DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 18-20 have been considered the argument is persuasive, and thus the following Office Action is a second Non-final action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US 2005/0274003 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a mounting system (fig. 1, semiconductor device holder 100, par. [0018]) comprising: a coupon chuck (fig. 1, frame 104, par. [0018]), the coupon chuck comprising: a carrier plate (fig. 1, movable die holding carrier 112, par. [0019]) comprising a plurality of recess structures (fig. 2-3, one or more die receiving openings 214, par. [0024]) of a carrier plate disposed in the carrier plate, wherein each recess of the plurality of recess structures defines one holding area of a plurality of holding areas (fig. 1, plurality of die-processing cavities 114, par. [0019]) on the carrier plate (see fig. 1-3), wherein each holding area is configured to receive and hold a respective coupon (fig. 1, frame 104, par. [0018]) of a plurality of coupons (fig. 1, one or more dies 118, par. [0020]), and a vacuum distribution system (fig. 1-3, elm. 120, 206,108, par. [0020], [0026]) disposed at least partially in the carrier plate and configured to connect (fig. 1, vacuum line 108, par. [0027]) the plurality of recess structures to a vacuum supply system (fig. 1, one or more dies 302, par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the mounting system according to claim 10, Lee does not disclose wherein the vacuum distribution system (fig. 1-3, elm. 120, 206, par. [0020], [0026]) further comprises one or more vacuum connection terminals (fig. 1-3, elm. 108, par. [0020], [0026]) to connect the vacuum distribution system to a vacuum supply system (fig. 3, elm. 302, par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the mounting system according to claim 10, wherein the vacuum distribution system (fig. 1-3, elm. 120, 206, 108, par. [0020], [0026]) further comprises one or more vacuum channels (fig. 1-3, one or more vacuum apertures 120, par. [0020]) disposed at least partially in the carrier plate (fig. 1, movable die holding carrier 112, par. [0019]) and configured to connect the plurality of recess structures (fig. 2-3, one or more die receiving openings 214, par. [0024]) to a vacuum supply system (fig. 1-3, one or more dies 302, par. [0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the mounting system according to claim 10, Lee does not disclose wherein each recess structure of the plurality of recess structures (fig. 2-3, one or more die receiving openings 214, par. [0024]) comprises a vacuum connection hole (fig. 2-3, more vacuum apertures 120, par. [0020]) that connects a respective recess structure to a corresponding one of a plurality of vacuum channels (fig. 2-3, elm. 206, par. [0020], [0026]) disposed in the carrier plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kojima US 6,111,417 A.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for processing a plurality of coupons (fig. 1, die 118, par. [0019]) via a processing tool (fig. 1, apparatus 130, par. [0019]), the method comprising: positioning a first coupon (fig. 1, one or more dies 118, par. [0019]) of the plurality of coupons in a first holding area (fig. 1, plurality of die-processing cavities 114, par. [0019]) of a carrier plate (fig. 1, movable die holding carrier 112, par. [0019]) and positioning a second coupon (118) of the plurality of coupons in a second holding (fig. 1, plurality of die-processing cavities 114, par. [0019]) area of the carrier plate (see fig. 1, par. [0019]); wherein each of the first holding area and the second holding area are defined by a first recess structure and a second recess structure respectively (see fig. 2-3, one or more die receiving openings 214, par. [0024]); supplying a vacuum (fig. 1-3, vacuum line 108, e.g., a vacuum connection, configured to connect frame 104 to at least one external vacuum force source, par. [0018], [0020], [0026]) to the first recess structure in the carrier plate to fixate the first coupon covering the first recess structure and supplying a vacuum (fig. 1-3, vacuum line 108, e.g., a vacuum connection, configured to connect frame 104 to at least one external vacuum force source, par. [0018], [0020], [0026]) to the second recess structure (fig. 2-3, plurality vacuum orifices 206, par. [0018]-[0020], [0026]) in the carrier plate to fixate the second coupon covering the second recess structure (fig. 2-3, plurality vacuum orifices 206, par. [0018]-[0020], [0026]).
