DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed 29 May 2026, with respect to the objection to claim 7 have been entered. The objection to claim 7 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed 29 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
4. Applicant argues, on pg. 11, regarding claim 1 that Mihaylov fails to teach determining arcing events or any other abnormality, based on intensity of light, in a “period other than predetermined period.” The argument is not persuasive. Mihaylov specifically teaches that the optical detection system 102 detects arcing from wafter chucking to wafer de-chucking (plasma off) ([0047]). During the de-chunk sequence the plasma processing chamber 104 is monitored for arcing events ([0062]).
5. Applicant argues, on pg. 12, regarding claim 1 that Mihaylov does not teach or suggest identifying an abnormality based on the intensity of the plasma emission itself exceeding a threshold value. The argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 recites “the intensity of the light exceeds a predetermined abnormality determination threshold value”. The claim does not forbid the signal subtraction process taught by Mihaylov. As explained by Mihaylov, when the plasma is ON, the detected light emission signal subtracts the plasma light emission, and when the plasma light emission is off, a background noise may be subtracted ([0052]). Furthermore, Mihaylov explicitly states that an event is detected when the processed light emission signal is above a threshold value ([0055]-[0056]).
6. Rejection of claim 7 is maintained due to similar reasons as explained above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takahashi (WO 2019155725) in view of Mihaylov (US-20170140905).
6. Regarding claim 1:
Takahashi discloses a method of operating a mass spectrometer (pg. 1 teaches a mass spectrometry method. Abstract section teaches a mass spectrometer 1) comprising:
a step of introducing precursor ions into a reaction chamber (abstract section teaches the reaction chamber 2 into which the precursor ions are introduced); a step of generating radicals from source gas by generating plasma inside a radical generation chamber by supplying the source gas (pg. 5 teaches a raw material gas supply source 52 for introducing a raw material gas into the radical generation chamber 51 for generating plasma) and radio-frequency power to the radical generation chamber for a predetermined period (pg. 5 teaches high-frequency plasma source 53 for supplying microwaves for generating a vacuum discharge in the radical generation chamber 51. Pg. 5 teaches that the irradiation time of radicals is appropriately set)
by transmitting a predetermined control signal (pg. 5 teaches the control unit that sends instructions) to a source gas supply part (pg. 5 teaches that the opening degree of the valve 56 and the like are adjusted so that the flow rate of the radicals irradiated to the ions becomes a predetermined flow rate) and a radio-frequency power supply part (pg. 5 teaches high-frequency plasma source 53 for supplying microwaves for generating a vacuum discharge in the radical generation chamber 51);
a step of generating product ions by introducing the radicals into the reaction chamber (abstract section teaches the reaction chamber 2 into which the precursor ions are introduced. Pg. 4 teaches that the radical is irradiated to the reaction chamber, and product ion is generated);
Takahashi fails to disclose a step of measuring an intensity of light having a wavelength band including a wavelength of light emitted from the plasma inside the radical generation chamber; and a step of determining and notifying an abnormality of the mass spectrometer on a basis of a fact that the intensity of the light exceeds a predetermined abnormality determination threshold value during a period other than the predetermined period.
