DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-5, 7-16, 18 and 20-24 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the equation is cutoff and appears incomplete.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: the end of the claim appears to have a typo of crossed off letter that weren’t properly deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-12, 16, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukkamala et al. (US 2019/0008399 A1) (“Mukkamala”) in view of Ko et al. (US 2021/0244301 A1) ("Ko") in further view of Kang et al. (US 2019/0029596 A1) (“Kang”).
Regarding claim 1, Mukkamala discloses An electronic device comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a display panel (FIG. 1-3, [0042], “display 104”);
a light sensor disposed on the display panel (FIG. 1-3, [0046], “PPG sensor 320”);
a pressure sensor configured to sense an applied pressure (FIG. 1-3, [0046], “pressure sensor 324”); and
a processor configured to receive a pressure signal from the pressure sensor and a first pulse wave signal from the light sensor (FIG. 1-3, [0045], “computer processor 300” and [0046], “The sensing unit 108 is configured to communicate the measured values of the PPG sensor 320 and the pressure sensor 324 to the computer processor 300 of the mobile device 100.”),
wherein the processor is configured to: analyze the pressure signal (FIG. 1-3 and [0047], “The oscillogram generator 308 is configured to generate an oscillogram based on input from the PPG sensor 320 and input from the pressure sensor 324. In an example embodiment, an oscillogram is constructed by first taking a maximum value and a minimum value of each beat of the blood volume waveform that is detected and measured by the PPG sensor 320. The maximum value and minimum value of each beat, as a function of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 (obtained by the pressure sensor 324), are then median filtered to attenuate respiratory and heart rate variability. Finally, the maximum value and minimum value of each beat are linearly interpolated, and the difference between the two envelopes is taken as the oscillogram 128.”);
display a first indicator on the display panel in response to a first abnormal section being calculated from the pressure signal ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If an abnormal section is found, then a first indicator displays guide information, etc. ),
Mukkamala fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the first abnormal section in response to a magnitude of the pressure signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range defined by an upper limit pressure and a lower limit pressure;
analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ko teaches wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the first abnormal section in response to a magnitude of the pressure signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range defined by an upper limit pressure and a lower limit pressure (FIG. 11A-11B and associated paragraphs);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala to include wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the first abnormal section in response to a magnitude of the pressure signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range defined by an upper limit pressure and a lower limit pressure as taught by Ko to display with recognition to the user ([0103]).
Mukkamala as modified fails to disclose analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude (Para. [0071], “When the received pulse wave signal and contact pressure signal are determined to be insufficient for measuring the blood pressure or when the measured blood pressure is determined to be abnormal, for example, when the measured blood pressure is outside of a normal blood pressure range which is pre-set for a specific user, the processor 230 may determine to re-measure a contact pressure signal and a pulse wave signal. In this case, the processor 230 may guide the user in another motion different than the previously guided motion to change the hand shape.” Displays a same first indicator for both a first abnormal section calculated from a pressure signal and a second abnormal section calculated from a pulse wave signal);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude; as taught by Kang to remeasure if measurements are abnormal which improves accuracy and correctness ([0071]).
Mukkamala as modified further discloses display a second indicator different from the first indicator on the display panel in response to the first abnormal section and the second abnormal section not being calculated (Mukkamala [0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If no abnormal section is found, a second indicator displays the BP); and
calculate blood pressure information based on the first pulse wave signal and the pressure signal (Mukkamala [0044], “The sensing unit 108 also measures blood volume oscillations 120 to generate an oscillogram 128, and BP is estimated from the oscillogram 128. The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is graphed in relation to target pressure 118 to guide the user on the need to apply increased pressure and when to apply increased pressure. Graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 in real time over the target pressure 118 allows the user to attempt to trace the target pressure 118. By having the user serve as the actuator, the requisite hardware is automatically miniaturized and greatly simplified. The SP, the DP, and the MP can be calculated from the oscillogram 128.”).