Lee does not disclose sequentially processing the first coupon and the second coupon while both the first coupon and the second coupon are mounted on the carrier plate.
Kojima discloses sequentially processing (visual inspection, electrical test, col. 7, ln. 1-9) the first coupon (fig. 5e, component parts 10, col. 7, ln. 1-3) and the second coupon (fig. 5e, next component part, col. 7, ln. 4-9) while both the first coupon and the second coupon are mounted on the carrier plate (fig. 5e, tray 1A, col. 7, ln. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to semiconductor test system includes a tray including a plurality of pockets for accommodating a plurality of semiconductor component parts, a sucking mechanism to firmly maintain the semiconductor component parts in the tray during visual and electrical testing, as taught in Kojima in modifying the apparatus of Lee. The motivation would be to facilitate conveyance of component without altering its position reducing the overall test time (see Kojima: col. 2, ln. 10-30).
Regarding claim 4, Lee and Kojima discloses the method according to claim 1, Lee discloses further comprising: aligning the first coupon (fig. 1, die 118, par. [0019]) and the second coupon based on an alignment pattern disposed on the carrier plate (provide alignment, vacuum apertures 120 may be sized and configured to allow such portions of one or more dies 118 therethrough, and be configured to assist in the stabilization and alignment of one or more dies 118 supported, par. [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee and Kojima discloses the method according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein the first coupon and the second coupon differ from one another with respect to at least one of shape and size (one or more dies 118 having different sizes and processing requirements. For example, die receiving cavities 114 may be configured individually into one or more various shapes such as polygonal, round, oval, and the like, configured to support a plurality of different die shapes and sizes, par. [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee and Kojima discloses the method according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein the carrier plate (fig. 2, movable die holding carriers 112, par. [0024]) is an adapter plate (fig. 2, die alignment plate 212 and die supporting plate 208, par. [0024]) configured to distribute a vacuum (fig. 2-3, die supporting plate 208 includes one or more vacuum apertures 120 extending therethrough to upper surface 210, par. [0023]) provided by a wafer chuck to the first recess structure (fig. 2, one or more die receiving openings 214, par. [0024]) and the second recess structure while being mounted at the wafer chuck (fig. 1-3, frame 104, par. [0018]), the method further comprising: mounting the carrier plate on a surface of the wafer chuck (see fig. 1-3, par. [0018]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kojima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshida et al. US 202/00101584 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Yoshida).
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Kojima discloses the method according to claim 1, Lee and Kojima do not disclose further comprising positioning a cover in a third holding area of the carrier plate to cover a third recess structure in the carrier plate defining the third holding area to seal the third recess structure for avoiding a fluid flow into the third recess structure while supplying a vacuum to the third recess structure.
Yoshida discloses positioning a cover (fig. 1, plug 140, par. [0024]) in a third holding area of the carrier plate (fig. 1, plug 112, par. [0022]) to cover a third recess structure (fig. 1, unused hole 120, par. [0022]) in the carrier plate defining the third holding area to seal the third recess structure for avoiding a fluid flow (air, par. [0018]) into the third recess structure while supplying a vacuum (fig. 2, vacuum 270, par. [0028]) to the third recess structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide plugs to plug, valved off or seal unused holes in vacuum table, as taught in Yoshida in modifying the apparatus of Lee and Kojima. The motivation would be to reduce the need for vacuum source and the vacuum distribution system to make up or compensate for leaks in order to maintain the pressure or force needed to hold down the workpiece. (see Yoshida: par. [0002]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kojima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brandis et al. EP 2048695 A2 (hereinafter referred to as Brandis).
Regarding claim 3, Lee and Kojima discloses the method according to claim 1, Lee and Kojima do not disclose further comprising: controlling a vacuum supply to a plurality of recess structures in the carrier plate to supply the vacuum to the first recess structure and the second recess structure and to prevent a supply of the vacuum to one or more other recess structures in the carrier plate that are not covered by a coupon.
