DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 18 have been amended.
Claim 21 has been added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogowski [WO 2008/000220] in view of Hong [WO 2014/209073] in further view of Ito [JP # 55,123043].
Regarding claim 1: Rogowski shows a gearwheel with a three-part structure consisting of:
an outer gear ring (2) having a plurality of teeth a connecting element (1) having a first wall section defining an outer rim (see fig 5), a second wall section defining a central opening (see fig 4), and an annular section extending radially between the first wall section and the second wall section, wherein the connecting element is made from metal sheet; and a hub element (1”) installed in the central opening of the connecting element, the hub element (1”) defining a central cylindrical aperture configured for installing the gearwheel onto a shaft having a cylindrical outer surface;
an outer toothed rim (2), a connecting element (1); and a hub element (1”), wherein the outer gear ring (2) is made of a plastic material injection-molded onto the outer rim (2) of the connecting element (1), and wherein a material thickness of the connecting element (1) is less than a material thickness of the hub element (1”) and the connecting element (1) has a plurality of reinforcing structures (9).
Rogowski does not explicitly disclose that the connecting element is a single unitary structure, wherein the first wall section and the second wall section extend parallel to the central axis
from a first end to a second end, and wherein the annular section extends radially
between and connects the second end of the first wall section to the second end of the
second wall section. However Hong shows the connecting (110) is a single unitary structure (see fig 6), wherein the first wall section (111) and the second wall section (119) extend parallel to the central axis from a first end to a second end, and wherein the annular section (A, the middle portion, see markup figure 6 below ) extends radially between and connects the second end of the first wall section (111) to the second end of the second wall section (119).
Rogowski and Hong do not show Wherein the plurality of reinforcing structures is formed on the first wall section as a groove with a convex contour on the external side, However Ito shows Wherein the plurality of reinforcing structures (34, see fig 8) is formed on the first wall section as a groove with a convex contour on the external side.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have replaced the connecting element in Rogowski with connecting element that that is single unitary structure with parallel first and second walls and middle portion connecting the ends of the first and second walls to reduce the manufacturing cost, the connecting element in Hong can be produced by stamping a single metal sheet and does not require connecting pieces.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have replaced the reinforcement elements taught in Rogowski with reinforcement structure taught in Ito to easily mount the reinforcement structure and also to lower the manufacturing cost, Ito’s reinforcement structure are made by metal sheet deformation which is faster and cheaper to make.
Regarding claim 2: Rogowski shows that the each of the plurality of reinforcing structures (9, 3’) are integral parts of the connecting element (1). Rogowski does not explicitly disclose that reinforcing structures are produced by deforming the material of the connecting element, However Ito shows that reinforcing structures (37b) are produced by deforming the material of the connecting element
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have made the reinforcing structure by deforming process or stamping process to expedite the manufacturing process and lowering the manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 3: Rogowski wherein each of the plurality of the reinforcing structures (9) is formed on the first wall section (S1) and/or on the annular section (S3) and extends radially outward (see fig 5).
Regarding claim 4: Rogowski wherein the first wall section (S1) and/or the second wall section (S2) extend(s) parallel to a central axis of the gearwheel.
Regarding claim 5: Rogowski the first wall section (S1) protrusions and depressions interspersed circumferentially around the first wall section (see fig 5), wherein the protrusions and depressions (9, 3) extend axially along the first wall section and the protrusions extend radially outward with respect to the depressions (see fig 5).
Regarding claim 6: Rogowski shows wherein each of the protrusions and depressions in the form of grooves (see fig 5) in the first wall section (S1) defines an open end and a closed end, and in particular the closed end being formed by virtue of a transition of the first wall section (S1) into the annular section (S3).
8. (Currently Amended) The gearwheel according to Claim 5, wherein at least some of the protrusions define an aperture (8) that is filled with the plastic material of the outer toothed rim (1).
Regarding claim 7: Hong shows wherein each of the protrusions and /or depressions (tabs of 111, see fig 5) has a curved profile as viewed in an axial direction
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have made the reinforcing structure with concave contour on the outside and convex on the inside to strengthen the reinforcing structure and reduce stress concentration.
Regarding claim 9: Rogowski shows wherein each of the reinforcing structures in the form of a rib (R) extending radially outward from the second wall section (S2) and ending is a central area of the annular section (S3).
