DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 22, 2, 25, 4, 24, 26-27, 3, 23, 18, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the active pixels having a 3T or 4T layout of claim 6, the storage capacitor of claim 26, and the readout circuitry being configured to reset the storage capacitor of claim 27 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sakumura et al. US 2015/0213623.
Regarding claim 1, Sakumura discloses an X-ray detecting system (fig. 1), comprising: an X-ray detector (130) comprising a pixel array (para. 0041 “two-dimensional detector”) and readout circuitry for reading out pixel signals of the pixel array (200), wherein the readout circuitry is configured for acquiring a plurality of frames during a single X-ray exposure (fig. 3; para. 0050-0052), each frame comprising pixel values for the pixels in the pixel array (para. 0041 “pixel detector”), and wherein the readout circuitry is configured to use an integration time for each frame that is a fraction of a total exposure time of the single X- ray exposure (fig. 5; para. 0050-0052; dividing the exposure time into sub-exposure times for each frame during a single exposure); and a processing unit for processing the pixel signals (200), wherein the processing unit comprises a frame summing unit and an X-ray image generating unit; wherein the frame summing unit is configured to, for each pixel of the pixel array: compare the pixel values of the acquired frames that correspond to that pixel for detecting a pixel value in those frames that was adversely affected by a direct hit of that pixel by an X-ray photon during said single exposure (fig. 5; para. 0063; abnormal pixel values includes, but is not limited to, direct X-ray hits, see para. 0011); and generate a pixel value for that pixel in dependence of the pixel values of the acquired frames, discarding the detected adversely affected pixel value for that pixel (fig. 5; para. 0064); wherein the X-ray image generating unit is configured to generate an X-ray image based on the generated pixel values for the pixels of the pixel array (fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 2, Sakumura discloses wherein the X- ray detecting system does not comprise a fiber optic plate (there is no fiber optic plate in the system of Sakumura).
Regarding claim 4, Sakumura discloses wherein the frame summing unit is configured to detect the pixel value by determining, for that pixel, an average value of the pixel values of the acquired frames (para. 0073), and to determine that a pixel value among the pixel values of the acquired frames is adversely affected by a direct hit of that pixel by an X-ray photon if that pixel value deviates more than a first threshold (para. 0063) from the determined average value and using the determination to detect the direct hit of that pixel by an X-ray photon during said single exposure (para. 0073).
Regarding claim 7, Sakumura discloses the pixel array comprises a CMOS pixel array on a Silicon substrate (para. 0042; CMOS detector implies a silicon substrate).
Regarding claim 20, Sakumura discloses an X-ray system, comprising: an X-ray source (110); and the X-ray detecting system according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 22, Sakumura discloses an X-ray detection method, comprising: emitting X-rays to an object (para. 0038-0039); converting X-rays having passed through the object into visible light (para. 0042; CCD or CMOS detectors in X-ray imaging arts implies the existence of a scintillator as part of the “X-ray receiving element”); detecting the visible light using a pixel array while X-rays generate direct hits in the pixel array, by acquiring multiple frames during a single X-ray exposure, wherein multiple frames are acquired using an integration time for each frame that is a fraction of a total exposure time of the single X-ray exposure (fig. 5; para. 0050-0052; dividing the exposure time into sub-exposure times for each frame during a single exposure);for each pixel of the pixel array, comparing pixel values of the acquired frames that correspond to that pixel for detecting a pixel value in those frames that was adversely affected by a direct hit of that pixel by an X-ray photon during said single exposure (fig. 5; para. 0063; abnormal pixel values includes, but is not limited to, direct X-ray hits, see para. 0011), and generating a pixel value for that pixel in dependence of the pixel values of the acquired frames, while discarding the detected adversely affected pixel value for that pixel (fig. 5; para. 0064); generating an X-ray image based on the generated pixel values for the pixels of the pixel array (fig. 10B).
Regarding claim 24, Sakumura discloses wherein the frame summing unit is configured to detect the pixel value by determining, for that pixel, an average value of the pixel values of the acquired frames (para. 0073), and to determine that a pixel value among the pixel values of the acquired frames is adversely affected by a direct hit of that pixel by an X-ray photon if that pixel value deviates more than a first threshold (para. 0063) from the determined average value and using the determination to detect the direct hit of that pixel by an X-ray photon during said single exposure (para. 0073).
