DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on August 08th, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)). Non-elected invention of Group II, claims 14-16 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-13 as follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 01/24/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung (US 2022/0077251, hereinafter as Chou ‘251) in view of Furuta (US 2018/0151830, hereinafter as Furu ‘830).
Regarding Claim 1, Chou ‘251 teaches a display device comprising:
`a lower electrode (Fig. 1A, (104); [0027]);
a rib (Fig. 1A, (126); [0027]) which covers a part of the lower electrode (104) and comprises a pixel aperture overlapping the lower electrode (104);
an upper electrode (Fig. 1A, (114); [0032]) which faces the lower electrode (104); and
an organic layer (Fig. 1A, (112); [0029]) which is provided between the lower electrode (104) and the upper electrode (114) and emits light based on a potential difference between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, wherein the lower electrode (104) includes: a metal layer (see para. [0027]) comprising a first peripheral portion covered with the rib (126), and a first central portion exposed from the rib through the pixel aperture; and
a conductive oxide layer (e.g. ITO, (202); [0033]) comprising a second peripheral portion located on the rib (126) (see Fig. 4J), and
Chou ‘251 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a second central portion which is in contact with the first central portion through the pixel aperture”.
Furu ‘830 teaches a second central portion (Fig. 6, (152); [0024] and [0033]) which is in contact with the first central portion (32; [0024]) through the pixel aperture.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chou ‘251 by having a second central portion which is in contact with the first central portion through the pixel aperture in order to suppress occurrence of resolution lowering and/or color mixture of a display device (see para. [0004]) as suggested by Furu ‘830.
Regarding Claim 11, Chou ‘251 teaches a display device comprising:
`a lower electrode (Fig. 1A, (104); [0027]);
a rib (Fig. 1A, (126); [0027]) which covers a part of the lower electrode (104) and comprises a pixel aperture overlapping the lower electrode (104);
an upper electrode (Fig. 1A, (114); [0032]) which faces the lower electrode (104); and
an organic layer (Fig. 1A, (112); [0029]) which is provided between the lower electrode (104) and the upper electrode (114) and emits light based on a potential difference between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, wherein the lower electrode (104) includes: a metal layer (see para. [0027]) comprising a first peripheral portion covered with the rib (126), and a first central portion exposed from the rib through the pixel aperture; and
a conductive oxide layer (e.g. ITO, (202); [0033]) which covers the first central portion,
Chou ‘251 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a protective layer located between the lower electrode and the rib; and the protective layer covers the first peripheral portion”.
Furu ‘830 teaches a protective layer (Fig. 6, (151a and 151b); [0055]) located between the lower electrode and the rib; and the protective layer covers the first peripheral portion (31; [0055]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chou ‘251 by having a protective layer located between the lower electrode and the rib; and the protective layer covers the first peripheral portion in order to suppress occurrence of resolution lowering and/or color mixture of a display device (see para. [0004]) as suggested by Furu ‘830.
Figs. 1A and 1B (Chou ‘251)
Regarding Claim 2, Furu ‘830 teaches a protective layer (Fig. 6, (151a and 151b); [0055]) which covers the first peripheral portion (31; [0055]).
Regarding Claim 3, Furu ‘830 teaches the rib (16; [0026]) covers the protective layer (15) (see Fig. 8).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Furu ‘830 teaches the protective layer (151a and 151b) is thicker than the conductive oxide layer (152) (see Fig. 6; [0034]).
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the protective layer is thicker than the conductive oxide layer on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see MPEP 2144.07). In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select the protective layer is thicker than the conductive oxide layer in order to improve the performance of organic light emitting display device.
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Furu ‘830 teaches the protective layer (151a and 151b) surrounds the first central portion (32) (see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Furu ‘830 teaches the protective layer is conductive (see para. [0033] and [0055]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chou ‘251 teaches the conductive oxide layer (e.g. ITO, (202); [0033]).
Furu ‘830 teaches the protective layer are formed of metal or a metallic compound (see para. [0033]).
Chou ‘251 and Furu ‘830 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the protective layer are formed of ITO, IZO or IGZO”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select ITO, IZO or IGZO material for the protective layer on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see MPEP 2144.07).
A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to select ITO, IZO or IGZO material for the protective layer in order to improve the performance of organic light emitting display device.
Regarding Claim 8, Chou ‘251 teaches a conductive partition (110A) provided on the rib (126), wherein the upper electrode (114) is in contact with the partition (110A) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Chou ‘251 teaches a conductive lower portion (110A), and an upper portion (110B) which protrudes from a side surface of the lower portion (110A) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Chou ‘251 and Furu ‘830 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the conductive oxide layer is partly located on the upper portion”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to have the conductive oxide layer is partly located on the upper portion on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (see MPEP 2144.07). A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to have the conductive oxide layer is partly located on the upper portion in order to improve the performance of organic light emitting display device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to semiconductor devices:
Hishinuma et al. (US 2022/0384749 A1)
Abe (US 2019/0326553 A1)
Takata (US 2009/0009069 A1)
Birnstock et al. (US 2004/0180457 A1)
Codama et al. (US 2002/0014836 A1)
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893