DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-3 and 6-22 are currently pending, of which claims 13-21 are withdrawn. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2010/0103138).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 11, Huang discloses a manufacturing method and structure of a curved capacitive touch panel for electronic devices or equipment (i.e., display device) (0008, 0009, and 0055) including a glass substrate (i.e., cover window) having a first surface (11) on which an image is displayed, a second surface (22) opposite the first surface and a third surface connecting the first and the second surfaces; the glass substrate comprising a plurality of curved portions and a flat portion extending from each curved portion (Fig. 19). A flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) with capacitive touch sensing/detecting capability (20; i.e., a panel member) entirely on the second surface of the cover window and end of the panel member covering a portion of the cover window and exposes another portion of the second surface of the curved portion of the cover window (Fig. 8, 0055).
In the combined embodiments, the flat portion would be between opposite exposed portion of the second surface of the curved portion of the cover window as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 8 of Huang discloses the panel member being smaller in at least one of a length or a width than the cover window.
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses an adhesive layer between the panel member and cover window (0051-0052, 0060).
Regarding claim 7, as can be seen from Fig. 19, the FPCB extends along the inner surface of the glass substrate and therefore has a first panel portion laminated on the flat central portion and a second panel portion extending in a curved shape from the first panel portion and laminated on the curved peripheral portion (Fig. 19, 0051-0052).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the glass substrate of Fig. 19 has a curved portion, having a curvature radius and center flat portion have a different curvature radius from the curved portion (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 10, the FPCB is formed on a recessed outer surface of the cover window.
Regarding claim 12, the panel member of Huang is a flexible printed circuit board (0009).
Regarding claim 22, Huang discloses a manufacturing method and structure of a curved capacitive touch panel for electronic devices or equipment (i.e., display device) (0008, 0009, and 0055) including glass substrate (i.e., cover window) having a first surface (11) on which an image is displayed, a second surface opposite (22) the first surface and a third surface connecting the first and the second surface (e.g., Fig. 1, Fig. 8, 0055). A flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) with capacitive touch sensing/detecting capability (20; i.e., a panel member) which may be integrated onto a display panel (0055) entirely on the second surface of the cover window and end of the panel member covering a portion of the cover window and exposes another portion of the second surface of the curved portion of the cover window (Fig. 8).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Spruit (US 4,766,498).
Regarding claim 22, Spruit discloses an image projection system comprising a concave display window (21’) having a first surface (e.g., front) on which an image is displayed, a second surface (e.g., back) opposite the first surface and a third surface (e.g., side) connecting the first and the second surfaces (Fig. 4). The window comprising a curved portion (Fig. 4) and a display panel (27’) on the entirety of the back surface, where an end of the display panel on the curved portion covers a portion and exposes another portion of the second surface of the curved portion (Fig. 4, column 6, lines 5-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Huang does not anticipate or suggest wherein the flat portion is between opposite exposed portions of the second surface of the curved portion of the cover window as Huang does not disclose one embodiment having the features.
Huang teaches that while specific embodiments have been illustrated and described that those skilled in the art will appreciated that various modification can be made without departing form the scope of the present invention (0068). Furthermore, Huang does not disparage combining their disclosed embodiments. Fig. 19 of Huang teaches a curved glass substrate which includes a flat central portion extending from curved portions. Fig. 8 of Huang teaches an end of the panel member which is shorter than that of the cover window. In the combination of the disclosed embodiments, the claimed structure of the flat portion being between opposite exposed portions of the second surface of the curved portion of the cover window is taught.
Applicant argues that Spruit does not disclose a "display device" having "a cover window" and a "display panel" on a surface of the cover window as Spruit is directed to an image projection system.
The image projection system of Spruit is a display device. Spruit describes the image projection system having a display screen arranged on a display window. A display window is analogous to the claimed cover window and a display screen is analogous to the claimed display panel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781