However, Mihaylov discloses a step of measuring an intensity of light having a wavelength band including a wavelength of light emitted from the plasma inside the radical generation chamber ([0026] teaches optical detector 112 for detecting light emission signals from plasma in the plasma processing chamber 104). Mihaylov does not specifically disclose a step of determining and notifying an abnormality of the mass spectrometer on a basis of a fact that the intensity of the light exceeds a predetermined abnormality determination threshold value during a period other than the predetermined period. However, Mihaylov discloses a step of determining and notifying an abnormality on a basis of a fact that the intensity of the light exceeds a predetermined abnormality determination threshold value during a period other than the predetermined period ([0055]-[0056] teaches that the arching event is detected when the processed light emission signal is above a threshold value. The arcing event may be classified based on the detected intensities. [0061] teaches that the controller 114 may load light plasma intensity associated with the current load. [0052] teaches that the optical detection system 102 detects arcing from wafter chucking to wafer de-chucking (plasma off). [0057] teaches that once an arcing event has been detected, a warning signal may be generated such as an audio warning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov to include a step of measuring an intensity of light having a wavelength band including a wavelength of light emitted from the plasma inside the radical generation chamber; and a step of determining and notifying an abnormality of the mass spectrometer on a basis of a fact that the intensity of the light exceeds a predetermined abnormality determination threshold value during a period other than the predetermined period. Such modification would allow for detecting optical events in the plasma processing chamber (as taught in Mihaylov [0026]), detecting abnormal discharge to prevent damage to the plasma processing system (as taught in Mihaylov [0028]), and also taking corrective action to terminate plasma processing (as taught in Mihaylov [0057])
7. Regarding claim 7:
Takahashi discloses a mass spectrometer (abstract section teaches a mass spectrometer 1) according comprising:
a reaction chamber into which precursor ions are introduced (abstract section teaches the reaction chamber 2 into which the precursor ions are introduced); a radical generation chamber (pg. 5 teaches radical generation chamber 51);
a source gas supply part configured to supply source gas to the inside of the radical generation chamber (pg. 5 teaches a raw material gas supply source 52 for introducing a raw material gas into the radical generation chamber 51);
a radio-frequency power supply part configured to supply radio-frequency power for generating plasma inside the radical generation chamber (pg. 5 teaches high-frequency plasma source 53 for supplying microwaves for generating a vacuum discharge in the radical generation chamber 51);
a plasma generation controller (pg. 5 teaches a control unit 8) configured to supply the source gas and the radio-frequency power to the radical generation chamber (pg. 5 teaches a raw material gas supply source 52 for introducing a raw material gas into the radical generation chamber 51) for a predetermined period (pg. 5 teaches that the irradiation time of radicals is appropriately set) by transmitting a predetermined control signal to the source gas supply part (pg. 5 teaches that the opening degree of the valve 56 and the like are adjusted so that the flow rate of the radicals irradiated to the ions becomes a predetermined flow rate) and the radio-frequency power supply part to generate plasma inside the radical generation chamber (pg. 5 teaches high-frequency plasma source 53 for supplying microwaves for generating a vacuum discharge in the radical generation chamber 51).
Takahashi fails to disclose a threshold storage part that in which an abnormality determination threshold value is stored; a photodetector configured to measure intensity of light having a wavelength band including a wavelength of light emitted from the plasma inside the radical generation chamber; a light intensity determination part configured to determine whether or not the intensity of light measured by the photodetector during a period other than the predetermined period exceeds the abnormality determination threshold value; and an abnormality notifier configured to notify an abnormality of the mass spectrometer when the light intensity determination part determines that the intensity of the light exceeds the abnormality determination threshold value.