Regarding claim 4, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 1, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the first critical range has a constant pressure width and increases with time to a preset degree ([0049], “To assess the validity of the oscillogram 128, various features such as the number of artifact-free beats, the applied pressure range over which these beats extend, and the shape, width, and degree of symmetry of the oscillogram 128 may be analyzed to determine the validity of the oscillogram 128. An algorithm such as linear discriminant analysis may be implemented to distinguish between valid and invalid oscillograms based on these features.”); and
the processor is configured to display a guide indicator whose shape changes over time in response to the first critical range on the display panel ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Regarding claim 5, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 4, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to display the magnitude of the pressure signal on the guide indicator so that at least one of a shape, a color and a location changes over the time ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Regarding claim 7, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 1, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the display panel includes a display area in which pixels and the light sensor are disposed, and a non-display area disposed at one side of the display area (See FIG. 1); and
wherein at least one of the first indicator and the second indicator has a shape extending along an edge of the display area (See FIG. 1-2, shape of the indicator can follow the display).
Regarding claim 8, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 7, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the first indicator and the second indicator have the same shape (See FIG. 1-2, shape of the indicator can follow the display and can have the same shape).
Regarding claim 9, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 1, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to further calculate a third pulse wave signal including a pulse wave signal value according to pressure based on the first pulse wave signal and the pressure signal ([0062], “Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.”).
Regarding claim 10, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 9, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to: generate a peak detection signal based on an amplitude corresponding to a peak of each cycle of the third pulse wave signal ([0049 – 0050], “To assess the validity of the oscillogram 128, various features such as the number of artifact-free beats, the applied pressure range over which these beats extend, and the shape, width, and degree of symmetry of the oscillogram 128 may be analyzed to determine the validity of the oscillogram 128. An algorithm such as linear discriminant analysis may be implemented to distinguish between valid and invalid oscillograms based on these features.”);
calculate a peak value of the peak detection signal and a pressure value corresponding to the peak value of the peak detection signal and calculate a diastolic blood pressure lower than the pressure value, a systolic blood pressure higher than the pressure value, and a mean blood pressure according to the pressure value ([0049 – 0050], “To assess the validity of the oscillogram 128, various features such as the number of artifact-free beats, the applied pressure range over which these beats extend, and the shape, width, and degree of symmetry of the oscillogram 128 may be analyzed to determine the validity of the oscillogram 128. An algorithm such as linear discriminant analysis may be implemented to distinguish between valid and invalid oscillograms based on these features.”); and
display the diastolic blood pressure and the systolic blood pressure on the display panel ([0062], “The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms. Depending on the determination method, the MP/BP may be determined first followed by the SP and DP. In any case, the mobile device 100 subsequently displays the MP/BP.”).
Regarding claim 11, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 10, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to calculate the mean blood pressure as a pressure value corresponding to the peak value ([0062], “The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms. Depending on the determination method, the MP/BP may be determined first followed by the SP and DP. In any case, the mobile device 100 subsequently displays the MP/BP.”).
Regarding claim 12, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 10, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a first pressure value smaller than the pressure value corresponding to 60% to 80% of the peak value and a second pressure value greater than the pressure value in the peak detection signal; and calculate the first pressure value as the diastolic blood pressure and calculate the second pressure value as the systolic blood pressure ([0062], “The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms. Depending on the determination method, the MP/BP may be determined first followed by the SP and DP. In any case, the mobile device 100 subsequently displays the MP/BP.”).
