DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Robert S. Scheurer et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2002/0096926, here after 926),
further in view of Edward Secon (U.S. Patent: 4473254, here after 254).
Claim 20 is rejected. 926 teaches a method for manufacturing a buoyant pool
lounge chair for supporting a person while the buoyant pool lounge chair is floating in
water [0001-0002], the method comprising:
providing frame members collectively forming an open chair frame, the frame
members including a seat frame having a front end and a rear end, the seat frame
having a top side and a bottom side, the seat frame including a seat support member,
the seat support member being steel [fig. 2, 0042]; and
wherein the buoyant pool lounge chair is configured to maintain buoyancy
sufficient to support at least a 250-lb adult occupant [0042] while floating in water with
the chair seat at least partially submerged (floating in water causes object less weight
due to buoyant force, therefore when 926 teaches the chair supports 250-lb person, it
would definitely support that person when the chair is floated in water) and the chair
back and arm rests in an upright position [0011, 0041]; and
sequentially advancing the open chair frame through an integrated processing
line comprising multiple stations wherein each station interacts with an article received
as an input to produce an article which is the output, allowing for single or multiple
coatings(obviously):
applying an adhesive coating to (at a second station) [0059], so the frame is
encapsulated by adhesive [fig. 13], attaching buoyant cushions to the adhesive coating
(at a third station), the buoyant cushions forming a chair seat, by attaching and securing
the buoyant cushions to the adhesive coating and setting the buoyant cushions [fig. 13,
0059, 0053], and coating the buoyant cushions with a second vinyl polymer coating (46)
[fig. 13, 0052] (at a fourth station) which in fact encapsulates the buoyant cushions and
the adhesive coating to form a continuous waterproof barrier [fig. 13], and as 926 and
prior art teach a layer of solvent-based vinyl coating material is applied to the exposed
external surfaces of the lounge chair while it is suspended on a threaded weldment from
a hanger strap (as described in 09/178818) [0052]. 926 teaches protecting and coating
steel frame [0059]. 926 does not teach coating the steel with a first vinyl polymer
coating to provide steel-to-vinyl contact at a first station. 254 teaches coating iron-based
chair frames with plasticized material such as vinyl for protection against outdoor
weather [column 2 lines 51-57]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of 926
when the steel (iron based or steel open chair) frame is coated with vinyl polymer first
(in a first station), because it helps protecting the frame against outdoor weather
(providing steel to vinyl contact). Therefore, the first vinyl polymer and the second vinyl
polymer coating comprising the same material. Furthermore, a radial cross-section of
each of the frame members from center to end as a radius consists essentially of steel
to first vinyl polymer to adhesive coating to buoyant cushion to second vinyl polymer.
Claim 19 is rejected. 926 teaches a method for manufacturing a buoyant pool
lounge chair for supporting a person while the buoyant pool lounge chair is floating in
water [0001-0002], the method comprising:
providing frame members collectively forming an open chair frame [fig. 2], the
frame members including a seat frame having a front end and a rear end, the seat
frame having atop side and a bottom side, the seat frame including a seat support
member, the seat support member being steel [fig. 2, 0042]; and
wherein the buoyant pool lounge chair is configured to maintain buoyancy
sufficient to support at least a 250-lb adult occupant [0042] while floating in water with
the chair seat at least partially submerged (floating in water causes object less weight
due to buoyant force, therefore when 926 teaches the chair supports 250-lb person, it
would definitely support that person when the chair is floated in water) and the chair
back and arm rests in an upright position [0011, 0041]; and
sequentially advancing the open chair frame through an integrated processing
line comprising multiple stations wherein each station interacts with an article received
as an input to produce an article which is the output(obviously), allowing for
single or multiple coatings:
applying an adhesive coating to (at a second station) [0059], so the frame is
encapsulated by adhesive [fig. 13]. 926 teaches attaching buoyant cushions to the
adhesive coating (at a third station), the buoyant cushions forming a chair seat by
attaching and securing the buoyant cushions to the adhesive coating and setting the
buoyant cushions [fig. 13, 0059], and coating the buoyant cushions with a second vinyl
polymer coating (46) [fig. 13, 0052] (at a fourth station). 926 teaches the protective vinyl
coating (second vinyl coating) is applied over the external surfaces of the lounge chair
while it is suspended on a threaded weldment (09/178818, or U.S. 6086150, which is
incorporated by reference teaches it in fig.9) therefore excess of coating will be
removed (as it will be dropped by gravity), following by drying and curing [6086150
column 1 lines 48-53] the second vinyl polymer coating, and obviously cooling. 926
teaches protecting and coating steel frame [0059]. 926 does not teach coating the steel
with a first vinyl polymer coating to provide steel-to-vinyl contact at a first station. 254
teaches coating iron-based chair frames with plasticized material such as vinyl for
protection against outdoor weather [column 2 lines 51-57]. Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to
have a method of 926 when the steel (iron based) frame is coated with vinyl polymer
first (in a first station), because it helps protecting the frame against outdoor weather
(providing steel to vinyl contact). Therefore, such that a radial cross-section of each of
the frame members from center to end as a radius consists essentially of steel to first
vinyl polymer to adhesive coating to buoyant cushion to second vinyl polymer. Although
251 does not how to apply the vinyl coating to the metal frame, however 926 teaches
applying vinyl coating by suspending it on a threaded weldment (09/178818, or U.S.
