CTFR 18/301,030 CTFR 74626 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment This Office action is in response to amendment filed 1/16/2026. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements filed 4/14/2023 and 5/28/2025 have been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 20-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 20, 34 and 36, the newly amendments add the limitations of “control display to the consumer of one or more of the one or more layers of the primary video content in the first display space” and “simultaneous display to the consumer of one or more of the one or more additional layers of the augmenting video content”, which render the claims vague and indefinite because it introduces ambiguity and could be interpreted in more than one reasonable way by a person of ordinary skill in the art and does not clearly specify which layers are being referred to, i.e., is it “one or more layers” of a group that itself is “one or more layers”? or is it a subset of an already indeterminate group? Thus, the newly added limitations introduce unnecessary ambiguity and redundancy, making it difficult to determine the precise scope of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 21-33, 35 and 37-38 are also rejected because of depending on claims 20, 34 and 36, either directly or indirectly, containing the same deficiency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 20 and 22-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Gaeta et al. (US 10,078,917 B1, hereinafter Gaeta) . Regarding claim 20, Gaeta discloses a system as shown in figure 15 configured to control display to a consumer of a video content stream comprising primary video content comprising one or more layers for display in a first display space (figure 15, 1504) and augmenting video content comprising one or more additional layers (figure 15, 1506 and col. 29 lines 4-19, the rendered image of the first layer 1504 can be combined with the rendered image of the second layer 1506 to generate a combined image 1508 to be displayed on the virtual-reality goggles 1502), the system comprising: one or more apparatus configured to provide a display space (figure 15, 1502) comprising the first display space for displaying to the consumer the primary video content and a second display space (figures 15 and col. 29 lines 20-28, virtual reality goggles 1502 may be simultaneously displaying the first layer 1504 and the second layer 1506 at the same time); at least one of the one or more apparatus as shown in figure 15 comprising: at least one processor (figure 15, 166); and at least one memory (figure 15, 156) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one apparatus at least to: control display to the consumer of one or more of the one or more layers of the primary video content in the first display space (figure 16A, 1610 and col. 30 line 60 through col.31 line 22, first layer 1610 can include a view of the screen in the theater environment as it is positioned on the physical walls of the theater); and control, automatically without any contemporaneous consumer input, simultaneous display to the consumer of one or more of the one or more additional layers of the augmenting video content in at least a portion of the second display space in dependence upon a size of the second display space (figures 16A, 1606 and col. 30 line 60 through col.31 line 22, the same determining system and mobile content processor used to generate images for the augmented reality glasses can be used to generate the second layer 1606 displayed on the virtual-reality goggles 1604). Regarding claims 22, Gaeta discloses that the video stream comprises one or more parameters that define, in dependence upon the size of the second display space, whether or not any augmenting video content is displayed (col. 20 lines 8-30, a user interface of the first mobile device may enable the user to select a particular “crop factor” or “aspect ratio” to be applied to the image frames shown to the user to simulate different movie or cinematic formats, such as the cropped out area may be completely opaque). Regarding claim 23, Gaeta discloses that the video stream comprises one or more parameters that define where augmenting video content is displayed (figure 21, lines 15-31, rendering system may map the physical orientation/position of the selection device with a physical orientation/position of a virtual selection element in the virtual environment). Regarding claim 24, Gaeta discloses that the video stream comprises one or more parameters that define, in dependence upon the size of the second display space, at what scale augmenting video content is displayed (col. 5 lines 40-50, the presentation system can scale the additional content so that it appears “correct” relative to the content presented over the screen). Regarding claim 25, Gaeta discloses that the video stream comprises one or more parameters that define, in dependence upon the size of the second display space, which sub-set of a set of augmenting video objects is displayed (figure 7A and col. 14 lines 4-11, the motorcycle 306 can follow a motion path 704 that pulls away from the screen, goes out into the audience, performs a stunt 706, and drives back onto the screen 152). Regarding claim 26, Gaeta discloses to determine a physical size of the second display space, detect a change in a physical size of the second display space to a new size, and control display of augmenting video content