DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/24/2026 was received. Claims 1, 6, 17, 22 were amended. Claims 5,15,16 were canceled. Claim 23 was newly added.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office action issued on 12/18/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1, 3: the limitation of “the first plate portion and the second plate portion each having a uniform thickness” from claim 1 and the limitation of “at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with a thickened portion toward an interior of the thermal management component, and the reinforcing structure comprises the thickened portion.” from claim 3 are contradictory. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets “the first plate portion and the second plate portion each having a uniform thickness” in claim 1 as “the first plate portion and the second plate portion each having a uniform thickness except an area of the reinforcing structure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1) on claims 1-5, 11-14, 17-21 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claims 1, 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1) in view of Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1) on claims 6, 7, 9, 10 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1) in view of Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1) and Lee 629 et al. (US 20190051957 A1) on claim 8 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1) in view of Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1) and Wang (US 11329329 B2) on claim 22 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-14, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasaki (US 20150263320 A1) in view of Lee (US 20150132629 A1), hereinafter Lee 629.
Regarding claim 1: Takasaki discloses a battery module includes a plurality of battery blocks formed by arranging a plurality of unit cells in each block (abstract). The battery module (500) comprising:
two battery unit layers (see fig. below) each having a wavy shape and comprising a plurality of unit cells arranged in an array (par. 19, fig. 2, 3), each of the unit cells having a curved outer wall (par. 14); and
a thermal management component positioned between the two battery unit layers (see fig. below), the thermal management component having a wavy shape corresponding to the wavy shape of each of the battery unit layers, the thermal management component being configured to provide support to at least one battery unit layer of the two battery unit layers in a gravitational direction and a first direction, and the gravitational direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. below);
wherein:
the thermal management component comprises a first plate portion and a second plate portion (see fig. below) each having a wavy shape, the first plate portion and the second plate portion each having a uniform thickness (fig. 4);
concave and convex surfaces of the wavy first plate portion and the second plate portion are dislocated relative to each other (fig. 4); and
portions of the first plate portion and the second plate portion form a plurality of reinforcing structures (see fig. below) configured to provide further support to the at least one battery unit layer in the first direction, the plurality of reinforcing structures extending in a column direction and being arranged at intervals in a row direction; and the first plate portion and the second plate portion are each continuous in the row direction and contact each other in the first direction for form a plurality of hollows extending in the column direction and each between two adjacent ones of the reinforcing structures (see fig. below).
Takasaki fails to explicitly disclose the hollows are fluid passages. However, Lee 629 discloses a battery pack includes a plurality of batteries arranged in columns and rows (abstract). The battery pack comprises a first plate portion and a second plate portion (see fig. below). The first plate portion and the second plate portion form a plurality of cooling holes (H) (equivalent to fluid passages) through cavities (26, 36) (par. 60, 69, fig. 3, 4, 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling holes of Lee 629 to be the hollows of Takasaki because Lee 629 teaches that the cooling holes can preventing overheating of the batteries (par. 60, 69, 78 ).
Regarding claim 2: Takasaki discloses an angle α at which the gravitational direction intersects the first direction is set to 0°<α≤ 90° (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 3: Takasaki discloses
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above); and
at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with a thickened portion toward an interior of the thermal management component, and the reinforcing structure comprises the thickened portion (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 4 : Takasaki discloses
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above); and
at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with an abutting portion, the first plate portion and the second plate portion abutting against each other via the abutting portion, and the reinforcing structure comprises the abutting portion (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 6: Takasaki discloses the hollows are isolated from each other in the row direction (fig. 2). Takasaki fails to explicitly disclose the hollow are for thermal management of the battery. However, Lee 629 discloses a battery pack includes a plurality of batteries arranged in columns and rows (abstract). The battery pack comprises the plurality of cooling holes (H) (equivalent to fluid passages) through cavities (26, 36) (par. 60, 69, fig. 3, 4, 6). The cooling holes (H) are isolated from each other in the row direction (fig. 1, fig. 6) (the y direction on fig. 1 is equivalent to the row direction) and are configured for thermal management (par. 78). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling holes of Lee 629 to be the hollows of Takasaki because Lee 629 teaches that the cooling holes can preventing overheating of the batteries (par. 60, 69, 78 ).
