Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2022-0046641, filed on 04/15/2022.
The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2023-0041393, filed on 03/29/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyake (US 2016/0372677 A1, hereafter “Miyake ‘677”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 13, Miyake ‘677 teaches an organic electroluminescent device including a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer between the first electrode and the second electrode wherein at least one organic layer includes the monoamine derivative represented by Formula 1 [0026]. Additionally, Miyake ‘677 teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising the monoamine derivative results in an improved emission efficiency [0007]. Miyake ‘677 further teaches Compound 40 which reads on Applicant’s Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Q1 is O,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted phenyl group,
k1 and k2 are each 0, so R1 and R2 are not present,
X1 is an unsubstituted naphthyl group,
n1 is 1,
FG is represented by Formula 2-1 wherein,
X2 is an unsubstituted naphthyl group,
k3 is 0, so R3 is not present,
n2 is 2.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Compound 40 is represented by Formula 3-1 (shown below) wherein m1 and m2 are each 0, so R8 to R9 are not present, while R1, R2, Q1, FG, n1, k1, k2 are the same as defined in Formula 1.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, FG is represented by Formula 2-1 in Compound 40, wherein X1 and X2 are each an unsubstituted naphthyl group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al. (US 2019/0237676 A1, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on 04/14/2023, hereafter “Miyake”).
Regarding Claims 1–11 and 13-–19, Miyake discloses the organic light emitting device of Example 6 including an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0215]. The electron blocking layer comprises Compound 105 which nearly reads on Applicant’s Formula 1.
However, the dibenzothiophene of Compound 105 is connected to the amine in the 1-position instead of the 2-position, as required by Applicant’s Formula 1.
Compound 105 is represented by Miyake’s Formula 1 wherein the amine position to the dibenzothiophene is not specified [0004]. Miyake further teaches Compound 51 which is nearly identical to Compound 105 but the dibenzothiophene is connected to the amine in the 2-position. Additionally, Miyake teaches the monoamine compound has a high thermal resistance and electric charge resistance leading to an extended device lifetime [0128]
Given the general formula and teachings of Miyake, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 105 wherein the dibenzothiophene is bonded to the amine in the 2-position instead of the 1-position. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula 1/the positional isomers of the compound represented by Formula 1 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as an electron blocking material in the electron blocking layer of the organic light emitting device of Miyake and possess the properties taught by Miyake. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Per Claims 1 and 13, the organic light emitting device of Example 6 including an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0215], wherein the electron blocking layer comprises Modified Compound 105 reads on Applicant’s limitation since Modified Compound 105 reads on Applicant’s Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Q1 is S,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted phenyl group,
k1 and k2 are each 0, so R1 and R2 are not present,
X1 is a naphthyl group substituted with an aryl group (phenyl),
n1 is 1,
FG is represented by Formula 2-1 wherein,
X2 is an unsubstituted naphthyl group,
k3 is 0, so R3 is not present,
n2 is 1.
Per Claims 2 and 3, Example 6 includes an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode, wherein the electron blocking layer comprises Modified Compound 105 [0215].
Per Claims 4 and 14, Formula 2-1 of Modified Compound 105 is represented by Formula 2-1a (shown below), wherein k3-1 is 0, so R3-1 is not present, while X2 and n2 are the same as defined in Formula 2-1.
Per Claims 5 and 15, Modified Compound 105 does not comprise Formula 2-2, Therefore it reads on Applicant’s further limitation of Formula 2-2.
Per Claims 6 and 16, FG in Modified Compound 105 is represented by Formula FG-1 (shown below), wherein k3i is 0, so R3i is not present, while X2 is the same as defined in Formula 2-1.
Per Claims 7 and 17, Modified Compound 105 is represented by Formula 3-1 (shown below) wherein m1 and m2 are each 0, so R8 to R9 are not present, while R1, R2, Q1, FG, n1, k1, k2 are the same as defined in Formula 1.
Per Claims 8 and 18, Modified Compound 105 is represented by Formula 4-1 (shown below), wherein k2a and k3a are each 0, so R2a and R3a are not present, l1 is 1, while X1, X2, Q1, Ar1, R1, and k1 are the same as defined in Formula 1.
