DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2022/0189958, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses, as shown in Figures 1B and 3, a three-dimensional (3D) memory device comprising a memory array, wherein the memory array comprises:
a first multi-layer stacked structure (31,32), wherein the first multi-layer stacked structure comprises alternately stacked dielectric layers (31, [0035]) and conductive layers (32, [0035]);
first capacitor structures (C1) penetrating the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein a first capacitor structure of the first capacitor structures comprise a first dielectric layer (CI1) and a first electrode layer (CAP1), wherein the first dielectric layer of the first capacitor structure is disposed between the first electrode layer (CAP1) of the first capacitor structure and the dielectric layers (31) or the conductive layers (32) of the first multi-layer stacked structure; and
a blocking structure (SUP) penetrating the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the blocking structure separates one subset of the first capacitor structures (C1) from another subset of the first capacitor structures (C2), and wherein the blocking structure comprises a dielectric filling material (SCM), a dielectric layer (SCI) and a conductive layer (CC) that are arranged radially from a center of the blocking structure toward an outer surface of the blocking structure.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses dielectric layers (CI1) of the first capacitor structure and the dielectric layer (SCI) of the blocking structure comprises a same dielectric material (see Figures 2F-2O, forming of the same dielectric layers, so they have the same dielectric material); and
electrode layers (CAP1) of the first capacitor structures and the conductive layer (CC) of the blocking structure comprise a same conductive material (see Figures 2F-2O, forming of the same layers, so they have the same conductive material.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0189958, of record) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0199621, of record).
Choi discloses the claimed invention including the semiconductor device as explained in the above rejection. Choi further discloses the dielectric layers (CI1) of the first capacitor structure and the dielectric layer (SCI) of the blocking structure comprises a same dielectric material (see Figures 2F-2O, forming of the same dielectric layer, so they have the same dielectric material). Choi does not disclose the dielectric layer of each of the first capacitor structures and the dielectric layer of the blocking structure comprise a ferroelectric material or an anti-ferroelectric material. However, Lee et al. discloses a dielectric layer (DL) of each of the first capacitor structures comprises a ferroelectric material. Note Figures 9A-11B and [0055] of Lee et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the dielectric layer of each of the first capacitor structures and the dielectric layer of the blocking structure of Choi comprise a ferroelectric material, such as taught by Lee et al. in order to further improve the capacitance of the capacitor.
Claim(s) 5-6, 10-12, 14-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0189958, of record) in view of Nishikawa et al. (PN 10,629,675, of record).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the claimed invention including the semiconductor device as explained in the above rejection. Choi does not disclose the memory array further comprises a second multi-layer stacked structure over the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the second multi-layer stacked structure comprises a first insulating layer, a word line layer over the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer over the word line layer. However, Nishikawa et al. discloses a memory array comprising a second multi-layer stacked structure (232,242,265,270,72) over the first multi-layer stacked structure (132,142,165,170), wherein the second multi-layer stacked structure comprises a first insulating layer, a word line layer over the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer over the word line layer. Note Figures 7A, 21A-24 of Nishikawa et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the memory array of Choi further comprising a second multi-layer stacked structure over the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the second multi-layer stacked structure comprises a first insulating layer, a word line layer over the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer over the word line layer, such as taught by Nishikawa et al. in order to further integrate more memories to achieve more density circuitry.
Regarding claim 6, Choi and Nishikawa et al. disclose the memory array further comprises:
second capacitor structures (245) penetrating the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the second capacitor structures are disposed over the first capacitor structures (145), and wherein each of the second capacitor structures comprises a dielectric layer (232) and a conductive filling material (246); and
bit lines (98) over the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the bit lines are disposed over the second capacitor structures (Figure 23).
Regarding claim 10, Choi and Nishikawa et al. disclose the memory array further comprises:
a contact (229,249,269) penetrating the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the contact is disposed over the blocking structure, wherein the contact penetrates through the second insulating layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure to the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure, and wherein the contact is in contact with the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure (Figures 7A and 21A-24 of Nishikawa et al.)
Regarding claim 11, Choi and Nishikawa et al. disclose more than one contacts (229,249,269) are disposed over a respective blocking structure (Figures 7A and 21A-24.)
Regarding claim 12, Choi and Nishikawa et al. disclose the memory array comprises a plurality of blocking structures (79,76), wherein a contact is disposed at a first subset of the blocking structures, and wherein no contact is disposed at a second subset of the blocking structures (Figure 22).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses, as shown in Figures 1B and 3, a three-dimensional (3D) memory device comprising a memory array, wherein the memory array comprises:
a first multi-layer stacked structure (31,32), wherein the first multi-layer stacked structure comprises alternately stacked dielectric layers (31, [0035]) and conductive layers (32, [0035]);
first capacitor structures (C1) penetrating the first multi-layer stacked structure;
a blocking structure (SUP) penetrating the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the blocking structure separates one subset of the first capacitor structures (C1) from another subset of the first capacitor structures (C2).
