CTNF 18/294,779 CTNF 85916 Detailed Action Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 23-19 AIA Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 24-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP, R2-2102696, “Slice specific cell reselection” in view of Karakkad (US 2019/0191327 A1) . Regarding claims 24 & 43 , Karakkad discloses the mobile user equipment (UE) for a wireless communication network supporting a plurality of network slices and a method, wherein the mobile UE and method comprise: - obtain at least one candidate cell for a cell re-selection procedure (cell reselection, page 3, top), each of the at least one candidate cell having a rank (see rank, proposal 8, page 5); - determine whether a best-ranked candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell supports a network slice of interest of the plurality of network slices (see page, 5, proposal 8, “, the cells(s) which provide UE’s all the intended slice(s) are candidates for cell reselection. If there are multiple such cells, the UE shall reselect to the cell with largest R-value which becomes the highest ranked cell”); - if the best-ranked candidate cell does not support the network slice of interest (see page 6 middle, determination here, The UE determines the highest ranked cell in that frequency based on calculated criteria-R and criteria-S, The UE derives the priority of that frequency with the priority value corresponding to the highest priority slice supported by the highest ranked cell), determine whether the at least one candidate cell comprises at least one cell, by performing one or more communication quality measurements on each of the at least one candidate cell (see measurements, page 7, middle) using one or more of the at least two antenna panels; determine whether the at least one cell that supports the network slice of interest (choosing highest priority slice, middle page 6); and - if the at least one at least one cell supports the network slice of interest, select the cell for the cell re-selection procedure (see 2.3, page 3, selection) 3GPP does not specifically disclose “orthogonal cell” (see instant [0066], where applicant defines “orthogonal cell may refer to a candidate cell which, when measured using the first antenna panel 506 and/or the second antenna panel 508 , has a communication quality at least a threshold higher than a communication quality of each other candidate cell of the set of candidate cells”) 3GPP does not specifically disclose however Karakkad discloses: at least two antenna panels each having a different angular coverage (see UE equipped with multiple antennas, [0087]); a processor (see processor, [0008]) coupled to the at least two antenna panels; and a memory (memory, [0008]) coupled to the processor and storing processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor is configured, when executing the processor-executable instructions, to: - if the at least one candidate cell comprises the at least one orthogonal cell (see orthogonal cell by applicant definition [0013] of Karakkad), 3GPP does not specifically disclose however Karakkad discloses an “orthogonal cell” (by applicants’ definition of the word in instant specification)(see Karakkad “selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold”); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding claim 39 , A network node in a wireless communication network supporting a plurality of network slices, wherein the network node comprises: wherein a candidate cell of the set of candidate cells is an orthogonal cell if the candidate cell, when measured using one or more antenna panels of the mobile UE, has a communication quality at least the threshold higher than a communication quality of each other candidate cell of the set of candidate cells (see middle page 6, “The UE determines the highest ranked cell in that frequency based on calculated criteria-R and criteriaS The UE derives the priority of that frequency with the priority value corresponding to the highest priority slice supported by the highest ranked cell ”); and 3GPP does not disclose however Karakkad discloses: a transceiver (see [0072] trans.); by using the transceiver (see [0072] trans.), transmit the a processor coupled to the transceiver (see component sin fig. 10); and a memory coupled to the processor and storing processor-executable instructions, wherein the processor is configured (see component sin fig. 10), when executing the processor-executable instructions, to: - define a threshold or at least one parameter for determining the threshold for a multi- panel mobile (see multiple antennas [0087]) UE in the wireless communication network (see threshold [0013]), wherein the threshold is to be used by the mobile UE to find at least one orthogonal cell in a set of candidate cells used for a cell re-selection procedure (see [0013], “selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold.”), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 25 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the at least one candidate cell comprises a set of candidate cells, and wherein the processor is configured to determine that a candidate cell of the set of candidate cell is an orthogonal cell if the candidate cell, when measured using said one or more of the at least two antenna panels, has a communication quality at least a threshold higher than a communication quality of each other candidate cell of the set of candidate cells (see [0013], “selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold.”); 3GPP discloses the Karakkad an orthogonal cell and threshold (see Karakkad [0013]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 26 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 25, wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a UE message comprising a configuration parameter of the mobile UE and an indication of the network slice of interest; by using one or more of the at least two antenna panels (see [0087], multiple antennas), transmit the UE message to a network node currently serving the mobile UE in the wireless communication network (see fig. 10); and by using said one or more of the at least two antenna panels (see [0087], multiple antennas), receive the threshold or at least one parameter for determining the threshold from the network node (see threshold, [0013]); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 27, 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses mobile UE of claim 26, 3GPP does not disclose however Karakkad discloses wherein the configuration parameter comprises least one of: a number of the at least two antenna panels (see multiple antennas, [0087] “MIMO communications may employ multipath signal propagation to increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers, which may be referred to as spatial multiplexing. The multiple signals may, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas.”), a number of antenna elements in each of the at least two antenna panels (), a gain of each antenna element in each of the at least two antenna panels, and a hardware specification of the mobile UE; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 28 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 26, wherein the processor is configured to receive via at least one of a broadcast (see broadcast, Intro) signaling and a dedicated signaling from the network node (see RAN intro); Karakkad specifically discloses the threshold or the at least one parameter (see at least beam power, abstract) for determining the threshold (see threshold [0012]); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 29 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is configured to select the same antenna panel of the at least two antenna panels to perform the communication quality measurements on each candidate cell of the set of candidate cells (see [0013], “selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold.”); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 30 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is configured to select two or more antenna panels of the at least two antenna panels (see multiple antennas, [0008]) to perform the communication quality measurements on each candidate cell of the set of candidate cells see [0013], “selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 31 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is configured to: select, from the at least two antenna panels, an antenna panel (see multiple antennas, [0008]) which receives a stronger and/or higher-quality beam from the candidate cell; and perform the communication quality measurements on the candidate cell using the selected antenna panel (see [0013], “selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold. ”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 32 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is configured to: select, from the at least two antenna panels ((see multiple antennas, [0008])), an antenna panel which receives a higher number of beams from the candidate cell; and perform the communication quality measurements on the candidate cell using the selected antenna panel (see [0013], “It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. ”); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 33 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured, if the best-ranked candidate cell supports the network slice of interest, to select the best-ranked candidate cell for the cell re-selection procedure (see middle page 5, highest ranked cell); Regarding 34 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured, if the at least one candidate cell does not comprise the at least one orthogonal cell, to select the best-ranked candidate cell for the cell re-selection procedure (see middle page 5, highest ranked cell). Regarding 35 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured, if the at least one orthogonal cell comprises a set of orthogonal cells, to: measure a communication quality of each orthogonal cell of the set of cells; rank the set of orthogonal cells based on the communication qualities (see middle page 6, highest ranked cell); determine whether a best-ranked orthogonal cell of the ranked set of orthogonal cells supports the network slice of interest (see slice, see middle page 6, highest ranked cell); if the best-ranked orthogonal cell of the ranked set of orthogonal cells supports the network slice of interest (see slice, middle page 6), select the best-ranked orthogonal cell for the cell re-selection procedure (see reselection, middle page 6, ) 3GPP does not specifically disclose however Karakkad discloses “orthogonal cells” (see same ad described by applicant in [0013]) and “by using said one or more of the at least two antenna panels”(see [0087], multiple antennas); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 36 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 35, wherein the processor is further configured, if the best-ranked orthogonal cell does not support the network slice of interest (see middle, page 5, slice), to: determine whether the ranked set of orthogonal cells comprises a lower-ranked orthogonal cell that supports the network slice of interest (see rank, middle page 5); and if the ranked set of orthogonal cells comprises the lower-ranked orthogonal cell that supports the network slice of interest (see middle page 5, rank and slice), select the lower-ranked orthogonal cell for the cell re-selection procedure (see reselection, introduction). Regarding 37 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 36, wherein the processor is further configured, if the ranked set of orthogonal cells does not comprise the lower-ranked that supports the network slice of interest (see intended slice, page 5), to select the best-ranked (see highest ranked cell, middle of page 5) candidate cell for the cell re-selection procedure (see reselection, Introduction); 3GPP does not disclose how Karakkad discloses orthogonal cell (see [0013], “ selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold.”); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 38 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the mobile UE of claim 24, wherein the at least one candidate cell comprises a set of intra-frequency cells (see intra-frequency, section 2.4.1). Regarding 40 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the network node of claim 39, wherein the processor is configured to receive, by using the transceiver, a UE message from the mobile UE, the UE message of the mobile UE and an indication of a network of interest among the plurality of network slices (see requested S-NSSAIs, section 2.2), based on the UE message (see request, section 2.2).; 3GPP does not specifically disclose however Karakkad discloses the UE message comprising a configuration parameter (see beam power, abstract of communication between UE and BS) and wherein the processor is configured to define the threshold (see threshold, [0013]) or the at least one parameter (see beam power abstract) for determining the threshold (see threshold); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 41 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the network node of claim 40, wherein the configuration parameter of the mobile Karakkad best discloses the UE comprises at least one of: - a number of the antenna panels in the mobile UE (see multiple antennas [0087]), - a number of antenna elements in each of the antenna panels, - a gain of each antenna element in each of the antenna panels, and - a hardware specification of the mobile UE. 3GPP does not disclose how Karakkad discloses orthogonal cell (see [0013], “ selecting the cell of the plurality of cells based on a default cell selection configuration if the difference between the highest average cell quality and the average cell quality for the candidate cell may be greater than the threshold.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Regarding 42 , 3GPP in view of Karakkad discloses the network node of claim 39, wherein the processor is configured to transmit via at least one of a broadcast signaling and a dedicated signaling (see broadcast, introduction). Karakkad best discloses the threshold or the at least one parameter for determining the threshold to the mobile UE (see beam power, abstract); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Karakkad with that of 3GPP. It would conform to well-known skill in the field of invention. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 3 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 4 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 5 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 6 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 7 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 8 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 9 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 10 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 11 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 12 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 13 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/294,779 Page 14 Art Unit: 2643