Per Claims 9 and 19, FG is represented by Formula 2-1 in Modified Compound 105, wherein X1 is a naphthyl group substituted with an aryl group (phenyl), while X2 is an unsubstituted naphthyl group.
Per Claim 10, X1 is represented by XS-1 wherein s1 is 1 and Rs1 is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carb atoms (phenyl) in Modified Compound 105. X2 is represented by XS-1 wherein s1 is 0, so Rs1 is not present in Modified Compound 105.
Per Claim 11, Example 6 comprises Compound BH which reads on Applicant’s Formula E-1 (shown below),
wherein:
R31 to R38 are each a hydrogen atom,
R39 and R40 are each aryl groups of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms which are combined to an adjacent group to form a naphthyl ring,
c and d are each 1.
Regarding Claims 12 and 20, Modified Compound 105 is nearly identical to Applicant’s Compound 66 (shown below).
However, Modified Compound 105 has a phenyl substituent off of one of the naphthyl groups, which appears to be an essential feature taught by Miyake.
Miyake also teaches Compound 83 and Compound 107 (shown below). Compound 83 nearly reads on Applicant’s Formula 1, however one of the dibenzofuran groups needs to be substituted by a phenyl group, like in Compound 107. Additionally, Miyake teaches the monoamine compound has a high thermal resistance and electric charge resistance leading to an extended device lifetime [0128]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a phenyl substituent to Compound 83, because it would have been choosing between the substituents of the exemplified compounds taught by Miyake, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the electron blocking material in the electron blocking layer of the organic light emitting device of Miyake and possessing the benefits taught by Miyake. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula 1 having the benefits taught by Miyake in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The modified version of Compound 83 (hereafter “Modified Compound 83”) is identical to Applicant’s Compound 73 (shown below).
Claims 21–22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al. (US 2019/0237676 A1) as applied to claims 1–20 above, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2021/0091324 A1, hereafter “Jung”).
Miyake teaches an organic light emitting device including an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode [0215]. Miyake teaches the monoamine compound of present disclosure may be used as a material for a hole transport region to decrease the driving voltage of an organic electroluminescent device [0230].
However, Miyake does not an exemplified display device comprising a base layer, a circuit layer, and a display element comprising a light emitting element, as recited in claim 21.
Jung teaches the display device represented by Figure 14 (shown below), including a base substrate (BS), a circuit layer (DP-CL) on the BS, and a display device layer (DP-EL) wherein DP-EL comprises a light emitting diode (ED-a) [0188] – [0189]. The display device further comprises a light conversion layer (CCL) including a quantum dot composition [0192].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic light emitting device of Miyake as ED-a in the display device of Jung, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Miyake and Jung according to known methods to yield predictable results of a display device with a decreased driving voltage, as taught by Miyake. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Per Claim 21, the resulting display device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises a base substrate, a circuit layer, and a display device layer comprising a light emitting diode which comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode, wherein the hole transport region comprises Modified Compound 105 which reads on Applicant’s Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Q1 is S,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted phenyl group,
k1 and k2 are each 0, so R1 and R2 are not present,
X1 is a naphthyl group substituted with an aryl group (phenyl),
n1 is 1,
FG is represented by Formula 2-1 wherein,
X2 is an unsubstituted naphthyl group,
k3 is 0, so R3 is not present,
n2 is 1.
Per Claim 22, the display device, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises a light conversion layer (CCL) including a quantum dot composition [0192].
Claims 21–22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al. (US 2016/0372677 A1) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9, 13, 17, and 19 above, and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2021/0091324 A1).
Miyake ‘677 teaches an organic electroluminescent device including a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer between the first electrode and the second electrode wherein at least one organic layer includes the monoamine derivative represented by Formula 1 [0026]. Miyake ‘677 further teaches the organic layer including the monoamine derivative is selected from a hole injection layer or a hole transfer layer (hole transport region) [0030]. Additionally, Miyake ‘677 teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising the monoamine derivative results in an improved emission efficiency [0007]. Specifically, Miyake ‘677 teaches Compound 40.
