DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2025, 06/11/2024, 06/02/2023, 03/26/2024, 05/09/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant's Response to Election / Restriction filed on September 18, 2026. No claims amendment are made in the response filed on 09/18/2026.
The latest version of the claims is Claim Amendment filed on 06/02/2023.
Claims 71-90 are currently pending, with claims 80-81 and 86 withdrawn.
Claims 71-79, 82-85 and 87-90 are under examination. This is the first action on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following species in the reply filed on September 18, 2026 is acknowledged:
Species of recombinase: B) UvsX (claim 78);
Species of recombinase-mediated selective cleavage: D) Embodiment in which a recombinant protein comprising a nuclease domain and a single-stranded binding domain is used for double-stranded cleavage at a double-stranded site proximate to the D-loop, as illustrated in FIG. 3 (claim 77; 82)1;
Species of single-stranded nucleic acid probe: F) the single-stranded nucleic acid probe has a length in a range from 10 nucleotides to 100 nucleotides (claim 84)2.
Claims 80-81 and 86 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Examination on the merits commences on claims 71-79, 82-85 and 87-90.
Priority
The priority date of the instant claims 71-79, 82-85 and 87-90 is 03/19/2018, filling date of the US provisional application NO. 62/644,727.
Claim Interpretation
In evaluating the patentability of the claims presented in this application, claim terms have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, as outlined in MPEP§ 2111.
Regarding claim 71, it recites:
A kit for selectively cleaving a target nucleic acid in a sample, the kit comprising:
(i) reagents for forming a D-loop in a double-stranded target nucleic acid comprising
a recombinase and
a single-stranded nucleic acid probe capable of hybridizing to the target nucleic acid; and
(ii) a first nuclease for cleaving a target nucleic acid at a D-loop.
Therefore the claim is drawn to a kit product comprising: a recombinase, a single-stranded nucleic acid probe capable of hybridizing to the target nucleic acid, and a first nuclease.
The claim languages
"for selectively cleaving a target nucleic acid in a sample,"
"for forming a D-loop in a double-stranded target nucleic acid comprising, “ and
"for cleaving a target nucleic acid at a D-loop," do not impose any structural limitation.
They merely state the intended use of the reagent components and thus do not limit the claimed invention. “It is trite to state that the patentability of apparatus claims must be shown in the structure claimed and not merely upon a use, function, or result thereof.” In re Gardiner 171 F.2d 313 (C.C.P.A. 1948) (CCPA 12/07/48).
The patentability of product claims depends on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure3. Therefore, these claim languages are interpreted under BRI as intended use statements that do not further distinguish the claimed kit from prior art kit disclosing the same structural components.
Accordingly, the claimed kit in claim 71 under BRI reads on any prior art kit comprising a recombinase, a single-stranded nucleic acid probe capable of hybridizing to the target nucleic acid, and a first nuclease.
Claim 73 similarly recites a second nuclease "for degrading an extended single-stranded nucleic acid probe." Applying the same rationale as for claim 71, under BRI, the claim language describing the intended purpose for the second nuclease is interpreted as intended use statement that does not further distinguish the claimed kit from prior art kit disclosing a recited second nuclease and all the structural limitations in the base claim.
For the purpose of applying prior art, the term "terminator nucleotide," recited by claim 76, is not expressly defined in the application's disclosure.
The specification provides the following relevant description:
"Optionally, the nucleotides can further include a reversible termination property that terminates further primer extension once a nucleotide has been added to a primer. For example, a nucleotide analog having a reversible terminator moiety can be added to a primer such that subsequent extension cannot occur until a deblocking agent is delivered to remove the moiety." ([0047])
Accordingly, under BRI and in light of the specification, the term "terminator nucleotide" is interpreted to encompass blocked nucleotides that cannot be extended during primer extension.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 71-79, 84-85 and 87-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
MPEP §2106.II on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility states : "It is essential that the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim be established prior to examining a claim for eligibility."
