The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action, not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the arguments and amendments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments are presented after the first rejection they are directed to. The examiner agrees with the applicant’s arguments that the Kim et al. 20220171278 and Kim et al. 20220326602 teach reducing the SP3 bonding by repairing the graphene/graphite and do not teach the oxidation and defect formation which would result in a D/G of 0.1 to 0.2. The rejections based at least in part upon these references are withdrawn.
Claims 1,3-5,7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 10, please replace “treatment layer includes forming” with - - treatment layer results in - - to make it clear that the recite D/G ratio recited in the final result of the treatment.
In claim 17, “101 V”, should be - - 10 W- - . (see prepub of specification at [0054])
Claims 1,3-5,7-20 are rejected under 35 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Kim et al. 20240036460.
Kim et al. 20240036460 in examples 1 treats a multilayer graphene (graphite) core using an oxygen plasma for 30-120 second and then uses 48 cycles of an atomic layer deposition (ALD) to deposit a TiN protective layer [0065]. Examples 2 and 3 are similar. Figure 17 shows the 60 second plasma treatment results in g band with an intensity of ~150 count and a D band with an intensity of ~35 counts on a 20 count background. Which yields a D/G of ~ 15/130 or ~ 0.115.
The examiner is that the treatment used the same plasma conditions as the instant application, noting that there are some inventors in common and result in materials the same
The applicant argues that the examiner has not provided point by point mapping of the teachings of the reference to the claims. The examiner has clearly pointed to the example, which is similar to that of the instant application, which describes the multilayer graphene (graphite), the treatment to functionalize the surface with oxygen and the formation of the protective/passivation layer. The action clearly articulates the position in a manner which allows one of ordinary skill in the art to clearly understand the rejection. Rather, than a blanket/boilerplate statement, the applicant might describe what is beyond their understanding.
There is no ODP rejection as the claims have diverged.
Claims 1,3,5,7,10-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated 8. by KR 101363825.
KR 101363825 (machine translation Attached) describes the growth of graphene, followed by the treatment of the graphene surface using an oxygen plasma for 5 seconds. This is then treated with a silver nitrate solution to attach silver nanoparticles to the graphene [0046]. A similar process was performed on the graphene pellicle but the plasma treatment was for 10 seconds [0047]. A similar process was performed on the graphene pellicle but the plasma treatment was for 20 seconds [0048]. A similar process was performed on the graphene pellicle but the plasma treatment was for 30 seconds [0049].
The multilayer graphene is considered graphite, the oxygen plasma treatment for 20 or 30 seconds is considered to meet the surface treatment limitation. The silver particles are held to meet the passivation layer limitation.
Claims 1,4,5,7-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. WO 2017067813, in view of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 and Kato et al. JP 2021034135.
Peter et al. WO 2017067813 teaches The quality of graphene when growth by CVD may be largely influenced by the catalyst surface on which it grows, mostly because the grown graphene will follow the catalyst surface conformally. The catalyst surface may provide morphological changes at the high temperature required to grow graphene. Grain boundaries of the catalyst surface may occur and graphene may grow over surface grain boundaries sporadically. Reduction of the grain boundaries may be done by optimization for larger grain sizes, by influencing the growth rate dependence on crystal orientation by forming epitaxial layers or monocrystalline layers, by the improvement of layer thickness and layer thickness uniformity of CVD grown graphene and/or by improvement or changes in catalyst surface roughness. The catalyst surface can be optimized by optimization of gran sizes, which is influenced by temperature, growth time, internal stress and roughness. Epitaxial or monocrystalline surfaces may be formed by sputtering or CVD or any other PVD technique. A better quality graphene will improve imaging performance and the pellicle life time. Transition metal carbides from metals in groups IVB, VB and VIB in the Periodic Table, such as the carbides of