Regarding claim 10: Rogowski does not explicitly show wherein each rib has a convex contour on a first side of the annular section and has an axially concave contour on a second side of the annular section a facing away from the first side, and in particular the plurality of the reinforcing structures in the annular section spaced apart and are distributed uniformly in the circumferential direction around the annular section.
However Ito shows each rib (37b, 37b, see fig 8) has convex contour on a first side of the annular section and has an axially concave contour on a second side of the annular section facing away from the first side, and in particular the plurality of the reinforcing structures (37b, 37b) in the annular section spaced apart and are distributed uniformly in the circumferential direction around the annular section.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have made the reinforcing structure with concave contour on the outside and convex on the inside to strengthen the reinforcing structure and reduce stress concentration.
Regarding claim11: Rogowski does not explicitly disclose wherein the hub is press-fit into the central opening of the connecting element. However Hong shows the hub is press-fit into the central opening of the connecting element (“…the press-fit method presses a boss cut to a predetermined thickness into the center of a gear part cut to the same thickness and fuses the joint at high frequency…”),
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have press fit the hub and made the outer surface of the hub with knurling to securely fix the hub to the gear ring.
Regarding claim 13: Rogowski shows wherein the first wall section has an undulating geometry (see fig 5).
Regarding claim 16: Hong shows wherein each of the first wall section and the second wall section extends axially from a first side to a second side (see fig 6), and wherein the annular section extends radially between and connects the second side of the first wall section to the second side of the second wall section.
(see motivation of claim 1)
Regarding claim 17: Rogowski wherein the hub element is in the form of a cold- extruded component. However Hong teaches wherein the hub element is in the form of a cold- extruded component (See translation “…Here, it is preferable that the fastening hub portion is cold forged and pressed.…”).
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have made the hub by cold extruded process due to its advantage in resulting in stronger parts with better mechanical properties and surface finish due to cold working. Furthermore, cold extrusion is more energy-efficient.
Regarding claim 18: Rogowski shows a connecting element (1) having a first wall section defining an outer rim (see fig 5), a second wall section defining a central opening (see fig 4), and an annular section extending radially between the first wall section and the second wall section, wherein the connecting element is made from metal sheet; a hub element (1”) fitted into the central opening of the connecting element (1), the hub element (1”) defining a central aperture (see fig 4) configured for installing the gearwheel onto a shaft having a cylindrical outer surface; and an outer gear ring (2) extending circumferentially around the first wall section, the outer gear ring (2) having a plurality of teeth (see markup figure below) and made of plastic material moulded onto the outer rim.
Rogowski does not explicitly disclose that the connecting element is a single unitary structure, wherein the first wall section and the second wall section extend parallel to the central axis
from a first end to a second end, and wherein the annular section extends radially
between and connects the second end of the first wall section to the second end of the
second wall section. However Hong shows the connecting (110) is a single unitary structure (see fig 6), wherein the first wall section (111) and the second wall section (119) extend parallel to the central axis from a first end to a second end, and wherein the annular section (A, the middle portion, see markup figure 6 below ) extends radially between and connects the second end of the first wall section (111) to the second end of the second wall section (119).
Rogowski and Hong do not show Wherein the plurality of reinforcing structures is formed on the first wall section as a groove with a convex contour on the external side, However Ito shows Wherein the plurality of reinforcing structures (34, see fig 8) is formed on the first wall section as a groove with a convex contour on the external side.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have replaced the connecting element in Rogowski with connecting element that that is single unitary structure with parallel first and second walls and middle portion connecting the ends of the first and second walls to reduce the manufacturing cost, the connecting element in Hong can be produced by stamping a single metal sheet and does not require connecting pieces.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have replaced the reinforcement elements taught in Rogowski with reinforcement structure taught in Ito to easily mount the reinforcement structure and also to lower the manufacturing cost, Ito’s reinforcement structure are made by metal sheet deformation which is faster and cheaper to make.
Regarding claim 19: Rogowski shows wherein the first wall section (S1) has an undulating geometry.
Regarding claim 20: Rogowski shows wherein the first wall section (S1) of the connecting element (1) defines a plurality of apertures filled with the plastic material of the outer gear ring.
