DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 08/10/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 19-22, 24-26 and 28-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priyanto et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210195458) in view of Thangarasa et al. (U.S. Pub. 20220394532), further in view of da Silva et al. (U.S. Pub. 20180302914).
Regarding claim 19 Priyanto disclose, an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor read as: “processor 5021”; and at least one memory read as: “memory 5025” comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network element, an early measurement reporting configuration para. 86, “at optional block 1020, an EMR request is received, e.g., from a BS”;
receive, from the network element, an indication of whether early measurement reporting during small data transmission is allowed para. 91, “At optional block 1020, an EMR request is received, e.g., from a BS, the EMR indication could be indicative of whether the wireless communication device is generally capable of transmitting the UL message carrying the EMR”; and
wherein the small data transmission comprises an early measurement reporting report when early measurement reporting is allowed para. 96, “receipt of the EMR request is a trigger criterion for performing the channel measurement at block 1073 and transmitting the RA UL message carrying the EMR at block 1074”.
receive a request from the network element to send the early measurement reporting report para. 59, “By means of the EMR request, the network may be able to selectively activate transmission of the early measurement report (EMR)”.
Priyanto does not specifically disclose, wherein the early measurement reporting report comprises measurements for cell reselection and the early measurement reporting. However, Thangarasa teach, “If the UE is provided with a cell list (measCellList) useful for early measurement, the UE considers the serving cell and the cell identified by each entry in the measCellList to be suitable for EMR”, see para. 5.
Priyanto and Thangarasa are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to early measurement reporting in a cellular communications system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa in the system of Priyanto so the system could obtain the necessary information to setup all the available resources to the UE capable of managing multiple connections. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce connection establishment latency and reduce the network reselection delay.
Priyanto and Thangarasa does not specifically disclose, initiate, while in a radio resource control inactive state, small data transmission to the network element without transitioning to a radio resource control connected state. However, da Silva teach, “for the special case of small data transmissions, a possibility for the UE to perform data transmission without state transition from the inactive state to the connected state is considered” see para. 17.
Priyanto, Thangarasa and da Silva are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to early measurement reporting in a cellular communications system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of da Silva in the system of Priyanto and Thangarasa so the system could avoid the traditional multistep connection process for small data packets. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce network signaling load and power consumption.
Regarding claim 20 Priyanto disclose, wherein the early measurement reporting report is included in one or more of initial small data transmission or subsequent small data transmission para. 45, “the EMR may be transmitted together with an early data transmission (EDT) in Msg.3 of the RA procedure”, see Fig. 5B block 1074.
Regarding claim 21 Priyanto disclose, wherein the initial small data transmission comprises a radio resource control message for small data transmission para. 123, “the EMR 160 can be piggybacked to the RRC connection request 162 (cf. FIG. 8)”.
Regarding claim 22 Priyanto disclose, wherein the subsequent small data transmission is performed after the one or more initial small data transmission para. 113, “from this the BS 101 explicitly knows that a subsequent UL RA message Msg.3 6003 will carry the EMR 160”.
Regarding claim 23 Priyanto does not specifically disclose, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: perform measurements of neighbor cells or serving cells for reselection and early measurement reporting. However, Thangarasa teach, “If the UE is provided with a cell list (measCellList) useful for early measurement, the UE considers the serving cell and the cell identified by each entry in the measCellList to be suitable for EMR”, see para. 5.
Priyanto and Thangarasa are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to early measurement reporting in a cellular communications system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangarasa in the system of Priyanto so the system could obtain the necessary information to setup all the available resources to the UE capable of managing multiple connections. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce connection establishment latency and improve the network coverage mapping.
Regarding claim 24 Priyanto disclose, wherein initiation of the initial small data transmission comprises starting a small data transmission procedure by transmitting an initial small data transmission message para. 5, “the EMR indication relates to whether an UL message of one or more associated RA procedures carries or does not carry the EMR”.
Regarding claim 25 Priyanto disclose, wherein transmission of the early measurement reporting report is triggered when one or more signaling radio bearers are configured for small data transmission, or when early measurement reporting is configured for small data transmission para. 55, “The RRC control message may prospectively (and explicitly) indicate whether the EMR will or will not be activated for the next one or more RA procedure performed by the UE”.
Regarding claim 26 Priyanto disclose, wherein transmission of the early measurement reporting report is performed when one or more conditions are satisfied para. 47, “As a general rule, various trigger criteria for activating or deactivating the EMR at the given UE are conceivable”.
Regarding claim 28 Priyanto disclose, wherein the radio resource control message prompts an integrity check for the small data transmission para. 106, “the AN may determine whether another measurement report is still up-to-date. Depending on this check, the AN may or may not execute block 1082, i.e., the AN may or may not transmit the EMR”.
Regarding claim 29 Priyanto disclose, wherein the radio resource control message comprises an indication to stop early measurement reporting measurements para. 116, “the EMR request 169 can be transmitted as an extension to the UL grant carried by the RAR message 6002. In such a case, a non-EMR-capable UE 102 will read the standard UL grant and will not transmit EMR”.
Claim 1 recites a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 19 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claims 2 and 31 the limitations of claims 2 and 31 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 20.
Claim 30 recites an apparatus corresponding to the apparatus of claim 19 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claims 32-36 the limitations of claims 32-36, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 21-22 and 27-29, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Dwyer et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190208568) which disclose(s) Method and apparatus for state/mode transitioning.
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471