6086150, which is incorporated by reference teaches it in fig.9) therefore excess of
coating will be removed (as it will be dropped by gravity), following by drying and curing
[6086150 column 1 lines 48-53], which in fact this vinyl coating can apply to chair frame
with expectation of success as well, the vinyl polymer coating obviously cool down.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of 926, and 251 when the metal frame is coated
with first vinyl coating while by suspending it on a threaded weldment as 926 teaches,
because it is suitable method for applying vinyl coating to chairs. Although 926 does not
teach removing the excess adhesive coating. However, the examiner takes official
notice that it is well known in the art to remove, wipe or scrap residual glue after
attaching pieces to ensures a clean, professional finish, preserves joint strength, and
prevents damage to surrounding finishes or cushions. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a
method of 926, and 251 when excess of adhesive coating is remove, because it helps
professional finish, preserves joint strength, and prevents damage to surrounding
finishes or cushions.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert S.
Scheurer et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2002/0096926, here after 926), further in view
of Donald E. Little (U. S. Patent: 4821354, here after 354), Edward Secon (U. S. Patent:
4473254, here after 254), Joachim Staroste et al (U. S. Patent: 4093305, here after
305), and Jun Huang (Chinese Patent: 1466872, here after 872).
Claim 1 is rejected. 926 teaches a method for manufacturing a buoyant pool
lounge chair for supporting a person while the buoyant pool lounge chair is floating in
water [0001-0002], the method comprising:
providing frame members collectively forming an open chair frame, the frame
members including a seat frame having a front end and a rear end, the seat frame
having a top side and a bottom side, the seat frame including a seat support member,
the seat support member being steel [0017, fig. 2, 0042]; and
wherein the buoyant pool lounge chair is configured to maintain buoyancy
sufficient to support at least a 250-lb adult occupant [0042] while floating in water with
the chair seat at least partially submerged (floating in water causes object less weight
due to buoyant force, therefore when 926 teaches the chair supports 250-lb person, it
would definitely support that person when the chair is floated in water) and the chair
back and arm rests in an upright position [0011, 0041]; and
sequentially advancing the open chair frame through an integrated processing
line comprising multiple stations(obviously) wherein each station is distinct and interacts
with an article received as an input to produce an article which is the output, allowing for
single or multiple coatings:
applying an adhesive coating to (at a second station) [0059], 926 teaches adhesive coating to comprise an elastomeric sealant (flexible caulking which apply by flow coating) [0052], and attaching buoyant cushions to the adhesive coating (at a third
station), the buoyant cushions forming a chair seat [fig. 13, 0059], by attaching and
securing the buoyant cushions to the adhesive coating and setting the buoyant
cushions, wherein the buoyant cushions comprise closed cell polyurethane foam [0043];
and coating the buoyant cushions with a second vinyl polymer coating (46) [fig. 13,
0052] (at a fourth station), such that the second vinyl polymer coating fully encapsulates
the buoyant cushions and adhesive coating to form a continuous waterproof barrier
[0052 last 4 lines]. 926 teaches the protective vinyl coating (second vinyl coating) is
applied over the external surfaces of the lounge chair while it is suspended on a
threaded weldment (dipping or spraying 09/178818, or U.S. 6086150, which is
incorporated by reference teaches it in fig.9) therefore excess of coating will be
removed (as it will be dropped by gravity), following by drying and curing [6086150
column 1 lines 48-53] the second vinyl polymer coating, and obviously cooling. 926
teaches selecting the second vinyl polymer coating to comprise a cured polyvinyl liquid
vinyl coating [0052] (applying solvent-based vinyl coating material to the exposed
external surfaces of the lounge chair, see 09/178818), but does not teach it is PVC. 354
teaches coating pool cushions(mat) comprising urethane with PVC and
sealing[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
at the time of the invention was made to have a method of 926 when the vinyl polymer
is PVC, because it is suitable vinyl polymer to be coated on (poly)urethane pool mates.