Mo, Ni, Ru, Pt, Cu, Ti, V, Zr, Nb, Hf, Ta, W, Cr mentioned above, exhibit catalytic activity which resembles that of noble metals. These catalysts are particularly active towards dehydrogenation and aromatization of hydrocarbons and therefore provide a particularly suitable support for synthesis of graphene. In practice, when graphene is grown on a nominally bare surface of a metal from group IVB, VB or VIB, it is expected that for some metals a layer of a carbide of the metal will be formed (e.g. a surface layer of the metal will be partially or completely converted to the carbide) initially as part of the process of forming the at least one graphene layer 2 on the graphene-support layer 36. This is expected for example in the case of Mo due to the negative enthalpy of formation of Mo.sub.2C. For metals or processes where this does not occur, a separate process may be provided for forming the carbide on the metal prior to formation of the at least one graphene layer 2. In either case, where it is expected that the at least one graphene layer 2 will be formed on a carbide layer, the process (e.g. CVD) for forming the at least one graphene layer 2 should be adapted to take the carbide layer into account. The carbide layer provides opportunities to pursue different strategies towards optimizing the growth of the at least one graphene layer 2. For example, it is possible to control properties of the surface of the carbide to improve the formation of the at least one graphene layer 2. Properties such as surface morphology, grain size and crystal orientation may be controlled for example [0127-0128]. In an embodiment, an example of which is shown in Figure 45, adhesion between the capping layer 402,404 and the at least one graphene layer 2 is improved by providing an adhesion layer 412,414 between the capping layer 402,404 and the at least one graphene layer 2. In the absence of any adhesion layer, adhesion between graphene and materials coated on the graphene can be poor. It is possible to improve adhesion by creating hydrophilic -OH groups on the surface. Hydrophilic -OH groups on the surface allow good adhesion of oxides for example. It has been found however that creating hydrophilic -OH groups on the surface can compromise the electronic stability of graphene by disrupting the sp.sup.2 bonded network. Compromising the electronic stability can cause atomic sites to be created which act is starting points for further defect generation. In an embodiment the adhesion layer 412,414 is configured to reduce or avoid compromising of the electronic stability of the graphene. In an embodiment, the adhesion layer 412,414 comprises a material having sp.sup.2-bonded carbon and hydrophilic groups. The presence of the sp.sup.2-bonded carbon reduces or avoids compromising of the electronic stability of the graphene. The presence of the hydrophilic groups promotes good adhesion. In an embodiment the adhesion layer 412,414 comprises amorphous carbon (a-C). In an embodiment the amorphous carbon is partly oxidized. Partly oxidized amorphous carbon is expected to possess both sp.sup.2-bonded carbon and hydrophilic groups such as C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH [00204-00205]. The capping layers 402,404 can be deposited using a variety of techniques, including for example physical vapor deposition (PVD), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), evaporation, or atomic layer deposition (ALD). The capping layers 402,404 should be relatively thin (of nanometer order) in order to minimize EUV transmission losses. The inventors have found that ALD is particularly effective for producing layers which are very thin and yet still fully closed [00203]
Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 (accorded priority date of 12/19/2021) describes with respect to figure 4, an SEM image of double wall carbon nanotubes (DWCNT), pre-treated with UV-ozone and then coated using atomic layer deposition (ALD) (page 23/lines 9-11). Pretreatment (or functionalization) of the CNT membrane, for example oxidation via UV-ozone exposure or anneal in a specific atmosphere, could also be applied prior to the coating with or without a seed layer (9/29-31). The coating material may generally be selected as any material which may provide sufficient protection of the CNTs against the hydrogen atmosphere, and enable an outer coating with sufficient EUV transmission. The coating material may be selected from the group of: Al, B, C, Hf, La, Mo, Nb, Ru, Si, Ti, Y, or Zr; or carbides, nitrides or oxides thereof, as well as their combinations (e.g. yttrium aluminum oxide or yttria-stabilized zirconia). The coating material may be deposited by e.g. atomic layer deposition (ALD), such as thermal ALD a plasma-enhanced ALD (22/1-8).