As discussed in the claim interpretation section above, the claimed kit in claim 71 under BRI reads on any prior art comprising a recombinase, a single-stranded nucleic acid probe capable of hybridizing to the target nucleic acid, and a first nuclease.
Following the analysis below the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 1 - Whether the Claim is to a Statutory Category : YES. The claims are drawn to a kit, which is an article comprising an assemblage of components, classified as a manufacture. Therefore the claim is to one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A
According to MPEP § 2106, Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry, in which examiners determine in Prong One whether a claim recites a judicial exception, and if so, then determine in Prong Two if the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception. Together, these prongs represent the first part of the Alice/Mayo test, which determines whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2A Prong 1 - Whether the Claim Recite an Abstract idea, Law of Nature, or Natural Phenomenon: Yes.
The claimed components and their combination are naturally occurring in the biological system for homologous recombination.
In eukaryotes: the Rad51 recombinase forms a filament of nucleic acid and protein on a single strand of DNA. This nucleoprotein filament then begins searching for DNA sequences similar to that of the 3' overhang. After finding such a sequence, the single-stranded nucleoprotein filament moves into (invades) the similar or identical recipient DNA duplex in a process called strand invasion. A displacement loop (D-loop) is formed during strand invasion between the invading 3' overhang strand and the homologous chromosome. After strand invasion, a DNA polymerase extends the end of the invading 3' strand by synthesizing new DNA. This changes the D-loop to a cross-shaped structure known as a Holliday junction. In the DSBR pathway, double Holliday junctions are then converted into recombination products by nicking endonucleases. (See Wikipedia, page 5, Figure 4)
In bacteria: RecBCD nicks the 3’-ended strand and loads a RecA-ssDNA complex that invades an intact homologous duplex DNA to produce a D-loop. The D-loop is cut and anneals with the gap in the first DNA to produce a Holliday junction. Resolution of the Holliday junction (cutting, swapping of strands, and ligation) at the open arrowheads by some combination of RuvABC and RecG. (See Wikipedia, page 8, Figure 7A)
As stated in MPEP 2106.04(b)(I), laws of nature and natural phenomena, as identified by the courts, include naturally occurring principles/relations and nature-based products that are naturally occurring or that do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature. The recited recombinase, single-stranded nucleic acid, and a first nuclease are classified as nature-based products because they are naturally occurring and the claim does not further recite any markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature.
In conclusion, the claims recite nature-based products.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Whether the Claim Recite Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application: No. The claim as a whole do not integrates the exception into a practical application of that exception.
For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must “transform the nature of the claim” into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981.
Here, in claim 71 the claimed components and their combination occur naturally in the biological system. The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception. Therefore, the claim fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B - Whether a Claim Amounts to Significantly More: No.
According to MPEP§ 2106.05, The second part of the Alice/Mayo test is often referred to as a search for an inventive concept. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 217, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71-72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (2012)). An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
In this instant case, claim 71, when considered as a whole, does not recite any inventive concept with additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 72-79, 84-85 and 87-90 do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as they represent mere general linkage of the judicial exception to the additional elements in the claims (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Claims 73-75 further recites dUTP and a second nuclease uracil DNA glycosylase, these features are also naturally occurring4 , thus cannot constitute something significantly more that goes beyond the judicial exception.
Claim 76 further recites "a terminator nucleotide." This additional limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. It is recited as a separate component of the kit and does not clearly impose any meaningful limitation on the nature based products5. Further, terminator nucleotides and their use in molecular biology were well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art 6.
In conclusion, the claims 71-79, 84-85 and 87-90 are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 71-73, 76-79, 82, 84-85, 87 and 88-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Essner (US20110059160A1 -- Methods and compositions for targeted gene modification; Published 2011-03-10), as evidenced by Reha-Krantz (Reha-Krantz, Linda J. "DNA polymerase proofreading: Multiple roles maintain genome stability." Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA)-Proteins and Proteomics 1804.5 (2010): 1049-1063.)
