DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the amendment filed on 02/17/26. The applicant argument regarding Ghantous et al. is not persuasive; therefore, all the rejections based on Ghantous et al. is retained and repeated for the following reasons.
Summary of claims
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claims 1-22 are rejected.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on April 04th, 2024 is acceptable
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghantous et al. (US Pub. 2019/0072618).
As to claims 1 the prior art teaches z method of adapting a battery charging profile of a battery, comprising:
monitoring one or more parameters associated with the battery during normal operation of a device powered from the battery and while the battery is simultaneously charged by a charger and is discharged by a dynamic system load of the device (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0036-0044; especially, Ghantous et al. teach monitoring one or more parameters associated with the battery during normal operation of a device powered from the battery and while the battery is simultaneously charged by a charger and is discharged by a dynamic system load of the device as fig 1-3 paragraph 0037-0043);
determining an impedance of the battery based on the one or more parameters (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0067-0071 and 0083-0090; especially, Ghantous et al. teach determining an impedance of the battery based on the one or more parameters as fig 1-6 paragraph 0068-0071 and 0084-0089);
determining a condition of the battery based on the impedance and the one or more parameters (see fig 1, fig 6-8 paragraph 0116-0123; especially, Ghantous et al. teach determining a condition of the battery based on the impedance and the one or more parameters as fig 1, fig 6-8 paragraph 0117-0122);
and adapting the battery charging profile based on the condition (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0124-0133; especially, Ghantous et al. teach adapting the battery charging profile based on the condition as fig 1-6 paragraph 0125-0132).
As to claims 2 and 13, the prior art teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of a current associated with the battery, a voltage associated with the battery, and a temperature associated with the battery (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0038-0048).
As t o claims 3 and 14, the prior art teaches wherein the condition is a state of charge of the battery (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0080-0092).
As to claims 4 and 15 the prior art teaches wherein the condition is a state of health of the battery (see fig 1-5 paragraph 0049-0056).
As to claims 5 and 16 the prior art teaches further comprising coupling external power sinks to the charger and supplying power to the external power sinks through the charger operating in a reverse direction (see fig 1, fig 5-8 paragraph 0084-0090)..
As to claims 6 and 17 the prior art teaches wherein determining the impedance of the battery includes stimulating the battery with one or more of a transient event generated by a transient charging profile and a transient power source/sink event from a dedicated battery test circuit, operated in conjunction with the dynamic system load (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0067-0075).
As to claims 7 and 18 the prior art teaches wherein the dynamic system load is a broadband load (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0060-0065).
As to claims 8 and 19 the prior art teaches wherein determining the impedance of the battery comprises reconfiguring elements of a charging path of the device based on the impedance (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0069-0076).
As to claims 9 and 20 the prior art teaches wherein adapting the battery charging profile further comprises adapting the charging profile based on one or more of a power capability of a power path of the device and user-dependent battery management conditions (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0046-0053).
As to claims 10 and 21 the prior art teaches wherein the condition is an amount of electrical charge delivered to and drawn from the battery (see fig 1, fig 6-8 paragraph 0090-0096).
As to claims 11 and 22 the prior art teaches further comprising the charger communicating with power elements of a charging system and power elements external to the charging system in order to define a power exchange among power elements (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0094-0100).
As to claims 12, the prior art teaches a system for adapting a battery charging profile of a battery, comprising:
a monitoring circuit configured to monitor one or more parameters associated with the battery during normal operation of a device powered from the battery and while the battery is simultaneously charged by a charger and is discharged by a dynamic system load of the device (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0036-0044;
and a battery condition estimator configured to: determine an impedance of the battery based on the one or more parameters (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0067-0071 and 0083-0090);
determine a condition of the battery based on the impedance and the one or more parameters (see fig 1, fig 6-8 paragraph 0116-0123);
and adapt the battery charging profile based on the condition (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0124-0133).
Remarks
Applicant’s response and remarks filed on 02/17/26 have been carefully reviewed. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Key argument and their response related to the claims are listed as below:
Applicant contends that Ghantous et al. do not describe “monitoring one or more parameters associated with the battery during normal operation of a device powered from the battery and while the battery is simultaneously charged by a charger and is discharged by a dynamic system load of the device” probes as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Ghantous et al. US Pub. 2019/0072618) do teach monitoring one or more parameters associated with the battery during normal operation of a device powered from the battery and while the battery is simultaneously charged by a charger and is discharged by a dynamic system load of the device (see fig 1-3 paragraph 0036-0044; especially, Ghantous et al. teach monitoring one or more parameters associated with the battery during normal operation of a device powered from the battery and while the battery is simultaneously charged by a charger and is discharged by a dynamic system load of the device as fig 1-3 paragraph 0037-0043).
Applicant contends that Ghantous et al. do not describe “determining an impedance of the battery based on the one or more parameters” probes as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Ghantous et al. US Pub. 2019/0072618) do teach determining an impedance of the battery based on the one or more parameters (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0067-0071 and 0083-0090; especially, Ghantous et al. teach determining an impedance of the battery based on the one or more parameters as fig 1-6 paragraph 0068-0071 and 0084-0089).
Applicant contends that Ghantous et al. do not describe “determining a condition of the battery based on the impedance and the one or more parameters” probes as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Ghantous et al. US Pub. 2019/0072618) do teach determining a condition of the battery based on the impedance and the one or more parameters (see fig 1, fig 6-8 paragraph 0116-0123; especially, Ghantous et al. teach determining a condition of the battery based on the impedance and the one or more parameters as fig 1, fig 6-8 paragraph 0117-0122)
Applicant contends that Ghantous et al. do not describe “adapting the battery charging profile based on the condition” probes as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art (Ghantous et al. US Pub. 2019/0072618) do teach adapting the battery charging profile based on the condition (see fig 1-6 paragraph 0124-0133; especially, Ghantous et al. teach adapting the battery charging profile based on the condition as fig 1-6 paragraph 0125-0132)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851