DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakita et al (US 2019/0363386 A1).
As to claim 1, Wakita discloses a hydrogen system comprising:
a compressor (#100) that causes, by application of a voltage between an anode and a cathode, hydrogen in a hydrogen-containing gas supplied to the anode to move to the cathode through an electrolyte membrane and compresses the hydrogen ([0091] “Here, the electrochemical hydrogen pump 100 includes an electrolyte membrane 1, an anode AN, a cathode CA, and a voltage applicator 21” [0101] “The electrochemical hydrogen pump 100 is a device that receives application of voltage by the voltage applicator 21, thereby pressurizes and sends hydrogen supplied to the anode AN via the anode flow path 6 to the cathode CA, and supplies the pressurized hydrogen in the cathode flow path 7 to the hydrogen storage apparatus 11. As the hydrogen storage apparatus 11, for example, a tank may be raised.”);
a first flow channel that supplies the hydrogen-containing gas to the anode (channel, i.e. line, from 10c to the anode 5a in Fig. 7A-7C);
a second flow channel that branches off from the first flow channel and supplies the hydrogen-containing gas to the cathode (#12C);
a check valve that is provided in the second flow channel and prevents a flow in a direction opposite to a flow of the hydrogen-containing gas to be supplied to the cathode (#10C valve when closed [0199]).
As to claim 3, Wakita discloses a pressure loss section provided in the first flow channel at a position downstream of a branch point at which the second flow channel branches (#16 which connects to the first channel past the branch point of the second channel and is designated as a “pressure drop unit” [0191]).
As to claim 4, the limitation “pressure loss in the second flow channel is smaller than pressure loss in the first flow channel downstream of a branch point at which the second flow channel branches” is a feature of the arrangement of the particular device as claimed without imparting further structural differentiation over the prior art. Thus, the limitation is deemed anticipated since the prior art discloses the specific arrangement of components as claimed.
As to claim 5, Wakita discloses a supply pressure of the hydrogen-containing gas to be supplied through the first flow channel is greater than or equal to 0.1 MPaG and less than or equal to 20 MPaG. ([0147]).
As to claim 6, Wakita discloses A hydrogen system operating method comprising:
causing, by applying a voltage between an anode and a cathode, hydrogen in a hydrogen-containing gas supplied to the anode to move to the cathode through an electrolyte membrane and compressing the hydrogen ([0101] “The electrochemical hydrogen pump 100 is a device that receives application of voltage by the voltage applicator 21, thereby pressurizes and sends hydrogen supplied to the anode AN via the anode flow path 6 to the cathode CA, and supplies the pressurized hydrogen in the cathode flow path 7 to the hydrogen storage apparatus 11. As the hydrogen storage apparatus 11, for example, a tank may be raised.”); and
causing the hydrogen-containing gas to be supplied to the cathode concurrently with a start of supplying the hydrogen-containing gas to the anode ([0186] NOTE: the claim does not require the second channel as claimed in the independent claims 1 and 2 just that hydrogen-containing gas is supplied to the cathode concurrently with the start of the gas supply to the anode. Since Wakita discloses providing the hydrogen gas to the cathode to equalize the pressure above before the gas supply to the anode, the hydrogen gas is supplied to the cathode upon providing the gas to the anode. The claim does not require opening of any valves or explicit flow to the cathode over the total time flowing gas to the anode.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by von Olshausen et al (US 2017/0175277 A1) in view of Wakita et al (US 2019/0363386 A1).
As to claim 2, von Olshausen discloses a hydrogen system comprising:
a compressor that causes, by application of a voltage between an anode and a cathode, hydrogen in a hydrogen-containing gas supplied to the anode to move to the cathode through an electrolyte membrane and compresses the hydrogen (#s44 electrolyte, # 43 cathode, #45 anode electrolysis cell, which uses a proton exchange membrane [0005]. NOTE: the recitation “that causes, by application of a voltage” is a statement as to the intended use of the apparatus via use of a voltage source in the manner claimed which does not impart further structural distinction to the electrochemical cell discloses in the prior art);
a first flow channel (#51) that supplies the hydrogen-containing gas to the anode;
a second flow channel that branches off from the first flow channel (#35) and supplies the hydrogen-containing gas to the cathode;
an on/off valve provided in the second flow channel (#35); and
opening the on/off valve concurrently with a start of supplying the hydrogen-containing gas to the anode through the first flow channel ([0117]).
Von olshausen fails to explicitly disclose a controller for the valve.
Wakita discloses using a controller to control a valve (# 50 [0178]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have used a controller to control the opening and closing of a valve as disclosed in Wakita in the system of von Olshausen in order to automate the valve opening when performing the method of von Olshausen in order to automatically equalize the pressure on the cathode and anode upon activation (vol Olshausen [0117] MPEP 2144.04 III).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795