CTNF 18/295,438 CTNF 96515 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 4.4.23. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in this application. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II : Claims 7-16 in the reply filed on 12.18.25 is acknowledged. 08-23-02 AIA Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 7-8,10-12,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okuda (US20120199437A1) . Regarding Claim 7 ,Okuda discloses (Figs 1-2) an electric motor assembly comprising: an electric motor (MG) including a rotor (Ro) and a stator (St), a driveshaft (35), and an output gear (AT is automatic transmission , Para 0026 discloses gear stage) fixed to rotate (38) with the driveshaft (Fig 2); a disconnect clutch (CL1) coupled (Fig 1) to the driveshaft and adjustable from a disengaged state to an engaged state [Para 0036] to couple the driveshaft to an engine output shaft(Eo); and a common housing (30,32) including a clutch housing component (30L along with 14) positioned around the disconnect clutch (CL1), a geartrain housing component (32) positioned around the output gear, and a motor housing component (30R) positioned around the electric motor and attached between (Fig 2) the geartrain housing component and the clutch housing component . PNG media_image1.png 718 516 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 634 560 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 8 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 7. Okuda further discloses wherein the common housing (30,32) further has formed therein at least one cooling and lubrication fluid supply port (52), and an actuation fluid supply port (50,44) for actuating the disconnect clutch (CL1). Regarding Claim 10 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 7. Okuda further discloses wherein the geartrain housing component (32) includes a pump mounting face (Fig 1 discloses M-O/P and S-O/P attached to AT housing) and a sump mounting face (39 is oil pan). Regarding Claim 11 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 10. Okuda further discloses wherein the geartrain housing component (32) includes a downwardly depending fluid collection portion (39 is oil pan) positioned to receive cooling and lubrication fluid drained through the common housing under the force of gravity (39 is oil pan), and the sump mounting face (39 face) is formed at least in part upon the fluid collection portion (39). Regarding Claim 12 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 10. Okuda further discloses wherein the clutch housing component (30L is connected to 14 which is hydraulic actuator) includes a valve (14) block mounting face. Regarding Claim 14 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 7. Okuda further discloses further comprising a geartrain [0026 discloses gear stage] including the output gear and positioned in the geartrain housing component (32) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda in view of Kiyooka et al (US20220289355A1), hereinafter Kiyooka . Regarding Claim 9 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 7 . Okuda does not explicitly disclose further comprising a first mounting bar attached at a first side of the housing and a second mounting bar attached at an opposite side of the housing. Kiyooka discloses (Fig 4) a first mounting bar (M1) attached at a first side (Fig 4) of the housing and a second mounting bar (M2) attached at an opposite side of the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor assembly of Okuda with opposite mounting arms as taught by Kiyooka in order to meet the mounting requirements of the motor assembly as per application requirements and design choice. PNG media_image3.png 546 494 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 13 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 12 . Okuda further discloses the at least one cooling and lubrication fluid supply port (52) and the actuation fluid supply port (50,44) are formed does not explicitly disclose they are formed in the valve block mounting face. Kiyooka discloses [Para 0047, Fig 2] at least one cooling and lubrication fluid supply port and the actuation fluid supply port are formed in the valve block mounting face (Para 0047 discloses “The main hydraulic pump 28 is attached to the second cover body 20 c side. Various valves for a hydraulic clutch, a supply oil passage, and a cooling lubricating oil passage, which will be described below and to which oil is supplied from the main hydraulic pump 28 , are provided in the second cover body 20 c) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor assembly of Okuda with structure of cooling and clutch actuation port as taught by Kiyooka in order to control the flow of lubricant for various needs from one place per application requirements and design choice . PNG media_image4.png 580 550 media_image4.png Greyscale 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda in view of Hartz et al (US20120258838A1), hereinafter Hartz . Regarding Claim 15 , Okuda discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 7 . Okuda further discloses wherein the motor housing component (30R) includes a first end flange (Fl1) to the geartrain housing component (32), and a second end flange (Fl2) bolted (Bo) to the clutch housing component (30L) nut does not explicitly disclose first end flange bolted to the geartrain housing component. Hartz discloses [0080] first end flange bolted to the geartrain housing component [Para 0080 discloses “the hybrid module 104 includes an adapter ring 620 that is bolted to the location where the normal connection between the engine 102 and the torque converter is made. The adapter ring 620 forms a spline-type connection with the rotor hub 612 so that the hybrid module 104 can easily be slid into place to form a connection with the transmission 106, thereby avoiding any type of indexing issues”] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor assembly of Okuda with bolted connected between motor housing and transmission housing as taught by Hartz in order to have a strong and durable connection with ability for disassembly when needed. Regarding Claim 16 , Okuda in view of Hartz discloses the electric motor assembly of claim 7 . Okuda in view of Hartz further discloses wherein the motor housing component (Okuda, 30R) includes a center section extending from the first end flange (Fl1) to the second end flange (Fl2) but does not explicitly disclose a cylindrical section. Hartz discloses (Fig 5) a cylindrical center section (302). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor assembly of Okuda in view of Hartz with cylindrical center section as further taught by Hartz in order to have a shape that corresponds with inside motor while saving on weight as is known in the art . PNG media_image5.png 574 480 media_image5.png Greyscale Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kasuya (US20140331945A1) discloses relevant structure for clutch, transmission and motor housing Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN whose telephone number is (571)272-4814. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M Koehler can be reached at 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/295,438 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/295,438 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/295,438 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/295,438 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/295,438 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/295,438 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834