DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 3/11/2026 was received. Claims 1, 3, 4, 9., 11, 13, 14, 17, 19, 20, were amended. Claims 15, 16 were canceled. Claims 21, 22 were newly added.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office action issued on 12/18/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference characters “reinforcing structure" and "abutting portion" have both been used to designate 21 are withdrawn because Applicant updated the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, on claims 1, 11, 17 are withdrawn because Applicant amended Claims 1, 11, 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1) on claims 1-6, 9-20 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claims 1, 17.
Claims 1-5, 11-14, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1).
Regarding to claims 1, 11, 17: Joswig et al. disclose a round cell rechargeable battery (abstract). The round cell rechargeable battery comprising:
two battery unit layers (see fig. below) each having a wavy shape and comprising a plurality of round cells (7) arranged in an array (par. 37, fig. 5), each of the round cells (7) having a curved outer wall (fig. 4, 5); and
an interlayer (22) (par. 47, fig. 10) and dissipation elements (14) (par. 40, 52-56, fig. 4) (the combination of the interlayer (22) and the dissipation elements (14) is equivalent to a thermal management component) positioned between the two battery unit layers (fig. 10), the interlayer (22) having a wavy shape corresponding to the wavy shape of each of the battery unit layers, the combination of the interlayer (22) and the dissipation elements (14) being configured to provide support to at least one battery unit layer of the two battery unit layers in a gravitational direction and a first direction, and the gravitational direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. below);
wherein:
the interlayer (22) comprises a first plate portion and a second plate portion (see fig. below) each having a wavy shape;
concave and convex surfaces of the wavy first plate portion and the second plate portion are dislocated relative to each other (fig. 10); and
portions of the first plate portion and the second plate portion form a reinforcing structure configured (see fig. below) to provide further support to the at least one battery unit layer in the first direction.
Regarding to claims 2, 12, 18: Joswig et al. disclose an angle α at which the gravitational direction intersects the first direction is set to 0°<α≤ 90° (see fig. above).
Regarding to claims 3, 13, 19: Joswig et al. disclose
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above and fig. 5);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above), wherein a receiving bore (17) is formed between the first plate portion and the second plate portion (par. 43, fig. 6) (a thickened portion is formed adjacent to the receiving bore (17) between the first plate portion and the second plate portion. The thickened portion is toward an interior of the interlayer (22) (see fig. below)).
Regarding to claims 4, 14, 20: Joswig et al. disclose
the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit (see fig. above and fig. 5);
the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above); and
at least one of the first plate portion or the second plate portion is formed with an abutting portion, the first plate portion and the second plate portion abutting against each other via the abutting portion, and the reinforcing structure comprises the abutting portion (see fig. below).
Regarding to claim 5: Joswig et al. disclose the reinforcing structure is one of a plurality of reinforcing structures of the interlayer (22), the plurality of reinforcing structures extending in a column direction (an inward-outward direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to a column direction) (fig. 10) and being arranged at intervals in a row direction (a west-east direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to a row direction).
Regarding to claim 21: Joswig et al. disclose the abutting portion is formed by direct abutment between the concave-convex surfaces of the first plate portion and the second plate portion (see fig. above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1 in view of Davis et al. (US 20210344063 A1) on claim 7 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1 in view of Lee et al. (US 20190051957 A1) on claim 8 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1.
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1).
Regarding to claim 6: Joswig et al. disclose a dissipation element (14) (equivalent to fluid passages) (par. 25, 43) extending in the column direction are formed each between two adjacent ones of the reinforcing structures (fig. 10, 14). Joswig et al. fail to explicitly disclose fluid passages are isolated from each other in the row direction for thermal management of the battery. However, Maier et al. disclose a modular battery system (abstract). The modular battery system comprises channels (44-53) (par. 65, fig. 3) (equivalent to fluid passages) extending in the column direction are formed each between two adjacent recesses (21-26). Maier et al. further disclose a cooling medium flows in one direction (109) in the channels (44-53 in fig. 3, 110 in fig. 10) of the cooling element (104) (par. 78, fig. 10) (the channels (110) are isolated from each other in the row direction (the north-south direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to the row direction)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the isolated cooling channels of Maier et al. as the dissipation element (14) of Joswig et al. because Maier et al. teach this can ensure that all battery cells receive similar cooling effect from the cooling medium (par. 84).
