DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16734233, filed on 01/03/2020.
Double Patenting
Instant Application 18301002
Patent application 11,650,566
A method for detecting and evaluating environmental quantities and events, comprising:
displaying, via a mobile device, a plurality of executable functions and an expert-use function;
detecting, via the mobile device, selection of a specific function from the plurality of executable functions or selection of the expert-use function;
in response to detecting the selection of the specific function, sending, via the mobile device, a request for activation of the specific function through a wireless connection of the mobile device;
receiving, by a detection and evaluation device, a request for executing the specific function;
activating, by a processing circuit, at least one selected sensor selected from at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor;
receiving, by the processing circuit, measurement data from the at least one selected sensor;
performing, by the processing circuit, the specific function based on the measurement data received from the at least one selected sensor;
sending to the mobile device, by the detection and evaluation device, detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function, using the wireless connection;
receiving, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function;
displaying, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function; and
in response to detecting the selection of the expert-use function, activating an expert-use mode.
12. A computer product for a mobile device, the computer product including programming instructions which, when loaded into and executed by the mobile device, execute operations comprising:
displaying a plurality of executable functions and an expert-use function;
detecting selection of a specific function from the plurality of executable functions or selection of the expert-use function;
in response to detecting the selection of the specific function, sending a request for activation of the specific function through a wireless connection of the mobile device;
receiving, by a detection and evaluation device, a request for executing the specific function; activating, by a processing circuit, at least one selected sensor selected from at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor;
receiving, by the processing circuit, measurement data from the at least one selected sensor; performing, by the processing circuit, the specific function based on the measurement data received from the at least one selected sensor;
sending to the mobile device, by the detection and evaluation device, detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function, using the wireless connection;
receiving, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function;
displaying, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function; and
in response to detecting the selection of the expert-use function, activating an expert-use mode.
1. A detection and evaluation device for environmental quantities and events, comprising:
a containment casing;
a support in the containment casing;
a plurality of inertial sensors, carried by the support; a plurality of environmental sensors, carried by the support;
a processor carried by the support and coupled to the plurality of inertial sensors and to the plurality of environmental sensors;
a wireless communications circuit coupled to the processor;
a programming connector coupled to the processor and configured to couple to an external programming unit to receive programming instructions of the processor;
a storage structure, coupled to the processor, the storage structure configured to store detection data supplied by the plurality of inertial sensors and the plurality of environmental sensors, and configured to store pre-loaded detection and evaluation functions and to store detection and evaluation functions supplied through the programming connector,
wherein: the detection and evaluation device is configured to be communicate with a mobile device using the wireless communications circuit, the mobile device is configured to store an application that, when executed by the mobile device, controls the detection and evaluation device in a basic-use mode, an expert-use mode, and an advanced-use mode; and
performs operations including:
displaying a plurality of executable functions and an expert-use function;
detecting selection of a specific function among the plurality of executable functions or selection of the expert-use function;
in response to detecting the selection of the specific function, sending to the detection and evaluation device a request for activating the specific function through the wireless communications circuit;
see claim 5 below
see claim 5 below
see claim 5 below
see claim 5 below
see claim 5 below
receiving from the detection and evaluation device detection and evaluation data regarding the specific function;
displaying the detection and evaluation data regarding the specific function; and
in response to detecting the selection of the expert-use function, activating the expert-use mode.
5. The detection and evaluation device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the following operations:
receive from the wireless communications circuit the request for activating the specific function;
select at least one sensor from the plurality of inertial sensors and the plurality of environmental sensors;
receive measurement data from the selected at least one sensor;
perform the specific function based on the measurement data received from the selected at least one sensor; and
send the detection and evaluation data regarding the specific function to the wireless communications circuit.
See claim 1 and 5 above
Claims 1, 10 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 (includes 1 and 5) of U.S. Patent No. 11650566 in view of Park et al (US 20140354567).
As per claims 1 and 12, respectively, the patent 11650566 claim 5 includes all of the limitations of claims 1 and 7 of the instant invention, respectively (see table above), except for activating, by a processing circuit, at least one selected sensor selected from at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor.
