DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 03, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-18 and 20-24 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 16-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukkamala et al. (US 2019/0008399 A1) (“Mukkamala”) in view of Kang et al. (US 2019/0029596 A1) (“Kang”) (cited in previous action pertinent art section).
Regarding claim 1, Mukkamala discloses An electronic device comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a display panel (FIG. 1-3, [0042], “display 104”);
a light sensor disposed on the display panel (FIG. 1-3, [0046], “PPG sensor 320”);
a pressure sensor configured to sense an applied pressure (FIG. 1-3, [0046], “pressure sensor 324”); and
a processor configured to receive a pressure signal from the pressure sensor and a first pulse wave signal from the light sensor (FIG. 1-3, [0045], “computer processor 300” and [0046], “The sensing unit 108 is configured to communicate the measured values of the PPG sensor 320 and the pressure sensor 324 to the computer processor 300 of the mobile device 100.”),
wherein the processor is configured to: analyze the pressure signal (FIG. 1-3 and [0047], “The oscillogram generator 308 is configured to generate an oscillogram based on input from the PPG sensor 320 and input from the pressure sensor 324. In an example embodiment, an oscillogram is constructed by first taking a maximum value and a minimum value of each beat of the blood volume waveform that is detected and measured by the PPG sensor 320. The maximum value and minimum value of each beat, as a function of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 (obtained by the pressure sensor 324), are then median filtered to attenuate respiratory and heart rate variability. Finally, the maximum value and minimum value of each beat are linearly interpolated, and the difference between the two envelopes is taken as the oscillogram 128.”);
display a first indicator on the display panel in response to a first abnormal section being calculated from the pressure signal ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If an abnormal section is found, then a first indicator displays guide information, etc. );
Mukkamala fails to explicitly disclose analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude (Para. [0071], “When the received pulse wave signal and contact pressure signal are determined to be insufficient for measuring the blood pressure or when the measured blood pressure is determined to be abnormal, for example, when the measured blood pressure is outside of a normal blood pressure range which is pre-set for a specific user, the processor 230 may determine to re-measure a contact pressure signal and a pulse wave signal. In this case, the processor 230 may guide the user in another motion different than the previously guided motion to change the hand shape.” Displays a same first indicator for both a first abnormal section calculated from a pressure signal and a second abnormal section calculated from a pulse wave signal);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala to include analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude; as taught by Kang to remeasure if measurements are abnormal which improves accuracy and correctness ([0071]).
Mukkamala as modified further discloses display a second indicator different from the first indicator on the display panel in response to the first abnormal section and the second abnormal section not being calculated (Mukkamala [0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If no abnormal section is found, a second indicator displays the BP); and
calculate blood pressure information based on the first pulse wave signal and the pressure signal (Mukkamala [0044], “The sensing unit 108 also measures blood volume oscillations 120 to generate an oscillogram 128, and BP is estimated from the oscillogram 128. The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is graphed in relation to target pressure 118 to guide the user on the need to apply increased pressure and when to apply increased pressure. Graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 in real time over the target pressure 118 allows the user to attempt to trace the target pressure 118. By having the user serve as the actuator, the requisite hardware is automatically miniaturized and greatly simplified. The SP, the DP, and the MP can be calculated from the oscillogram 128.”).
Regarding claim 3, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 1, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the first abnormal section in response to a magnitude of the pressure signal in the at least one measurement section among the measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If an abnormal section is found, then a first indicator displays guide information, etc. ).
