DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
2. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 9/8/2025. Claims 2-21 are pending in this application. Claim 1 is canceled.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the insulating layer is disposed within the substrate…and directly contacts to the first surface” (claims 16 & 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, claims 16 & 18 each cites “the insulating layer is disposed within the substrate, between the first surface and the protective layer, and directly contact the first surface” is not clear because of “directly contact the first surface”. Fig. 2 shows insulating layer 20 within substrate 10, and spaced apart from first surface (upper surface of 10). Claim 2 requires “the first surface of the substrate covers an entirely of the insulating layer” & “between the first surface of the substrate and the protective layer”. Reading into claim 2, it is not clear any particular position of the insulating layer within the substrate and how the insulating layer directly contacts the first surface of the substrate.
For best understanding and examination purpose, the claim(s) will be best considered based on drawings, disclosure, and/or any applicable prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 2-4, 9, 14-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endo (US 6,130,458).
Re claims 2 & 9, Endo teaches, under BRI, Figs. 6B & 12B, cols. 6-7, an integrated circuit device comprising:
-a protected circuit (transistors 5, 6) disposed on a substrate (11, 13), the substrate (11, 13) having a first surface (indicated) and a second surface (indicated) opposite the first surface;
-a protective layer (n layer 39) disposed within the substrate (11, 13), and configured to protect the protected circuit (5, 6) by absorbing laser radiation targeted at the protected circuit (9) through the substrate (11, 13) (for the intended use and characteristic of 39), wherein the protective layer (39) comprises a doped semiconductor (N-type); and
-an insulating layer (oxide film 10) disposed within the substrate (11, 13) such that the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) covers an entirety of the insulating layer (10), the insulating layer (10) being between the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) and the protective layer (39) disposed within the substrate (11, 13), the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) being between the insulating layer (10) and the protected circuit (5, 6) (e.g., between gate G, S/D terminals & 10), a plane of the insulating layer (10) being parallel to a plane of the protective layer (39), and configured to electrically insulate (e.g., as characteristic of insulator) the protected circuit (5, 6) from the protective layer (39) and a portion of the substrate (11, 13) that is on a side of the protective layer (39) that is opposite the insulating layer (10) (e.g., in vertical direction).
Re claim 3, Endo teaches, Fig. 6B, the protective layer (39) is disposed (within substrate) such that removal of the protective layer (39) causes physical damage (e.g., due to its position within substrate & under circuit 5, 6) to the protective circuit (5, 6).
Re claim 4, Endo teaches, Fig. 6B, intermediate circuitry (in transistor/region 4) protruding into the substrate (11, 13) between the protective layer (39) and the insulating layer (10) (e.g., in horizontal direction) and terminating before contacting the protective layer (39), wherein the physical damage to the protected circuit (5, 6) is physical damage to the intermediate circuitry (in transistor/region 4).
Re claim 14, Endo teaches, Fig. 6B, the protected circuit (5, 6) is disposed on the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) and directly contacts the first surface of the substrate (11, 13).
Re claim 15, Endo teaches, Fig. 6B, the protective layer (39) is disposed within the substrate (11, 13), between the first surface and the second surface (in vertical direction).
Re claim 16, Endo teaches, under BRI, Fig. 6B, the insulating layer (10) is disposed within the substrate (11, 13), between the first surface (indicated) and the protective layer (39), and directly contacts the first surface (indicated) (via 12, in vertical direction).
Re claim 17, Endo teaches, Fig. 6B, the insulating layer (10) disposed within the substrate (11, 13), between the first surface and the protective layer (39) in a cross sectional view.
Re claim 18, Endo teaches, under BRI, Fig. 6B, the protected circuit (5, 6) is disposed on the first surface of the substrate (11, 13), the protective layer (39) is disposed within the substrate (11), between the first surface and the second surface, and the insulating layer (10) is disposed within the substrate (11), between the first surface and the protective layer (39), and directly contacts the first surface (via 12, in vertical direction).