However, Park teaches a monitoring system comprising activating, by a processing circuit, at least one selected sensor selected from at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor (see Fig. 3 and [0058] “The first control unit 370 connected to the second control unit 380 detects a request for activating or inactivating a proximity sensing function and then transmits an interrupt signal to the second control unit 380. For example, the first control unit 370 transmits a sensor activation interrupt signal to the second control unit 380 in response to the execution of a call function, and transmits a sensor inactivation interrupt signal to the second control unit 380 in response to the stop of a call function.”; also, see [0061] “In response to a sensor activation interrupt signal received from the first control unit 370, the second control unit 380 collects sensing information from the proximity sensor 340 and the illuminance sensor 350. Specifically, the second control unit 380 activates the proximity sensor 340 and the illuminance sensor 350 in response to the sensor activation interrupt signal…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the patent 11650566’s invention to include activating, by a processing circuit, at least one selected sensor selected from at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor as taught by Park in order to collect data when a function is called and to reduce power consumption in a monitoring device (see [0058], and [0061] and [0032] “ Namely, in response to the approach of a certain object, the touch panel 111 and the display unit 112 may be turned off so as to prevent any unnecessary, unexpected operation and reduce power consumption. In contrast,”).
As per claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11650566 in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11650566 further teaches the wherein the processing circuit comprises a microcontroller (the disclosure defines a microcontroller as “a known” device with a processing unit with a memory; U.S. Patent No. 11650566 teaches see Col 6 claim 1 “processor” which is processing circuit with a memory).
Park also teaches the wherein the processing circuit comprises a microcontroller (see [0059] “…The second control unit 380 may be formed of a low-power processor such as a Micro Processor Unit (MPU), a Micro Control Unit (MCU), or the like”).
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 (includes 1 and 5) of U.S. Patent No. 11650566 in view of Park et al (US 20140354567) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Moll-Carrillo et al (US 8446378).
As per claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 11650566 in view of Park teaches the method according to claim 1, while U.S. Patent No. 11650566 further teaches the detection and evaluation device communicates via wireless communication with a mobile device (see Col 6 claim 1 “a wireless communications circuit coupled to the processor”, and see Claim 3 “wherein the wireless communications circuit is a Bluetooth communications circuit”), the U.S. Patent No. 11650566 claim 5 does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless connection of the mobile device is a Bluetooth connection.
However, Moll-Carrillo teaches a method and system comprising an evaluation and detection device (see Fig. 2-3) communicating via wireless communication with a mobile device, wherein the wireless connection of the mobile device is a Bluetooth connection (see Col 10 lines 34-45 “…the athletic parameter measurement device 207 may be used in conjunction with a mobile telephone, a watch, a personal digital assistant, another type of music player (such as a compact disc or satellite radio music player), a portable computer, or any other desired electronic device. Still further, some implementations of the invention may alternately or additionally omit the use of the interface device 205. For example, the athletic parameter measurement device 207 may be configured to communicate using the Bluetooth wireless communication protocol, so that it can be employed with Bluetooth-capable mobile telephones, personal digital assistants, watches or personal computers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the U.S. Patent No. 11650566-Park Combination to include an evaluation and detection device (see Fig. 2-3) communicating via wireless communication with a mobile device, wherein the wireless connection of the mobile device is a Bluetooth connection as taught by Moll-Carrillo in order to allow transmission of data over Bluetooth connection protocols (see Col 34 lines 31-42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 12 recites “a computer product for a mobile device, the computer product including programming instructions which, when loaded into and executed by the mobile device, execute operations comprising:…”. The computer product refer to a computer-related entity including software or software in execution. Therefore, the invention is directed to software or software in execution, none of which is a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Applicant can overcome this rejection by adding the term non-transitory storage medium” in claim 12.
For instance, a suggested amendments is: “a computer product for a mobile device, the computer product including programming instructions stored on a non-transitory storage medium and which, when loaded into and executed by the mobile device, execute operations comprising:
As to claim 13-20, these claims are the dependent claims and are rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis as their parent claim since the inherit the same error and they recited the same term. Therefore, the invention of claims 13-20 is directed to software or software in execution, none of which is a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guerrero et al (EP 2863328).