Brandis discloses controlling (fig. 1, pneumatic adjusting elements 120, par. [0040]-[0042]) a vacuum supply (fig. 1, elm. 130, par. [0043]) to a plurality of recess structures (fig. 1, elm. 112, par. [0039]) in the carrier plate to supply the vacuum to the first recess structure (see fig. 1a-1c) and the second recess structure (see fig. 1a-1c) and to prevent a supply of the vacuum to one or more other recess structures in the carrier plate that are not covered by a coupon (fig. 1a-1c, components 152, par. [0045]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pick up and secure plurality of electronic components even without a highly accurate relative positioning between the suction channels and the components to be picked up. In this case, the distance between the individual suction channels is preferably selected to be so small that each component to be picked up is held at least by one suction channel or the negative pressure formed in the suction channel, as taught in Brandis in modifying the apparatus of Lee and Kojima. The motivation would be to avoid the useless consumption of the suction air in an effective manner, and hence provide a high efficiency with respect to the consumption of the suction air. (see Brandis: par. [0006]).
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kojima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. US2012/0313332 (hereinafter referred to as Jeon).
Regarding claim 5, Lee and Kojima discloses the method according to claim 1, Lee and Kojima do not disclose heating and/or cooling the carrier plate to a predetermined temperature to control a temperature of the first coupon and the second coupon.
Jeon discloses further comprising: heating (fig. 3b, elm. 150, par. [0039]) and/or cooling the carrier plate to a predetermined temperature to control a temperature of the first coupon and the second coupon (heating part 150 melts the pads 16 and the solder balls 18 of the chips 10 loaded on the chuck 100 with included heating coils, par. [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an apparatus includes a chuck having a body, a porous plate disposed on the body, and a buffer pad disposed on the plate to provide a place on which a plurality of chips are loaded, as taught in Jeon in modifying the apparatus of Lee. The motivation would be to prevent process failures attributed to misalignment between the chips (see Jeon: par. [0012]).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kojima.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the mounting system according to claim 10, Lee does not disclose wherein the plurality of recess structures comprises one or more vacuum-distribution-grooves.
Kojima discloses the plurality of recess structures (plurality of fig. 3a, elm. 2a, located on tray 1A, col. 3, ln. 53-55) comprises one or more vacuum-distribution-grooves (fig. 3a, elm. 26, col. 3, ln. 59-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a vacuum pump connects to a suction tube, plurality of air hoses and suction pads are evacuated, as taught in Kojima in modifying the apparatus of Lee. The motivation would be to allow the respective semiconductor component parts to be pulled gently but firmly against suction pads in the tray. (see Kojima: col. 5, ln. 1-7 ).
Regarding claim 15, Lee does not disclose the mounting system according to claim 10, Lee does not disclose wherein a first recess structure of the plurality of recess structures comprises one or more first vacuum-distribution-grooves and wherein a second recess structure of the plurality of recess structures comprises one or more second vacuum-distribution-grooves, and wherein the one or more first vacuum-distribution-grooves are spatially separated from the one or more second vacuum-distribution-grooves.
Kojima discloses a first recess structure (fig. 3a, elm. 2a, col. 3, ln. 53-55) of the plurality of recess structures (plurality of fig. 3a, elm. 2a, located on tray 1A, col. 3, ln. 53-55) comprises one or more first vacuum-distribution-grooves (fig. 3a, elm. 26, col. 3, ln. 59-61) and wherein a second recess structure (another of the plurality of fig. 3a, elm. 2a, located on tray 1A, col. 3, ln. 53-55) of the plurality of recess structures comprises one or more second vacuum-distribution-grooves (fig. 3a, elm. 26, col. 3, ln. 59-61), and wherein the one or more first vacuum-distribution-grooves are spatially separated from the one or more second vacuum-distribution-grooves (see fig. 3A or 5A)
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 13.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Lee US 2010/0244346 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Lee’46).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a mounting system (fig. 1, semiconductor device holder 100, par. [0018]) comprising: a carrier plate (fig. 1, movable die holding carrier 112, par. [0019]), comprising a plurality of recess structures (fig. 2-3, one or more die receiving openings 214, par. [0024]) disposed in the carrier plate, wherein each recess of the plurality of recess structures defines one holding area of a plurality of holding areas (fig. 1, plurality of die-processing cavities 114, par. [0019]) on the carrier plate, wherein each holding area is configured to receive and hold a respective coupon of a plurality of coupons (fig. 1, one or more dies 118, par. [0020]), and a vacuum distribution system (fig. 1-3, elm. 120, 206, 108, par. [0020], [0026]) at least partially disposed in the carrier plate, wherein the vacuum distribution system is configured to connect the plurality of recess structures to a vacuum supply system (fig. 1-3, one or more dies 302, par. [0027]).