Regarding claim 7: Takasaki discloses
the column direction is perpendicular to the gravitational direction;
the battery cells of an upper one of the two battery unit layers are located directly above corresponding fluid passages of a lower layer of the hollows (equivalent to fluid passages);
the battery cells of a lower one of the two battery unit layers are located directly below corresponding fluid passages of an upper layer of the hollows (equivalent to fluid passages); and
the two adjacent ones of the reinforcing structures are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the corresponding battery cell. (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 11: Takasaki discloses hybrid vehicles (HV), plug-in HVs (PHV), and electric vehicles (EV) (equivalent to electrical devices) comprising the battery module according to claim 1 for supplying electrical energy (par. 2).
Regarding claim 12: Takasaki discloses an angle α at which the gravitational direction intersects the first direction is set to 0°<α≤ 90° (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 13: Takasaki discloses
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above); and
at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with a thickened portion toward an interior of the thermal management component, and the reinforcing structure comprises the thickened portion (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 14 : Takasaki discloses
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above); and
at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with an abutting portion, the first plate portion and the second plate portion abutting against each other via the abutting portion, and the reinforcing structure comprises the abutting portion (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 17: Takasaki discloses a battery module includes a plurality of battery blocks formed by arranging a plurality of unit cells in each block (abstract). A preparation method of the battery module (500) comprising:
providing the two battery unit layers (see fig. above); and
providing the thermal management component positioned between the two battery unit layers (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 18: Takasaki discloses an angle α at which the gravitational direction intersects the first direction is set to 0°<α≤ 90° (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 19: Takasaki discloses
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above); and
at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with a thickened portion toward an interior of the thermal management component, and the reinforcing structure comprises the thickened portion (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 20 : Takasaki discloses
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above); and
at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with an abutting portion, the first plate portion and the second plate portion abutting against each other via the abutting portion, and the reinforcing structure comprises the abutting portion (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 21: Takasaki discloses the abutting portion is formed by direct abutment between the concave-convex surfaces of the first plate portion and the second plate portion (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 22: Takasaki discloses a battery module includes a plurality of battery blocks formed by arranging a plurality of unit cells in each block (abstract). The battery module (500) comprising:
two battery unit layers (see fig. above) each having a wavy shape and comprising a plurality of unit cells arranged in an array (par. 19, fig. 2, 3), each of the unit cells having a curved outer wall (par. 14); and
a thermal management component positioned between the two battery unit layers (see fig. above), the thermal management component having a wavy shape corresponding to the wavy shape of each of the battery unit layers, the thermal management component being configured to provide support to at least one battery unit layer of the two battery unit layers in a gravitational direction and a first direction, and the gravitational direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. above);
wherein:
the thermal management component comprises a first plate portion and a second plate portion (see fig. above) each having a wavy shape, the first plate portion and the second plate portion each having a uniform thickness (fig. 4);
portions of the first plate portion and the second plate portion form a plurality of reinforcing structures (see fig. above) extending in a column direction and arranged at intervals in a row direction, the plurality of reinforcing structures being configured to provide further support to the at least one battery unit layer in the first direction (see fig. above);
the first plate portion and the second plate portion are each continuous in the row direction and contact each other in the first direction for form a plurality of hollows extending in the column direction and each between two adjacent ones of the reinforcing structures (see fig. above);
the hollows being isolated from each other in the row direction (fig. 2); and
a shape of each hollow is configured to match a shape of the outer wall of the unit cells.
