DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 22-24 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22, Lines 1-2: “a cooling distribution unit having a pump” should be amended to recite “the coolant distribution unit having the pump” as they are already introduced in claim 1.
Claims 23-24 recite “the cooling distribution unit” and should be amended to recite “the coolant distribution”.
Claim 26, Line 1: “a cooling distribution unit” should be amended to recite “the coolant distribution”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 11439046 B2) in view of Correa (US 20120097370 A1) and Liu (US 20170086331 A1).
As to Claim 1, Gao discloses:
A system for cooling electronic components (cooling system 10, Fig. 1), comprising:
a rack (rack 50, see Fig. 5; col. 7, Lines 61-65 “FIG. 5 is an example of an electronic rack with a cooling system according to one embodiment. Specifically, this figure shows a perspective view of the electronic rack 50 that includes an electronic rack cooling system, such as cooling system 10 of FIG. 1”) configured to house a computing tray 52 (col. 7-8, Lines 65 and 1-4 “the rack 50 may be any type of electronic rack that is configured to house one or more pieces of IT equipment in one or more slots within the frame 57. As shown, the frame 57 includes several pieces of IT equipment 52a-52n that are arranged in a stack for providing data processing services”) and a rack manifold (liquid manifold 2, vapor manifold 5) comprising a supply portion (liquid manifold 2), a coupling portion (manifold ports 55), and a return portion (vapor manifold 5), wherein the computing tray 52 has a cold plate array comprising an inlet (connection of port 55 to 52) configured to connect with the coupling portion 55 (col. 8, Lines 18-20 “a supply port is coupled to the piece of IT equipment 52a to allow liquid to flow into the cold plate”), wherein the cold plate array further includes a cold plate 1 configured to thermally couple with an electronic component (col. 8, Lines 5-8 “Each of the pieces of IT equipment includes a cold plate 1 (e.g., 1a for equipment 52a and 1n for equipment 5n), which may be mounted on at least one respective processor”), and to connect with an outlet of the cold plate array configured to couple with the coupling portion 55 (col. 8, Lines 18-22 “a supply port is coupled to the piece of IT equipment 52a to allow liquid to flow into the cold plate 1a and a return port is coupled to the piece of IT equipment 52a to allow vapor produced by the cold plate 1a to enter the vapor manifold”); and
a coolant distribution unit (fluid control unit 3) configured to circulate a coolant to the computing tray 52 via a pump (see col. 5, Lines 16-20, pump included in 3), and the rack manifold 2 (col. 4, Lines 23-25 “the cold plate 1 couples to the liquid manifold 2, which couples to the fluid control unit 3”).
Gao does not disclose:
wherein the computing tray has a flow regulator, a cold plate configured to connect with the flow regulator; and
a coolant distribution unit configured to circulate a coolant to the computing tray via, a controller;
wherein the flow regulator is configured to respond to pressure differences in a flow network within the system and is operable across a range of pressures, wherein the flow regulator is configured to maintain a constant flow rate of the coolant.
However, Correa discloses:
wherein the computing tray (electronics enclosure 2) has a flow regulator (fluid flow regulators 12), a cold plate 30 (Par. 0034 “each heat exchanger is a cold plate”) configured to connect with the flow regulator 12 (Par. 0028 “Each section input line includes a dynamic fluid flow regulator 12. The plurality of docking bays is conceptually partitioned into one or more sections, each section is supplied fluid by a corresponding section input line”); and
wherein the flow regulator 12 is configured to respond to pressure differences in a flow network within the system and is operable across a range of pressures, wherein the flow regulator 12 is configured to maintain a constant flow rate of the coolant (Par. 0029 “A fluid flow regulator is a device that maintains a constant fluid flow rate over a given pressure range”; “Each dynamic fluid flow regulator is rated to provide a constant output fluid flow rate for a given range of fluid pressures. As applied to the dynamic fluid flow regulators 12 in FIGS. 1 and 2, if pressure increases on the pump side (external side) of the dynamic fluid flow regulator, then the dynamic fluid flow regulator resists that increase in pressure by reducing the orifice opening. For example, the dynamic fluid flow regulator regulates a substantially constant output fluid flow rate when the input pressure ranges between 2 psi and 36 psi”);
in order to ensure the same fluid flow rate is provided to each section under changing conditions (Par. 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao as further suggested by Correa e.g., providing:
wherein the computing tray has a flow regulator, a cold plate configured to connect with the flow regulator; and
wherein the flow regulator is configured to respond to pressure differences in a flow network within the system and is operable across a range of pressures, wherein the flow regulator is configured to maintain a constant flow rate of the coolant;
in order to ensure the same fluid flow rate is provided to each section/cold plate under changing conditions.
