DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westbrook (US 2019/0056731) in view of Coles (WO 2023/193038), and Coimbra De Andrade (US 2022/0051038)
As to claim 1 Westbrook discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processor configured to
receive multi-modal sensor data associated with an occupant driving a vehicle form a sensor of the vehicle (Paragraph 30-32 “some aspects, the brainwave activity measured by the one or more EEG sensors 140 may be provided to the automatic driving system 132, such that the automatic driving system 132 may establish a baseline of brainwave activity of the driver and/or one or more passengers…….In yet another example, the risk assessment profile may be generated based on a combination of the mental state of the driver and the eye movement of the driver, as captured by the interior camera 142.” Paragraph 23 “The vehicle 102 may also include one or more electroencephalograph (EEG) sensors 140. In some aspects, the one or more EEG sensors 140 may be placed in the headrest or the roof liner of the vehicle 102, may be worn by the occupants (i.e., a driver and/or one or more passengers) of the vehicle 102, or embedded in the mobile device of the occupants. In some aspects, the one or more EEG sensors 140 may detect the following brainwaves of the occupants: 1) delta brainwaves; 2) theta brainwaves; 3) alpha brainwaves; 4) beta brainwaves; and 5) gamma brainwaves.”),),
generate a prediction, that the occupant of the vehicle has attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) based on the multi-modal data using a machine learning model (Paragraph 27 “For example, beta brainwaves may be generated when the driver is actively driving, i.e., alert, attentive, engaged in problem solving, exercising judgment/decision making, and engaged in a focused mental activity. Too much beta brainwaves may be indicative of excessive amounts of adrenaline, increased anxiety, increased arousal, an inability to relax, and/or increased stress levels; whereas, too little beta brainwaves may be indicative of ADHD, daydreaming, depression, and/or poor cognition. An ideal amount of beta brainwaves may promote conscious focus, increased memory, and/or increased problem solving abilities.”, Paragraph 4 “For example, a system may generate a risk assessment for a driver indicating a mental state of the driver, what risks the driver takes based on the mental state, and under what circumstances such risks are taken, for example. In some aspects, the risk assessment profile may be generated using machine learning algorithms, such that the risk assessment profile may dynamically evolve over time.”),
based on the prediction, control the vehicle to influence how the occupant drives the vehicle(Paragraph 33 “In some aspects, when the automatic driving system 132 determines that the driver is at an increased risk of driving unsafely, the automatic driving system 132 may prevent the vehicle 102 from transitioning from the autonomous driving mode to the manual driving mode. However, when the automatic driving system 132 determines that the driver is not at an increased risk of driving unsafely, the automatic driving system 132 may enable the vehicle 102 to transition from the autonomous driving mode to the manual driving mode. That is, the automatic driving system 132 may control the driving mode of the vehicle 102 based on the risk assessment profile.”)
Westbrook does not explicitly disclose limit an operation of the vehicle while the occupant drives the vehicle.
Coles teaches limit an operation of the vehicle while the occupant drives the vehicle (Paragraph 41 “Research is currently being directed to the use of blepharometric analysis and Al to identify biomarkers for other degradations to neurological brain function in conditions such as epilepsy (due to onset of seizures), ADHD, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s, traumatic brain injuries, concussion and motor neuron diseases, and aim to flag potential early signs to the driver (and also passengers) and/or with a recommendation to seek medical advice. The technology disclosed herein is readily applied in such scenarios.”, Paragraph 50-53 “n a fifth example, there is an additional control level at which driver assistance systems are not available or only available in a limited capacity, whilst an initial/baseline impairment level is determined. In a further example vehicle operation is restricted/limited until an initial/baseline impairment level is determined. [0051] In the examples above, intervention measures applied to driver assistance systems may include, for instance, one or more of the following:……• Adjusting steering damping.• Adjusting suspension settings. • Adjusting braking sensitivity.• Limiting vehicle maximum speed.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Westbrook to include the teachings of limiting an operation of the vehicle for the purpose of improving safety.