Kato et al. JP 2021034135 (machine translation attached) in figure 4 illustrates the Raman spectra before UV-ozone treatment, after 10 minutes of UV ozone treatment and after 20 minutes of UV ozone treatment. Figure 6 illustrates the changes in the D/G ratio as a function of UV-ozone exposure. D/G ratios between 0.1 and 0.2 are formed by exposures of ~7 to ~15 minutes.
Peter et al. WO 2017067813 does not describe specific passivation layer materials, the technique for oxidizing the graphene/graphite surface or the D/G ratio resulting from the oxidation.
With respect to claims 1,5,7-8,10-15 and 18, it would have been obvious to oxidize the graphene/graphite pellicle layer surfaces of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 using the UV-ozone treatment process of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 which is described as improving the adhesion of the subsequently applied passivation layer in Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 to the carbon nanotube form a graphene with the UV-ozone treatment lasting 7-15 minutes which would result in a D/G of 0.1 to 0.2 as evidenced in Kato et al. JP 2021034135 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813.
The UV-ozone surface treatment is an oxidation of the graphene/graphite surface similar to that described in the instant specification and is held to inherently result in the surface roughness recited in claims 5 and 18.
With respect to claims 1,4,5,7-8,10-15 and 18 , it would have been obvious to oxidize the graphene/graphite pellicle layer surfaces of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 using the UV-ozone treatment process of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 which is described as improving the adhesion of the subsequently applied passivation layer in Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 to the carbon nanotube form a graphene with the UV-ozone treatment lasting 7-15 minutes which would result in a D/G of 0.1 to 0.2 as evidenced in Kato et al. JP 2021034135 and coating the passivation layers using an atomic layer deposition technique as taught at [00203] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and (22/1-8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813
With respect to claims 1,4,5,7-8,10-15, and 18-20, it would have been obvious to oxidize the graphene/graphite pellicle layer surfaces of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 using the UV-ozone treatment process of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 which is described as improving the adhesion of the subsequently applied passivation layer in Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 to the carbon nanotube form a graphene with the UV-ozone treatment lasting 7-15 minutes which would result in a D/G of 0.1 to 0.2 as evidenced in Kato et al. JP 2021034135 and coating the passivation layers using an atomic layer deposition technique as taught at [00203] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and (22/1-8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 to deposit nitrides opr carbides of B, Si, Ti, Mo or Zr as passivation layers as taught at (22/1-8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813
Claims 1,3-5,7-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. WO 2017067813, in view of Hsu et al. 20220260932 and Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853.
Hsu et al. 20220260932 teaches the surfaces of carbon nanotube 500 are treated prior to application of the material of coating layer 502 on outside surface 504 and inside surface 506 to modify, i.e., produce minor defects in, the surface of carbon nanotube 500 and/or to introduce functional groups, e.g., hydrophilic groups, to the surfaces of the carbon nanotube. Modifying the surfaces of carbon nanotube 500 improves the adhesion of coating layer 502 on the outer surface 504 or the inner surface 506 of carbon nanotube 500. Examples of suitable processes to treat the surfaces of carbon nanotube 500 prior to application of coating layer 502 include nitrogen, oxygen, carbon fluoride or argon gas plasma treatment. In accordance with some embodiments, the surfaces of the carbon nanotube 500 are treated with the gas plasma using a combination of frequency, power, pressure and period of time sufficient to achieve the desired surface modifications to improve adhesion of coating layer 502 to the nanotube surfaces. In accordance with one embodiment, the carbon nanotube is treated with oxygen plasma at a frequency of about 13.6 MHz at a power of about 100-200 W and a pressure of about 1-200 mTorr. The length of time that the carbon nanotube is so treated is sufficient to provide the desired surface modifications without damaging the carbon nanotubes [0067]. in other embodiments, the surfaces of the nanotubes 500, e.g., carbon nanotubes, are coated with a layer 508 which promotes adhesion between the surface of the carbon nanotube 500 and the coating layer 502. Such