Lee does not disclose a coupon adapter.
Lee’46 discloses a coupon adapter (fig. 2, adapter 130, par. [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adapter coupled to the plate and may be configured to guide at least one semiconductor chip package into the insert and to perform alignment of the at least one semiconductor chip package, as taught in Lee’46 in modifying the apparatus of Lee. The motivation allows four pockets to be provided as one set in the insert and enables latches to be provided as a set such that the chip packages can be fixed at the same time, thus allowing large quantity of semiconductor chip packages to be tested (see Lee’46: par. [0014]).
+
Regarding claim 19, Lee and Lee’46 discloses the mounting system according to claim 18, Lee’46 discloses further comprising a wafer chuck wherein the coupon adapter (fig. 2, adapter 130, par. [0054]) is mounted on the wafer chuck.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Lee and Lee’46 discloses the mounting system according to claim 18, Lee discloses according to wherein the vacuum distribution system (fig. 1-3, elm. 120, 206, par. [0020], [0026]) comprises one or more vacuum connection terminals (fig. 1-3, elm. 108, par. [0020], [0026]) to connect the vacuum distribution system to one or more vacuum traces (fig. 2-3, elm. 206, par. [0020], [0026]) of a wafer chuck (fig. 1, frame 104, par. [0018]); and wherein the vacuum distribution system further comprises one or more vacuum channels (fig. 1-3, elm. 120, 206, par. [0020], [0026]) disposed in the carrier plate (fig. 1, movable die holding carrier 112, par. [0019]) and configured to connect the plurality of recess structures (fig. 2-3, one or more die receiving openings 214, par. [0024]) to the one or more vacuum connection terminals.
Claims 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Schepis US 2022/0113635 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses the mounting system according to claim 10, Lee do not disclose wherein each coupon comprises two or more devices under test.
Schepis wherein each coupon (fig. 3e, 3f, coupon region 150, par. [0039]) comprises two or more devices under test (fig. 3e, 3f, coupon region 160, par. [0039])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide coupon region may comprise a plurality of individual dies, as taught in Schepis in modifying the apparatus of Lee. The motivation would be to allow multiple measurement locations for a test sample that corresponds to a process condition of a fabrication process to be examined. (see Schepis: par. [0039]).
Claims 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Lee’46 as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Schepis US 2022/0113635 A1
Regarding claim 22, Lee and Lee’46 discloses the mounting system according to claim 18, Lee and Lee’46 do not disclose wherein each coupon comprises two or more devices under test.
Schepis wherein each coupon (fig. 3e, 3f, coupon region 150, par. [0039]) comprises two or more devices under test (fig. 3e, 3f, coupon region 160, par. [0039])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide coupon region may comprise a plurality of individual dies, as taught in Schepis in modifying the apparatus of Lee and Lee’46. The motivation would be to allow multiple measurement locations for a test sample that corresponds to a process condition of a fabrication process to be examined. (see Schepis: par. [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination determining a first orientation of the first coupon, rotating the carrier plate to a predefined angle based on the determined first orientation, processing the first coupon, determining a second orientation of the second coupon, rotating the carrier plate to a predefined angle based on the determined second orientation in combination with all other elements in claim 6. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is objected as it further limits claim 6.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
1/9/2026