DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 19-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norrie (US 5142971) in view of Corominas (US 6901850 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Norrie discloses
A system (apparatus, fig.5) for processing green pork bellies (intended use), comprising:
a first injection system (needles 18, fig.5) for injecting a protein composition comprising a mixture of pork protein and water into the pork belly (intended use), the first injection system (needles 18) comprising:
a needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) having portions defining a protein composition supply chamber (transverse header tube 29, fig.5);
a plurality of longitudinal first injection needles (needles 18) supported by the needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) during injection of the mixture of pork protein and water into the pork belly; and
wherein the first injection needles (needles 18) comprise a hollow needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6) having a proximal inlet end for receiving the protein composition, a distal tapered tip portion (offset point 20, fig.6) for delivering the protein composition into the pork belly, an inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) at the top inlet end of the needle (needles 18) with the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29), the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30) being beveled or curved outwardly in the direction that the inlet top port (semi-flexible hoses 30) extends outwardly from the interior of the hollow needle body (tubular body 19) toward the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29).
However, Norrie does not disclose an inlet port at the top inlet end of the needle disposed within a supply chamber.
Corominas discloses a system (head, fig.1) for processing green pork bellies (intended use), comprising: an inlet port (offset 29, fig.1) at the top inlet end (distal end 18, fig.1) of a needle (needle 4, fig.1) disposed within a supply chamber (chamber 27, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an inlet port of Norrie, at the top inlet end of the needle disposed within a supply chamber, as taught by Corominas, in order to supply an amount of food substance directly into the green port bellies.
Regarding claim 16, Norrie discloses
a second injection system (needles 18 back side, fig.5) for injecting curing brine into the pork belly, the second injection system (needles 18 back side) comprising a plurality of longitudinal second injection needles (needles 18 back side) supported by a needle carrier (valve operating bar 34, fig.4) during injection of the curing brine into the pork belly.
Regarding claim 17, Norrie discloses
the relative composition of pork protein and water in the mixture in the protein composition corresponds to that of a green pork belly (intended use).
Regarding claim 19, Norrie discloses
an emulsifier to emulsify the protein composition prior to injection into the pork belly (intended use).
Regarding claim 20, Norrie discloses
a curing brine production unit (supply tank 46, fig.1) for producing curing brine for injection into the pork belly (intended use).
Regarding claim 21, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends through a sidewall of the proximal inlet end of the needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6).
Regarding claim 22, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) is elongated in cross-section [semi-flexible hoses 30 is elongated in cross-section, fig.5].
Regarding claim 23, Norrie discloses
the elongated direction of the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends along the length of the injection needle (needles 18, fig.5) [elongated direction of semi-flexible hoses 30 is along the length of the needles 18, fig.5].
Regarding claim 24, Norrie discloses
An injection system (needles 18, fig.5) for injecting a brine composition comprising a mixture of meat protein and water into a meat work piece (intended use), the injection system (needles 18) comprising:
a needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) having portions defining a brine composition supply chamber (transverse header tube 29, fig.5);
a plurality of longitudinal first injection needles (needles 18) supported by the needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) during injection of the brine into the work piece; and
wherein the first injection needles (needles 18) comprise a hollow needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6) having a proximal inlet end for receiving the protein composition, a distal tapered tip portion (offset point 20, fig.6) for delivering the brine into the work piece, an inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) at the top inlet end of the needle (needles 18) with the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29), the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30) being beveled or curved outwardly in the direction that the inlet top port (semi-flexible hoses 30) extends outwardly from the interior of the hollow needle body (tubular body 19) toward the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29).
However, Norrie does not disclose an inlet port at the top inlet end of the needle disposed within a supply chamber.
Corominas discloses a system (head, fig.1) for processing green pork bellies (intended use), comprising: an inlet port (offset 29, fig.1) at the top inlet end (distal end 18, fig.1) of a needle (needle 4, fig.1) disposed within a supply chamber (chamber 27, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an inlet port of Norrie, at the top inlet end of the needle disposed within a supply chamber, as taught by Corominas, in order to supply an amount of food substance directly into the green port bellies.
Regarding claim 25, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends through a sidewall of the proximal inlet end of the needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6).
Regarding claim 26, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) is elongated in cross-section [semi-flexible hoses 30 is elongated in cross-section, fig.5].