Re claim 21, Endo teaches, under BRI, Figs. 6B & 12B, cols. 6-7, an integrated circuit device comprising:
-a protected circuit (transistors 5, 6) disposed on a substrate (11, 13), the substrate (11, 13) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (indicated);
-a protective layer (n layer 39) disposed within the substrate (11), and configured to protect the protected circuit (5, 6) by absorbing laser radiation targeted at the protected circuit (9) through the substrate (11) (for the intended use and characteristic of 39), and
-intermediate circuitry (in transistor/region 4) protruding into the substrate (11, 13) between the protected circuit (5, 6) and an insulating layer (10) (in horizontal direction), the integrated circuit device being configured such that removal of the protective layer (39) from the substrate (11, 13) causes physical damage (e.g., due to its position under 5, 6) that disables the protected circuit (5, 6),
-wherein the insulating layer (oxide film 10) disposed within the substrate (11, 13) such that the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) covers an entirety of the insulating layer (10), the insulating layer (10) being between the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) and the protective layer (39) disposed within the substrate (11, 13), the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) being between the insulating layer (10) and the protected circuit (5, 6) (e.g., between gate G, S/D terminals & 10), a plane of the insulating layer (10) being parallel to a plane of the protective layer (39), and configured to electrically insulate (e.g., as characteristic of insulator) the protected circuit (5, 6) from the protective layer (39) and a portion of the substrate (11, 13) that is on a side of the protective layer (39) that is opposite the insulating layer (10) (e.g., in vertical direction, and
wherein the physical damage (e.g., due to position of 39 under 5, 6 & circuit in transistor/region 4) that disables the protected circuit (5, 6) is a physical damage to the intermediate circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 5-8, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo.
The teachings of Endo have been discussed above.
Re claim 5, Endo teaches under BRI, Fig. 6B, col. 7, 1st par., detection circuitry (e.g., protection circuits/current detection circuits) configured to detect (for the intended use) a change in an electrical property of the integrated circuit device indicative of removal of the protective layer (39), and, in response to detecting the change in the electrical property, cause the protected circuit (5, 6) to be disabled.
Endo does not explicitly teach the detection circuit disposed in a same layer of the integrated circuit as the protected circuit.
Endo does teach, col. 7, 1st par. “it is of course possible to integrate also protection circuits, current detection circuits, and small-signal circuits on the same semiconductor chip”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Endo to obtain the detection circuit disposed in a same layer of the integrated circuit as the protected circuit as claimed to achieve a desired structure of the formed circuit device. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Re claim 6, Endo teaches the electrical property is capacitance (based on capacitors & decreasing of capacitance) (abstract & claim 1).
Re claim 7, Endo teaches the detection circuitry comprises a DRAM cell or a bipolar transistor (claim 10).
Re claim 8, Endo teaches, Fig. 6B, intermediate detection circuitry (in transistor/region 4) protruding into the substate (11, 13) between the protective layer (39) and the protected circuit (5, 6) (in horizontal direction).
Re claim 19, Endo’s Fig. 6B does not explicitly teach the protective layer is continuous over an entirety of the substrate.
Endo’s Fig. 11 teaches the protective layer (39) is continuous over an entirety of the substrate (11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ & modify the teaching as taught by Endo to obtain the protective layer is continuous over an entirety of the substrate as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired structure & resistivity of protective layer & aids in compensating a relatively large potential difference in a floating state.
Re claim 20, Endo teaches, under BRI, Figs. 6B & 12B, cols. 6-7, an integrated circuit device comprising:
-a protected circuit (transistors 5, 6) disposed on a substrate (11, 13), the substrate (11, 13) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (indicated);
-a protective layer (n layer 39) disposed within the substrate (11, 13), and configured to protect the protected circuit (5, 6) by absorbing laser radiation targeted at the protected circuit (9) through the substrate (11) (for the intended use and characteristic of 39),
-detection circuitry (e.g., protection circuits/current detection circuits) configured to detect (as intended use or as function of detection circuits) a change in an electrical property of the integrated circuit device indicative of removal of the protective layer (39) from the substrate (11), and, in response to detecting the change in the electrically property, cause the protected circuit (5, 6) to be disabled; and
-an insulating layer (oxide film 10) disposed within the substrate (11, 13) such that the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) covers an entirely of the insulating layer (10), the insulating layer (10) being between the first surface of the substrate (11, 13) and the protective layer (39) disposed within the substrate (11, 13), the first surface of the substrate being between the insulating layer (10) and the protected circuit (5, 6) (e.g., between gate G, S/D terminals & 10), a plane of the insulating layer (10) being parallel to a plane of the protective layer (39), between the protective layer (39) and protected circuit (5, 6), and configured to electrically insulate (e.g., as characteristic of insulator) the protected circuit (5, 6) from the protective layer (39) and a portion of the substrate (11, 13) that is on a side of the protective layer (39) that is opposite the insulating layer (10) (e.g., in vertical direction).
