DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2023, 08/07/2023, 09/21/2023, 10/14/2024, 03/14/2025, 05/05/2025, 05/20/2025, 09/24/2025, 11/26/2025, and 01/15/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Norrie (US 5142971).
Regarding claim 15, Norrie discloses
A system (apparatus, fig.5) for processing green pork bellies (intended use), comprising:
a first injection system (needles 18, fig.5) for injecting a protein composition comprising a mixture of pork protein and water into the pork belly (intended use), the first injection system (needles 18) comprising a plurality of longitudinal first injection needles (needles 18) supported by a needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) during injection of the mixture of pork protein and water into the pork belly; and
wherein the first injection needles (needles 18) comprise a hollow needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6) having a proximal inlet end for receiving the protein composition, a distal tapered tip portion (offset point 20, fig.6) for delivering the protein composition into the pork belly, an inlet top port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) at the top inlet end of the needle (needles 18), the inside diameter of the inlet top port (semi-flexible hoses 30) being beveled or curved outwardly in the direction that the inlet top port (semi-flexible hoses 30) extends outwardly from the interior of the hollow needle (tubular body 19).
Regarding claim 16, Norrie discloses
a second injection system (needles 18 back side, fig.5) for injecting curing brine into the pork belly, the second injection system (needles 18 back side) comprising a plurality of longitudinal second injection needles (needles 18 back side) supported by a needle carrier (valve operating bar 34, fig.4) during injection of the curing brine into the pork belly.
Regarding claim 17, Norrie discloses
the relative composition of pork protein and water in the mixture in the protein composition corresponds to that of a green pork belly (intended use).
Regarding claim 18, Norrie discloses
the injection system (apparatus, fig.5) further comprising a feed chamber (transverse header tube 29, fig.5) for supplying the protein composition to the injection needles (needles 18, fig.5).
Regarding claim 19, Norrie discloses
an emulsifier to emulsify the protein composition prior to injection into the pork belly (intended use).
Regarding claim 20, Norrie discloses
a curing brine production unit (supply tank 46, fig.1) for producing curing brine for injection into the pork belly (intended use).
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
01/25/2026