However, Mihaylov discloses a threshold storage part that in which an abnormality determination threshold value is stored ([0055]-[0056] teaches that the arching event is detected when the processed light emission signal is above a threshold value. [0061] teaches that the controller 114 may load light plasma intensity associated with the current load. [0068] teaches that the process data may be stored in memory 702); a photodetector configured to measure intensity of light having a wavelength band including a wavelength of light emitted from the plasma inside the radical generation chamber ([0026] teaches optical detector 112 for detecting light emission signals from plasma in the plasma processing chamber 104); a light intensity determination part configured to determine whether or not the intensity of light measured by the photodetector during a period other than the predetermined period exceeds the abnormality determination threshold value ([0055]-[0056] teaches that the arching event is detected when the processed light emission signal is above a threshold value. The arcing event may be classified based on the detected intensities. [0052] teaches that the optical detection system 102 detects arcing from wafter chucking to wafer de-chucking (plasma off). [0061] teaches that the controller 114 may load light plasma intensity associated with the current load). Mihaylov does not specifically disclose an abnormality notifier configured to notify an abnormality of the mass spectrometer when the light intensity determination part determines that the intensity of the light exceeds the abnormality determination threshold value. However, Mihaylov discloses an abnormality notifier configured to notify an abnormality when the light intensity determination part determines that the intensity of the light exceeds the abnormality determination threshold value ([0057] teaches that once an arcing event has been detected, a warning signal may be generated such as an audio warning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov to include a photodetector configured to measure intensity of light having a wavelength band including a wavelength of light emitted from the plasma inside the radical generation chamber; a light intensity determination part configured to determine whether or not the intensity of light measured by the photodetector during a period other than the predetermined period exceeds the abnormality determination threshold value; and an abnormality notifier configured to notify an abnormality of the mass spectrometer when the light intensity determination part determines that the intensity of the light exceeds the abnormality determination threshold value. Such modification would allow for detecting optical events in the plasma processing chamber (as taught in Mihaylov [0026]), detecting abnormal discharge to prevent damage to the plasma processing system (as taught in Mihaylov [0028]), and also taking corrective action to terminate plasma processing (as taught in Mihaylov [0057]).
8. Claims 2-6, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Takahashi, in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta (US 20190089135).
9. Regarding claim 2:
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov discloses the method of operating a mass spectrometer according to claim 1. Takahashi in view of Mihaylov fails to disclose a step of irradiating the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength in a state where the source gas and the radio-frequency power are supplied to the radical generation chamber.
However, Gupta discloses a step of irradiating the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength ([0037] teaches that the plasma chamber 20 is exposed to an ultraviolet light source or laser 34 that is optically coupled to the plasma chamber 20) in a state where the source gas and the radio-frequency power are supplied to the radical generation chamber ([0045] teaches Vspark being used in ignition circuit and that capacitors similar to those used in RF matching networks could be used. A gas with low ionization potential such as argon, Neon or Xenon may be introduced into the plasma chamber 20 to reduce the voltage required to ignite the plasma).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta to include a step of irradiating the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength in a state where the source gas and the radio-frequency power are supplied to the radical generation chamber. Such modification would allow for igniting initial ionization event to ignite the plasma (as taught in Gupta [0037]) and monitoring health and status of the overall system (as taught in Gupta [0075]).
10. Regarding claim 3:
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov further in view of Gupta discloses the method of operating a mass spectrometer according to claim 2. Takahashi in view of Mihaylov fails to disclose that wherein in the step of measuring the intensity of light having a wavelength band including the wavelength of light emitted from the plasma, light having a wavelength different from the predetermined wavelength among the light emitted from the plasma is detected.
However, Gupta discloses that wherein in the step of measuring the intensity of light having a wavelength band including the wavelength of light emitted from the plasma, light having a wavelength different from the predetermined wavelength among the light emitted from the plasma is detected ([0036] teaches that ultraviolet radiation may be used to ignite the plasma in the plasma chamber. [0039] teaches measuring the optical emission from the plasma 14 for measuring relevant electrical parameters of the plasma 14. Such optical emission has wavelength different from the ultraviolet light source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta to include that wherein in the step of measuring the intensity of light having a wavelength band including the wavelength of light emitted from the plasma, light having a wavelength different from the predetermined wavelength among the light emitted from the plasma is detected. Such modification would allow for measuring relevant electrical parameters of the plasma 14 (as taught in Gupta [0039]).
11. Regarding claim 4:
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov discloses the method of operating a mass spectrometer according to claim 1. Takahashi in view of Mihaylov fails to disclose that wherein when the intensity of the light in the predetermined period does not exceed a predetermined plasma ignition threshold value, the supply amount of the source gas and/or the radio-frequency power is increased.