Regarding claim 27, Norrie discloses
the elongated direction of the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends along the length of the injection needle (needles 18, fig.5) [elongated direction of semi-flexible hoses 30 is along the length of the needles 18, fig.5].
Regarding claim 28, Norrie discloses
An injection system (needles 18, fig.5) for injecting a brine composition into a meat work piece (intended use), the injection system (needles 18) comprising:
a needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) having portions defining a brine composition supply chamber (transverse header tube 29, fig.5);
a plurality of longitudinal first injection needles (needles 18) supported by the needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) during injection of the briner into the work piece; and
wherein the first injection needles (needles 18) comprise a hollow needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6) having a proximal inlet end for receiving the protein composition, a distal tapered tip portion (offset point 20, fig.6) for delivering the brine into the work piece, an inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) at the top inlet end of the needle (needles 18) in communication with the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29), the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30) being beveled or curved outwardly in the direction that the inlet top port (semi-flexible hoses 30) extends outwardly from the interior of the hollow needle body (tubular body 19) toward the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29).
However, Norrie does not disclose an inlet port at the top inlet end of the needle in direct communication with a supply chamber.
Corominas discloses a system (head, fig.1) for processing green pork bellies (intended use), comprising: an inlet port (offset 29, fig.1) at the top inlet end (distal end 18, fig.1) of a needle (needle 4, fig.1) in direct communication with a supply chamber (chamber 27, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an inlet port of Norrie, at the top inlet end of the needle in direct communication with a supply chamber, as taught by Corominas, in order to supply an amount of food substance directly into the green port bellies.
Regarding claim 29, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends through a sidewall of the proximal inlet end of the needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6).
Regarding claim 30, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) is elongated in cross-section [semi-flexible hoses 30 is elongated in cross-section, fig.5].
Regarding claim 31, Norrie discloses
the elongated direction of the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends along the length of the injection needle (needles 18, fig.5) [elongated direction of semi-flexible hoses 30 is along the length of the needles 18, fig.5].
Regarding claim 32, Norrie discloses
An injection needle (needles 18, fig.5) for use with a brine injection system (apparatus, fig.5) for injecting a brine composition into a meat work piece (intended use), the injection system (apparatus) comprising a needle carrier (injection head 16, fig.5) having portions defining a brine composition supply chamber (transverse header tube 29, fig.5), the needle carrier (injection head 16) supporting the injection needle (needles 18, fig.5) during injection of the brine into to work piece, the injection needle (needles 18) comprising:
a hollow needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6) having a proximal inlet end for receiving the brine from the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29);
a distal tapered tip portion (offset point 20, fig.6) for delivering the brine into the work piece;
an inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) at the inlet end of the needle (needles 18) in communication with the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29);
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30) being beveled or curved outwardly in the direction that the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30) extends outwardly from the interior of the hollow needle body toward the supply chamber (transverse header tube 29).
However, Norrie does not disclose an inlet port at the top inlet end of the needle in direct communication with a supply chamber.
Corominas discloses a system (head, fig.1) for processing green pork bellies (intended use), comprising: an inlet port (offset 29, fig.1) at the top inlet end (distal end 18, fig.1) of a needle (needle 4, fig.1) in direct communication with a supply chamber (chamber 27, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify an inlet port of Norrie, at the top inlet end of the needle in direct communication with a supply chamber, as taught by Corominas, in order to supply an amount of food substance directly into the green port bellies.
Regarding claim 33, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends through a sidewall of the proximal inlet end of the needle body (tubular body 19, fig.6).
Regarding claim 34, Norrie discloses
the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) is elongated in cross-section [semi-flexible hoses 30 is elongated in cross-section, fig.5].
Regarding claim 35, Norrie discloses
the elongated direction of the inlet port (semi-flexible hoses 30, fig.5) extends along the length of the injection needle (needles 18, fig.5) [elongated direction of semi-flexible hoses 30 is along the length of the needles 18, fig.5].
Response to Amendment/Argument
Applicant's amendment/argument with respect to claims 15-17 and 19-35, filed on 08/20/2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Beasley (US 3683789) is considered as a relevant prior art in field of a food injector, as shown in figs.1-2, with a needle carrier, and a needle, but does not disclose the inlet port being beveled or curved outwardly in the direction that the inlet port extends outwardly from the interior of the hollow needle body toward the supply chamber….
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/23/2026