However, Miyake ‘677 does not an exemplified display device comprising a base layer, a circuit layer, and a display element comprising a light emitting element, as recited in claim 21.
Jung teaches the display device represented by Figure 14 (shown below), including a base substrate (BS), a circuit layer (DP-CL) on the BS, and a display device layer (DP-EL) wherein DP-EL comprises a light emitting diode (ED-a) [0188] – [0189]. The display device further comprises a light conversion layer (CCL) including a quantum dot composition [0192].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic light emitting device of Miyake ‘677 as ED-a in the display device of Jung, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Miyake ‘677 and Jung according to known methods to yield predictable results of a display device with an improved emission efficiency, as taught by Miyake ‘677. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Per Claim 21, the resulting display device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises a base substrate, a circuit layer, and a display device layer comprising a light emitting diode which comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode, wherein the hole transport region comprises Compound 40 which reads on Applicant’s Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Q1 is O,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted phenyl group,
k1 and k2 are each 0, so R1 and R2 are not present,
X1 is an unsubstituted naphthyl group,
n1 is 1,
FG is represented by Formula 2-1 wherein,
X2 is an unsubstituted naphthyl group,
k3 is 0, so R3 is not present,
n2 is 2.
Per Claim 22, the display device, as described above, reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises a light conversion layer (CCL) including a quantum dot composition [0192].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4–8, 10, 13–18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 13 of copending Application No. 17/935,894 (reference application) (hereafter “Uno”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘894 recites an light emitting device comprising a species of the instant application.
Regarding Claims 1 and 13, claim 1 of Uno recites “a light emitting device comprising: a first electrode; a second electrode facing the first electrode; and a plurality of functional layers between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein at least one functional layer among the plurality of functional layers comprises an amine compound represented by Formula 1”. Claim 13 of Uno recites the amine compound may be Compound C126 which reads on the instant application’s Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
Q1 is S,
Ar1 is an unsubstituted phenyl group,
k1 and k2 are each 0, so R1 and R2 are not present,
X1 is a heteroaryl group of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms (dibenzofuran) substituted with an aryl group (phenyl),
n1 is 1,
FG is represented by Formula 2-2 wherein,
Q2 is S,
Z is an aromatic hydrocarbon ring of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms,
k4 is 0, so R4 is not present.
Per Claims 4 and 14, Formula 2-1 of Compound C126 is represented by Formula 2-1a (shown below), wherein k3-1 is 0, so R3-1 is not present, while X2 and n2 are the same as defined in Formula 2-1.
Per Claims 5 and 15, Formula 2-2 of Compound C126 is represented by Formula 2-2b (shown below), wherein Za is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon ring of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, k4-1 is 0 so R4-1 is not present, and Q2 is the same as defined in Formula 2-2.
Per Claims 6 and 16, FG in Compound C126 is represented by Formula FG-5 (shown below), wherein k4i and k4ii are each 0, so R4i and R4ii are not present, Q2 is the same as defined in Formula 2-2.
Per Claims 7 and 17, Compound C126 is represented by Formula 3-1 (shown below) wherein m1 and m3 are each 0, so R8 to R10 are not present, while R1, R2, Q1, FG, n1, k1, k2 are the same as defined in Formula 1.
Per Claims 8 and 18, Compound C126 is represented by Formula 4-1 (shown below), wherein k2a and k4a are each 0, so R2a and R4a are not present, l1 is 1, while X1, Q1, Q2, Ar1, R1, and k1 are the same as defined in Formula 1.
Per Claim 10, X1 is represented by XS-2 wherein s1 is 1 and Rs1 is an unsubstituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carb atoms (phenyl) Compound C126.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyake et al. (US 2016/0093810 A1, hereafter “Miyake ‘810”) teaches compounds which nearly read on Applicant’s Formula 1, such as Compound 1 (shown below). However, Compound 1 does not read on Applicant’s Formula 1 because it does not have a phenyl substituent off of one of the dibenzofurans. Miyake ‘810 also teaches Compound 2 which has a phenyl substituent off of one of the dibenzofurans. Therefore, Compound 1 may be reasonably modified to add a phenyl substituent off of one of the dibenzofurans.
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789