Regarding claim 4, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 3, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the first critical range has a constant pressure width and increases with time to a preset degree ([0049], “To assess the validity of the oscillogram 128, various features such as the number of artifact-free beats, the applied pressure range over which these beats extend, and the shape, width, and degree of symmetry of the oscillogram 128 may be analyzed to determine the validity of the oscillogram 128. An algorithm such as linear discriminant analysis may be implemented to distinguish between valid and invalid oscillograms based on these features.”); and
the processor is configured to display a guide indicator whose shape changes over time in response to the first critical range on the display panel ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Regarding claim 5, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 4, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to display the magnitude of the pressure signal on the guide indicator so that at least one of a shape, a color and a location changes over the time ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Regarding claim 7, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 1, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the display panel includes a display area in which pixels and the light sensor are disposed, and a non-display area disposed at one side of the display area (See FIG. 1); and
wherein at least one of the first indicator and the second indicator has a shape extending along an edge of the display area (See FIG. 1-2, shape of the indicator can follow the display).
Regarding claim 8, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 7, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the first indicator and the second indicator have the same shape (See FIG. 1-2, shape of the indicator can follow the display and can have the same shape).
Regarding claim 9, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 1, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to further calculate a third pulse wave signal including a pulse wave signal value according to pressure based on the first pulse wave signal and the pressure signal ([0062], “Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.”).
Regarding claim 10, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 9, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to: generate a peak detection signal based on an amplitude corresponding to a peak of each cycle of the third pulse wave signal ([0049 – 0050], “To assess the validity of the oscillogram 128, various features such as the number of artifact-free beats, the applied pressure range over which these beats extend, and the shape, width, and degree of symmetry of the oscillogram 128 may be analyzed to determine the validity of the oscillogram 128. An algorithm such as linear discriminant analysis may be implemented to distinguish between valid and invalid oscillograms based on these features.”);
calculate a peak value of the peak detection signal and a pressure value corresponding to the peak value of the peak detection signal and calculate a diastolic blood pressure lower than the pressure value, a systolic blood pressure higher than the pressure value, and a mean blood pressure according to the pressure value ([0049 – 0050], “To assess the validity of the oscillogram 128, various features such as the number of artifact-free beats, the applied pressure range over which these beats extend, and the shape, width, and degree of symmetry of the oscillogram 128 may be analyzed to determine the validity of the oscillogram 128. An algorithm such as linear discriminant analysis may be implemented to distinguish between valid and invalid oscillograms based on these features.”); and
display the diastolic blood pressure and the systolic blood pressure on the display panel ([0062], “The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms. Depending on the determination method, the MP/BP may be determined first followed by the SP and DP. In any case, the mobile device 100 subsequently displays the MP/BP.”).
Regarding claim 11, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 10, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to calculate the mean blood pressure as a pressure value corresponding to the peak value ([0062], “The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms. Depending on the determination method, the MP/BP may be determined first followed by the SP and DP. In any case, the mobile device 100 subsequently displays the MP/BP.”).
Regarding claim 12, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 10, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a first pressure value smaller than the pressure value corresponding to 60% to 80% of the peak value and a second pressure value greater than the pressure value in the peak detection signal; and calculate the first pressure value as the diastolic blood pressure and calculate the second pressure value as the systolic blood pressure ([0062], “The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms. Depending on the determination method, the MP/BP may be determined first followed by the SP and DP. In any case, the mobile device 100 subsequently displays the MP/BP.”).
Regarding claim 16, Mukkamala discloses A method of operating an electronic device, including a display panel, a light sensor, a pressure sensor, and a processor comprising (Abstract and entire document, FIG. 1-3, [0042], “display 104”, [0046], “PPG sensor 320”, “pressure sensor 324” [0045], “computer processor 300”):
calculating a first abnormal section based on a pressure signal; displaying a first indicator on the display panel in response to the first abnormal section being calculated from the pressure signal; ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If an abnormal section is found, then a first indicator displays guide information, etc. );
Mukkamala fails to explicitly disclose analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude (Para. [0071], “When the received pulse wave signal and contact pressure signal are determined to be insufficient for measuring the blood pressure or when the measured blood pressure is determined to be abnormal, for example, when the measured blood pressure is outside of a normal blood pressure range which is pre-set for a specific user, the processor 230 may determine to re-measure a contact pressure signal and a pulse wave signal. In this case, the processor 230 may guide the user in another motion different than the previously guided motion to change the hand shape.” Displays a same first indicator for both a first abnormal section calculated from a pressure signal and a second abnormal section calculated from a pulse wave signal);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala to include analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude; as taught by Kang to remeasure if measurements are abnormal which improves accuracy and correctness ([0071]).