in at least a portion of the second display space in dependence upon a new size of the second display space (col. 17 lines 38-60, the mobile device may use a built-in camera or some other sensor to determine the size of, distance from, format, and/or other attributes of the display system, and the mobile device may automatically scale the additional content that it displays based on this determination). Regarding claim 27, Gaeta discloses a first apparatus configured to control the first display space and display the primary video content in the first display space (figure 3A and col. 11 lines 5-16, a landscape is displayed by the display system as seen by a user who is not wearing a mobile device) and a second apparatus configured to control the second display space and display the augmenting video content in the second display space (figure 3B and col. 11 lines 17-32, the mobile device 178 displays a motorcycle 306). Regarding claim 28, Gaeta discloses that a size of the second display space is dependent upon a size of a display of the second apparatus (figure 3C and col. 11 lines 33-50, display of the mobile device 178 is transparent such that the plurality of trees 302 is still visible to a viewer who is looking through the mobile device 178). Regarding claim 29, Gaeta discloses that a size of the second display space (figure 3C, 178) is an effective size of the second display space with respect to a size of the first display space (figure 3C, 152) from a perspective of the consumer using the second apparatus (col. 10, lines 24-34 and col. 11 lines 33-50, motorcycle 306 displayed by the mobile device 178 is now layered on top of the landscape displayed by the display system). Regarding claim 30, Gaeta discloses that a size of the second display space, and display of the augmenting video content, are dependent upon at least one of: a distance between the first apparatus and the second apparatus; an angle of view of the second apparatus; or the first display space (col. 8 lines 11-25, a series of rendered, 2-D frames have been stored corresponding to a specific location in front of the screen 152, that set of 2-D frames can be used for all viewer locations position at that orientation from the screen 152 , and the distance from the screen can be used to scale, skew, and/or stretch each of these images based on distance from the screen). Regarding claim 31, Gaeta discloses that the second apparatus is a hand-portable apparatus or a head-worn apparatus (col. 7 lines 35-36, a mobile device 178, such as a pair of augmented-reality glasses 152). Regarding claim 32, Gaeta discloses a first apparatus as shown in figure 3D configured to control the display space comprising the first display space (figure 3D, 152) and the second display space (figure 3D, 178), and display the primary video content and the augmenting video content in the display space, wherein the primary video content is displayed in the first display space and the augmenting video content is displayed at least in the second display space (col. 11, line 51 through col. 12 line 5, movements or rotations of the mobile device 304 need not affect the presentation of the content of the mobile device 304 relative to the content displayed by the screen 152). Regarding claim 33, Gaeta discloses that the augmenting video content (figure 3D, 306) in at least a portion of the second display space (figure 3D, 178) augments the primary video content (figure 3D, 302). Regarding claim 34, Gaeta discloses a system as shown in figure 15 configured to control display of primary video content comprising one or more layers for display in a first display space (figure 15, 1504) and augmenting video content comprising one or more additional layers (figure 15, 1506 and col. 29 lines 4-19, the rendered image of the first layer 1504 can be combined with the rendered image of the second layer 1506 to generate a combined image 1508 to be displayed on the virtual-reality goggles 1502), the system comprising: first apparatus (figure 15, 156) and second apparatus (figure 15, 178) configured to provide a display space (figure 15, 1502) comprising the first display space for displaying the primary video content (figure 15, 1508) and a second display space (figure 15, 1506); wherein the first apparatus comprises: at least one processor (figure 15, 1510); and at least one memory (figure 15, 162) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus at least to: control the first display space and display the primary video content in the first display space (figure 15, 1504); and wherein the second apparatus (figure 15, 178) comprises: at least one second processor (figure 15, 172); and at least one second memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one second processor, cause the second apparatus at least to: control the second display space and display the augmenting video content in the second display space (figure 15, 1502); wherein the system is further configured to: control display of one or more of the one or more layers of the primary video content in the first display space; and control display of one or more of the one or more additional layers of the augmenting video content (figure 16A, 1606) in at least a portion of the second display space in dependence upon a size of the second display space (figure 16A), wherein a size of the second display space is an effective size of the second display space with respect to a size of the first display space from a perspective of