Further, Liu discloses:
a coolant distribution unit (left side Fig. 1) configured to circulate a coolant to the computing tray (boards) via, a controller (controller 105; Par. 0045 “The heat dissipation apparatus further includes a controller 105 connected to both a water pump 103 and the sensor 104”);
in order to adjust the flow capacity of coolant based on a pressure difference (Par. 0063-0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa as further suggested by Liu e.g., providing:
a coolant distribution unit configured to circulate a coolant to the computing tray via, a controller;
in order to adjust the flow capacity of coolant based on a pressure difference.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the flow regulator (12 of Correa) is configured to deliver the coolant at the constant flow rate as determined by a thermal design power, wherein the thermal design power is determined by a maximum amount of heat generated by the electronic component (only servers capable of being cooled by the flow regulators cooling capacity are permitted, constant flow rate is in place for servers capable of being cooled by cooling capacity of flow regulators 12; Par. 0039 “it is important to only install electronics servers properly rated to be cooled by the server rack or to a particular docking bay within the server rack”; “An exemplary server rack is a 20 kilowatt rack, and the four dynamic fluid flow regulators have a fluid flow rate of 0.5 GPM (gallon per minute) flow. The fluid flow rates of the dynamic fluid flow regulators and the orifice tubes determine the cooling capacity of the server rack”; Par. 0041 “Any such combination of dynamic fluid flow regulator and orifice tube is considered as long as the corresponding electronics server is rated to the cooling capacity of the specific docking bay”; Correa).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
a plurality of computing trays (52a-52n; Gao), wherein each computing tray 52 is configured to be removable from the rack 50 (col. 8, Lines 49-51 “each of the ports described herein may include (or be) connectors that are configured to removably couple the components described herein together”; ports cam be removably coupled, IT equipment capable of being removed; Gao).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu does not explicitly disclose:
a pump inlet, pump outlet, and a motor; and
a pressure sensor configured to couple with the pump and communicate with the coolant distribution unit, wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the pressure sensor, the pump inlet, the pump outlet, and the motor to determine a pump setpoint.
However, Liu further discloses:
a pump inlet, pump outlet, and a motor (water enters and exits pump 103, see Fig. 1 and pump 103 has blower impeller, inherently motorized, see Par. 0063); and
a pressure sensor 104 configured to couple with the pump 103 and communicate with the coolant distribution unit (Par. 0042 “a sensor 104 that is configured to obtain inflow pressure of coolant flowing into the branch water pipe 101 and outflow pressure of coolant flowing out of the branch water pipe 101”), wherein the controller 105 is configured to communicate with the pressure sensor 104, the pump inlet, the pump outlet, and the motor (pump 103) to determine a pump setpoint (Par. 0045 “The heat dissipation apparatus further includes a controller 105 connected to both a water pump 103 and the sensor 104”; Par. 0047 “The controller 105 may determine a current pressure difference between the inflow pressure and the outflow pressure according to the inflow pressure and the outflow pressure”; Par. 0063 “by the controller 105 according to the current pressure difference between the inflow pressure and the outflow pressure, the flow capacity of the coolant flowing into the branch water pipe 101 is not limited only to adjusting the rotation speed of the water pump 103, and a blower impeller of the water pump 103 may also be set as changeable”; pump speed changed based on pressure readings);
in order to ensure no large temperature changes in the apparatus occur (Par. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa and Liu as further suggested by Liu e.g., providing:
a pump inlet, pump outlet, and a motor; and
a pressure sensor configured to couple with the pump and communicate with the coolant distribution unit, wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the pressure sensor, the pump inlet, the pump outlet, and the motor to determine a pump setpoint;
in order to ensure no large temperature changes in the apparatus occur.
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the pump setpoint (pump speed of pump 103 of Liu) is further determined by an operation setpoint (controller ensures temperature change by adjusting pump; Par. 0064 “the controller 105 can also control, to be even and constant, the flow capacity of the coolant flowing into the branch water pipe 101, which effectively avoids a temperature change of the coolant flowing through the branch water pipe 101, thereby improving heat dissipation reliability and stability of the heat dissipation apparatus and usability and service life of the heat dissipation apparatus”; Liu).
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the flow regulator (12 of Correa) is configured to accommodate a pressure change of 20 PSI (Par. 0029 “the dynamic fluid flow regulator regulates a substantially constant output fluid flow rate when the input pressure ranges between 2 psi and 36 psi”; Correa).
