DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 20190304800) in view of Ohmi et al. (hereafter Ohmi – US 6039814).
Claim 1 recites “a wafer manufacturing method.” Yamamoto teaches such a wafer manufacturing method, as will be shown.
Yamamoto teaches (Figs. 1-9) a wafer manufacturing method for manufacturing a wafer from an ingot, comprising:
a peeling start point forming step of applying, to the ingot 50, a laser beam LB of such a wavelength as to be transmitted through the ingot (para. 0034), with a focal point of the laser beam positioned at a depth corresponding to a thickness of the wafer to be manufactured (para. 0034), from an end face of the ingot (para. 0034), to form a modified layer, thereby forming a peeling start point (para. 0034); and
a peeling step of peeling off, from the peeling start point, the wafer to be manufactured from the ingot (para. 0031),
wherein, in the peeling step, water is supplied to the end face of the ingot to generate a water layer, and an ultrasonic wave is applied to break the peeling start point (para. 0045).
However, Yamamoto does not teach degassed water is supplied to generate a degassed water layer.
Ohmi teaches method of applying degassed water and an ultrasonic wave to a wafer comprising degassed water is supplied to the end face of the wafer to generate a degassed water layer, and an ultrasonic wave is applied to a point of the wafer (col. 8, ln. 23-46).
Ohmi further teaches using degassed water to generate a degassed water layer to arrive at the desired effect: “Generation of bubbles are completely suppressed, whereby the propagation efficiency of a sound wave is enhanced” (col. 8, ln. 59-61).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Ohmi to the wafer manufacturing method of Yamamoto to have degassed water is supplied to generate a degassed water layer, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to methods of applying degassed water and an ultrasonic wave to a wafer. Doing so would result in more efficient propagation of the ultrasonic wave, as recognized by Ohmi.
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto, as modified with Ohmi in Claim 1 above, teaches (Ohmi Figs. 1-6) the wafer manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein, in the peeling step, the ultrasonic wave is applied to water reserved in a decompression tank (Ohmi 3), to decompress an inside of the decompression tank, thereby generating the degassed water (col. 5, ln. 26-30).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto, as modified with Ohmi in Claim 1 above, teaches (Ohmi Figs. 1-6) the wafer manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein, in the peeling step, degassed water having an oxygen content of not more than 2.0 mg/liter is generated (completely removed, col. 3, ln. 45-50).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamamoto, as modified with Ohmi in Claim 1 above, teaches (Yamamoto Figs. 1-6) the wafer manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein the ingot is a silicon carbide ingot (Yamamoto para. 0008).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto, as modified with Ohmi in Claim 1 above, teaches (Yamamoto Figs. 1-6) the wafer manufacturing method according to claim 4, wherein the silicon carbide ingot has a first surface, a second surface on a side opposite to the first surface, a c-axis extending from the first surface to the second surface, and a c-plane orthogonal to the c-axis, the c-axis being inclined relative to a perpendicular to the first surface, an off-angle being formed by the c-plane and the first surface, and the peeling start point forming step includes a modified layer forming step of relatively moving the focal point of the laser beam and the silicon carbide ingot in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the off-angle is formed, to form a rectilinear modified layer, and an indexing step of relatively moving the focal point of the laser beam and the silicon carbide ingot in the direction in which the off-angle is formed, to thereby perform index feeding by a predetermined amount (Yamamoto para. 0008).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See cited references.
/ANDREW THANH BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745