the user using the second apparatus (col. 26 line 28 through col. 31 line 37, 2-D frames have been stored corresponding to a specific location in front of the screen 152, either in the virtual theater environment or in a physical theater environment, that set of 2-D frames can be used for all viewer locations position at that orientation from the screen 152, and an object displayed on the mobile device close to the screen will look very small, while the same object displayed at the same size on the mobile device far away from the screen will look very large in comparison to objects on the screen such that the rendered image of the first layer 1504 can be combined with the rendered image of the second layer 1506 to generate a combined image 1508 to be displayed on the virtual-reality goggles 1502). Regarding claim 35, Gaeta discloses that the augmenting video content in at least a portion of the second display space augments the primary video content (figure 17A and col. 32, lines 1-16, content objects 1706 and 1708 appear seamlessly as part of a continuous scene, even though content objects 1706 are part of the first layer and content object 1708 is part of the second layer). Regarding claim 36, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 34. Gaeta also discloses that the second display space is a peripheral margin of the display space that is not part of the first display space and is unused to display the primary video content (col. 17 lines 19-37, the mobile device may be associated with one or more input buttons that allows the user to turn off or remove the additional content from the first mobile device's display such that a user can choose whether to continue viewing the additional content layered over the item of content or to simply view just the item of content alone). Regarding claim 37, Gaeta discloses that a size of second display space is dependent upon an aspect ratio of a presentation format of the primary video content, wherein the second display space provides a peripheral border to the first display space (col. 17 lines 38-60, the mobile device may use a built-in camera or some other sensor to determine the size of, distance from, format, and/or other attributes of the display system, and the mobile device may automatically scale the additional content that it displays based on this determination). Regarding claim 38, Gaeta discloses that the augmenting video content in at least a portion of the second display space augments the primary video content (figure 17A) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaeta et al. (US 10,078,917 B1, hereinafter Gaeta) in view of Mehmedagic (US 2023/0384778 A1) . Regarding claim 21, Gaeta differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the video content stream is protected to prevent modification. However, Mehmedagic teaches the system 200 at the location 210 may be tailored or customized based at least in part upon one or more access rights associated with the user and/or to a group to which the user 310 belongs ([0066]) such that it can limit the accessing rights to the user in modifying the video content in order to prevent harm or risk on video contents. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaeta in having the video content stream is protected to prevent modification, as per teaching of Mehmedagic, to prevent harm or risk on video contents . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Todd (US 2021/0344991 A1) discloses a system including an authentication system configured to receive a request from an application to authenticate the application, and to send an instruction to a content delivery system to provide an application programming interface (API) to the application based on authenticating the application (abstract and [0080]). Herigstad et al. (US 2015/0074735 A1) discloses a method for rendering video content that includes a first reception module for receiving secondary digital content from the Internet, a second reception module for receiving a primary video stream, a decoding module for decoding the primary video stream received through the second reception module, a rendering module to render digital video content in an overlay above the primary video stream by using the secondary digital content, an encoding module to encode digital video content that has been rendered by the rendering module into a video format for display on an output screen, and a controller module for decoding an input signal from a controller device to control a display of the transparent layer on the output screen ([0005]-[0008]). Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GEORGE ENG whose telephone number is (571)272-7495. The examiner can normally be reached Flex M to F, 7 am to 3 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gregory Toatley can be reached at (571) 272-4650. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 2 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 3 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 4 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 5 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 6 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 7 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 8 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 9 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 10 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 11 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/301,030 Page 12 Art Unit: 2699