DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/IB2022/057223 filed on 8/3/2022, which claims priority from the provisional application 63/230,317 filed on 8/6/2021. Claims 51-70 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51, 53, 58-59, 64, 67 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2020/0396684; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/2/2024, hereinafter Lin) in view of Levy et al. (US 2021/0344399, hereinafter Levy).
Regarding claim 51, Lin discloses a method performed by a user equipment, the method comprising: receiving a first channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) from a network node [Lin Figure 23 discloses a UE operation where the UE receives configurations for a set of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Lin Figure 23 operation 2302, paragraph 0259). In operation 2310, the CSI-RS resources are received (Lin paragraph 0263)]; and
Transmitting to the network node a CSI report, the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with at least the first CSI reference signal [Lin discloses that a PUCCH is transmitted with the CSI report using the PUCCH resources (Lin Figure 23, operation 2314; paragraph 0265). Further, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (i.e. CSI report comprising rank information) (Lin paragraph 0104)], wherein
The first rank information specifies a first maximum number of downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) spatial layers supported by the UE [Lin discloses that when UE is configured with a maximum MIMO layers for DL/BWP, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report in the DL BWP (Lin paragraph 0104). Further, the UE may be provided with maximum rank through RRC , and may assume the maximum MIMO layer for PUSCH in the UL BWP being same as maxRank (Lin paragraph 0134). The UE may report maximum MIMO layer for UL data transmission and corresponding UL BWP index (Lin paragraph 0142). (i.e. rank information corresponds to maximum number of DL/UL spatial layers)], and
The CSI report further comprises a first measurement value associated with the first received CSI reference signal [Lin discloses that a CSI report may include a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) report. It may also correspond to CSI-RS resource indicator (Lin paragraph 0264). Lin also discloses that a UE may report a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS configuration (Lin paragraph 0232); indicating a measurement value (i.e. RSRP) associated with the CSI-RS].
Although Lin discloses that a UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (see above); Lin does not expressly disclose the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with at least the first CSI reference signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Levy discloses that the UE may perform channel estimation from received CSI-RSs, perform interference measurement from the received CSI-RS for interference estimation, create a channel state feedback (CSF) report, and transmit it to the base station. The CSF report may include Rank indicators, PMIs, and/or CQIs for each configured CSI-RS Resource (i.e. rank information associated with CSI reference signal) (see Levy paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with at least the first CSI reference signal; as taught by Levy. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a base station to more effectively group UEs for MU-MIMO without additional CSI-RS transmission overhead, and improve overall network resource utilization (Levy paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 53, Lin and Levy disclose the method of claim 51. Lin and Levy further disclose wherein the first rank information specifies a first maximum number of UL spatial layers supported by the UE [Lin discloses that the UE may be provided with maximum rank through RRC , and may assume the maximum MIMO layer for PUSCH in the UL BWP being same as maxRank (Lin paragraph 0134). The UE may report maximum MIMO layer for UL data transmission and corresponding UL BWP index (Lin paragraph 0142)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 51.
Regarding claim 58, Lin and Levy disclose the method of claim 51. Lin and Levy further disclose wherein the method further comprises receiving from the network node a CSI report configuration for configuring the UE to include the first rank information in the CSI report [Levy discloses that the BS may configure the UE to report a history of CQIs and corresponding rank indices and/or precoding matrix indicators (Levy paragraph 0006). A base station may transmit a channel state report configuration indicating a set of one or more measurement resources and at least one of precoding information or rank indications associated with the set of one or more measurement resources. The UE may send a channel state report including a plurality of expected channel quality indicators (CQIs) over a time period based on the set of one or more measurement resources and the at least one of the precoding information or rank indications (Levy paragraph 0007)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 51.
Regarding claim 59, Lin discloses a method performed by a network node, the method comprising [Lin Figure 1 discloses an exemplary system comprising gNBs (i.e. a network node) communicating with UEs (Lin Figure 1, paragraphs 0048-0050)]: transmitting a first channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) [Lin Figure 23 discloses a UE operation where the UE receives configurations for a set of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Lin Figure 23 operation 2302, paragraph 0259). In operation 2310, the CSI-RS resources are received (Lin paragraph 0263). It is implicit that a UE communicates with a network node such as a base station as disclosed in Figure 1. Thus, the configurations for CSI-RS resources are transmitted from a network node to a UE]; and
Receiving a CSI report from a user equipment (UE) , wherein the CSI report comprises first rank information associated with the first CSI reference signal and a first measurement value associated with the first CSI reference signal [Lin discloses that a PUCCH is transmitted with the CSI report using the PUCCH resources (Lin Figure 23, operation 2314; paragraph 0265). Further, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (i.e. CSI report comprising rank information) (Lin paragraph 0104). Lin discloses that a CSI report may include a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) report. It may also correspond to CSI-RS resource indicator (Lin paragraph 0264). Lin also discloses that a UE may report a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS configuration (Lin paragraph 0232); indicating a measurement value (i.e. RSRP) associated with the CSI-RS], and
The first rank information specifies a first maximum number of downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) spatial layers supported by the UE [Lin discloses that when UE is configured with a maximum MIMO layers for DL/BWP, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report in the DL BWP (Lin paragraph 0104). Further, the UE may be provided with maximum rank through RRC , and may assume the maximum MIMO layer for PUSCH in the UL BWP being same as maxRank (Lin paragraph 0134). The UE may report maximum MIMO layer for UL data transmission and corresponding UL BWP index (Lin paragraph 0142). (i.e. rank information corresponds to maximum number of DL/UL spatial layers)].