adhesion promoting materials are coated onto surfaces of the carbon nanotubes 500 by deposition processes such as ALD and PEALD. Examples of materials of layer 508 include amorphous carbon or other materials which can be deposited by ALD or PEALD processes and promote adhesion between the surfaces of the carbon nanotubes 500 and the coating layer 502. In accordance with another embodiment of the present disclosure, layer 508 is a protective layer that serves to protect the nanotubes from degradation by a plasma of a PEALD process used to deposit the coating layer 502. When a protective layer is formed on the nanotubes, it is formed by a first deposition process, for example, a thermal atomic layer deposition process in the absence of any plasma. Multiple cycles of the first deposition process can be employed in order to form multiple protective layers on the nanotubes. After one or more protective layers has been formed on the nanotubes, the coating layer 502 can be deposited using a second deposition process, for example, plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) techniques. Due to the presence of the protective layer, the nanotubes of the membrane are not damaged by the plasma of the PEALD process. Examples of materials useful as a protective layer include the same materials described above for forming coating layer 502 [0068]. FIG. 11 is a flowchart illustrating a method in accordance with the present disclosure for forming a protective, adhesion or coating layers on transparent layer 402 or a matrix of nanotubes formed into a membrane 950. In method 1000 of FIG. 11, the transparent layer 402 or a matrix of nanotubes provided as a membrane 950, e.g., on a frame or border 952 is supported, e.g., vertically, in a chamber 954 capable of carrying out a thermal ALD or CVD process and a plasma-enhanced ALD or CVD process. The transparent layer 402 or the frame 952 is supported within chamber 942 such that they have multiple freedoms of movement. For example in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 10, frame 950 can be rotated around a vertical axis or it can be tilted around the horizontal axis. Embodiments in accordance with the present disclosure are not limited to rotating the frame around the vertical access or tilting it around the horizontal axis. In other embodiments, the frame has freedom of movement in addition to rotation around a vertical axis or tilting around the horizontal axis. Such rotation and tilting can be implemented during a thermal process and/or a plasma-enhanced process to promotes even coating of nanotubes of the membrane 950 with a coating layer, adhesion layer or protective layer. Conditions within the chamber are maintained to promote uniform deposition of the coating layer, adhesion layer or protective layer, e.g., temperatures in the range of 500 degrees Celsius to 1200 degrees Celsius. Such temperatures are provided by providing thermal energy from the chamber walls or heaters associated with the chamber walls. Embodiments in accordance with the present disclosure for forming protective, adhesion or coating layers on a matrix of nanotubes or transparent layer 402 are not limited to utilizing thermal PVD or CVD and plasma enhanced PVD or CVD. For example, such layers can be formed using ion beam deposition techniques. The description above regarding utilizing thermal PVD or CVD and plasma enhanced PVD or CVD also applies to the use of ion beam deposition. At step 1030, a protective layer is formed on the transparent layer or nanotubes of the membrane by a thermal atomic layer deposition process. The chamber 942 illustrated in FIG. 10 is an example of a chamber where both thermal atomic layer deposition and plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition can be carried out. Method 1000 is not limited to utilizing a single chamber in which both thermal and plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition is carried out. For example, in other embodiments, the thermal deposition process can be carried out in one chamber and the plasma enhanced deposition can be carried out in another different chamber [0078].
With respect to claims 1,3,5,7-8,10-16 and 18, it would have been obvious to oxidize the graphene/graphite pellicle layer surfaces of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 using the oxygen plasma treatment of Hsu et al. 20220260932 which is described as improving the adhesion of the subsequently applied passivation layer to the carbon nanotube form of graphene with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and applying passivation/protection layers as taught in Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 to protect the pellicle during the EUV exposure process.
The oxygen plasma treatment is an oxidation of the graphene/graphite surface similar to that described in the instant specification and is held to inherently result in the surface roughness recited in claims 5 and 18.
