DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/13/2023 has been considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the load (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the low-voltage battery current as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). ¶[34] states “ When the determining unit 63 judges that the charging/discharging current of the low-voltage battery 20 has continued to be no greater than the first threshold value for the second duration of time (YES in S205), the processing advances to step S207. ” Step 207 indicates the battery is abnormal. However, in Fig. 4 (which indicates an abnormal connection), the battery current continues to be greater than the first threshold. ¶[34] also indicates that the first threshold is 0. The description of Fig. 4 in ¶[42] indicates that “ a timer or the like is used to start measuring the duration of time during which the state in which the charging/discharging current of the low-voltage battery 20 is zero .” The specification continues to recite “ when the determining unit 63 judges that the charging/discharging current of the low-voltage battery has not continued to be no greater than the first threshold value for the second duration of time (NO in S205), the processing advances to step S206 .” Step 206 indicates the normal operation. However, in Fig. 3, which indicates normal operation, the battery current touches the first threshold at T3. The description of Fig. 3 in ¶[40] indicates that the duration is measured for when the battery current is zero. The drawings and specification seem to belong to different embodiments. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification The specification is objected to because the abnormality detection sequence described in ¶[34] is not reflected in the drawings (see drawing objection above for details). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claim s 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. It is not clear how the electric power converter (50) is structured. The electric converter is noted to have multiple inputs (from generator (30, see ¶[19]), low-voltage battery (20, see ¶[18]), and high-voltage battery (10, see ¶[17])) and multiple outputs (low-voltage load (see ¶[17]), low-voltage battery (20, see ¶[18]), and high-voltage battery (10, see ¶[17])). The converter is presented as a black box capable of transferring power to and from the components listed above, and it is not evident how this is implemented. It is not clear if the converter outputs to a bus that is shared between components, or implements a switching network to selectively choose an input/output. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the limitation “ wherein the abnormal connection state of the low-voltage battery includes a state in which a terminal of the low-voltage battery is disconnected, and a state in which wiring connecting the low-voltage battery to the electric power converter is disconnected .” It is unclear if the abnormal connection state requires both of these limitations to be true (a terminal of the low-voltage battery is disconnected and wiring connecting the battery to the converter is disconnected) or only one of them (as implied in the specification in ¶[22]: “ Examples of abnormalities related to the connection state of the low-voltage battery 20 include a state in which a terminal of the low-voltage battery 20 has become disconnected, a state in which there is wire disconnection in wiring connecting the low-voltage battery 20 to the electric power converter 50, and so forth ”). For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that only one of the limitations is required, as implied in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimo et al . ( JP 20141 92966 A) in view of Funabashi et al . ( US 20130098646 A1 ) further in view of Zhan et al. (CN 112477598 A) . Regarding Claim 1 , Shimo teaches a n electric power source control device (20) that controls an electric power converter (30) that connects a high-voltage battery (22) and a low-voltage battery (32) (¶[12] “the power supply device 20 of the embodiment includes a relatively high-voltage battery 22 configured as, for example, a lithium-ion secondary battery with a relatively high voltage (e.g., 200V), a relatively low voltage battery 32 configured as, for example, a lead-acid battery with a relatively low voltage (e.g., 12V), a DC/DC converter 30 connected to a high-voltage power line 24 connected to the high-voltage battery 22 and a low-voltage power line 34 connected to the low-voltage battery 32”) , the electric power source control device comprising: an acquisition unit (38) that acquires a charging and discharging current of the low-voltage battery (¶[13] “the charge/discharge current IL from the current sensor 38 also connected to the output terminal of the low-voltage battery 32”) ; a determining unit (electronic control unit 40) that determines presence or absence of an abnormality with respect to a connection state of the low-voltage battery, based on the charging and discharging current (¶[17] “when the charge/discharge current IL is less than the current threshold I ref , it is determined that the DC/DC converter 30 is not charging despite the operation of the DC/DC converter 30, and therefore an output disconnection has occurred”) , Shimo does not explicitly teach a detection unit that detects a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery; and wherein, when the predetermined operation is detected, the determining unit determines whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than a first threshold value continues for a first duration of time, controls the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time, and further determines whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time that is longer than the first duration of time, and determines that the connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the second duration of time. Funabashi teaches the determining unit (CPU 61) determines whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than a first threshold value (410, ¶[131] “the CPU 61 determines whether the calculated discharge current average value exceeds 20 A which is the given current, or not”) continues for a first duration of time (413, ¶[132] “the CPU 61 determines whether an integrated value of the T.sub.2 timer reaches 30 seconds or more, or not (Step 413)”) , and further determines whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time (415, ¶[141] “if the state in which the discharge current average value calculated in Step 415 is 20 A or more continues for 50 seconds or more”) that is longer than the first duration of time (30s compared to 50s) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimo to incorporate the teachings of Funabashi to provide the determining unit determines whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than a first threshold value continues for a first duration of time, and further determines whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time that is longer than the first duration of time, in order to confirm that the abnormality continues for a prolonged period of time and prevent unnecessary action on a short-term abnormality. Funabashi does not teach to control the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time; however Funabashi teaches to continue normal operation after the first duration of time (see flowchart in Fig. 8, an alarm is triggered after the first time duration but the current is not cut off yet). The normal operation of