Although Lin discloses that a UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (see above); Lin does not expressly disclose the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with the first CSI reference signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Levy discloses that the UE may perform channel estimation from received CSI-RSs, perform interference measurement from the received CSI-RS for interference estimation, create a channel state feedback (CSF) report, and transmit it to the base station. The CSF report may include Rank indicators, PMIs, and/or CQIs for each configured CSI-RS Resource (i.e. rank information associated with CSI reference signal) (see Levy paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with the first CSI reference signal; as taught by Levy. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a base station to more effectively group UEs for MU-MIMO without additional CSI-RS transmission overhead, and improve overall network resource utilization (Levy paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 64, Lin and Levy disclose the method of claim 59. Lin and Levy further disclose wherein the method further comprises transmitting to the UE a CSI report configuration for configuring the UE to include the first rank information in the CSI report [Levy discloses that the BS may configure the UE to report a history of CQIs and corresponding rank indices and/or precoding matrix indicators (Levy paragraph 0006). A base station may transmit a channel state report configuration indicating a set of one or more measurement resources and at least one of precoding information or rank indications associated with the set of one or more measurement resources. The UE may send a channel state report including a plurality of expected channel quality indicators (CQIs) over a time period based on the set of one or more measurement resources and the at least one of the precoding information or rank indications (Levy paragraph 0007)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 59.
Regarding claim 67, Lin discloses a user equipment, the user equipment comprising: a receiver for receiving a first channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) transmitted from a network node [Lin Figure 3 discloses a UE comprising various components such as an antenna, an RF transceiver, TX/RX circuitry, a processor, a memory, etc. (Lin Figure 3, paragraphs 0065-0072). Lin Figure 23 discloses a UE operation where the UE receives configurations for a set of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Lin Figure 23 operation 2302, paragraph 0259). In operation 2310, the CSI-RS resources are received (Lin paragraph 0263)]; and
A transmitter for transmitting to the network node a CSI report, the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with at least the first reference signal [Lin discloses that a PUCCH is transmitted with the CSI report using the PUCCH resources (Lin Figure 23, operation 2314; paragraph 0265). Further, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (i.e. CSI report comprising rank information) (Lin paragraph 0104)], wherein
The first rank information specifies a first maximum number of downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) spatial layers supported by the UE [Lin discloses that when UE is configured with a maximum MIMO layers for DL/BWP, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report in the DL BWP (Lin paragraph 0104). Further, the UE may be provided with maximum rank through RRC , and may assume the maximum MIMO layer for PUSCH in the UL BWP being same as maxRank (Lin paragraph 0134). The UE may report maximum MIMO layer for UL data transmission and corresponding UL BWP index (Lin paragraph 0142). (i.e. rank information corresponds to maximum number of DL/UL spatial layers)], and
The CSI report further comprises a first measurement value associated with the first reference signal [Lin discloses that a CSI report may include a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) report. It may also correspond to CSI-RS resource indicator (Lin paragraph 0264). Lin also discloses that a UE may report a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS configuration (Lin paragraph 0232); indicating a measurement value (i.e. RSRP) associated with the CSI-RS].
Although Lin discloses that a UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (see above); Lin does not expressly disclose the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with at least the first reference signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Levy discloses that the UE may perform channel estimation from received CSI-RSs, perform interference measurement from the received CSI-RS for interference estimation, create a channel state feedback (CSF) report, and transmit it to the base station. The CSF report may include Rank indicators, PMIs, and/or CQIs for each configured CSI-RS Resource (i.e. rank information associated with the reference signal) (see Levy paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with at least the first reference signal; as taught by Levy. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a base station to more effectively group UEs for MU-MIMO without additional CSI-RS transmission overhead, and improve overall network resource utilization (Levy paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 69, Lin discloses a network node, the network node comprising: a transmitter for transmitting a first channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI- RS) [Lin Figure 2 discloses an exemplary base station (i.e. a network node) comprising various components such as antennas, RF transceivers, TX/RX circuitry, a processor, a memory, etc. (Lin Figure 2, paragraphs 0055-0063). Lin Figure 23 discloses a UE operation where the UE receives configurations for a set of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Lin Figure 23 operation 2302, paragraph 0259). In operation 2310, the CSI-RS resources are received (Lin paragraph 0263). It is implicit that a UE communicates with a network node such as a base station as disclosed in Figure 1. Thus, the configurations for CSI-RS resources are transmitted from a network node to a UE]; and
A receiver for receiving a CSI report transmitted from a user equipment (UE), wherein the CSI report comprises first rank information associated with the first CSI reference signal and a first measurement value associated with the first CSI reference signal [Lin discloses that a PUCCH is transmitted with the CSI report using the PUCCH resources (Lin Figure 23, operation 2314; paragraph 0265). Further, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (i.e. CSI report comprising rank information) (Lin paragraph 0104). Lin discloses that a CSI report may include a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) report. It may also correspond to CSI-RS resource indicator (Lin paragraph 0264). Lin also discloses that a UE may report a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS configuration (Lin paragraph 0232); indicating a measurement value (i.e. RSRP) associated with the CSI-RS], and
The first rank information specifies a first maximum number of downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) spatial layers supported by the UE [Lin discloses that when UE is configured with a maximum MIMO layers for DL/BWP, the UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report in the DL BWP (Lin paragraph 0104). Further, the UE may be provided with maximum rank through RRC , and may assume the maximum MIMO layer for PUSCH in the UL BWP being same as maxRank (Lin paragraph 0134). The UE may report maximum MIMO layer for UL data transmission and corresponding UL BWP index (Lin paragraph 0142). (i.e. rank information corresponds to maximum number of DL/UL spatial layers)].