Takasaki fails to explicitly disclose the hollows are fluid passages for thermal management of the battery. However, Lee 629 discloses a battery pack includes a plurality of batteries arranged in columns and rows (abstract). The battery pack comprises a first plate portion and a second plate portion (see fig. above). The first plate portion and the second plate portion form a plurality of cooling holes (H) (equivalent to fluid passages) through cavities (26, 36) (par. 60, 69, fig. 3, 4, 6). The cooling holes (H) are isolated from each other in the row direction (fig. 1, fig. 6) (the y direction on fig. 1 is equivalent to the row direction) and are configured for thermal management (par. 78). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling holes of Lee 629 in the hollows of Takasaki because Lee 629 teaches that the cooling holes can preventing overheating of the batteries (par. 60, 69, 78 ).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasaki (US 20150263320 A1) in view of Lee (US 20150132629 A1), hereinafter Lee 629, as applied in claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20190051957 A1), hereinafter Lee 957.
Regarding claim 8: Takasaki in view of Lee 629 discloses a battery module includes a plurality of battery blocks formed by arranging a plurality of unit cells in each block (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Takasaki and Lee 629 fail to explicitly disclose heat dissipation fins are formed at inner walls of the fluid passages, and the heat dissipation fins extend in the column direction. However, Lee 957 discloses an air-cooling battery module (abstract). The air-cooling battery module comprises uneven patterns (equivalent to heat dissipation fins) formed in the duct (equivalent to fluid passages) of a cooling member (13) (par. 40, fig. 3, 4). The uneven pattern extends in the flow direction (fig. 3, 4) (equivalent to the column direction). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the uneven pattern of Lee 957 in the hollows of Takasaki because Lee 957 teaches that uneven surface increases the surface area to improve the cooling performance (par. 40).
Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasaki (US 20150263320 A1) in view of Lee (US 20150132629 A1), hereinafter Lee 629, as applied in claim 6 above, and further in view of in view of Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1).
Regarding claim 9: Takasaki in view of Lee 629 discloses the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit layer; the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above). Takasaki and Lee 629 fail to explicitly disclose the thermal management component further comprises: a first flow collection member provided on one side in the column direction and fixedly coupled to the first plate portion and the second plate portion, an inlet end of each of the fluid passages being communicated with the first flow collection member; and a second flow collection member arranged on another side in the column direction and fixedly coupled to the first plate portion and the second plate portion, an outlet end of each of the fluid passages being communicated with the second flow collection member; and a water inlet is formed at the first flow collection member, a water outlet is formed at the second flow collection member, and the water inlet and the water outlet are located at two ends in the row direction. However, Maier et al. disclose a modular battery system (abstract). The modular battery system comprises a cooling element (8, 104) (equivalent to a thermal management component). The cooling element (8, 104) comprises:
a first conduit (128) (par. 80, fig. 11, 12) (equivalent to a first flow collection member) provided on one side in the column direction (the north-south direction on fig. 12 is equivalent to the column direction) and configured to distribute the cooling medium via openings (135) to an inlet (105) (equivalent to a water inlet) to the individual channels (45-53 in fig. 3 and 110 in fig. 10) (par. 11, 78-82, fig. 10, fig. 12); and
a coolant collector (136) (equivalent to a second flow collection member) arranged on another side in the column direction and configured to collect the cooling medium from the channels (45-53 in fig. 3 and 110 in fig. 10) to the outlet (107) (equivalent to a water outlet) (par. 11, 78-82, fig. 10, fig. 12); and
the inlet (105) and the outlet (107) are located at two ends in the row direction (the north-south direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to the row direction).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling element (8, 104) of Maier et al. in the battery module of Takasaki because Maier et al. teach this can ensure that all battery cells receive similar cooling effect from the cooling medium (par. 84).