Westbrook does not explicitly disclose executing a plurality of machine learning (ML) models, each exclusively corresponding to a specific type of data
Coimbra De Andrade executing a plurality of machine learning (ML) models, each exclusively corresponding to a specific type of data (Paragraph 21 “In some implementations, the driver behavior system 115 may process the video data using a third machine learning model to detect the behavior data. For example, the driver behavior system 115 may use one or more neural network models, SVM models, random forest classification models, and/or the like to process the video data to detect the behavior data. The behavior data may indicate, for example, that the driver is looking down (e.g., not looking at the road on which the vehicle 110 is traveling), that the driver is using a user device (e.g., to text while driving), that the driver is not wearing a seat belt, that the driver is not wearing an authorized uniform, and/or the like.”);
Wherein the multi-modal data comprises two or more different types of data corresponding to two or more ML models of the plurality of ML models (Paragraph 26 “In some implementations, processing the behavior data (e.g., using the fourth machine learning model) to determine the distraction data includes detecting a plurality of facial points of the driver from the behavior data and determining a yaw, roll, and/or pitch of a head of the driver based on the plurality of facial points. For example, the driver behavior system 115 may use a deep neural network (e.g., trained on images of faces annotated with facial orientation) to predict a yaw, roll, and/or pitch of the driver based on the plurality of facial points. In some implementations, the driver behavior system 115 may identify a forward looking position of the driver's face (e.g., a median yaw, roll, and/or pitch of the head of the driver) based on median values associated with the plurality of facial points and may determine a deviation from the forward looking position based on the predicted yaw, roll, and/or pitch of the driver.”),
Communicate outputs form the two or more ML models to an additional ML model, wherein the additional ML model combines the outputs (Paragraph 49 “s shown by reference number 220, the machine learning system may train a machine learning model using the set of observations and using one or more machine learning algorithms, such as a regression algorithm, a decision tree algorithm, a neural network algorithm, a k-nearest neighbor algorithm, a support vector machine algorithm, and/or the like. After training, the machine learning system may store the machine learning model as a trained machine learning model 225 to be used to analyze new observations.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Westbrook to include the teachings of including multiple ML models for the purpose of improving safety.
As to claim 2 Westbrook discloses an apparatus wherein the processor is configured to receive two or more of images of the occupant from a camera, audio spoken by the occupant from a microphone, and weight distribution values from a seat used by the occupant (Paragraph 20).
As to claim 3 Westbrook discloses an apparatus wherein the processor is configured to extract eye motion data of the occupant from image data included in the multi-model data, and
wherein when the processor generates the prediction, the processor is configured to:
generate the prediction based on the eye motion data of the occupant extracted from the multi-modal data (Paragraph 32).
As to claim 9 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 1.
As to claim 10 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 2.
As to claim 11 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 3.
As to claim 17 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 1.
As to claim 18 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 2.
As to claim 19 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 3.
Claims 4,5,7,8, 12-13, 15-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westbrook (US 2019/0056731) in view of Coles (WO 2023/193038), and Coimbra De Andrade (US 2022/0051038) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Grant (US 10,525,979)
As to claim 4 Grant teaches an apparatus wherein the processor is configured to extract skeletal position data of the occupant from image data included in the multi-model data, and
wherein, when the processor generates the prediction, the processor is further configured to:
generate the prediction based on the skeletal position data of the occupant extracted from the obtained multi-modal data (Column 8 lines 66-Column 9 lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Westbrook to include the teachings of generating prediction data based on skeletal position data for the purpose of assessing the occupants state.
As to claim 5 Grant teaches an apparatus wherein the processor is configured to extract paralinguistic features from audio data of the occupant from the multi-modal data, and
wherein, when the processor generates the prediction, the processor is further configured to:
generate the prediction based on the paralinguistic features of the occupant extracted from the multi-modal data (Column 11 lines 15-32).
As to claim 7 Grant teaches an apparatus wherein when the processor controls the vehicle to influence how the occupant drives the vehicle, the processor is further configured to: to display an alert on a user interface of the vehicle with a request to modify a behavior of the occupant(Column 4 lines 29-44).
As to claim 8 Grant teaches an apparatus wherein the processor controls the vehicle to influence how the occupant drives the vehicle, the processor is further configured to:
automatically modify one or more of a current speed and a current direction of the vehicle via an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) (Column 4 lines 45-54).
As to claim 12 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 4.
As to claim 13 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 5.
As to claim 15 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 7.
As to claim 16 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 8.
As to claim 20 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 4.
Claims 6,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westbrook (US 2019/0056731) in view of Coles (WO 2023/193038), and Coimbra De Andrade (US 2022/0051038) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kaliouby (US 2018/0330178)
As to claim 6 Kaliouby teaches an apparatus wherein the additional ML model comprises a Bayesian model, and the processor is configured to: execute the Bayesian model using at least one of eye motion data, body motion data, audio data, or seat pressure data included in the multi-modal data (Paragraph 6, 119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Westbrook to include the teachings of using a Bayesian model for the purpose of detecting the drivers cognitive state.
As to claim 14 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IMRAN K. MUSTAFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668 4/4/2026