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
a first multiphase quick connect and a second multiphase quick connect (ports 55 of Gao; col. 8, Lines 49-54 “each of the ports described herein may include (or be) connectors that are configured to removably couple the components described herein together. For example, the manifold ports 55, outlet supply port 65, and the inlet return port 58 may be connectors such as dripless blind mating quick disconnects”);
wherein the first multiphase quick connect is configured to adapt to the coupling portion of the rack manifold 2 and the cold plate array inlet, and the second multiphase quick connect is configured to couple to the coupling portion of the rack manifold 5 and the cold plate array outlet (manifold ports 55 connect liquid manifold 2 and vapor manifold 5 to IT equipment 52; col. 8, Lines 54-61 “each of these ports may be female dripless connectors… the pieces of IT equipment may include corresponding male dripless connectors that are used to couple to the manifold ports 55”; Gao).
As to Claim 28, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the flow regulator (12 of Correa) is responsive to pressure differences (Par. 0029 “A fluid flow regulator is a device that maintains a constant fluid flow rate over a given pressure range”), and is one of a piston and spring flow regulator, a flexible metal orifice flow regulator (Par. 0029 “In the case of a dynamic fluid flow regulator, an orifice size in the fluid pathway varies”; Correa), a cone type regulator, or an elastomeric variable-orifice regulator.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 11439046 B2) in view of Correa (US 20120097370 A1), and Liu (US 20170086331 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Shedd (US 20150237767 A1) and Carswell (US 20060187639 A1).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the coolant comprises a liquid phase (portion of coolant in liquid manifold 2; Gao), a two-phase equilibrium, and an enthalpy of vaporization (coolant in vapor manifold; Gao) wherein the flow rate is determined by the thermal design power (see rejection of claim 2 above; Correa discloses flow rate determined by cooling capacity of flow regulators 12) and enthalpy of vaporization of the coolant.
Gao, Correa and Liu do not disclose:
wherein the coolant comprises a two-phase equilibrium and wherein the flow rate is determined the enthalpy of vaporization of the coolant.
However, Shedd discloses:
wherein the coolant comprises a two-phase equilibrium (Par. 0306 “The pressure drop across each heat sink module 100 causes a corresponding decrease in saturation temperature (Tsat) of the coolant”; see Fig. 14B, coolant reaches saturation temperature; Par. 0361 “The saturation temperature is the temperature for a given pressure at which a liquid is in equilibrium with its vapor phase”);
in order to allow additional heat sink modules to be connected in series, providing cooling to a plurality of components (Par. 0306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa and Liu as further suggested by Shedd e.g., providing:
wherein the coolant comprises a two-phase equilibrium;
in order to allow additional heat sink modules to be connected in series, providing cooling to a plurality of components.
Further, Carswell discloses:
wherein the flow rate is determined by the enthalpy of vaporization of the coolant (Par. 0025 “The flow rate can be very low because the heat of vaporization is large compared to the specific heat of a fluid. This keeps the pump flow and power requirement low. Pressure loss in the system comes only from the flow. No expansion pressure drop is necessary. The cooling efficiency is very high compared to the power requirement”);
in order to keep pump and power requirements low and cooling efficiency high (Par. 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa, Liu and Shedd as further suggested by Carswell e.g., providing:
wherein the flow rate is determined by the enthalpy of vaporization of the coolant;
in order to keep pump and power requirements low and cooling efficiency high.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 11439046 B2) in view of Correa (US 20120097370 A1) and Liu (US 20170086331 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Shedd (US 20150237767 A1).
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the second multiphase quick connect (55 between 52 and vapor manifold 5) comprises a first position (when connected) and a second position (when disconnected);
wherein a first position of the second multiphase quick connect is configured to transport the coolant between the cold plate array outlet and the rack manifold 5 (when port 55 is connected between 52 and manifold 5, vapor can be transported between the two), and a second position of the second multiphase quick connect is configured to stop transport of the coolant between the cold plate array outlet and the rack manifold 5 (when disconnected, blind mating quick disconnects do not allow for transfer of vapor between 52 and 5; Gao).
Gao, Correa and Liu do not disclose:
wherein the coolant comprises a multi-phase fluid at equilibrium between at least two phases.
However, Shedd discloses:
wherein the coolant comprises a multi-phase fluid at equilibrium between at least two phases (Par. 0306 “The pressure drop across each heat sink module 100 causes a corresponding decrease in saturation temperature (Tsat) of the coolant”; see Fig. 14B, coolant reaches saturation temperature; Par. 0361 “The saturation temperature is the temperature for a given pressure at which a liquid is in equilibrium with its vapor phase”);
in order to allow additional heat sink modules to be connected in series, providing cooling to a plurality of components (Par. 0306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa and Liu as further suggested by Shedd e.g., providing:
wherein the coolant comprises a multi-phase fluid at equilibrium between at least two phases;
in order to allow additional heat sink modules to be connected in series, providing cooling to a plurality of components.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 11439046 B2) in view of Correa (US 20120097370 A1) and Liu (US 20170086331 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20230320040 A1).