However, Gupta discloses that wherein when the intensity of the light in the predetermined period does not exceed a predetermined plasma ignition threshold value, the supply amount of the source gas ([0004] teaches that the sensed parameter is compared to a first parameter threshold. [0005] teaches that the corrective action includes providing a purge gas through the plasma confining volume) and/or the radio-frequency power is increased ([0074] teaches that if ignition fails, loop voltage is increased).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta to include that wherein when the intensity of the light in the predetermined period does not exceed a predetermined plasma ignition threshold value, the supply amount of the source gas and/or the radio-frequency power is increased. Such modification would allow for initial ionization event to ignite the plasma (as taught in Gupta [0037]) and monitoring health and status of the overall system (as taught in Gupta [0075]).
12. Regarding claim 5:
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov discloses the method of operating a mass spectrometer according to claim 1. Takahashi further discloses that wherein during a period in which precursor ions are introduced into the reaction chamber (abstract section teaches the reaction chamber 2 into which the precursor ions are introduced), the control signal is transmitted to the radio- frequency power supply part (pg. 5 teaches a control unit 8. Pg. 5 teaches high-frequency plasma source 53 for supplying microwaves for generating a vacuum discharge in the radical generation chamber 51).
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov fails to disclose that the control signal is repeatedly transmitted to the radio-frequency power supply part at a predetermined frequency and duty ratio.
However, Gupta discloses that the control signal is repeatedly ([0047] teaches applying train of pulses for a given time to enable plasma ignition within that time period. [0049] teaches that a plasma ignition command is generated and transmitted) transmitted to the radio-frequency power supply part at a predetermined frequency ([0042] teaches that resonant circuit 124 is tuned to have a resonant frequency at the desired plasma excitation voltage VSpark switching frequency. [0048] teaches that the repetition rate of the sinusoidal pulses in each pulse train can be approximately 100 to 1000 kHz) and duty ratio (a duty ratio is defined as the ratio of the pulse width (the ON time) to the total period (determined by frequency). [0046] teaches changing the pulse width of the power supply. By disclosing a system where the both a repetition rate (frequency) and a pulse width are controlled, Gupta discloses the control of a predetermined duty ratio).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta to include that the control signal is repeatedly transmitted to the radio-frequency power supply part at a predetermined frequency and duty ratio. Such modification would allow for desired plasma excitation voltage to enable plasma ignition (as taught in Gupta [0047] and [0042]).
13. Regarding claim 6:
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta discloses the method of operating a mass spectrometer according to claim 5. Takahashi in view of Mihaylov fails to disclose that wherein the frequency is less than 333 kHz.
Gupta does not specifically disclose that wherein the frequency is less than 333 kHz. However, Gupta discloses that the repetition rate of the sinusoidal pulses in each pulse train can be approximately 100 to 1000kHz (as taught in [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta to include that wherein the frequency is less than 333 kHz. Such modification would allow for a suitable frequency based on the conditions of the particular ignition scenario (as taught in Gupta [0046]).
14. Regarding claim 8:
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov discloses the mass spectrometer according to claim 7. Takahashi in view of Mihaylov fails to disclose a light irradiation part configured to irradiate the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength, wherein the plasma generation controller is further configured to control the light irradiation part so as to irradiate the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength in a state where the source gas and the radio-frequency power are supplied to the radical generation chamber.
However, Gupta discloses a light irradiation part configured to irradiate the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength ([0037] teaches an ultraviolet light source or laser 34 that is optically coupled to the plasma chamber 20), wherein the plasma generation controller is further configured to control the light irradiation part so as to irradiate the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength ([0008] teaches an ignition circuit generates an ignition signal. [0036]-[0037] teaches that ultraviolet radiation may be used to ignite the plasma in the plasma chamber 20) in a state where the source gas and the radio-frequency power are supplied to the radical generation chamber ([0045] teaches Vspark being used in ignition circuit and that capacitors similar to those used in RF matching networks could be used.. A gas with low ionization potential such as argon, Neon or Xenon may be introduced into the plasma chamber 20 to reduce the voltage required to ignite the plasma).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta to include a light irradiation part configured to irradiate the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength, wherein the plasma generation controller is further configured to control the light irradiation part so as to irradiate the radical generation chamber with light having a predetermined wavelength in a state where the source gas and the radio-frequency power are supplied to the radical generation chamber. Such modification would allow for initial ionization event to ignite the plasma (as taught in Gupta [0037]) and monitoring health and status of the overall system and taking corrective actions (as taught in Gupta [0075]).