Essner teaches methods and kits for targeted gene modification involving a recombinase coating a single-stranded probe. The probe comprises sequence complementary to a specific gene region, which guides formation of a D-loop at the targeted region, leading to a double-stranded break and thereby achieving site-specific gene modification ([0022]: Fig. 10; [00196]).
Regarding claim 71, Essner teaches a kit comprising
(i) reagents comprising
a recombinase ([0196] kit comprising a fusion protein “possessing recombinase activity… The recombinase may be a recombinase as set forth herein, e.g., RecA, recA803, uvsX, recA mutants, recA-like recombinases, RuvC, DST2, KEM1 and XRN1, STPa/DST1, and HPP-1.”) and
a single-stranded nucleic acid probe capable of hybridizing to the target nucleic acid ([0196] “single-stranded nucleic acid that forms a nucleoprotein filament by specifically binding to the polypeptide possessing recombinase activity”; Fig. 10; [0022] “single strand (fss and rss)-NLSRecAGal4 filaments are co-injected into zebrafish embryos. The RecA homology search activity guides the filaments to the targeted region. The cssDNA-NLSRecAGal4 filaments undergoes homologous pairing and strand invasion, which causes the formation of D-loops on the target chromosome.”); and
(ii) a first nuclease (Fig. 10; [0196] line 17; [0194]; [0195]”The arrested replication fork can either cause replication fork collapse or promote the accessibility of DNA endonucleases to induce DNA DSBs.”; [0060] “Either chimeric RecA-FokI proteins or RecA coated filaments that bind FokI could induce specific double strand breaks at specific chromosomal sites.”).
Regarding claim 72, Essner teaches a polymerase ([0135] “Polymerase chain reaction (PCR)”; [0170] “proofreading polymerase Pfx50”) and a plurality of nucleotides ([0135] “primers typically are 14 to 40 nucleotides in length, but can range from 10 nucleotides to hundreds of nucleotides in length”; [0095] donor sequence comprising nucleotides; [0170] nuclear localization signal (NLS) comprising nucleotides ).
Regarding claim 73, Essner teaches a second nuclease ([0170] “proofreading polymerase Pfx50,” proofreading polymerase has the ability to proofread, using 3' → 5' exonuclease activity, see Reha-Krantz, Abstract8 ).
Regarding claim 76, Essner teaches wherein the plurality of nucleotides comprise a terminator nucleotide ([00182] “inverted deoxythymidine 3′ end modifier (3′ InvdT) which blocks the 3′ hydroxyl group of oligos and inhibits the DNA polymerase driven primer extension from the 3′ end”).
Regarding claim 77, Essner teaches a single-stranded binding protein ([0174] NLS-RecA-Gal4 protein capable of coating single stranded (ss) DNA; [0059] “One of the utilities of the NLS-RecA-Gal4 fusion protein is its ability like RecA to coat single-stranded DNA and find homologous regions in a genome to the RecA filament”).
Regarding claims 78-79, Essner teaches the recombinase is UvsX ([0196] line 13).
Regarding claim 82, Essner teaches the first nuclease comprises a recombinant protein comprising a nuclease domain and single-stranded nucleic acid binding domain ([0060] chimeric RecA-FokI proteins, RecA binds to single- stranded DNA, FokI is a nuclease).
Regarding claim 84, Essner teaches the single-stranded nucleic acid probe has a length in a range from 10 nucleotides to 100 nucleotides ([0018] probes are 60 nt in length; [0081] “probes with 60 bp” ).
Regarding claim 85, Essner teaches the single-stranded nucleic acid probe has a length in a range from 30 nucleotides to 60 nucleotides ([0018] probes are 60 nt in length; [0081] “probes with 60 bp” ).