Mukkamala as modified further discloses displaying a second indicator different from the first indicator on the display panel in response to the first abnormal section and the second abnormal section not being calculated (Mukkamala [0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If no abnormal section is found, a second indicator displays the BP); and
calculating blood pressure information based on the first pulse wave signal and the pressure signal (Mukkamala [0044], “The sensing unit 108 also measures blood volume oscillations 120 to generate an oscillogram 128, and BP is estimated from the oscillogram 128. The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is graphed in relation to target pressure 118 to guide the user on the need to apply increased pressure and when to apply increased pressure. Graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 in real time over the target pressure 118 allows the user to attempt to trace the target pressure 118. By having the user serve as the actuator, the requisite hardware is automatically miniaturized and greatly simplified. The SP, the DP, and the MP can be calculated from the oscillogram 128.”).
Regarding claim 17, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 16, Mukkamala further discloses wherein in the calculating of the first abnormal section by analyzing the pressure signal, when a magnitude of the pressure signal in at least one measurement section among the measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range, the at least one measurement section is calculated as the first abnormal section ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If an abnormal section is found, then a first indicator displays guide information, etc. ).
Regarding claim 18, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 17, Mukkamala further discloses further comprising, displaying a guide indicator so that at least one of a shape, a color and a location changes over time in response to the first critical range on the display panel, wherein the first critical range has a constant pressure width and increases with time to a preset degree ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Regarding claim 19, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 16, Mukkamala further discloses further comprising calculating a second abnormal section by analyzing a first pulse wave signal; wherein in the calculating of the second abnormal section by analyzing the first pulse wave signal, when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal does not exist within a second critical range, the at least one measurement section is calculated as the second abnormal section ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” See also [0054], “Additionally, after the BP has been computed, the application may determine whether the BP is within an acceptable range. If the BP falls outside of the acceptable range, the application may instruct the user to repeat the BP measurement in order to ensure accuracy.” Determination based on the pulse wave sensor).
Regarding claim 20, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 16, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the display panel includes a display area in which pixels and the light sensor are disposed and a non-display area disposed at one side of the display area (See FIG. 1), and
at least one of the first indicator and the second indicator has a shape extending along an edge of the display area (See FIG. 1-2, shape of the indicator can follow the display).
Regarding claim 21, the same rejections as applied to claims 1 and 16 apply to claim 21.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukkamala in view of Kang in further view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0007125 A1) (“Kang2”).