926 does not teach coating the steel with a first vinyl polymer coating to provide steel-
to-vinyl contact at a first station. 254 teaches coating iron-based chair frames and
covered with plasticized material such as vinyl for protection against outdoor weather
[column 2 lines 51-57] which in fact has to be fully encapsulating the steel seat support
member in (a first) vinyl polymer coating to provide steel-to-vinyl contact, such that the
steel is completely covered and the first vinyl polymer coating forms a continuous
barrier around the steel seat support member, because it provide durability for
withstanding the outdoor weather and has to completely seal the steel from outdoor
weather. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
time of the invention was made to have a method of 926, and 354 when the steel (iron
based) frame is coated with vinyl polymer first (in a first station), because it helps
protecting the frame against outdoor weather (providing steel to vinyl contact).
Therefore, by fully encapsulating the steel with first vinyl polymer, the adhesive coating
being in contact only with the first vinyl polymer coating and not with steel, and such that
a radial cross-section of each of the frame members from center to end as a radius
consists essentially of steel to first vinyl polymer to adhesive coating to buoyant cushion
to second vinyl polymer. 926 teaches applying liquid vinyl coating and obviously
curing(drying) [0052 see 09/178818], wherein the same method of coating also can be
applied for coating frames with expectation of success but does not teach vinyl is PVC.
305 teaches coating chair beams (frame) with PVC protective [column 1 lines 55-58].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of 926, 354, and 254 when the first vinyl polymer
is PVC, because it is suitable protective vinyl polymer to be coated on frames of deck-
chairs (protection against outside environment). 926, 354 and 254 teach applying vinyl
polymer to iron-based frame(steel) to protect it, but do not teach applying by dipping.
872 teaches applying vinyl polymer to iron frame to protect it (prevent rust) by
immersing it in polymer(plastic) [abstract background art]. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a
method of 926, 354, and 254 when the first vinyl polymer is applied to iron kind frame by
dip coating, because it is suitable method to apply vinyl polymer for protecting it. It is
also obvious by removing the frame from dipping excess of material (vinyl polymer)
removes, and the structure will be dried(cured) and cool to room temperature. Although
926 does not teach removing the excess adhesive coating. However, the examiner
takes official notice that it is well known in the art to remove, wipe or scrap residual glue
after attaching pieces to ensures a clean, professional finish, preserves joint strength,
and prevents damage to surrounding finishes or cushions. Therefore, it would have
been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to
have a method of 926, and 251 when excess of adhesive coating is removed, because
it helps professional finish, preserves joint strength, and prevents damage to
surrounding finishes or cushions.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 08/04/26 have been fully considered but they are not
persuasive. The applicant argues the first vinyl polymer is not for protecting purposes and it is to secure the buoyant cushions to the steel frame. However, although the combination of references are for protecting the steel frame and for different reasons, in fact by having a vinyl polymer between the steel along with applying adhesion layer causes the attachment of cushions to the frame be stronger.
The applicant further explained differences between a buoyant chair and lawn chair; however both are exposed to outdoor environments.
Regarding the applicant argument for fig. 13, in fact the examiner cited this figure to show the order of coating in radial direction. In fact by comparing fig. 1, and 2 it is obvious that if steel frame is coated by first vinyl layer(e.g. 32A, fig.2), it will be coated with adhesive, cushions and second vinyl coating to result in fig. 2(the examiner does not recall explaining regarding element 70, 74 or 78, but with comparing fig. 1 and 2 it is obvious that the order of the layers in claims are met).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI whose telephone
number is (571)270-1885. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30-6.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Gordon Baldwin can be reached at 5712725166. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718