Regarding claim 87, Essner teaches wherein the single-stranded nucleic acid probe is obtained from a fragment of genomic DNA ([0018] probes designed to target exon4/5 or exon6 region, which are sequence fragments of genomic DNA; [0103] “a nucleic acid probe is chosen that is complementary to a reference nucleic acid sequence, and then, by selection of appropriate conditions, the probe and the reference sequence selectively hybridize, or anneal, to each other to form a duplex molecule.”; [0190]).
Regarding claim 89, Essner teaches a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid probes (Fig. 10; [0189]-[0190] forward and reverse single strand (fss and rss)-NLSRecAGal4 filaments hybridizing to the targeting genomic region (FIG. 10)).
Regarding claim 90, Essner teaches the plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid probes comprises different single-stranded nucleic acid probes (Fig. 10; [0189]-[0190]).
Claims 71-79, 84-85 and 87-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piepenburg (US20100311127A1 - Recombinase polymerase amplification; published on 2010-12-09), as evidenced by Doetsch ( Doetsch et al. T4 DNA polymerase (3'-5') exonuclease, an enzyme for the detection and quantitation of stable DNA lesions: the ultraviolet light example. Nucleic Acids Res. 1985 May 10;13(9):3285-304. doi: 10.1093/nar/13.9.3285. PMID: 2987881; PMCID: PMC341235).
Piepenburg teaches methods for performing recombinase polymerase amplification, as well as kits for performing these methods. Multiple embodiments disclosed in Piepenburg anticipate claim 71.
Regarding claim 71, Piepenburg teaches a kit comprising:
(i) reagents comprising
a recombinase (FIG. 1; FIG. 11; [0036]; FIG. 37; FIG. 74; FIG. 72; [0152] uvsX recombinase) and
a single-stranded nucleic acid probe capable of hybridizing to the target nucleic acid (FIG. 11; [0036]; FIG. 37; FIG. 74; FIG. 72; [0152] first and second primer ); and
(ii) a first nuclease (FIG. 11, nicking endonuclease; FIG. 74, Nfo nuclease; FIG. 72; [0924] “structure-specific nuclease the probe/template containing the distortion is specifically cleaved, either as nicks possibly on either strand, or as a double-strand break, depending on the nuclease”; see also Fig. 71; [0152] T4 polymerase, which is a nuclease with 3' to 5' exonuclease activity, See Doetsch in abstract ).
Regarding claim 72, Piepenburg teaches a polymerase (FIG. 37; [0805]) and a plurality of nucleotides ([0798]; see also [0152]).
Regarding claim 73, Piepenburg teaches a second nuclease (Fig. 61, RPA product comprising extended probe is digested by dUTP-deglycosylase ; [0810]).
Regarding claim 74, Piepenburg teaches the plurality of nucleotides comprise dUTP nucleotides ([0087] “dUTP can be included in RPA reactions to wholly or partially replace dTTP thus providing a mechanism to develop effective carry-over contamination control.”).
Regarding claim 75, Piepenburg teaches the second nuclease is selected from the group consisting of uracil DNA glycosylase ([0810] “The capacity to employ dUTP in RPA reactions could be used to prevent carry-over contamination according to the depicted scheme. RPA reactions would be performed with pure dUTP, or mixes of dTTP and dUTP as shown in FIG. 61. Prior to, or at the initiation of an RPA reaction, E. coli Uracil deglycosylase (UDG) or similar would be incubated with the sample and would attack carry-over material.”).
Regarding claim 76, Piepenburg teaches the plurality of nucleotides comprise a terminator nucleotide ([0624] 3’ blocked oligonucleotide ; see also [0922]; [0960]; [0969]; FIG. 74).
Regarding claim 77, Piepenburg teaches a single-stranded binding protein (see FIG. 72 for example; [0971] “the bacteriophage T4 recombinase uvsX, single-stranded DNA binding (SSB) protein gp32, and recombinase loading factor uvsY together with molecular crowding agents, allow high fidelity in vitro recombinase-mediated DNA targeting”; FIG. 37, gp32).