Regarding to claim 7: Joswig et al. disclose
the column direction is perpendicular to the gravitational direction;
the battery cells of an upper one of the two battery unit layers are located directly above corresponding dissipation element (14) of a lower layer of the dissipation element (14);
the battery cells of a lower one of the two battery unit layers are located directly below corresponding dissipation element (14) of an upper layer of the dissipation element (14); and
the two adjacent ones of the reinforcing structures are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the corresponding battery cell (see fig. below).
Regarding to claim 9: Joswig et al. disclose the first plate portion is configured to support the at least one battery unit layer; the second plate portion is disposed opposite to the first plate portion (see fig. above). Joswig et al. fail to explicitly disclose the thermal management component further comprises a first flow collection member provided on one side in the column direction and fixedly coupled to the first plate portion and the second plate portion, an inlet end of each of the fluid passages being communicated with the first flow collection member; and a second flow collection member arranged on another side in the column direction and fixedly coupled to the first plate portion and the second plate portion, an outlet end of each of the fluid passages being communicated with the second flow collection member; and a water inlet is formed at the first flow collection member, a water outlet is formed at the second flow collection member, and the water inlet and the water outlet are located at two ends in the row direction. However, Maier et al. disclose a modular battery system (abstract). The modular battery system comprises a cooling element (8, 104) (equivalent to a thermal management component). The cooling element (8, 104) comprises:
a first conduit (128) (par. 80, fig. 11, 12) (equivalent to a first flow collection member) provided on one side in the column direction (the north-south direction on fig. 12 is equivalent to the column direction) and configured to distribute the cooling medium via openings (135) to an inlet (105) (equivalent to a water inlet) to the individual channels (45-53 in fig. 3 and 110 in fig. 10) (par. 11, 78-82, fig. 10, fig. 12); and
a coolant collector (136) (equivalent to a second flow collection member) arranged on another side in the column direction and configured to collect the cooling medium from the channels (45-53 in fig. 3 and 110 in fig. 10) to the outlet (107) (equivalent to a water outlet) (par. 11, 78-82, fig. 10, fig. 12); and
the inlet (105) and the outlet (107) are located at two ends in the row direction (the north-south direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to the row direction).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling element (8, 104) of Maier et al. in the round cell rechargeable battery of Joswig et al. because Maier et al. teach this can ensure that all battery cells receive similar cooling effect from the cooling medium (par. 84).
Regarding to claim 10: Joswig et al. disclose a round cell rechargeable battery as described in paragraph 5 above. Joswig et al. fail to explicitly disclose the water inlet is one of a plurality of water inlets formed at intervals along the row direction on the first flow collection member; and the water outlet is one of a plurality of water outlets corresponding to the plurality of water inlets, respectively, and formed at intervals along the row direction on the second flow collection member. However, Maier et al. disclose a modular battery system (abstract). The modular battery system comprises
a plurality of inlets (105) formed at intervals along the row direction (the east-west direction on fig. 11 is equivalent to the row direction) on the first conduit (128) (par. 79-81, fig. 11);
a plurality of outlets (107) corresponding to the plurality of inlets (105), respectively, formed at intervals along the row direction (the east-west direction on fig. 11 is equivalent to the row direction) on the coolant collector (136) (par. 79-81, fig. 11).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the plurality of water inlets and outlets of Maier et al. in the as the round cell rechargeable battery of Joswig et al. because Maier et al. teach this can ensure that all battery cells receive similar cooling effect from the cooling medium (par. 84).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1) in view of Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1) as applied in claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20190051957 A1).
Regarding to claim 6: Joswig et al. disclose a dissipation element (14) as described in paragraph 7 above. Joswig et al. and Maier et al. fail to explicitly disclose heat dissipation fins are formed at inner walls of the fluid passages, and the heat dissipation fins extend in the column direction. However, Lee et al. disclose an air-cooling battery module (abstract). The air-cooling battery module comprises uneven patterns (equivalent to heat dissipation fins) formed in the duct (equivalent to fluid passages) of a cooling member (13) (par. 40, fig. 3, 4). The uneven pattern extends in the flow direction (fig. 3, 4) (equivalent to the column direction). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the uneven pattern of Lee et al. in the dissipation element (14) of Joswig et al. because Lee et al. teach that uneven surface increases the surface area to improve the cooling performance (par. 40).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joswig et al. (US 20110151304 A1) in view of Maier et al. (US 20110033742 A1) and Wang (US 11329329 B2).