Choi does not disclose a second multi-layer stacked structure over the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the second multi-layer stacked structure comprises a first insulating layer, a word line layer over the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer over the word line layer, and a contact penetrating the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the contact is disposed over the blocking structure, and wherein the contact is in contact with the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure. However, However, Nishikawa et al. discloses a memory array comprising a second multi-layer stacked structure (232,242,265,270,72) over the first multi-layer stacked structure (132,142,165,170), wherein the second multi-layer stacked structure comprises a first insulating layer (232), a word line layer (246) over the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer (280,282) over the word line layer, and a contact (229,249,269) penetrating the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the contact is disposed over the blocking structure, and wherein the contact is in contact with the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure. Note Figures 7A, 21A-24 of Nishikawa et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the memory array of Choi further comprising a second multi-layer stacked structure over the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the second multi-layer stacked structure comprises a first insulating layer, a word line layer over the first insulating layer, and a second insulating layer over the word line layer, and the contact is in contact with the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure, such as taught by Nishikawa et al. in order to further integrate more memories to achieve more density circuitry.
Regarding claim 15, Choi and Nishikawa et al. disclose each of the first capacitor structures comprise a dielectric layer (CM1, CI1) and a conductive layer (CAP1), the dielectric layers (CM1 CI1) of the first capacitor structure and the dielectric layer (SCM, SCI) of the blocking structure comprises a same dielectric material (see Figures 2F-2O, forming of the same dielectric layers, so they have the same dielectric material); and
the electrode layers (CAP1) of the first capacitor structures and the conductive layer (CC) of the blocking structure comprise a same conductive material (see Figures 2F-2O, forming of the same layers, so they have the same conductive material.)
Regarding claim 21, Choi discloses the claimed invention including the semiconductor device as explained in the above rejection. Choi further discloses the first capacitor structure comprising the first electrode layer and the first dielectric layer that are arranged radially from a center of the first capacitor structure toward an outer surface of the first capacitor structure. Choi does not disclose the first capacitor structure further comprises a first conductive filler material. However, Nishikawa et al. disclose a backside recesses (143,243) of first capacitor structure comprising a first filler material (a liner, titanium nitride, tungsten nitride, etc., Col. 27, lines 34-48) between a first electrode (conductive fill material, W, Cu, Ru, etc., Col. 27, lines 34-48) and a stacked structure. Note Figures of Nishikawa et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the first capacitor structure of Choi further comprising the first conductive filler material, such as taught by Nishikawa et al. in order to further prevent the diffusion of the impurities into the first electrode.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0189958, of record) in view of Nishikawa et al. (PN 10,629,675, of record) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0199621, of record).
Regarding claim 16, Choi and Nishikawa et al. disclose the claimed invention including the semiconductor device as explained in the above rejection. Choi and Nishikawa et al. further disclose the dielectric layers (CM1 CI1) of the first capacitor structure and the dielectric layer (SCM, SCI) of the blocking structure comprises a same dielectric material (see Figures 2F-2O, forming of the same dielectric layers, so they have the same dielectric material). Choi and Nishikawa et al. do not disclose the dielectric layer of each of the first capacitor structures and the dielectric layer of the blocking structure comprise a ferroelectric material or an anti-ferroelectric material. However, Lee et al. discloses a dielectric layer (DL) of each of the first capacitor structures comprises a ferroelectric material. Note Figures 9A-11B and [0055] of Lee et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the dielectric layer of each of the first capacitor structures and the dielectric layer of the blocking structure of Choi and Nishikawa et al. comprise a ferroelectric material, such as taught by Lee et al. in order to further improve the capacitance of the capacitor.
Regarding claim 18, Choi, Nishikawa et al. and Lee et al. disclose the memory array further comprises:
second capacitor structures (245) penetrating the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the second capacitor structures are disposed over the first capacitor structures (145), and wherein each of the second capacitor structure comprises a dielectric layer (232) and a conductive filling material (246); and
bit lines (98) over the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the bit lines are disposed over the second capacitor structures (Figure 23).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0189958, of record) in view of Nishikawa et al. (PN 10,629,675, of record) and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (PN 5,176,789, of record).
Choi and Nishikawa et al. disclose the claimed invention including the semiconductor device as explained in the above rejection. Choi and Nishikawa et al. do not disclose the blocking structure further comprises a dielectric filling material, and wherein the conductive layer of the blocking structure is disposed between the dielectric layer of the blocking structure and the dielectric filling material. However, Yamazaki et al. discloses a blocking structure the blocking structure comprises a dielectric filling material (6), and wherein the conductive layer (5) of the blocking structure is disposed between the dielectric layer (4) of the blocking structure and the dielectric filling material (6). Note Figures 4(A)-4(C) of Yamazaki et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the blocking structure of Choi and Nishikawa et al. having the conductive layer is disposed between the dielectric layer and the dielectric filling material, such as taught by Yamazaki et al. in order to further improve isolation between the memory cells.