As per claim 1, Guerrero teaches a method for detecting and evaluating environmental quantities and events (see 0021), comprising:
displaying, via a mobile device, a plurality of executable functions and an expert-use function (see Fig. 1 computer 102 is a mobile device; see [0014] “Computer 102 comprise a mobile terminal, such as a telephone, music player, tablet, netbook or any portable device…” ; also, see [0015]; also, see [0052] “The user may specify a fitness level, such as, for example, beginner, intermediate, advanced. The computer 102 may evaluate the user's fitness level over time to confirm the user input fitness level or to adjust exercises based on measured performance rather than the user specified fitness level. The user may also specify a desired length of their program, such as 1 week, 2 weeks, 4 weeks or a custom length”; also, see [0053]; levels beginner and intermediate are function and advanced is an expert use function);
detecting, via the mobile device, selection of a specific function from the plurality of executable functions or selection of the expert-use function (see [0016] “The
input devices 120 may include, …40 touch screen; also, see [0017] touch screen to make selections; also, see [0052-0053] “To obtain these inputs, the computer 102 may present a graphical user interface (GU I) on the display 302 prompting the user to start a new program and to provide input for the initial personalized program, as shown in Figures 10-13; also, see [0049);
in response to detecting the selection of the specific function, sending, via the mobile device, a request for activation of the specific function through a wireless connection of the mobile device (these are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected);
receiving, by a detection and evaluation device, a request for executing the specific function (see are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected );
activating, by a processing circuit, at least one selected sensor selected from at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor (these are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected );
receiving, by the processing circuit, measurement data from the at least one selected sensor (these are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected );
performing, by the processing circuit, the specific function based on the measurement data received from the at least one selected sensor (these are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected );
sending to the mobile device, by the detection and evaluation device, detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function, using the wireless connection (these are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected );
receiving, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function (these are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected );
displaying, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function (these are alternative or contingency limitations that are not executed in the method when the expert mode is selected);
and in response to detecting the selection of the expert-use function, activating an expert-use mode (see [0051] and [0052 “etc. The user may specify a fitness level, such as, for example, beginner, intermediate, advanced…The computer 102 may evaluate the user's fitness level over time to confirm the user input fitness level or to adjust exercises based on measured performance rather than the user specified fitness level. The user may also specify a desired length of their program, such as 1 week, 2 weeks, 4 weeks or a custom length.”).
As per claim 10, Guerrero teaches the method according to claim 1, Guerrero further teaches wherein the processing circuit comprises a microcontroller (the disclosure defines a microcontroller as “a known” device with a processing unit with a memory; Guerrero teaches a mobile device 104 and a detection and evaluation device 120/sensors with a microcontroller; Guerrero teaches a mobile device with a processing circuit as a microcontroller; Guerrero taches the evaluation device comprises a processing circuit/controller see 0017 and [0019]; also, see see [0015] “…Processing unit 106 may be any type of processing device for executing software instructions, such as for example, a microprocessor device. Computer 102 may include a variety of non-transitory computer readable media, such as memory 108. Memory 108 may include, but is not limited to, random access memory (RAM) such as RAM 110, and/or read only memory (ROM), such as ROM 112”; Thus, Guerrero teaches a microcontroller in the mobile device; Guerrero further teaches the detection and evaluation device 120/sensors comprising a controller such as microcontroller see [0029] “…device 226 may include an input mechanism,…connected to a controller 230 and/or any other electronic components, such as one or more elements of the type(s) discussed in relation to computer 102 shown in FIG. 1”, thus, the device includes a microcontroller; Also, see [0016], [0017], [0019], [0021], [0024-0025] which describe sensor/detection devices connected wirelessly to the mobile device 102.
102 shown in FIG. 1; also, see [0015] “…Processing unit 106 may be
any type of processing device for executing software instructions,
such as for example, a microprocessor device. Computer 102 may include a variety of non-transitory computer readable media, such as memory 108.
10 Memory 108 may include, but is not limited to, random access memory (RAM) such as RAM 110, and/or read only memory (ROM), such as ROM 112”).
As per claim 11, Guerrero teaches the method according to claim 1, Guerrero
Further teaches wherein the wireless connection of the mobile device is a Bluetooth connection (see [0017] “…One or more embodiments may utilize one or more
wired and/or wireless technologies, alone or in combination, wherein examples of wireless technologies include Bluetooth® technologies, Bluetooth® low energy technologies, and/or ANT technologies”; also, see [0020] “Computer 102 and/or other devices may comprise one or more sensors 126, 128 configured to detect and/or monitor at least one fitness parameter of a user 124… In one embodiment sensor 128 may comprise an IR transceiver”; also, see [0021] “…Sensors 144 may communicate (e.g., wirelessly) with computer 102, sensors 128, 138, 140, and 142, and/or camera 126..”; also, see [0024]-[0025] and [0028]).