Rogowski does not explicitly disclose that reinforcing structures are produced by deforming the material of the connecting element, However Ito shows wherein the first wall section of the connecting element defines a plurality of apertures filled with the plastic material of the outer gear ring.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have made the reinforcing structure by deforming process or stamping process to expedite the manufacturing process and lowering the manufacturing cost.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogowski [WO 2008/000220] in view of Hong [WO 2014/209073] in further view of Ito [JP # 55,123043] in further view of Hong [ WO 2013/122282].
Regarding claim12: Rogowski does not explicitly disclose wherein the hub is press-fit into the central opening of the connecting element, wherein an outer periphery of the hub element has knurling. However Hong [,282] shows the hub is press-fit into the central opening of the connecting element (“…the press-fit method presses a boss cut to a predetermined thickness into the center of a gear part cut to the same thickness and fuses the joint at high frequency…”), wherein an outer periphery of the hub element has knurling (“… the anti-rotation outward protrusion 110 is formed in a sawtooth shape, of course, is formed by a knurling …”).
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have press fit the hub and made the outer surface of the hub with knurling to securely fix the hub to the gear ring.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogowski [WO 2008/000220] in view of Hong [WO 2014/209073] in further view of Ito [JP # 55,123043] in further of Hofmann [DE 102017111039].
Regarding claim 14 and 15: Rogowski does not explicitly show that wherein the central opening has a non-circular shape, and wherein an external surface of the hub element has a corresponding non-circular shape. wherein the central opening has a polygonal shape. However, Hofmann shows wherein the central opening (9) has a non-circular shape, and wherein an external surface of the hub element has a corresponding non-circular shape. wherein the central opening has a polygonal shape (see fig 3).
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have designed the opening with polygon profile for highly demanding mechanical connections, particularly for transferring high torque in applications like gear systems or shaft connections, polygon shape has advantage of superior torque transmission, reduced stress and backlash and improve gear durability.
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogowski [WO 2008/000220] in view Ito [JP # 55,123043]
Regarding claim 21: Rogowski shows a gearwheel with a three-part structure consisting of: an outer gear ring (2) having a plurality of teeth; a connecting element (1) having a first wall section defining an outer rim, a second wall section (see fig 4) defining a central opening along a central axis; and a hub element (1”) installed in the central opening of the connecting element (1), the hub element (1”) defining a central cylindrical aperture (see fig 5) configured for installing the gearwheel onto a shaft having a cylindrical outer surface; wherein the outer gear ring (2) is made of a plastic material injection-molded onto the outer rim (see abstract) of the connecting element (1), and wherein a material thickness of the connecting element (1) is less than a material thickness of the hub element (see fig 4) and the connecting element (1) has a plurality of reinforcing structures (17, 24); Rogowski does not show an annular section extending radially between the first wall section and the second wall section, wherein the connecting element is a single unitary structure made from metal sheet wherein the outer rim defined by the first wall has a polygonal shape; and wherein the first wall section and the second wall section extend parallel to the central axis from a first end to a second end, and wherein the annular section extends radially between and connects the second end of the first wall section to the second end of the second wall section. However Ito shows an annular section (30, see fig 8) extending radially between the first wall section and the second wall section, wherein the connecting element (33) is a single unitary structure made from metal sheet (see abstract) wherein the outer rim defined by the first wall has a polygonal shape (see abstract); and wherein the first wall section and the second wall section extend parallel to the central axis from a first end to a second end (see fig 8), and wherein the annular section extends radially between and connects the second end of the first wall section to the second end of the second wall section (see fig 8 or fig 13).
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have designed the opening with polygon profile for highly demanding mechanical connections, particularly for transferring high torque in applications like gear systems or shaft connections, polygon shape has advantage of superior torque transmission, reduced stress and backlash and improve gear durability.
It would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have replaced the connecting element in Rogowski with connecting element that that is single unitary structure with parallel first and second walls and middle portion connecting the ends of the first and second walls to reduce the manufacturing cost, the connecting element in Ito can be produced by stamping a single metal sheet and does not require connecting pieces.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant argument that Rogowski and Hong do not teach the new added limitation “… Wherein the plurality of reinforcing structures is formed on the first wall section as a groove with a convex contour on the external side…”), However Ito reference shows Wherein the plurality of reinforcing structures (34, see fig 8) is formed on the first wall section as a groove with a convex contour on the external side.
[AltContent: textbox (S3)][AltContent: textbox (S1)][AltContent: textbox (S2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (R)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKARIA ELAHMADI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3618