Regarding claims 78-79, Piepenburg teaches UvsX (Fig. 37).
Regarding claim 84, Piepenburg teaches wherein the single-stranded nucleic acid probe has a length in a range from 10 nucleotides to 100 nucleotides ([00296] “optimal length of oligonucleotide lay between 30 nucleotides and 50 nucleotides” ).
Regarding claim 85, Piepenburg teaches wherein the single-stranded nucleic acid probe has a length in a range from 30 nucleotides to 60 nucleotides ([00296] “optimal length of oligonucleotide lay between 30 nucleotides and 50 nucleotides”).
Regarding claim 87, Piepenburg teaches wherein the single-stranded nucleic acid probe is obtained from a fragment of genomic DNA ([0396] “primers to amplify a fragment of the human apoliporotein B locus (FIG. 1 A,B).”; [0397] RPA primers that specifically target B. subtilis genomic DNA. A skilled artisan would readily understand the primers used to target genomic DNA are synthesized based on, in other words obtained from the genomic DNA sequence ).
Regarding claim 88, Piepenburg teaches wherein the single-stranded nucleic acid probe is obtained from a cDNA ([00106] “nucleic acid primers are targeted to homologous double-stranded, or partially double-stranded, sequences using recombinase agents, which would form D-loop structures. ”[0107]; [0227] “ target nucleic acid may be RNA. RNA can be converted to double-stranded cDNA using known methods and the double-stranded cDNA may be used as the target nucleic acid.”; [0159] “The primer is targeted to complementary sequences by virtue of its specific base-pairing capacity.” A skilled artisan would readily understand the primers used to target cDNA are synthesized based on, in other words obtained from the cDNA sequence).
Regarding claim 89, Piepenburg teaches a plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid probes (Fig. 1, Target A oligo and Target B oligo; [0657]).
Regarding claim 90, Piepenburg teaches wherein the plurality of single-stranded nucleic acid probes comprises different single-stranded nucleic acid probes (Fig. 1, Target A oligo and Target B oligo; [0657]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 83 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Essner (US20110059160A1 - Methods and compositions for targeted gene modification; Published 2011-03-10), in view of Okino (US20100136559A1- Chromatin structure detection; published on 2010-06-03).
The teachings of Essner are recited above and applied as for base claim 82/71.
Essner teaches methods and kits for targeted gene modification involving a recombinase coating a single-stranded probe. The probe comprises sequence complementary to a specific gene region, which guides formation of a D-loop at the targeted region, leading to a double-stranded break and thereby achieving site-specific gene modification ([0022]: Fig. 10; [00196]).
Essner further teaches that RecA coated filaments that bind FokI nuclease could induce specific double stranded breaks at specific chromosomal sites ([0060] lines 27-29).
Although Essner does not explicitly teach Sso7d protein, this feature would have been obvious in view of Okino.
Okino teaches a recombinant, fusion protein comprising FokI and Sso7d and its associated benefits. Specifically, Okino teaches DNA-modifying agents, including FokI ([0158]"DNA modifying agent is a Type II-S restriction enzyme, including but not limited to, MnII, FokI"), and further teaches that the DNA-modifying agent can be improved by fusion with a DNA binding domain such as Sso7d ([0119]-[0121] "DNA modifying or cleavage agents of the invention are fused or otherwise linked to a double-stranded sequence-non-specific nucleic acid binding domain (e.g., a DNA binding domain) … Examples of such proteins include, but are not limited to, the Archaeal small basic DNA binding proteins Sac7d and Sso7d"), which enhances DNA stability ([0121]).
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it prima facie obvious to modify Essner's FokI nuclease to further comprise Sso7d as a fusion protein, as suggested by Okino, to improve DNA stability during gene editing.
A skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because Okino teaches that fusion with a DNA binding domain such as Sso7d provides the benefit of improved DNA stability.