Regarding claim 25, Sakumura discloses wherein said detecting the visible light comprises detecting the visible light using a pixel array (para. 0041) while X-rays, which have not passed through a fiber optic plate (there is no fiber optic plate in the system of Sakumura), generate direct hits in the pixel array (fig. 5; para. 0063; abnormal pixel values includes, but is not limited to, direct X-ray hits, see para. 0011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakumura et al. US 2015/0213623 in view of Odogba et al. US 2004/0200969.
Regarding claim 3, Sakumura discloses wherein the frame summing unit is configured to detect the pixel value by determining, for that pixel, a median value of the pixel values of the acquired frames, and to determine that a pixel value among the pixel values of the acquired frames is adversely affected if that pixel value deviates more than a first threshold from the determined median except that Sakumura uses the average value instead of the median value value (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 claim 4). Odogba shows that using the median value and the average value are commonly known statistical methods in the art (para. 0013-0014). Therefore, because these two statistical methods were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute using the median value for the average value.
Regarding claim 23, Sakumura discloses wherein the frame summing unit is configured to detect the pixel value by determining, for that pixel, a median value of the pixel values of the acquired frames, and to determine that a pixel value among the pixel values of the acquired frames is adversely affected if that pixel value deviates more than a first threshold from the determined median except that Sakumura uses the average value instead of the median value value (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 claim 24). Odogba shows that using the median value and the average value are commonly known statistical methods in the art (para. 0013-0014). Therefore, because these two statistical methods were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute using the median value for the average value.
Claims 5-6, 8, 18, 19, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakumura et al. US 2015/0213623 in view of Inoue et al. TW 2021/105987.
Regarding claim 5, Sakumura teaches the detector being a pixel detector such as a CMOS or CCD detector (para. 0042), but fails to explicitly teach the details of the detector including wherein the pixel array comprises active pixels.
Inoue teaches a CMOS sensor (pg. 3 para. 1) wherein the pixel array comprises active pixels (fig. 25E) which has improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the pixel array comprises active pixels as taught by Inoue in the system of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size.
Regarding claim 6, Sakumura teaches the detector being a pixel detector such as a CMOS or CCD detector (para. 0042), but fails to explicitly teach the details of the detector including wherein the active pixels have a 3T or 4T layout.
Inoue teaches a CMOS sensor (pg. 3 para. 1) wherein the active pixels have a 3T or 4T layout (fig. 25E) which has improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the active pixels have a 3T or 4T layout as taught by Inoue in the system of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size.
Regarding claim 8, Sakumura teaches the detector being a pixel detector such as a CMOS or CCD detector (para. 0042), but fails to explicitly teach the details of the detector including having a carrier; a scintillator arranged on the carrier; a semiconductor substrate attached to the carrier on which substrate the pixel array and the readout circuitry are integrated.
Inoue teaches a CMOS sensor (pg. 3 para. 1) comprising: a carrier (fig. 23 #671); a scintillator (fig. 23 #372) arranged on the carrier (fig. 23 #671); a semiconductor substrate (fig. 23 #611) attached to the carrier (671 is attached to the substrate 611 since the substrate is attached to the entire pixel) on which substrate (#611) the pixel array (561, 565a, 565b) and the readout circuitry (562, 563) are integrated (fig. 23 all layers are integrated on the substrate) which has improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a carrier; a scintillator arranged on the carrier; a semiconductor substrate attached to the carrier on which substrate the pixel array and the readout circuitry are integrated as taught by Inoue in the system of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size.
Regarding claim 18, Sakumura teaches the detector being a pixel detector such as a CMOS or CCD detector (para. 0042), but fails to explicitly teach the details of the detector including the carrier is made of one or more materials out of the group consisting of aluminum, amorphous carbon, and other light flexible organic substrate such as a polyimide or PET, wherein an absorption coefficient for X-ray radiation having an energy within a range between 20 and 150 keV lies in a range between 0.01 and 4 cm2/mg.
Inoue teaches a CMOS sensor (pg. 3 para. 1) wherein the carrier is made of one or more materials out of the group consisting of aluminum (pg. 5 para. 3), amorphous carbon, and other light flexible organic substrate such as a polyimide or PET, wherein an absorption coefficient for X-ray radiation having an energy within a range between 20 and 150 keV lies in a range between 0.01 and 4 cm2/mg which has improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the carrier is made of one or more materials out of the group consisting of aluminum, amorphous carbon, and other light flexible organic substrate such as a polyimide or PET, wherein an absorption coefficient for X-ray radiation having an energy within a range between 20 and 150 keV lies in a range between 0.01 and 4 cm2/mg as taught by Inoue in the system of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size.
Regarding claim 19, Sakumura fails to teach wherein the frame summing unit is integrated on the semiconductor substrate.