Regarding claim 13, Mukkamala discloses The electronic device of claim 9, Mukkamala fails to disclose wherein one cycle of the third pulse wave signal includes a plurality of waveforms having different amplitudes; and a peak value of a first waveform among the plurality of waveforms is defined as a pulse wave contraction value, a peak value of a second waveform among the plurality of waveforms is defined as a reflected pulse wave value, and when the pulse wave contraction value is defined as Sp, the reflected pulse wave value is defined as Rp, and a reflected pulse wave ratio is defined as Ri, the processor is configured to calculate the reflected pulse wave ratio by Ri=Rp/Sp.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang2 teaches wherein one cycle of the third pulse wave signal includes a plurality of waveforms having different amplitudes; and a peak value of a first waveform among the plurality of waveforms is defined as a pulse wave contraction value, a peak value of a second waveform among the plurality of waveforms is defined as a reflected pulse wave value, and when the pulse wave contraction value is defined as Sp, the reflected pulse wave value is defined as Rp, and a reflected pulse wave ratio is defined as Ri, the processor is configured to calculate the reflected pulse wave ratio by Ri=Rp/Sp ([0078], “Referring to FIG. 4, an example of biometric information that may be extracted from a waveform of a pulse wave based on overlapping and augmentation of a traveling wave and a reflected wave is illustrated. For example, a pulse pressure (PP) is expressed as a difference between a systolic pressure and a diastolic pressure. A mean blood pressure is expressed as a diastolic pressure+PP/3 and may reflect a load on the heart. Furthermore, an augmentation pressure (AP) out of the PP (AP/PP) may be represented as a percentage (%) and may indicate an augmentation index (AI) that reflects elasticity of a blood vessel and a load of the left ventricle.” And further [0084], “The memory 150 may calculate an average biometric information range of an object from the stored pieces of biometric information and store the average biometric information range of the object. For example, when ten or more, or twenty or more pieces of biometric information regarding the object are stored, an average value thereof may be calculated, and a predetermined average biometric information range may be calculated with respect to the average value and stored. The average biometric information range may be, for example, a range of ±5% of the average value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include wherein one cycle of the third pulse wave signal includes a plurality of waveforms having different amplitudes; and a peak value of a first waveform among the plurality of waveforms is defined as a pulse wave contraction value, a peak value of a second waveform among the plurality of waveforms is defined as a reflected pulse wave value, and when the pulse wave contraction value is defined as Sp, the reflected pulse wave value is defined as Rp, and a reflected pulse wave ratio is defined as Ri, the processor is configured to calculate the reflected pulse wave ratio by Ri=Rp/Sp as taught by Kang2 to determine if the measured range is within the normal, stored range ([0086], “The alarm unit 160 may provide a notification to a subject (e.g., a user of the apparatus 100) when obtained biometric information is outside the average biometric information range. Alternatively, the alarm unit 160 may provide a notification to a subject (e.g., a user of the apparatus 100) when obtained biometric information is outside the normal biometric information range.”).
Regarding claim 14, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 13, Mukkamala fails to disclose wherein the reflected pulse wave ratio includes a first period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a first range, a second period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a second range, and a third period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a third range; and a width of the first range and a width of the third range are smaller than a width of the second range.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang2 teaches wherein the reflected pulse wave ratio includes a first period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a first range, a second period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a second range, and a third period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a third range; and a width of the first range and a width of the third range are smaller than a width of the second range ([0078], “Referring to FIG. 4, an example of biometric information that may be extracted from a waveform of a pulse wave based on overlapping and augmentation of a traveling wave and a reflected wave is illustrated. For example, a pulse pressure (PP) is expressed as a difference between a systolic pressure and a diastolic pressure. A mean blood pressure is expressed as a diastolic pressure+PP/3 and may reflect a load on the heart. Furthermore, an augmentation pressure (AP) out of the PP (AP/PP) may be represented as a percentage (%) and may indicate an augmentation index (AI) that reflects elasticity of a blood vessel and a load of the left ventricle.” And further [0084], “The memory 150 may calculate an average biometric information range of an object from the stored pieces of biometric information and store the average biometric information range of the object. For example, when ten or more, or twenty or more pieces of biometric information regarding the object are stored, an average value thereof may be calculated, and a predetermined average biometric information range may be calculated with respect to the average value and stored. The average biometric information range may be, for example, a range of ±5% of the average value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include wherein the reflected pulse wave ratio includes a first period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a first range, a second period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a second range, and a third period in which the reflected pulse wave ratio fluctuates within a third range; and a width of the first range and a width of the third range are smaller than a width of the second range as taught by Kang2 to determine if the measured range is within the normal, stored range ([0086], “The alarm unit 160 may provide a notification to a subject (e.g., a user of the apparatus 100) when obtained biometric information is outside the average biometric information range. Alternatively, the alarm unit 160 may provide a notification to a subject (e.g., a user of the apparatus 100) when obtained biometric information is outside the normal biometric information range.”).