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Provided that the rejections of claims 1 under double patenting rejection are overcome, Claims 2 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of indication of allowable subject matter for claims 2 and 9:
None of the references cited in parent patent application, or currently cited below, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, nor renders obvious the recited combination as a whole in combination with the other claimed elements including the limitations of a method of claim 2 comprising:
“…wherein activating the expert-use mode includes:
displaying, by the mobile device, a list of at least one inertial sensor and at least one environmental sensor available in the detection and evaluation device;
and detecting, by the mobile device, selection of at least one of the at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor in the list;
showing, by the mobile device, a list of expert-use functions including at least one expert-use function executable by the selected sensor or detector;
and detecting, by the mobile device, selection of an expert-use function from the list of expert-use functions”.
None of the references cited in parent patent application, or currently cited below, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, nor renders obvious the recited combination as a whole in combination with the other claimed elements including the limitations of a method of claim 9 comprising:
“detecting, by the detection and evaluation device, the connection of programming connectors in the detection and evaluation device;
receiving, by the detection and evaluation device through programming connectors, instructions regarding an advanced function;
storing, by the detection and evaluation device, the advanced function;
sending, by the detection and evaluation device, advanced function information to the mobile device; and
including, by the mobile device, the advanced function within a list of executable functions”.
Provided that the rejections of claims 12-20 under 35 USC 101 and under double patenting rejections for claim 12 are overcome, claims 12-20 would be allowable since not prior art has been found that teaches or suggest the combination of limitations recited in claim 12.
The following is an examiner's statement of indication of allowable subject matter: None of the references cited in parent patent application, or currently cited below, alone or in combination, explicitly teach the combination of limitations of claim 12 including:
Claim 12 "…displaying a plurality of executable functions and an expert-use function;
detecting selection of a specific function from the plurality of executable functions or selection of the expert-use function;
in response to detecting the selection of the specific function, sending a request for activation of the specific function through a wireless connection of the mobile device;
receiving, by a detection and evaluation device, a request for executing the specific function;
activating, by a processing circuit, at least one selected sensor selected from at least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor;
receiving, by the processing circuit, measurement data from the at least one selected sensor;
performing, by the processing circuit, the specific function based on the measurement data received from the at least one selected sensor;
sending to the mobile device, by the detection and evaluation device, detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function, using the wireless connection;
receiving, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function;
displaying, by the mobile device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function;
and in response to detecting the selection of the expert-use function, activating an expert-use mode.”
Relevant Art Cited by Examiner
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of sill the in the applicant's art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
Pfeiffer (US 20190293772 A1) teaches a device and method for detecting and evaluating environmental quantities and events, comprising: a detection and evaluation device (see Fig. 4 and see 0011) comprising sensors for measuring and evaluation environmental data and inertial data, the sensor comprising least one inertial sensor or at least one environmental sensor (see Fig. 5 and see [0057]), receiving, by a processing circuit, measurement data from the at least one selected sensor (see [0012]), performing, by the processing circuit, the specific function based on the measurement data received from the at least one selected sensor (see Fig. 5 and see [0012] average data function; also, see [0046]-[0049]), sending to the remote device, by the detection and evaluation device, detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function, using the wireless connection (see [0046] “the mean component 536 can transmit the average values to a different component, such as the region component 532 or the comparison component 538”; also, see [0063]-[0064]), receiving, by the remote device, the detection and evaluation data associated with the specific function (see [0046] and [0063]).
Neves et al (US 20170086011) teaches a mobile device configured to be connected to a detection and evaluation device (see Fig. 7 and see [0153]) and transmitting data from the detection and evaluation device to the mobile device (see [0229], [0234-0235]).
Kwon (US 20120293616) teaches a method displaying via mobile device plurality of executable functions and an expert-use function (see 0041 and 0057]).
Carswell (US 20160303455) teaches a method and system comprising a mobile device 101 communication with a sensor unit 175 and sensor unit 220 (see Fig. 1) collecting information from the sensor units.
Park ( Ep 2863328) teaches a mobile terminal 110 communicating with an evaluation and detection device including a sensor unit comprising sensors (see Fig. 1), wherein a user causes activation of function in the mobile terminal that causes the evaluation and detection device to collect data (see page 8).
Allgaier et al (US 8160725) teaches a second controller activating a pressure sensor (see Col 1 line 44-50 and Col 5 lines 15-21). Maile et al (US 20070250126) teaches a controller activating a sensor (see 0004, 0026). Bora et al (US 20170011621) teaches a controller activating a sensor (see 0044). Vanderah et al (US 7064671 teaches a controller activating a sensor (see Abstract).
However, the combination of references above alone or in combination, does not explicitly teach the combination of limitations of claims 2, 9, and 12 as recited above.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117