Although Lin discloses that a UE may determine the maximum rank indicator for a CSI report (see above); Lin does not expressly disclose the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with the first CSI reference signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Levy discloses that the UE may perform channel estimation from received CSI-RSs, perform interference measurement from the received CSI-RS for interference estimation, create a channel state feedback (CSF) report, and transmit it to the base station. The CSF report may include Rank indicators, PMIs, and/or CQIs for each configured CSI-RS Resource (i.e. rank information associated with CSI reference signal) (see Levy paragraph 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have the feature of the CSI report comprising first rank information associated with the first CSI reference signal; as taught by Levy. The suggestion/motivation would have been to enable a base station to more effectively group UEs for MU-MIMO without additional CSI-RS transmission overhead, and improve overall network resource utilization (Levy paragraph 0040).
Claims 52 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Levy, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2018/0191413, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 52, Lin and Levy disclose the method of claim 51. Lin and Levy do not expressly disclose wherein the method further comprises determining the first rank information based on an antenna arrangement used to receive the CSI-RS.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Suzuki discloses that maximum number of the layers assumed for determining the bit width for the RI (rank information) is determined in accordance with a smallest of the number of configured first ports and the third maximum number of layers. The port is a transmit antenna port for a CSI-RS; indicating that the rank information is determined based on antenna arrangement used for CSI-RS (Suzuki paragraph 0198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin and Levy to have the feature of wherein the method further comprises determining the first rank information based on an antenna arrangement used to receive the CSI-RS; as taught by Suzuki. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide effective communication between a terminal and a base station (Suzuki paragraphs 0011-0012).
Regarding claim 68, Lin and Levy disclose the UE of claim 67. Lin and Levy do not expressly disclose wherein the UE is configured to determine the first rank information based on an antenna arrangement used to receive the CSI-RS.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Suzuki discloses that maximum number of the layers assumed for determining the bit width for the RI (rank information) is determined in accordance with a smallest of the number of configured first ports and the third maximum number of layers. The port is a transmit antenna port for a CSI-RS; indicating that the rank information is determined based on antenna arrangement used for CSI-RS (Suzuki paragraph 0198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin and Levy to have the feature of wherein the UE is configured to determine the first rank information based on an antenna arrangement used to receive the CSI-RS; as taught by Suzuki. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide effective communication between a terminal and a base station (Suzuki paragraphs 0011-0012).
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Levy, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2021/0258058, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 65, Lin and Levy disclose the method of claim 59. Lin and Levy do not expressly disclose wherein the method further comprises the network node adapting a transmission to the UE based on rank information included in the CSI report.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wu discloses that the terminal feeds back CSI to the base station, which adjusts a radio signal that needs to be sent to the terminal according to the CSI. The CSI fed back by the terminal may contain a corresponding reported RI (rank information) and a CQI, so that the base station determines a number of codewords, a number of layers and a modulation and coding scheme used by each codeword in the downlink transmission (Wu paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin and Levy to have the feature of wherein the method further comprises the network node adapting a transmission to the UE based on rank information included in the CSI report; as taught by Wu. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for high CSI feedback performance while reducing CSI feedback overhead (Wu paragraph 0025).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 54-57, 60-63, 66 and 70 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 54 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the method further comprises receiving a second CSI reference signal from, the CSI report further comprises second rank information associated with the second CSI reference signal, but not the first CSI reference signal, and the second rank information specifies a second maximum number of DL and/or UL spatial layers supported by the UE; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 60 and 70 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the method further comprises transmitting a second CSI reference signal, the CSI report further comprises second rank information associated with the second CSI reference signal, and the second rank information specifies a second maximum number of DL and/or UL spatial layers supported by the UE; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 66 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the method further comprises the network node using rank information included in the CSI report to select a spatial filter from a set of spatial filters that includes a first spatial filter and a second spatial filter; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414