Inoue teaches the teadout circuitry (563) being integrated on the silicon substrate (611; pg. 18 para. 10) for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the frame summing unit is integrated on the semiconductor substrate as taught by Inoue in the system of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size.
Regarding claim 26, Sakumura teaches the detector being a pixel detector such as a CMOS or CCD detector (para. 0042), but fails to explicitly teach the details of the detector including, wherein each pixel of the pixel comprises a storage capacitor and is configured to, for each of a plurality of integration periods during the single X-ray exposure, store a charge associated with a generated photocurrent in the storage capacitor of that pixel during that integration period.
Inoue teaches a CMOS sensor (pg. 3 para. 1), wherein each pixel of the pixel comprises a storage capacitor and is configured to, for each of a plurality of integration periods during the single X-ray exposure, store a charge associated with a generated photocurrent in the storage capacitor of that pixel during that integration period (fig. 25E Cs) which has improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each pixel of the pixel comprises a storage capacitor and is configured to, for each of a plurality of integration periods during the single X-ray exposure, store a charge associated with a generated photocurrent in the storage capacitor of that pixel during that integration period as taught by Inoue in the system of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size.
Regarding claim 27, Sakumura teaches the detector being a pixel detector such as a CMOS or CCD detector (para. 0042), but fails to explicitly teach the details of the detector including, wherein the readout circuitry is configured to read out each pixel after a respective integration period and to reset a voltage over the storage capacitor, the readout circuitry being further configured to store a collection of pixel values associated with the pixels of the pixel array generated based on the pixel signals of the pixel array obtained during a single integration period as a frame among said plurality of frames.
Inoue teaches a CMOS sensor (pg. 3 para. 1), wherein the readout circuitry is configured to read out each pixel after a respective integration period and to reset a voltage over the storage capacitor, the readout circuitry being further configured to store a collection of pixel values associated with the pixels of the pixel array generated based on the pixel signals of the pixel array obtained during a single integration period as a frame among said plurality of frames (pg. 30 para. 11- pg. 33 para. 7) which has improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the readout circuitry is configured to read out each pixel after a respective integration period and to reset a voltage over the storage capacitor, the readout circuitry being further configured to store a collection of pixel values associated with the pixels of the pixel array generated based on the pixel signals of the pixel array obtained during a single integration period as a frame among said plurality of frames as taught by Inoue in the system of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency and reduced size.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakumura et al. US 2015/0213623 in view of Inoue et al. TW 2021/105987 and the webpage "Radiation Risk from Medical Imaging" published by Harvard Health Publishing (hereafter Harvard).
Regarding claim 21, Sakumura teaches wherein the X-ray system is operable in a first operational mode in which the X-ray source is configured to emit X-rays (figs. 1 #110) and during said single exposure and such that the number of acquired frames exceeds 4 (claim 4; a plurality of frames is open ended and includes embodiments which exceeds 4).
Sakumura teaches the detector being a pixel detector such as a CMOS or CCD detector (para. 0042), but fails to explicitly teach the details of the detector including wherein the pixels of the pixel array are active pixels that each have a storage capacity, wherein an integration time of the pixel array is such that a maximum filling level of the storage capacity stays between 1 and 50 percent during said single exposure, and the X-ray dose rate is in a range between 0.01 and 10 mGy.
Inoue teaches wherein the pixels of the pixel array are active pixels that each have a storage capacity (figs. 25A-25#) which has improved power efficiency and reduced size (pg. 3 para. 4).
Inoue does not explicitly disclose wherein an integration time of the pixel array is such that a maximum filling level of the storage capacity stays between 1 and 50 percent during said single exposure, but Inoue does teach the read threshold of the storage capacitor being tunable (fig. 25 BGL, M11; pg. 31 para. 7-8). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to recited range (the storage capacity stays between 1 and 50 percent) through routine experimentation and optimization. The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical.
Harvard teaches that medical imaging dosages range from .001 mGy and 20+ mGy with the majority of imaging ranging from .01 and 10 mGy (Imaging procedures and their approximate effective energy radiation doses; note that mSv and mGy are converted 1:1) for the purpose of optimizing patient safety.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the pixels of the pixel array are active pixels that each have a storage capacity, wherein an integration time of the pixel array is such that a maximum filling level of the storage capacity stays between 1 and 50 percent during said single exposure, and the X-ray dose rate is in a range between 0.01 and 10 mGyas taught by Inoue and Harvard in the System of Sakumura for the purpose of improved power efficiency, reduced size, and improved safety.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884