The person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the references provide technically compatible teachings. Both references teach using FokI for DNA modification (i.e. cutting DNA), and Okino expressly teaches a fusion protein comprising FokI and Sso7d that provides improved DNA stability. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have reasonably expected that incorporating Sso7d into Essner's FokI nuclease would provide the same benefit while retaining its DNA-modifying function.
Double Patenting- Obvious Type
Claims 71-72 and 77 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 43 of copending Application No. 18/573,770 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims (filed on 09/09/2026) of the '770 application.
Instant claim 71 recites:
A kit for selectively cleaving a target nucleic acid in a sample, the kit comprising:
(i) reagents for forming a D-loop in a double-stranded target nucleic acid comprising
a recombinase (‘770 Application, claim 43) and
a single-stranded nucleic acid probe (‘770 Application, claim 43, primer) capable of hybridizing to the target nucleic acid; and
(ii) a first nuclease (‘770 Application, claim 43, glycosylase) for cleaving a target nucleic acid at a D-loop.
Therefore, instant claim 71 is anticipated by claim 43 of the '770 application. Instant claims 72 and 77 are anticipated by claim 43 of the '770 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art
Below are relevant prior art not used in rejection but pertinent to the claims or disclosure.
The following prior art references also teach kit reagents comprising recombinase, single-stranded nucleic acid probe, and nuclease:
US20120258499A1 - Recombinase Polymerase Amplification;
US20080051317A1 - Polypeptides comprising unnatural amino acids, methods for their production and uses;
US20160272954A1 - Nucleic acid amplification;
Chaikind et al., A programmable Cas9-serine recombinase fusion protein that operates on DNA sequences in mammalian cells. Nucleic Acids Res. 2016 Nov 16;44(20):9758-9770. doi: 10.1093/nar/gkw707. Epub 2016 Aug 11. PMID: 27515511; PMCID: PMC5175349; see Fig.1 ;
WO2018031683A1-Programmable cas9-recombinase fusion proteins and uses thereof ;
US20150197787A1 - Recombinase mediated targeted dna enrichment for next generation sequencing;
US20150159212A1- Methods and compositions for targeted nucleic acid sequencing; see Example 3
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIAN NMN YU/Examiner , Art Unit 1681
1 Claims 80-81 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species E.
2 Claim 86 is withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species G-J.
3 See also MPEP 2112.01:
"I. PRODUCT AND APPARATUS CLAIMS — WHEN THE STRUCTURE RECITED IN THE REFERENCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THAT OF THE CLAIMS, CLAIMED PROPERTIES OR FUNCTIONS ARE PRESUMED TO BE INHERENT”;
“III. PRODUCT CLAIMS – NONFUNCTIONAL PRINTED MATTER DOES NOT DISTINGUISH CLAIMED PRODUCT FROM OTHERWISE IDENTICAL PRIOR ART PRODUCT
Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art."
4 See Sire et al. Uracil within DNA: an actor of antiviral immunity. Retrovirology 5, 45 (2008). doi.org/10.1186/1742-4690-5-45
5 Also, a terminator nucleotide such as 3ʹ-deoxy-3′,4ʹ-didehydro-CTP (ddhCTP), is naturally occurring. See Gizzi et al. A naturally occurring antiviral ribonucleotide encoded by the human genome. Nature 558, 610–614 (2018). doi.org/10.1038/s41586-018-0238-4
6 See Owen MJ. DNA sequence determination using dideoxy analogs. Methods Mol Biol. 1985;2:351-66. doi: 10.1385/0-89603-064-4:351. PMID: 21374217.
7 It is noted that claims 82 and 83 are excluded from the 101 rejection because they further require that "first nuclease comprises a recombinant protein comprising a nuclease domain and single-stranded nucleic acid binding domain." The recited recombinant protein comprising specific functional domains is not considered to be well-understood, routine and conventional in the art.
8 “DNA polymerase proofreading is a spell-checking activity that enables DNA polymerases to remove newly made nucleotide incorporation errors from the primer terminus before further primer extension and also prevents translesion synthesis.”