Regarding claim 16, Mukkamala discloses A method of operating an electronic device, including a display panel, a light sensor, a pressure sensor, and a processor comprising (Abstract and entire document, FIG. 1-3, [0042], “display 104”, [0046], “PPG sensor 320”, “pressure sensor 324” [0045], “computer processor 300”):
calculating a first abnormal section based on a pressure signal; displaying a first indicator on the display panel in response to the first abnormal section being calculated from the pressure signal; ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If an abnormal section is found, then a first indicator displays guide information, etc. );
Mukkamala fails to explicitly disclose wherein in the calculating of the first abnormal section by analyzing the pressure signal, when a magnitude of the pressure signal in at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range defined by an upper limit pressure and a lower limit pressure, the at least one measurement section is calculated as the first abnormal section;
analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ko teaches wherein in the calculating of the first abnormal section by analyzing the pressure signal, when a magnitude of the pressure signal in at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range defined by an upper limit pressure and a lower limit pressure, the at least one measurement section is calculated as the first abnormal section (FIG. 11A-11B and associated paragraphs);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala to include wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the first abnormal section in response to a magnitude of the pressure signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range defined by an upper limit pressure and a lower limit pressure as taught by Ko to display with recognition to the user ([0103]).
Mukkamala as modified fails to explicitly disclose analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude (Para. [0071], “When the received pulse wave signal and contact pressure signal are determined to be insufficient for measuring the blood pressure or when the measured blood pressure is determined to be abnormal, for example, when the measured blood pressure is outside of a normal blood pressure range which is pre-set for a specific user, the processor 230 may determine to re-measure a contact pressure signal and a pulse wave signal. In this case, the processor 230 may guide the user in another motion different than the previously guided motion to change the hand shape.” Displays a same first indicator for both a first abnormal section calculated from a pressure signal and a second abnormal section calculated from a pulse wave signal);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include analyze the first pulse wave signal to display the first indicator on the display panel in response to a second abnormal section being calculated based on the first pulse wave signal, wherein the processor is configured to calculate at least one measurement section as the second abnormal section when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in the at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal is not within a second critical range between a first amplitude and a second amplitude; as taught by Kang to remeasure if measurements are abnormal which improves accuracy and correctness ([0071]).
Mukkamala as modified further discloses displaying a second indicator different from the first indicator on the display panel in response to the first abnormal section and the second abnormal section not being calculated (Mukkamala [0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If no abnormal section is found, a second indicator displays the BP); and
calculating blood pressure information based on the first pulse wave signal and the pressure signal (Mukkamala [0044], “The sensing unit 108 also measures blood volume oscillations 120 to generate an oscillogram 128, and BP is estimated from the oscillogram 128. The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is graphed in relation to target pressure 118 to guide the user on the need to apply increased pressure and when to apply increased pressure. Graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 in real time over the target pressure 118 allows the user to attempt to trace the target pressure 118. By having the user serve as the actuator, the requisite hardware is automatically miniaturized and greatly simplified. The SP, the DP, and the MP can be calculated from the oscillogram 128.”).
Regarding claim 17, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 16, Mukkamala further discloses wherein in the calculating of the first abnormal section by analyzing the pressure signal, when a magnitude of the pressure signal in at least one measurement section among the measurement sections of the pressure signal does not exist within a first critical range, the at least one measurement section is calculated as the first abnormal section ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” If an abnormal section is found, then a first indicator displays guide information, etc. ).
