DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 2/2/2024 and 1/20/2026 have been fully considered; initialed copies of said IDSs are enclosed herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019-035271 (herein referred to as “Shin-Etsu”) in view of JP2002-62406 (herein referred to as “Nakajima”).
Shin-Etsu teaches a water-repellent article comprising a substrate (abstract) which may comprise plastic (0010-“The substrate to which the present invention is applied is not particularly limited, but metal oxides, metals, resins, ceramics, quartz, glass, sapphire…”), a silicon oxide underlayer (abstract) with a thickness of 2nm to 500nm (0022-“The film thickness of the silica layer formed on the surface of the substrate is appropriately selected depending on the type of the substrate, but is usually 1 nm to 5 μm, preferably 2 nm to 0.5 μm”) and a water-repellent surface layer formed on the outer surface of the underlayer (abstract). The water repellent surface layer is based on the cured product of a fluorine-containing organosilicon compound (abstract) represented by any one of the general formulas (1)-(5) (page 16):
(A-Rf) .sub.alpha -ZW .sub.beta (1)
Rf- (ZW .sub.β ) .sub.2 (2)
Z '-(Rf-ZW .sub.β ) .sub.γ (3)
A-Rf-Q- (Y) .sub.δ -B (4)
Rf- (Q- (Y) .sub.δ -B) .sub.2 (5)
Wherein Rf is — (CF .sub.2 ) .sub.d —O— (CF .sub.2 O) .sub.p (CF .sub.2 CF .sub.2 O) .sub.q (CF .sub.2 CF .sub.2 CF .sub.2 O) .sub.r (CF .sub.2 CF .sub.2) CF .sub.2 CF .sub.2 O) .sub.s (CF (CF .sub.3 ) CF .sub.2 O) .sub.t- (CF .sub.2 ) .sub.d- , p, q, r, s, t each independently being an integer of 0 to 200, and , P + q + r + s + t = 3 to 500, and each unit shown in these brackets may be randomly bonded, d is independently an integer of 0 to 8, and the unit may be linear or branched It may be a letter. A is a fluorine atom, a hydrogen atom, or a monovalent fluorine-containing group in which the end is —CF .sub.3 group, —CF .sub.2 H group or —CH .sub.2 F group, and Z and Z ′ are independently a single bond or is a divalent to octavalent organic group which may contain a nitrogen atom, an oxygen atom, a silicon atom, a phosphorus atom or a sulfur atom, and W is a monovalent organic group having a hydrolyzable group at its terminal. α and β are each independently an integer of 1 to 7, preferably α is an integer of 1 to 3, more preferably 1 and β is an integer of 1 to 3, and α + β is an integer of 2 to 8, preferably Is an integer of 2 to 4. γ is an integer of 2 to 8, preferably 2 . Q is a single bond or a divalent organic group, δ is each independently an integer of 1 to 10, Y is a divalent organic group having a hydrolysable group, B is a hydrogen atom, carbon It is an alkyl group of the number 1 to 4 or a halogen atom (page 16). For example, formular 1 of the reference reads on the claimed formula 1 wherein A is a fluorine or a fluorine containing group as defined above, RF is as defined above, Q (as claimed) si a single bond, Z is a a divalent to octavalent organic group, and W is a hydrolysable group and B is 2 to 7.
Shin-Etsu teaches a silicon oxide layer is present and that the density of said layer may be optimized by heat treatment (0021), but does not teach the density is a result effective variable. However, Nakajima teaches the density of a silicon oxide layer may be optimized to optimize the adhesion to a plastic substrate and the refractive index of said layer (see all). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the density of silicon oxide layer disclosed in Shi-Etsu. The motivation for doing so would have been to optimize the adhesion and refractive properties of said layer.
With regards to claim 2 and 3, the examiner notes that the claim does not require the formula (2) or formula (6) to be present; said claim only further limits said formulas if they are present.
With regards to claim 4, the cured product may comprise the fluoropolyether-containing polymer described above and a fluoropolyether containing polymer having of claimed formula (10 -see formula 4).
With regards to claim 5, the antifouling coating agent containing a fluorine-containing organic silicon compound “can be applied to a substrate by a known method such as a wet coating method (brush coating, dipping, spray, ink jet), or a vapor deposition method.”
With regards to claim 6, the substrate may be pretreated with plasma, UV, or ozone treatment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2020/0056067 and US 6,200,684 teaches fluoropolyether containing polymers repellant layers reading on the composition of claim 1. US 2003/0139620 teaches a laminate comprising a plastic substrate, a silicon oxide layer, and a fluoropolyether containing repellant coating.
KEVIN R. KRUER
Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787