15. Regarding claim 10:
Takahashi in view of Mihaylov discloses the mass spectrometer according to claim 7. Takahashi in view of Mihaylov fails to disclose that wherein a plasma ignition threshold value is further stored in the threshold storage part, the light intensity determination part further determines whether or not the intensity of the light in the predetermined period exceeds the plasma ignition threshold value, and when the light intensity determination part determines that the intensity of the light does not exceed the plasma ignition threshold value, the plasma generation controller increases the supply amount of the source gas and/or the radio-frequency power.
However, Gupta discloses that wherein a plasma ignition threshold value is further stored in the threshold storage part ([0004] teaches that the sensed parameter is compared to a first parameter threshold. [0075] teaches that the parameters are stored in a memory and/or processing device), the light intensity determination part further determines whether or not the intensity of the light in the predetermined period exceeds the plasma ignition threshold value ([0049] teaches a loop for checking for plasma ignition, if the plasma is not detected, the logic proceeds to take corrective steps), and when the light intensity determination part ([0039] teaches an optical detector 40 for measuring the optical emission from the plasma 14) determines that the intensity of the light does not exceed the plasma ignition threshold value, the plasma generation controller increases the supply amount of the source gas ([0004] teaches that the sensed parameter is compared to a first parameter threshold. [0039] teaches a power control circuit 42 that accepts data from the power detector 40, and then adjusts the power in the plasma. [0005] teaches that the corrective action includes providing a purge gas through the plasma confining volume) and/or the radio-frequency power ([0074] teaches that if ignition fails, loop voltage is increased).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta to include that wherein a plasma ignition threshold value is further stored in the threshold storage part, the light intensity determination part further determines whether or not the intensity of the light in the predetermined period exceeds the plasma ignition threshold value, and when the light intensity determination part determines that the intensity of the light does not exceed the plasma ignition threshold value, the plasma generation controller increases the supply amount of the source gas and/or the radio-frequency power. Such modification would allow for initial ionization event to ignite the plasma (as taught in Gupta [0037]) and monitoring health and status of the overall system and taking corrective actions (as taught in Gupta [0075]).
29. Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi, in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta, further in view of Shichi (US 20190362954).
Regarding claim 9:
Takahashi, in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta discloses the mass spectrometer according to claim 8. Takahashi fails to disclose that wherein the photodetector is a photodiode having sensitivity in a visible light region.
However, Mihaylov discloses that wherein the photodetector is a photodiode having sensitivity in a visible light region ([0041] teaches that the light detector 112 may include a photodiode. The light detector 112 is configured to detect in the wavelength range 400nm-900nm, which is in a visible light region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov to include that wherein the photodetector is a photodiode having sensitivity in a visible light region. Such modification would allow for the light detector to have specific wavelength spectral characteristic based on application requirements (as taught in Mihaylov [0041]).
Takahashi, in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta fails to disclose that the light irradiation part is an LED light source configured to emit ultraviolet light.
However, Shichi discloses that the light irradiation part is an LED light source configured to emit ultraviolet light ([0076] teaches that the light source 434 is an ultraviolet LED).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takahashi in view of Mihaylov, further in view of Gupta, further in view of Shichi to include that the light irradiation part is an LED light source configured to emit ultraviolet light. Such modification would allow for an energy efficient light source that can emit ultraviolet light.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571) 272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881