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0189958, of record) in view of Huo et al. (US 2021/0104534, of record).
Choi discloses the claimed invention including the semiconductor device as explained in the above rejection. Choi further discloses peripheral circuits are included in the memory system. Cho does not disclose a peripheral circuit bonded to the memory array. However, Huo et al. discloses a memory system having a peripheral circuit (404/408) bonded to a memory array (510). Note Figure 6 and [0074] of Huo et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the memory device of Choi having a peripheral circuit bonded to a memory array, such as taught by Huo et al. in order to further improve the interconnection between the memory array and the peripheral circuit and reduce the overall footprint.
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses, as shown in Figures 1B and 3, a memory system comprising a three-dimensional (3D) memory device having the memory array comprises:
a first multi-layer stacked structure (31,32), wherein the first multi-layer stacked structure comprises alternately stacked dielectric layers (31, [0035]) and conductive layers (32, [0035]);
first capacitor structures (C1) penetrating the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein a first capacitor structure of the first capacitor structures comprise a first dielectric layer (CI1) and a first electrode layer (CAP1), wherein the first dielectric layer of the first capacitor structure is disposed between the first electrode layer (CAP1) of the first capacitor structure and the dielectric layers (31) or the conductive layers (32) of the first multi-layer stacked structure; and
a blocking structure (SUP) penetrating the first multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the blocking structure separates one subset of the first capacitor structures (C1) from another subset of the first capacitor structures (C2), and wherein the blocking structure comprises a dielectric filling material (SCM), a dielectric layer (SCI) and a conductive layer (CC) that are arranged radially from a center of the blocking structure toward an outer surface of the blocking structure.
Choi does not disclose a peripheral circuit bonded to memory array. However, Huo et al. discloses a memory system having a peripheral circuit (404/408) bonded to a memory array (510). Note Figure 6 and [0074] of Huo et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the memory device of Choi having a peripheral circuit bonded to a memory array, such as taught by Huo et al. in order to further improve the interconnection between the memory array and the peripheral circuit and reduce the overall footprint.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant' s claims 7-9 and 19 are allowable over the references of record because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed 3D memory device having the memory array comprises word line blocking structures penetrating the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the word line blocking structures penetrate through at least the second insulating layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure and the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure, as recited in claim 7; none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed 3D memory device having the memory array comprises word line blocking structures penetrating the second multi-layer stacked structure, wherein the word line blocking structures penetrate through at least the second insulating layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure and the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure, and wherein an extending direction of the word line blocking structures is perpendicular to an extending direction of the blocking structure, as recited in claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is argued, at pages 10-11 of the Remarks, that Choi does not disclose the blocking structure comprises a dielectric filling material, a dielectric layer, and a conductive layer that are arranged radially from a center of the blocking structure toward an outer surface of the blocking structure, as recited in claim 1. This argument is not convincing because Choi discloses, as shown in Figures 1B and 3, the blocking structure (SUP) comprises a dielectric filling material (SCM), a dielectric layer (SCI) and a conductive layer (CC) that are arranged radially from a center of the blocking structure toward an outer surface of the blocking structure. Therefore, Applicant’s claim 1 does not distinguish over the Choi reference.
It is argued, at pages 11-13 of the Remarks, that the combination of Choi and Nishikawa et al. discloses “openings” (249,229, or 269), not “contacts” that connect to a word line, as recited in claim 14. This argument is not convincing because Nishikawa et al. discloses, as shown in Figure 7A, contact opening (249,229, or 269) is in contact with the word line layer of the second multi-layer stacked structure. Note that the claimed language does not specifically state what a material of a contact is made of (a conductive material, a dielectric material, etc.)
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “connect”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is argued, at page 13 of the Remarks, that Nishikawa’s openings are not disposed over a “blocking structure”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As in this case, Choi does not disclose a second multi-layer stacked structure over the first multi-layer stacked structure. Nishikawa et al., on the other hand, discloses a memory array comprising a second multi-layer stacked structure (232,242,265,270,72) over the first multi-layer stacked structure (132,142,165,170). Note Figures 7A, 21A-24 of Nishikawa et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the memory array of Choi further comprising a second multi-layer stacked structure over the first multi-layer stacked structure, in order to further integrate more memories to achieve more density circuitry. The combination of Choi in view of Nishikawa et al. references discloses the contact openings disposed over the blocking structure. Therefore, Applicant’s claim 14 does not distinguish over the Choi in view of Nishikawa references.
It is argued, at page 13 of the Remarks that the combination of Choi in view of Huo et al. does not disclose the claimed limitation of claim 20. This argument is not convincing because Choi discloses, as shown in Figure 7A, the blocking structure (SUP) comprises a dielectric filling material (SCM), a dielectric layer (SCI) and a conductive layer (CC) that are arranged radially from a center of the blocking structure toward an outer surface of the blocking structure. Therefore, Applicant’s claim 20 does not distinguish over the combination of Choi in view of Huo et al. references.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897