Shimo consists of operating the DC/DC converter (30) to charge the low voltage battery. Therefore , it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimo to incorporate the teaches of Funabashi to provide to control the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time , in order to continue monitoring the current to determine if there is a long-term anomaly. Together, the combination of Shimo and Funabashi teaches to determine that the connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the second duration of time. The combination of Shimo and Funabashi does not explicitly teach a detection unit that detects a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery; Zhan teaches a detection unit (power supply control module 50) that detects a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery (¶[43] “In this invention, when the key is in the ON position, the DC-DC converter is controlled to enter the power-on state,” the DC-DC converter is connected to the power battery, see ¶[2] “the main function of the DC-DC converters is to turn on when the whole vehicle is under high-voltage power supply, convert the high-voltage power of the power battery into low-voltage power for the whole vehicle, continuously supply power to the low-voltage load of the whole vehicle, and charge the batteries”); It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimo and Funabashi to incorporate the teachings of Zhan to provide a detection unit that detects a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery in order to determine if the vehicle has been started or not. Regarding Claim 2 , the combination of Shimo, Funabashi, and Zha n teaches t he electric power source control device according to claim 1 . Zhan further teaches wherein: the predetermined operation is an operation of supplying electric power from the high-voltage battery to a load connected to the low-voltage battery via the electric power converter (¶[43] “In this invention, when the key is in the ON position, the DC-DC converter is controlled to enter the power-on state,” the DC-DC converter is connected to the power battery, see ¶[2] “the main function of the DC-DC converters is to turn on when the whole vehicle is under high-voltage power supply, convert the high-voltage power of the power battery into low-voltage power for the whole vehicle, continuously supply power to the low-voltage load of the whole vehicle, and charge the batteries”) ; The combination of Shimo, Funabashi, and Zhan does not explicitly teach that the determining unit controls the electric power converter to change output voltage of the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time , however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the power converter to increase the output voltage when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time in order to attempt to d eliver more power to the low voltage battery if it not receiving enough current. Regarding Claim 4 , the combination of Shimo, Funabashi, and Zha n teaches the electric power source control device according to claim 1 . Shimo further teaches wherein the abnormal connection state of the low-voltage battery includes a state in which a terminal of the low-voltage battery is disconnected, and a state in which wiring connecting the low-voltage battery to the electric power converter is disconnected (¶[17] “when the charge/discharge current IL is less than the current threshold I ref , it is determined that the DC/DC converter 30 is not charging despite the operation of the DC/DC converter 30, and therefore an output disconnection has occurred,” the output of the DC/DC converter is connected to the low voltage battery.) Regarding Claim 5 , the combination of Shimo, Funabashi, and Zhan teaches the electric power source control device according to claim 4 . The combination of Shimo, Funabashi, and Zhan does not explicitly teach wherein, when determining that the connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal, the determining unit stops operation of the electric power converter ; however, Funabashi further teaches to terminate the connection when the abnormality is determined (see step 416 in Fig. 8), and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to terminate operation of the DC/DC converter if there is a connection issue and the low voltage battery is not actually being charged, in order to avoid damaging the DC/DC converter and avoid unnecessarily discharging the high voltage battery. Regarding Claim 6 , Shimo teaches a control method (see Fig. 2) executed by an electric power source control device (40) that controls an electric power converter (DC/DC converter 30) that connects a high-voltage battery (22) and a low-voltage battery (32) (¶[12] “the power supply device 20 of the embodiment includes a relatively high-voltage battery 22 configured as, for example, a lithium-ion secondary battery with a relatively high voltage (e.g., 200V), a relatively low voltage battery 32 configured as, for example, a lead-acid battery with a relatively low voltage (e.g., 12V), a DC/DC converter 30 connected to a high-voltage power line 24 connected to the high-voltage battery 22 and a low-voltage power line 34 connected to the low-voltage battery 32”) , the control method comprising : acquiring a charging and discharging current of the low-voltage battery (¶[13] “the charge/discharge current IL from the current sensor 38 also connected to the output terminal of the low-voltage battery 32”); and determining that a connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal based on the charging current (¶[17] “when the charge/discharge current IL is less than the current threshold I ref , it is determined that the DC/DC converter 30 is not charging despite the operation of the DC/DC converter 30, and therefore an output disconnection has occurred”) Shimo does not teach detecting a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery; acquiring a charging and discharging current of the low-voltage battery when the predetermined operation is detected, and determining whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than a first threshold value continues for a first duration of time; controlling the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time, and further determining whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time that is longer than the first duration of time; and determining that a connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the second duration of time. Funabashi teaches determining whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than a first threshold value (410, ¶[131] “the CPU 61 determines whether the calculated discharge current average value exceeds 20 A which is the given current, or not”) continues for a first duration of time (413, ¶[132] “the CPU 61 determines whether an integrated value of the T.sub.2 timer reaches 30 seconds or more, or not (Step 413)”), and further determining whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time (415, ¶[141] “if the state in which the discharge current average value calculated in Step 415 is 20 A or more continues for 50 seconds or more”) that is longer than the first duration of time (30s compared to 50s). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimo to incorporate the teachings of Funabashi to provide determining whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than a first threshold value continues for a first duration of time, and further determining whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time that is longer than the first duration of time, in order to confirm that the abnormality continues for a prolonged period of time and prevent unnecessary action on a short-term abnormality. Funabashi does not teach controlling the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time; however Funabashi teaches to continue normal operation after the first duration of time (see flowchart in Fig. 8, an alarm is triggered after the first time duration but the current is not cut off yet). The normal operation of Shimo consists of operating the DC/DC converter (30) to charge the low voltage battery (32). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimo to incorporate the teaches of Funabashi to provide controlling the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time, in order to continue monitoring the current to determine if there is a long-term anomaly. Together, the combination of Shimo and Funabashi teaches to determine that the connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the second duration of time. The combination of Shimo and Funabashi does not explicitly teach detecting a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery; Zhan teaches detecting a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery (¶[43] “In this invention, when the key is in the ON position, the DC-DC converter is controlled to enter the power-on state,” the DC-DC converter is connected to the power battery, see ¶[2] “the main function of the DC-DC converters is to turn on when the whole vehicle is under high-voltage power supply, convert the high-voltage power of the power battery into low-voltage power for the whole vehicle, continuously supply power to the low-voltage load of the whole vehicle, and charge the batteries”); It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimo and Funabashi to incorporate the teachings of Zhan to provide a detection unit that detects a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery in order to determine if the vehicle has been started or not. Regarding Claim 7 , Shimo teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing a control program (steps in Fig. 2) that is executed by a computer (40 , ¶[13] “The electronic control unit 40, although not shown in the diagram, is configured as a microprocessor centered around a CPU, and in addition to the CPU, it includes ROM for storing processing programs, RAM for temporarily storing data, and input/output ports” ) of an electric power source control device (Fig. 1) that controls an electric power converter (30) that connects a high-voltage battery (22) and a low-voltage battery (32) , the control program comprising: acquiring a charging and discharging current of the low-voltage battery (¶[13] “the charge/discharge current IL from the current sensor 38 also connected to the output terminal of the low-voltage battery 32”); and determining that a connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal based on the charging current ( ¶[17] “when the charge/discharge current IL is less than the current threshold Iref, it is determined that the DC/DC converter 30 is not charging despite the operation of the DC/DC converter 30, and therefore an output disconnection has occurred”) Shimo does not teach detecting a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery; acquiring a charging and discharging current of the low-voltage battery when the predetermined operation is detected, and determining whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than a first threshold value continues for a first duration of time; controlling the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time, and further determining whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time that is longer than the first duration of time; and determining that a connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the second duration of time. Funabashi teaches determining whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than a first threshold value (410, ¶[131] “the CPU 61 determines whether the calculated discharge current average value exceeds 20 A which is the given current, or not”) continues for a first duration of time (413, ¶[132] “the CPU 61 determines whether an integrated value of the T.sub.2 timer reaches 30 seconds or more, or not (Step 413)”), and further determining whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time (415, ¶[141] “if the state in which the discharge current average value calculated in Step 415 is 20 A or more continues for 50 seconds or more”) that is longer than the first duration of time (30s compared to 50s). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimo to incorporate the teachings of Funabashi to provide determining whether a state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than a first threshold value continues for a first duration of time, and further determining whether the state in which the charging and discharging current is greater than the first threshold value continues for a second duration of time that is longer than the first duration of time, in order to confirm that the abnormality continues for a prolonged period of time and prevent unnecessary action on a short-term abnormality. Funabashi does not teach controlling the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time; however Funabashi teaches to continue normal operation after the first duration of time (see flowchart in Fig. 8, an alarm is triggered after the first time duration but the current is not cut off yet). The normal operation of Shimo consists of operating the DC/DC converter (30) to charge the low voltage battery (32). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shimo to incorporate the teaches of Funabashi to provide controlling the electric power converter when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the first duration of time, in order to continue monitoring the current to determine if there is a long-term anomaly. Together, the combination of Shimo and Funabashi teaches to determine that the connection state of the low-voltage battery is abnormal when the state in which the charging and discharging current is no greater than the first threshold value continues for the second duration of time. The combination of Shimo and Funabashi does not explicitly teach detecting a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery; Zhan teaches detecting a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery (¶[43] “In this invention, when the key is in the ON position, the DC-DC converter is controlled to enter the power-on state,” the DC-DC converter is connected to the power battery, see ¶[2] “the main function of the DC-DC converters is to turn on when the whole vehicle is under high-voltage power supply, convert the high-voltage power of the power battery into low-voltage power for the whole vehicle, continuously supply power to the low-voltage load of the whole vehicle, and charge the batteries”); It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shimo and Funabashi to incorporate the teachings of Zhan to provide a detection unit that detects a predetermined operation executed with respect to the high-voltage battery in order to determine if the vehicle has been started or not. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT AIMAN BICKIYA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-0555 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8:30 - 6 PM EST . To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Julian Huffman can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-2147 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859