Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 3627516 (Mifuji).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Mifuji discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery using a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a non-aqueous electrolyte having an active material capable of storing and releasing lithium reversibly [abstract, 0018]. The negative electrode comprises silicon or silicon-based alloy as an active material in the form of a powder [0018, 0060], graphite powder as a conductive agent, and Teflon as a binder [0041, 0063, Example 3] and formed into a paste. The mixture was applied to a copper foil to obtain a negative electrode (12) [0063]. Regarding claims 2-4, the graphite powder is a conductive agent. Regarding claim 6, the active material powder may be Si powder which is considered to be 100% silicon as no other materials are disclosed to be present with the silicon powder [0060]. Regarding claim 7, the silicon may be polycrystal or amorphous [0012]. The limitation of “for use” recited in the preamble is considered intended use and does not provide a structural distinction to the claimed subject matter. The electrode of Mifuji is expected to be capable of functioning as an anode of a proton conductive secondary battery as it contains the same materials claimed.
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2007-0069306 (Hong).
Regarding claims 1-5, Hong discloses fabricating a negative electrode comprising mixing nano-sized active materials (powder), a conductive material (carbon black or graphite) and a binder (PVDF) to form a paste (abstract, pages 3 and 5, Examples 1 and 7). The powder may be selected from a group including tin and silicon (abstract). The limitation of “for use” recited in the preamble is considered intended use and does not provide a structural distinction to the claimed subject matter. The electrode of Hong is expected to be capable of functioning as an anode of a proton conductive secondary battery as it contains the same materials claimed.
Regarding the term “predominant”, the term is not specifically defined, thus the broadest reasonable interpretation must be taken. Here, the term “predominant” is understood to mean the element (group 14) is present in an amount higher than other active materials. Hong discloses that copper may be present as part of the active material in an amount of 5-35wt% of the negative active material. The remaining 65-95wt% is considered “predominant”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over EP3292578A4 (Young) in view of KR 10-2007-0069306 (Hong) OR JP 3627516 (Mifuji).
Young discloses a rechargeable cell (battery) comprising negative hydrogen storage electrodes based on one or more group IV elements, for instance based on Si [0008]. The hydrogen storage materials include alloys of silicon, for example alloys of silicon with one or more of carbon, germanium and tin. For instance, amorphous alloys of silicon and carbon (amorphous silicon carbide) or alloys of silicon and germanium or alloys of silicon and tin [0025]. The anode (negative electrode) may further comprise binders and/or conductive materials [0032]. The negative electrode may include greater than 90wt% of the group IV element, and in considered predominant [0036].
Regarding the limitation of “paste” in the preamble, this limitation is considered a product by process limitation and it is not clear how the final product of Young which comprises a binder, conductive material and active material of a Group IV (i.e. Group 14) element differs from the claimed electrode. Regarding the active material being present as a powder, it is known to form an anode made of a Group IV element (Si or Sn in the form of a powder), a conductive material (carbon black), and a binder by forming a paste as demonstrated by Hong OR Mifuji. Young does not limit the manner in which the anode having a mixture of binder and conductive materials are formed but does state that the anode assemblies may include these mixtures in adherence to a current collector such as a metal foil substrate [0032]. Likewise, both Hong and Mifuji disclose applying the paste to a copper foil to form the electrode, thus demonstrating that it is known in the art how to form an electrode on a metal foil using a mixture of materials similar to that of Young. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the electrode of Young of a mixture of a powder form of the Group IV element and a binder and/or conductive material in the manner disclosed by Hong OR Mifuji where the materials form a paste for application to a metal foil with a reasonable expectation of forming an anode that is useful in an electrochemical cell as demonstrated by Hong OR Mifuji.
Regarding claims 2 -4, the conductive material of Young may be carbon black or graphite [0034].
Regarding claims 5 and 6, as stated above, Young discloses silicon and that the hydrogen storage material may be silicon which is considered 100% silicon [0021].
Regarding claim 7, Young discloses that the silicon may be polycrystalline, nanocrystalline or amorphous [0021].
Regarding claim 8, Young discloses the anode, a cathode comprising a nickel hydroxide [0038] which is the same material used by applicant (Examples) and is expected to possess the same property of being capable of absorbing and desorbing hydrogen. Young discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte between the cathode and anode [0113].
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2007-0069306 (Hong).
Hong discloses fabricating a negative electrode comprising mixing nano-sized active materials (powder), a conductive material (carbon black or graphite) and a binder (PVDF) to form a paste (abstract, pages 3 and 5, Examples 1 and 7) as discussed above. The negative electrode material may be silicon or tin and copper may be added in amounts of 5-35wt% of the negative electrode material. This amount of copper overlaps the claimed range of active material powder of silicon is 80wt% or more by weight. It would have been obvious to use silicon as suggested by Hong and with amounts that fall within the range claimed as the wt% of Hong overlaps the claimed range and provides a prima facie case for overlap.
Conclusion
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Jennifer McNeil/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723