Regarding to claim 22: Joswig et al. disclose a round cell rechargeable battery (abstract). The round cell rechargeable battery comprising:
two battery unit layers (see fig. above) each having a wavy shape and comprising a plurality of round cells (7) arranged in an array (par. 37), each of the round cells (7) having a curved outer wall (fig. 4, 5); and
an interlayer (22) (par. 47, fig. 10) and dissipation elements (14) (par. 40, 52-56, fig. 4) (the combination of the interlayer (22) and the dissipation elements (14) is equivalent to a thermal management component) positioned between the two battery unit layers (fig. 10), the interlayer (22) having a wavy shape corresponding to the wavy shape of each of the battery unit layers, the combination of the interlayer (22) and the dissipation elements (14) being configured to provide support to at least one battery unit layer of the two battery unit layers in a gravitational direction and a first direction, and the gravitational direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. above);
wherein:
the interlayer (22) comprises a plurality of reinforcing structures (see fig. above) extending in a column direction (an inward-outward direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to a column direction) and arranged at intervals in a row direction (a west-east direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to a row direction), the plurality of reinforcing structures being configured to provide further support to the at least one battery unit layer in the first direction (see fig. above);
a dissipation element (14) (equivalent to fluid passages) (par. 25, 43) extending in the column direction are each formed between adjacent ones of the plurality of reinforcing structures (fig. 10).
Joswig et al. fail to explicitly disclose the fluid passages are isolated from each other in the row direction for thermal management of the battery. However, Maier et al. disclose a modular battery system (abstract). The modular battery system comprises channels (44-53) (par. 65, fig. 3) (equivalent to fluid passages) extending in the column direction are formed each between two adjacent recesses (21-26). Maier et al. further disclose a cooling medium flow in one direction (109) in the channels (44-53 in fig. 3, 110 in fig. 10) of the cooling element (104) (par. 78, fig. 10) (the channels (110) are isolated from each other in the row direction (the north-south direction on fig. 10 is equivalent to the row direction)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the isolated cooling channels of Maier et al. as the dissipation element (14) of Joswig et al. because Maier et al. teach this can ensure that all battery cells receive similar cooling effect from the cooling medium (par. 84).
Joswig et al. and Maier et al. fail to explicitly disclose a shape of each fluid passage is configured to match a shape of the outer wall of the battery cells. However, Wang discloses a battery module cooling system (abstract). The battery module cooling system comprises thermal towers (642) (equivalent to the fluid passages) (col. 13, lines 9-25, fig. 6B). The thermal towers (642) may be contoured the one or more battery cells (equivalent to matching a shape of the outer wall of the battery cells) (col. 12, lines 45-67, col. 13, lines 1-8, fig. 6A and 6B). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the battery-cell-outer-wall matched shape of the thermal towers (642) of Wang as the shape of the dissipation element (14) of Joswig et al. because Wang teaches the cooling towers (642) can contact a portion of each of any adjacent battery cells (col. 12, lines 45-67, col. 13, lines 1-8) and promote cooling.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Maier fails to disclose “concave and convex surfaces of the wavy first plate portion and the wavy second plate portion are dislocated relative to each other”.
Maier does not disclose or suggest the direct abutment between the concave and convex surfaces of the first plate portion and the second plate portion.
Maier does not disclose or suggest the shape of the channels is configured to match the outer wall of the battery cells.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are moot because the newly cited Joswig reference teaches the concave and convex surfaces of the wavy first plate portion and the second plate portion are dislocated relative to each other as described in paragraph 5 above.
Applicant’s arguments are moot because the newly cited Joswig reference teaches the direct abutment between the concave and convex surfaces of the first plate portion and the second plate portion as described in paragraph 5 above.
Applicant’s arguments are moot because the newly cited Wang reference teaches the matched shape of the thermal towers (642) as described in paragraph 9 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717