Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 5,647,969 in IDS) in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 6,352,469).
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi teaches a method of operating a planarization system, comprising: supplying a first fluid (26) and a second fluid (14a), wherein the first fluid and the second fluid comprise a slurry; polishing a substrate (16) with the first and the second fluids; collecting, by a module (3 4 21), a third fluid (5) created by polishing the substrate; and extracting a fourth fluid (fluid leaving element 4) from the third fluid, wherein the fourth fluid is fluidly connected to a source of the second fluid (Figs. 1-2 and C4/L38-C6/L40).
Hayashi teaches that the third fluid is stored and treated in various ways to provide the silica particles of specific sizing/concentration while removing undesirable particles but fails to teach the module is a flotation module. Miyazaki teaches that in providing a slurry for a chemical mechanical polishing, it is beneficial to treat any incoming slurry via filters (1009 1020) and a flotation module (1004) that provides bubbles via elements (1039 1040) in order to encourage reaggregation of the particles into the desired size prior to use in the polishing step (Fig. 13 and C21/L25-62). While Miyazaki does not teach the slurry being prepared is a spent polishing slurry like in Hayashi, it teaches similar principles of treating a slurry meant for polishing via filters and other means in order to ensure the proper sizing of particles. As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide a flotation module as taught in Miyazaki in the Hayashi method along with the filters in order to ensure the desired particle sizing for polishing.
Regarding claims 15-16 and 19, Miyazaki teaches that the flotation module includes an agitator/bubble generating means immersed in the third fluid in order to move/agitate the slurry thereby causing opportunities for aggregation (Fig. 13 and C21/L25-62).
Regarding claim 17, both Hayashi and Miyazaki teach providing filters downstream of initial treatment steps (Hayashi (2) Miyazaki (1020)).
Regarding claim 18, Hayashi teaches that various chemical and physical properties of the fourth fluid are monitored via a detection module (22 23 24).
Regarding claim 20, Hayashi teaches the ratio of the first and second fluids is controlled via regulator (26a) (Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
Independent claims 1 and 7 provide a method of operating the allowed apparatus of the parent application, now US patent 11,642,754. It is noted that while a flotation module would have been an obvious matter, providing the claimed flotation module with air dispensers along with specific chemicals in the flotation module was not found in the prior art when applied to recycling a chemical mechanical polishing slurry.
Conclusion
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777