Regarding claim 10: Takasaki in view of Lee 629 discloses a battery module includes a plurality of battery blocks formed by arranging a plurality of unit cells in each block (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Takasaki and Lee fail to explicitly disclose the water inlet is one of a plurality of water inlets formed at intervals along the row direction on the first flow collection member; and the water outlet is one of a plurality of water outlets corresponding to the plurality of water inlets, respectively, and formed at intervals along the row direction on the second flow collection member. However, Maier et al. disclose a modular battery system (abstract). The modular battery system comprises
a plurality of inlets (105) formed at intervals along the row direction (the east-west direction on fig. 11 is equivalent to the row direction) on the first conduit (128) (par. 79-81, fig. 11);
a plurality of outlets (107) corresponding to the plurality of inlets (105), respectively, formed at intervals along the row direction (the east-west direction on fig. 11 is equivalent to the row direction) on the coolant collector (136) (par. 79-81, fig. 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the plurality of water inlets and outlets of Maier et al. in the battery module of Takasaki because Maier et al. teach this can ensure that all battery cells receive similar cooling effect from the cooling medium (par. 84).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasaki (US 20150263320 A1) in view of Lee (US 20150132629 A1), hereinafter Lee 629, and Lee et al. (US 20060216583 A1), hereinafter Lee 583.
Regarding claim 23: Takasaki discloses a battery module includes a plurality of battery blocks formed by arranging a plurality of unit cells in each block (abstract). The battery module (500) comprising:
two battery unit layers (see fig. above) each having a wavy shape and comprising a plurality of unit cells arranged in an array (par. 19, fig. 2, 3), each of the unit cells having a curved outer wall (par. 14); and
a thermal management component positioned between the two battery unit layers (see fig. above), the thermal management component having a wavy shape corresponding to the wavy shape of each of the battery unit layers, the thermal management component being configured to provide support to at least one battery unit layer of the two battery unit layers in a gravitational direction and a first direction, and the gravitational direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. above);
wherein:
the thermal management component comprises a first plate portion and a second plate portion (see fig. above) each having a wavy shape;
concave and convex surfaces of the wavy first plate portion and the second plate portion are dislocated relative to each other (fig. 4);
portions of the first plate portion and the second plate portion form a plurality of reinforcing structures (see fig. above) configured to provide further support to the at least one battery unit layer in the first direction, the plurality of reinforcing structures extending in a column direction and being arranged at intervals in a row direction (see fig. above);
a hollow extending in the column direction is formed between two adjacent ones of the reinforcing structures, the hollow being formed by opposing curved wall surfaces of the first plate portion and the second plate portion.
Takasaki fails to explicitly disclose the hollows are fluid passages. However, Lee 629 discloses a battery pack includes a plurality of batteries arranged in columns and rows (abstract). The battery pack comprises a first plate portion and a second plate portion (see fig. above). The first plate portion and the second plate portion form a plurality of cooling holes (H) (equivalent to fluid passages) through cavities (26, 36) (par. 60, 69, fig. 3, 4, 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling holes of Lee 629 to be the hollows of Takasaki because Lee 629 teaches that the cooling holes can preventing overheating of the batteries (par. 60, 69, 78 ).
Takasaki and Lee 629 fail to explicitly disclose heat dissipation fins are formed on inner side of one or both of the curved wall surfaces of the first plate portion and the second plate portion, each of the heat dissipation fins extending in the column direction and being connected perpendicularly to a tangent plane at a connection point on one of the one or both of the curved wall surfaces. However, Lee 583 discloses a battery module includes a cooling tube (abstract). The cooling tube (12) comprises a plurality of thermoelectric elements (15) (equivalent to heat dissipation fins) (par. 45, fig. 1). The thermoelectric element (15) is a device for absorbing or discharging heat using different metals or different semiconductors (par. 46). Each of the thermoelectric elements (15) extending in the column direction (the longitudinal direction of the unit battery (11) is equivalent to the column direction) and being connected perpendicularly to a tangent plane at a connection point on one of the one or both of the curved wall surfaces (fig. 1, 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thermoelectric elements (15) of Lee 583 in the hollows of Takasaki because Lee 583 teaches that the thermoelectric elements (15) are designed to dissipate the absorbed heat through cooling air passing through the cooling tube (12) (par. 47).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Joswig and Maier do not disclose a fluid passage formed by a first plate portion and a second plate portion with uniform thickness.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are moot. The newly cited Takasaki reference teaches that a hollow is formed by the first plate portion and the second plate portion with uniform thickness. The Lee 629 references reference also teaches a cooling hole is formed by the first plate portion and the second plate portion with uniform thickness as described in paragraph 5 above.
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717