the claimed method to suppress foaming of the carbonated beverage: Kudo discloses the purpose of the glycerol is to maintain the good flavor of the beverage, but fails to disclose the suppression of foaming; However, given the fact Kudo discloses of adding the glycerol at similar amount to the claimed method, it is examiner’s position the foaming suppression imparted by the presence of glycerol to the carbonated beverage, would flow naturally from the addition of glycerol to the carbonated beverage to maintain the good flavor, as suggested in the prior art (i.e., Kudo et al.). As set forth in MPEP §2145, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding claim 6: Kudo discloses a carbonated beverage where 50ppm-1500ppm of glycerol are blended in order to improve, or maintain the good flavor of the beverage (see Kudo abstract; 5th paragraph from the bottom on page 2; 8th paragraph from the bottom of page 3). Moreover, Kudo discloses blending 1ppm-30ppm of bitter substance (i.e., flavoring) into the carbonated beverage (see Kudo bottom paragraph on page 2 to the top paragraph on page 3). While Kudo fails to disclose combining the glycerol and the bitter substance and blending the mixture of the glycerol and bitter substance into the carbonated beverage, adding a mixture of the additives rather than each additive on its own would have been obvious to a skilled artisan as means to save time.
As to the relative contents of the glycerol in the flavoring mixture: Given the fact Kudo discloses blending carbonated beverage with 50ppm-1500ppm glycerol and 1pp-30ppm bitter flavor, a combination of the glycerol and bitter flavor overlaps the claimed glycerol in the flavoring mixture, and thus prima facie case of obviousness exists. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792