DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunt (US 6,593,530).
Regarding claim 1, Hunt discloses a cover plate (see figure 1) for an electrical switch comprising a frame (10) and an identifying member (22), the frame (10) comprising a plate-like frame member (see figure 1) having a first window (14) sized and positioned for receiving at least a portion of the electrical switch (see figure 1), and a second window (see figure 1) sized and configured for receiving the identifying member (22), the identifying member (22) comprising a plate-like member (see figure 1) formed separately from the frame member (10), and the identifying member (22) having a front surface and a rear surface (see figures 1 and 2), an indicia (32) placeable on the front surface of the identifying member (22; column 4 lines 30-41), and a frame engaging member (36,38) configured for removably engaging the frame member (10) to secure the identifying member (22) to the frame member (10).
Regarding claim 2, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1) wherein the indicia (32) and identifying member (22) are integrally formed (column 4 lines 30-41).
Regarding claim 3, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the identifying member (22) comprises a one-piece member having an indicia (32) formed integrally with the identifying member and comprising at least one readable character (column 4 lines 30-41).
Regarding claim 4, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the second window (18) includes a pair of slots (34) for receiving the frame engaging member (36,38).
Regarding claim 5, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the frame engaging member (36,38) includes a pair of tab members (see figures 2 and 4) sized and configured for being received in the slots (34).
Regarding claim 6, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the identifying member (22) includes a first end and a second end, and wherein the tab members (36,38) comprise a first tab member adjacent to the first end, and a second tab member disposed adjacent the second end (see figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the second window (see figure 1) includes a recessed cavity (see figure 1) and a backing member (18) that comprises at least a portion of a rear surface of the second window (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the backing member (18) defines a first slot portion (34) adjacent a first end of the backing member (18) and a second slot portion (34; see figure 2) adjacent a second end of the backing member (see figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 9, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the backing member (18) comprises a backing plate having a substantially planar surface and wherein the identifying member (22) includes an aligning pin (36,38) extending outwardly from the rear surface of the identifying member (22; see figure 2), the aligning pin (36,38) being sized and positioned to be received by a pin receiving aperture (34) found in the backing plate (18; see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the frame engaging member (36,38) includes a first tab disposed adjacent a first end of the identifying member (22), and a second tab disposed adjacent a second end of the identifying member (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1) wherein the first tab (36,38) includes a beveled radially outwardly facing surface and an axially forwardly facing frame engaging surface (see figure 2) sized and positioned for engaging a rearwardly facing surface of the frame member (10), wherein the beveled surface helps the first tab move radially inwardly as the identifying member (22) is inserted into the second window (see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 12, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the second window (18) includes a pair of slots (34) for receiving the frame engaging member (18).
Regarding claim 13, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1) wherein the frame engaging member (18) includes a pair of tabs (36,38) sized and configured for being received in the second window (18) for coupling the identifying member to the frame member (10).
Regarding claim 14, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the second window (see figure 1) includes a pair of slots (34) for receiving the pair of tabs (36,38).
Regarding claim 15, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the identifying member (22) includes a first end and a second end (see figures 1 and 2), and the frame engaging members (36,38) include a first tab member disposed adjacent to the first end of the identifying member, and a second tab member disposed adjacent to the second end of the identifying member (see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 16, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1) wherein the second window (see figure 1) includes a recessed cavity and a backing member (18) that comprises at least a portion of a rear surface of the second window (see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), further comprising a backing member (18) disposed in the second window (see figure 1), the backing member (18) having a first end and a second end and defining a first slot portion (34) disposed closer to the first end than the second end, and a second slot (34) disposed closer to the second end than the first end (see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), further comprising a backing member (18) defining a recessed cavity in the second window (see figure 1), and including a pin receiving aperture (34), wherein the identifying member (22) includes an aligning pin (36,38) extending outwardly from the rear surface of the identifying member (22), the aligning pin (36,38) being sized and positioned to be received by the pin receiving aperture (34, see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 19, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the frame engaging member (36,38) includes a first tab disposed closer to a first end than to a second end of the identifying member (22) and a second tab disposed closer to the second end than to the first end of the identifying member (see figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 20, Hunt discloses the cover plate (see figure 1), wherein the first tab (36,38) includes a beveled radially outwardly facing surface, and an axially forwardly facing frame engaging surface (see figures 1 and 2) sized and positioned for engaging a rearwardly facing surface of the frame (10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cutler (US 8,143,520), O’Young et al (US 7,538,271), Finke et al (US 6,421,941), Goodsell (US 6,172,301), Tippett (US 6,026,605), Fandreyer (US 5,212,899) disclose a cover plate.
April 30, 2025
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841