As to Claim 26, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the system includes the coolant distribution unit (fluid control unit 3; Gao) configured to pump the coolant to the cold plate 1 (see col. 5, Lines 16-20, pump included in 3; col. 4, Lines 23-25 “the cold plate 1 couples to the liquid manifold 2, which couples to the fluid control unit 3”),
Gao, Correa and Liu do not disclose:
a hot swappable pump assembly that is removable from the cooling distribution unit.
However, Chen discloses:
a hot swappable pump assembly (hot-swap pump 40) that is removable from the cooling distribution unit (cooling apparatus 1, hot-swap pump 40 is removable);
in order to increase flexibility and convenience of the cooling apparatus during installation and assembly (Par. 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa and Liu as further suggested by Chen e.g., providing:
a hot swappable pump assembly that is removable from the cooling distribution unit;
in order to increase flexibility and convenience of the cooling apparatus during installation and assembly.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 11439046 B2) in view of Correa (US 20120097370 A1), Liu (US 20170086331 A1) and Chen (US 20230320040 A1) as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Salerno (US 20180273223 A1) and Wegmann (US 20140262158 A1).
As to Claim 27, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa, Liu and Chen discloses:
wherein the hot swappable pump assembly (40 of Chen) includes a power connector 44 (Par. 0027 “the first hot-swap connector 44 is electrically connected to the first pump main body 41”), a check valve (anti-leakage vales 422,432), and a multiphase pump quick connect (anti-leakage pipes 42,43).
Gao, Correa, Liu and Chen do not disclose:
wherein the pump assembly includes a strainer, a geroter pump, a filter/dryer.
However, Salerno discloses:
wherein the pump assembly 30 includes a geroter pump (Par. 0039 “The pump 30 may be selected from, for example, one or more of any of a geroter pump”);
in order to provide appropriate pumping for the associated liquid (Par. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa, Liu and Chen as further suggested by Salerno e.g., providing:
wherein the pump assembly includes a geroter pump;
in order to provide appropriate pumping for the associated liquid.
Further, Wegmann discloses:
wherein the pump assembly (pumping module 14) includes a strainer 54, a filter/dryer 57 (Par. 0045 “The pumping module also includes a strainer 54 for filtering debris… a filter dryer 57 for removing moisture”);
in order to filter debris and remove moisture (Par. 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa, Liu, Chen and Salerno as further suggested by Wegmann e.g., providing:
wherein the pump assembly includes a strainer, a filter/dryer;
in order to filter debris and remove moisture.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 11439046 B2) in view of Correa (US 20120097370 A1) and Liu (US 20170086331 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lipp (US 20190254199 A1).
As to Claim 29, the obvious modification of Gao in view of Correa and Liu discloses:
wherein the flow regulator (12 of Correa) is configured to accommodate a full dissipation of 20 pounds per square inch pressure differential (Par. 0029 “the dynamic fluid flow regulator regulates a substantially constant output fluid flow rate when the input pressure ranges between 2 psi and 36 psi”; Correa).
Gao, Correa and Liu do not disclose:
wherein the flow regulator is configured to accommodate a flow rate of 10 gallons per minute.
However, Lipp discloses:
wherein the flow regulator is configured to accommodate a flow rate of 10 gallons per minute (Par. 0035 “a flow control regulator is installed in the input manifold regulating the input flow to approximately 12 gallons per minute (GPM)”);
in order to provide the desired cooling to the rack (Par. 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gao in view of Correa and Liu as further suggested by Lipp e.g., providing:
wherein the flow regulator is configured to accommodate a flow rate of 10 gallons per minute;
in order to provide the desired cooling to the rack.
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., flow rate of coolant for effective cooling) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456; 105 USPQ 233.
Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., flow rate of coolant for effective cooling) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 21-25, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the dependent claim 21, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claim 21 recites the following limitations:
“wherein the system is configured to operate under a constant saturation temperature control, in which the flow regulator is configured to maintain the constant flow rate by increasing or decreasing pressure.” – claim 21.
Imwalle (US 9398731 B1) and Najjari (US 20230328927 A1) disclose control valves however does not disclose a constant saturation temperature control and the valves altering the pressure.
Bash (US 6415619 B1) discloses control valves and a varied saturation temperature, however does not disclose a constant saturation temperature control and the valves altering the pressure.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 21, are believed to render said claim 21 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841