With respect to claims 1,3-5,7-8,10-16 and 18, it would have been obvious to oxidize the graphene/graphite pellicle layer surfaces of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 using the oxygen plasma treatment of Hsu et al. 20220260932 which is described as improving the adhesion of the subsequently applied passivation layer to the carbon nanotube form of graphene with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and coating the passivation layers using an atomic layer deposition technique as taught at [00203] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and (22/1-8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813
With respect to claims 1,3-5,7-16 and 18-20, it would have been obvious to oxidize the graphene/graphite pellicle layer surfaces of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 using the oxygen plasma treatment of Hsu et al. 20220260932 which is described as improving the adhesion of the subsequently applied passivation layer to the carbon nanotube form of graphene with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and coating the passivation layers using an atomic layer deposition technique as taught at [00203] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813 and (22/1-8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 to deposit nitrides opr carbides of B, Si, Ti, Mo or Zr as passivation layers as taught at (22/1-8) of Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful passivated pellicle having the C.sub.n-OH or C.sub.n-COOH surface functionality described at [00204-00205] of Peter et al. WO 2017067813
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. WO 2017067813, in view of Hsu et al. 20220260932 and Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853, further in view of El Fatimy et al. 20200309602 or Yoon et al. KR 20140104542.
El Fatimy et al. 20200309602 teaches the etching of graphene using an oxygen plasma with a 50 sccm flow rate, 10W power for 60 seconds [0057].
Yoon et al. KR 20140104542 (machine translation attached) teaches etching graphene oxide using an oxygen plasma at a power of 10W for 30 seconds [0100-0102].
The combination of Peter et al. WO 2017067813, Hsu et al. 20220260932 and Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 does not teach the plasma power recited in the claims.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Peter et al. WO 2017067813, Hsu et al. 20220260932 and Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853 by operating the oxygen plasma with an oxygen flow rate of 50 sccm, a power of 10W for 30-90 seconds which are within the skill of the practitioner as conditions known to be useful for etching graphene layers as evidenced by the teachings of El Fatimy et al. 20200309602 or Yoon et al. KR 20140104542 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle.
Claims 1,3-5,7-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. WO 2017067813, in view of Hsu et al. 20220260932 and Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853, further in view of Yu et al. KR 20220068457.
Yu et al. KR 20220068457 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figure 2a-f, a silicon substrate (1), with a catalyst layer (3), a graphene layer (4) is then directly grown on this surface and then a capping layer of (5) is SiC, SiO .sub.2 , Si .sub.x N .sub.y (x and y are integers, x/y = 0.7 to 1.5), Mo, Mo .sub.2 B, MoB .sub.2 , Mo .sub.2 B .sub.5 , Mo .sub.2 C, MoC, MoSi .sub.2 , Nb, NbC, NbB .sub.2 , NbSi .sub.2 , La, Zr, ZrC, ZrN, ZrB .sub.2 , ZrO .sub.2 , ZrSi .sub.2 , B, B .sub.4 C, Y, YSi .sub.2 , TiSi .sub.2 , TiC, TiB .sub.2 , Ru, Nd, Be, La, LaB .sub.2 , and includes at least one selected from LaC. The first capping layer 5 may be composed of a single layer or may be composed of a plurality of layers sequentially stacked. The capping layer(s) can be formed by a low-pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process, an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process, a sputtering process, a vacuum deposition process. A pellicle frame (6) is then attached to the capping layer and second capping layer (7) formed. The capping layers should be formed a s thin as possible [0033-0054].
In addition to the basis above, the examiner cites Yu et al. KR 20220068457 and holds that it would have bene obvious to modify the processes rendered obvious by the combination of Peter et al. WO 2017067813, Hsu et al. 20220260932 and Timmermans et al. WO 2023117853by using a direct growth process to form the graphene/graphite core layer and forming capping layers on both sides of the graphite/graphene core is known in the art.
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 January 9, 2026