DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed 1/13/2026 is accepted, in which, independent claim 1 is amended and claim 8 is canceled. Claims 19 and 20 remain withdrawn with claims 1-7 and 9-18 awaiting an action on the merits as follows.
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of the amended title.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended claim 1, on page 7 of the response, Applicant argues,
"Namkung does not teach or suggest an organic protective layer in addition to the barrier layer."
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In Col 6, Ln 10-11, Namkung teaches the barrier layer includes at least one of an organic layer and an inorganic layer. The "and" in this sentence indicates that both of these layers are included in the so-called barrier. Therefore, Namkung teaches an organic protective layer directly on the first substrate with an inorganic barrier layer directly on top of it which prevent foreign substances from entering into the display area after passing through the substrate, [Col 6, Ln 11-12].
Therefore, Namkung meets the limitations of amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Namkung (US 9811120 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Namkung teaches a display apparatus (Fig 1; flexible display device, [Col 1, Ln 20]) comprising:
a first substrate (P1);
a display member (DP) disposed on (shown on) the first substrate (P1),
the display member (DP) comprising a barrier layer (BL2A, not shown; barrier layer BL2 is comprised of two subparts: BL2A is the inorganic layer directly on top of BL2B which is the organic layer directly on the first substrate; the barrier layer includes at least one of an organic layer and an inorganic layer, [Col 6, Ln 10-11]),
wherein the first substrate (P1) includes:
a first-first portion (P1L; P1 on left side of F in Fig 9) overlapping (shown overlapping) the display member (DP); and
a first-second portion (P1R; P1 on right side of F in Fig 9) overlapping (shown overlapping) the display member (DP),
the first-second portion (P1R) being spaced (shown spaced) apart from the first-first portion (P1L); and
an organic protective layer (BL2B) disposed between (disposed between) the first substrate (P1) and the display member (DP),
the organic protective layer (BL2B) directly connected (directly connected) to the first substrate (P1) and directly connected (directly connected) to the barrier layer (BL2A).
Regarding claim 2, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the first substrate (P1, Fig 9) further includes a first-third portion (FL), and
the first-third portion (FL) is disposed between (shown between) the first-first portion (P1L) and the first-second portion (P1R) and has a thickness (TFL; thickness of FL in direction D3) smaller (shown smaller) than thicknesses (TP1; thickness of P1 in direction D3) of the first-first portion (P1L) and the first-second portion (P1R).
Regarding claim 10, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a second substrate (P2, Fig 1) disposed over (shown over) the display member (DP).
Regarding claim 11, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second substrate (P2, Fig 11) includes:
a second-first portion (P2L; P2 left of F);
a second-second portion (P2R; P2 right of F) spaced apart (shown spaced) from the second-first portion (P1L); and
a second-third portion (FL2; not shown; Fig 12 suggests that P2 can be a mirror image across the display panel of any embodiment of P1 in Figs 7-9, therefore FL2 is a third portion of P2 connecting P2L and P2R) disposed between (between) the second-first portion (P2L) and the second-second portion (P2R) and having a thickness (TFL2; thickness of FL2 would be similar to TFL as shown in Fig 9) less (shown less) than thicknesses (TP2; thickness of P2 in direction D3) of the second-first portion (P2L) and the second-second portion (P2R).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claims 2 and 11, wherein the first-third portion (FL, Fig 9) is integral (shown integral) with the first-first portion (P1L) and the first-second portion (P1R). As discussed above, Fig 12 suggests that P2 can be a mirror image of P1, therefore P2 would have a similar structure as P1 to meet the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claims 1 and 11, wherein a shape (S1; shape of cross-section of P1L in D2/D1 plane of Fig 1) of at least one of the first-first portion (P1L) and the first-second portion (P1R) is a linear shape (shown as a linear rectangle). As discussed above, Fig 12 suggests that P2 can be a mirror image of P1, therefore P2 would have a similar structure as P1 to meet the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claims 1 and 11, wherein a cross-sectional shape (CS1; cross-section of P1L in D1/D3 plane of Fig 1) of at least one of the first-first portion (P1L) and the first-second portion (P1R) is quadrangular (shown quadrangular). As discussed above, Fig 12 suggests that P2 can be a mirror image of P1, therefore P2 would have a similar structure as P1 to meet the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claims 1 and 11, wherein at least one of a surface (IS1-1, Fig 7) of the first-first portion (P1L) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first-second portion (P1R) and a surface (IS2-1) of the first-second portion (P1R) adjacent (shown adjacent) to the first-first portion (P1L) has a curved surface (shown curved). As discussed above, Fig 12 suggests that P2 can be a mirror image of P1, therefore P2 would have a similar structure as P1 to meet the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 7, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display member (DP, Fig 1) includes an inorganic insulating layer (BL1; barrier layer, not shown; includes inorganic layer, [Col 6, Ln 8-11]) connected (connected) to the first substrate (P1).
Regarding claim 9, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
an encapsulation layer (SUB2, Fig 4) disposed on (shown on) the display member (DP).
Regarding claim 17, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claim 10, further comprising:
a resin layer (AL; adhesive layer, not shown; between DP and P2, [Col 5, Ln 49-52]) disposed between (between) the display member (DP) and the second substrate (P2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namkung (US 9811120 B2) as applied to claims 1-15, and 17 above, and further in view of Miao (US 20210336219 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Namkung teaches the display apparatus of claim 10, the first substrate (P1, Fig 1), and the second substrate (P2).
Namkung fails to explicitly teach a sealing member sealing the first substrate and the second substrate.
However, Miao teaches a sealing member (30, Fig 1) sealing (barrier to water and oxygen, [0044]) the first substrate and the second substrate.
Namkung and Miao are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of flexible semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Namkung with the features of Miao to create a sealing member sealing the first substrate and the second substrate so that water/oxygen cannot diffuse from the bonding gap between the upper cover plate and the lower substrate into the OLED device, thereby realizing effective protection of the OLED panel (Miao, [0015]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namkung (US 9811120 B2) as applied to claims 1-15, and 17 above, and further in view of Li (US 20210193941 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Namkung teaches the display device of claim 1, the first-first portion (P1L, Fig 9), the first-second portion (P1R), and goes on to teach wherein
the first-first portion (P1L, Fig 9) includes a plurality (plurality shown, Fig 1) of first-first portions (P1L; dividing the apparatus along a D2 center line the device would have two P1L portions),
the plurality of first-first portions (P1L) are spaced (shown spaced) apart from each other in a line (A) in a first direction (D1).
Namkung fails to explicitly teach the first-second portion is spaced apart from the first-first portion in a second direction and disposed between the first-first portions adjacent to each other.
However, Li teaches the first-second portion is spaced (shown spaced, Fig 3) apart from the first-first portion in a second direction (D2, vertical direction in Fig 3) and disposed between (shown between) the first-first portions adjacent (shown adjacent) to each other.
Namkung and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of flexible semiconductor display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Namkung with the features of Li to create the first-second portion is spaced apart from the first-first portion in a second direction and disposed between the first-first portions adjacent to each other so the device is capable of buffering the compression force and the tensile forces, so as to solve the technical problem that the substrate of the existing OLED display panel is prone to damage when it is folded (Li, [006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yun (US 20220190264 A1) - Two flexible substrates with EL layered in between.
Bi (US 20190101783 A1) - Curved display with two substrates with EL layered in between.
Tao (US 20200127216 A1) - Organic and inorganic flexible layers on OLED.
Hiroki (US 20160118616 A1) - two protective layers on either side of DP
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897