Endo does not explicitly teach the detection circuit disposed in a same layer of the integrated circuit as the protected circuit.
Endo does teach, col. 7, 1st par. “it is of course possible to integrate also protection circuits, current detection circuits, and small-signal circuits on the same semiconductor chip”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ/modify the teaching as taught by Endo to obtain the detection circuit disposed in a same layer of the integrated circuit as the protected circuit as claimed to achieve a desired structure of the formed circuit device. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
7. Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo in view of Cade (US 4,534,804).
The teachings of Endo have been discussed above.
Re claims 10 & 11, Endo does not explicitly teach the doped semiconductor has a dopant concentration of 1019 cm-3, 1020 cm-3, 5x1020 cm-3 or 1021 cm-3 and the protective layer has the transmittance of the laser radiation that is less than or equal to one of 40 %, 20 %, 15 %, 10 %, 5 %, or 2 %.
Cade teaches “The dividing line between "heavily" doped and "lightly" doped is 3x1018 atoms of dopant per cubic centimeter” (col. 3, lines 50-51).
As taught by Cade, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize/modify the above teaching to obtain the doped semiconductor has a dopant concentration of 1019 cm-3, 1020 cm-3, 5x1020 cm-3 or 1021 cm-3 & to obtain the transmittance of the laser radiation that is less than or equal to one of 40 %, 20 %, 15 %, 10 %, 5 %, or 2 % as claimed, because dopant concentration/transmittance of laser radiation of a semiconductor layer depended on many variable parameters such as thickness, material, desired device requirement, dopant, surrounding layers, temperature, pressure, etc., and are known to affect device properties and would depend on the desired device density and the desired device characteristics. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited concentration/transmittance through routine experimentation to achieve desired characteristics of the formed device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Cade in combination Endo due to above reason.
Re claim 12, in combination cited above, Cade teaches the laser radiation is infra-red radiation (col. 3, 2nd par.).
Re claim 13, in combination cited above, Cade teaches the protective layer has a transmittance of laser radiation that is less than a transmittance of laser radiation in the substrate (abstract, col. 1, lines 45-52 & last par.).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No.11,658,133 and/or in view of Endo (US 6,130,458). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim and require similar features including protective circuit on substrate, protective layer within the substrate, insulating layer within the substrate, intermediate circuitry, and detection circuitry, etc; and Endo teaches the first surface of the substrate covers an entirety of the insulating layer.
18/299,419
2. An integrated circuit device comprising:
a protected circuit disposed on a substrate, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface;
a protective layer disposed within the substrate, and configured to protect the protected circuit by absorbing laser radiation targeted at the protected circuit through the substrate; and
an insulating layer disposed within the substrate such that the first surface of the substrate covers an entirely of the insulating layer, the insulating layer being between the first surface of the substrate and the protective layer disposed within the substrate, the first surface of the substrate being between the insulating layer and the protected circuit, a plane of the insulating layer being parallel to a plane of the protective layer, and configured to electrically insulate the protected circuit from the protective layer and a portion of the substrate that is on a side of the protective layer that is opposite the insulating layer.
17. The integrated circuit device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the substrate has a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, and
the insulating layer is disposed within the substrate, between the first surface and the protective layer in a cross sectional view.
19. The integrated circuit device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the protective layer is continuous over an entirety of the substrate.
11,658,133
1. An integrated circuit device comprising: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; a protected circuit disposed on the first surface of the substrate; a protective layer disposed within the substrate, between the first surface and the second surface, and configured to protect the protected circuit by absorbing laser radiation targeted at the protected circuit through the substrate, the protective layer being continuous over an entirety of the substrate; and an insulating layer disposed within the substrate, between the first surface and the protective layer in a cross sectional view, and configured to electrically insulate the protected circuit from the protective layer and a portion of the substrate that is on a side of the protective layer that is opposite the insulating layer.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
The claims are amended with newly added features, interpretation & rejection under Endo also changed to meet the current claims. Details included in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 1/21/26