Regarding claim 15, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 14, Mukkamala fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured to: analyze the reflected pulse wave ratio to detect a start point of time at which the second period starts; calculate a third pressure value corresponding to the first pulse wave signal at the start point of time of the second period; set the third pressure value as a diastolic blood pressure; calculate a fourth pressure value corresponding to the first pulse wave signal at a point of time at the third period starts after the second period; and calculate the fourth pressure value as a systolic blood pressure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang2 teaches wherein the processor is configured to: analyze the reflected pulse wave ratio to detect a start point of time at which the second period starts; calculate a third pressure value corresponding to the first pulse wave signal at the start point of time of the second period; set the third pressure value as a diastolic blood pressure; calculate a fourth pressure value corresponding to the first pulse wave signal at a point of time at the third period starts after the second period; and calculate the fourth pressure value as a systolic blood pressure ([0078], “Referring to FIG. 4, an example of biometric information that may be extracted from a waveform of a pulse wave based on overlapping and augmentation of a traveling wave and a reflected wave is illustrated. For example, a pulse pressure (PP) is expressed as a difference between a systolic pressure and a diastolic pressure. A mean blood pressure is expressed as a diastolic pressure+PP/3 and may reflect a load on the heart. Furthermore, an augmentation pressure (AP) out of the PP (AP/PP) may be represented as a percentage (%) and may indicate an augmentation index (AI) that reflects elasticity of a blood vessel and a load of the left ventricle.” And further [0084], “The memory 150 may calculate an average biometric information range of an object from the stored pieces of biometric information and store the average biometric information range of the object. For example, when ten or more, or twenty or more pieces of biometric information regarding the object are stored, an average value thereof may be calculated, and a predetermined average biometric information range may be calculated with respect to the average value and stored. The average biometric information range may be, for example, a range of ±5% of the average value.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include wherein the processor is configured to: analyze the reflected pulse wave ratio to detect a start point of time at which the second period starts; calculate a third pressure value corresponding to the first pulse wave signal at the start point of time of the second period; set the third pressure value as a diastolic blood pressure; calculate a fourth pressure value corresponding to the first pulse wave signal at a point of time at the third period starts after the second period; and calculate the fourth pressure value as a systolic blood pressure as taught by Kang2 to determine if the measured range is within the normal, stored range ([0086], “The alarm unit 160 may provide a notification to a subject (e.g., a user of the apparatus 100) when obtained biometric information is outside the average biometric information range. Alternatively, the alarm unit 160 may provide a notification to a subject (e.g., a user of the apparatus 100) when obtained biometric information is outside the normal biometric information range.”).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukkamala in view of Kang in further view of Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0386822 A1) (“Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 22, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 21, Mukkamala fails to disclose further comprising: a driving unit configured to activate the pressure sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches further comprising: a driving unit configured to activate the pressure sensor ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include further comprising: a driving unit configured to activate the pressure sensor as taught by Matsumura to save power ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
Regarding claim 23, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 22, Mukkamala fails to disclose wherein the driving unit is further configured to transmit a driving signal to the light sensor to activate the light sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the driving unit is further configured to transmit a driving signal to the light sensor to activate the light sensor ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include wherein the driving unit is further configured to transmit a driving signal to the light sensor to activate the light sensor as taught by Matsumura to save power ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
Regarding claim 24, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 22, Mukkamala further discloses further comprising: a touch sensor configured to detect a touch event ([0052], “The pressure guide 316 may optionally be interfaced with the pressure sensor 324. In some embodiments, the pressure guide 316 scales the pressure applied to the pressure sensor 324 to a measure of pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 exerted on the PPG sensor 320. The pressure guide 316 is also configured to present the estimated magnitude of the pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 on the display 104.” Configured to detect if no pressure is applied); and
an indicator generation unit configured to generate a guide indicator on the display panel, wherein the guide indicator includes a pressure guide configured to indicate the applied pressure ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7-18 and 20-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791