Regarding claim 18, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 17, Mukkamala further discloses further comprising, displaying a guide indicator so that at least one of a shape, a color and a location changes over time in response to the first critical range on the display panel, wherein the first critical range has a constant pressure width and increases with time to a preset degree ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Regarding claim 19, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 16, Mukkamala further discloses further comprising calculating a second abnormal section by analyzing a first pulse wave signal; wherein in the calculating of the second abnormal section by analyzing the first pulse wave signal, when a magnitude of the first pulse wave signal in at least one measurement section among measurement sections of the first pulse wave signal does not exist within a second critical range, the at least one measurement section is calculated as the second abnormal section ([0052], And [0055], And [0060 – 0062], “If so, then at 216 the system determines whether the user is applying the proper amount of pressure, wherein the proper amount of pressure is the target pressure 118. If so, the system proceeds to the next step….If the location of the finger relative to the sensing unit 108 is not proper at 212, or if the amount of pressure is not proper at 216, the system, at 220, provides corrective feedback so that the user can either correct the amount of pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 or adjust her finger positioning relative to the sensing unit 108…..Once the target pressure 118 is met and proper finger positioning is achieved, the sensing unit 108 measures and graphs the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 at 224. The system then displays the BP to the user. The system determines the SP and DP based on the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108. Using the SP and DP, the system estimates the MP/BP from the blood volume oscillations and the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 using various BP estimation algorithms.” See also [0054], “Additionally, after the BP has been computed, the application may determine whether the BP is within an acceptable range. If the BP falls outside of the acceptable range, the application may instruct the user to repeat the BP measurement in order to ensure accuracy.” Determination based on the pulse wave sensor).
Regarding claim 20, Mukkamala as modified discloses The method of claim 16, Mukkamala further discloses wherein the display panel includes a display area in which pixels and the light sensor are disposed and a non-display area disposed at one side of the display area (See FIG. 1), and
at least one of the first indicator and the second indicator has a shape extending along an edge of the display area (See FIG. 1-2, shape of the indicator can follow the display).
Regarding claim 21, the same rejections as applied to claims 1 and 16 apply to claim 21.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukkamala in view of Kang in further view of Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0386822 A1) (“Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 22, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 21, Mukkamala fails to disclose further comprising: a driving unit configured to activate the pressure sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches further comprising: a driving unit configured to activate the pressure sensor ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include further comprising: a driving unit configured to activate the pressure sensor as taught by Matsumura to save power ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
Regarding claim 23, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 22, Mukkamala fails to disclose wherein the driving unit is further configured to transmit a driving signal to the light sensor to activate the light sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura teaches wherein the driving unit is further configured to transmit a driving signal to the light sensor to activate the light sensor ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by Mukkamala as modified to include wherein the driving unit is further configured to transmit a driving signal to the light sensor to activate the light sensor as taught by Matsumura to save power ([0106], “As a result, the intermittent light emission control signal is output from the light emission control unit 218 of the blood pressure measurement unit 20 as the light emission control signal to the pulse driving unit 42 of the pulse wave sensor 40. Thus, the LED 411 of the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to the intermittent light emission operation. Accordingly, the pulse wave sensor 40 returns to a low power consumption operation state.”).
Regarding claim 24, Mukkamala as modified discloses The electronic device of claim 22, Mukkamala further discloses further comprising: a touch sensor configured to detect a touch event ([0052], “The pressure guide 316 may optionally be interfaced with the pressure sensor 324. In some embodiments, the pressure guide 316 scales the pressure applied to the pressure sensor 324 to a measure of pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 exerted on the PPG sensor 320. The pressure guide 316 is also configured to present the estimated magnitude of the pressure applied to the sensing unit 108 on the display 104.” Configured to detect if no pressure is applied); and
an indicator generation unit configured to generate a guide indicator on the display panel, wherein the guide indicator includes a pressure guide configured to indicate the applied pressure ([0053], “For example, the application provides visual feedback to guide the finger actuation by graphing the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 over the target pressure 118. That is, the target pressure 118 may be a linear target rise or a pressure in step increments, which may yield more artifact-robust oscillograms over certain time interval (e.g., at least 15 sec). The pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 is superimposed as it is being recorded in real-time. Alternatively, a display of the pressure applied 116 to the sensing unit 108 as it evolves in real-time within a plotting window that tells the user to raise the pressure steadily to a high level (e.g., 150 mmHg) over fixed time interval, but not in any preset way, may be used.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 16-18 and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. There are no additional arguments for claims 22-24.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 15-16 , filed July 27, 2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 13-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The section 103 rejections of claims 13-15 has been withdrawn. The specific temporal points of the waveform segmented and analyzed as claimed are not found in the prior art of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791