DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect amended claims 1, 3, 10, 12, 16, 18, filed on 04/23/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
However, due amendment to independent claims 1, 10 is incorporated features of an allow subject matter, makes independent claims 1, 10 are in condition of allowance.
In Remark page 13, second paragraph, applicant argued that Applicant respectfully submits that the proposed combination of Wald, Ozdas, and Wrenninge does not teach such subject matter as recited in claim 16.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. In fact, in paragraph [0005], Wald discloses “Once the grid is populated by spatially partitioning the objects into the cells of the grid, each object in the scene corresponds either to a single cell (where the object is bounded by the single cell) or to a group of cells (where the object is bounded by the group of cells)” and [0224] “in the context of volume rendering, a given volume data set 2200 is too large to be rendered on one node, so it gets partitioned into multiple blocks 2201-2204 (in this case, a 2×2 set)” Wald teaches plurality of multiple macrocells (referred to as the partitioned blocks) are rendered with maximum density values (multiple 2x2 sets) of objects into group of cells.
Furthermore, in paragraph [0004] A grid is a data structure that includes a plurality of cells that each defines a volume of three-dimensional space” and [0005] “Once the grid is populated by spatially partitioning the objects into the cells of the grid, each object in the scene corresponds either to a single cell (where the object is bounded by the single cell) or to a group of cells (where the object is bounded by the group of cells)” and [0224] “in the context of volume rendering, a given volume data set 2200 is too large to be rendered on one node, so it gets partitioned into multiple blocks 2201-2204 (in this case, a 2×2 set)” Wald teaches determine, based on plurality of multiple random macrocells (referred to as the partitioned blocks) are generated (rendered) of distances (spaces, Fig. 1) with maximum density values (multiple 2x2 sets) of objects into group of cells.
In addition, Ozdas teaches determine, based on generated random numbers, a plurality of step sizes to be used for a first light ray to be traced through the plurality of macrocells, the a plurality of step sizes to be used to determine one or more macrocells to which to forward information for the first light ray based, at least in part, upon a determination of a first light sampling being performed in the one or more macrocells at sample locations along the first light ray corresponding to the a plurality of step sizes (Ozdas, [0031] “using both point sampling and volume sampling techniques (e.g., ray tracing and volume element sampling) in order to determine lighting information at a location in a 3-D scene are disclosed… volume sampling is undertaken by marching a conic section through a grid of volume elements. Sizes of the volume elements sampled can be determined according to distance from the point” and [0035] “In FIG. 3, volume elements 50-52 are specifically identified. Volume elements are associated with light transport characterization data” and [0044] “The location can be a point on a surface of an object in a scene, or a sample of a pixel in a rendering, for example. At 267, a ray (ray 124 of FIG. 5) is defined to be emitted from proximate the point, in a direction, and is associated with a spreading factor. In FIG. 5, an expression of the spreading factor is depicted (in 2-D) as a cone defined by boundaries 125 and 126 that bracket ray 124. At 269, a transition zone is defined and includes maximum and minimum ray tracing distances (minimum distance 131 and maximum distance 132 of FIG. 5)” Ozdas teaches a plurality of step sizes (define a ray tracing distance, step 269, Fig. 9) to be used to determine sample locations for the first light ray (124) in the first macrocell (the cell is intercepted with the light ray with distance 131) and the second macrocell (the cell is intercepted with the light ray with distance 132) (Fig. 5) (the first light ray performed in one or more macrocells).
Wrenninge teaches determine, based on generated random numbers, step sizes to be used for a light ray to be traced through the plurality of macrocells (Wrenninge, Col. 13 lines 43-50 “Ray 1100 may be defined by the location of a pixel of an image to be rendered, and the point at which the ray enters voxel grid 300, example of FIG. 11, ray 1102 is cast at time t=0.2 in a first direction, ray 1104 is cast at time t=1.0 in a second direction, and ray 1106 is cast at time t=0.5 in a third direction. The direction of each ray 1100 and the time associated with each ray 1100 may be determined randomly, pseudorandomly“ and Fig. 12, Col. 13 lines 63-67, Col. 14, line 1 “At operation 1206, multiple sample times and multiple sample position (e.g., N sample times and N sample positions of entry into a voxel grid) are determined for pixel p. The N sample times and N sample positions may be determined, for example, using a random or pseudorandom process, such as a random number generator” Wrenninge teaches a step sizes (the operation 1206, Fig. 12) for the light ray travel (rays 1102, 1104,1106, Fig. 11) are generated by a pseudorandom process, such as a random number generator to sample positions through macrocells (referred to as the ray enter plurality cells of a voxel grid 300).
Claims 17, 19, and 20 depend from independent claim 16 and the rejections to the claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Wald (U.S. 2022/0012935 A1) in view of Ozdas et al.(U.S. 2024/0233243 A1) and further in view of Wrernninge (U.S. 9,292,953 B1).
Regarding Claim 16 (Currently amended), a combination of Wald, Ozdas and Wrenninge, discloses a system (Wald, [0035] “a processing system 100”), comprising:
one or more processing units (Wald, [0035] “one or more processors 102”) to use a random number generator and maximum density values, for one or more density values of at least one object of one or more objects in a plurality of macrocells for a scene to be rendered (Wald, [0005] “Once the grid is populated by spatially partitioning the objects into the cells of the grid, each object in the scene corresponds either to a single cell (where the object is bounded by the single cell) or to a group of cells (where the object is bounded by the group of cells)” and [0224] “in the context of volume rendering, a given volume data set 2200 is too large to be rendered on one node, so it gets partitioned into multiple blocks 2201-2204 (in this case, a 2×2 set)” Wald teaches plurality of multiple macrocells (referred to as the partitioned blocks) are rendered with maximum density values (multiple 2x2 sets) of objects into group of cells.
determine, based on generated random numbers based on generated random numbers generated by sampling a probabilistic distribution of distances computed based on at least the maximum density values (Wald, [0004] A grid is a data structure that includes a plurality of cells that each defines a volume of three-dimensional space” and [0005] “Once the grid is populated by spatially partitioning the objects into the cells of the grid, each object in the scene corresponds either to a single cell (where the object is bounded by the single cell) or to a group of cells (where the object is bounded by the group of cells)” and [0224] “in the context of volume rendering, a given volume data set 2200 is too large to be rendered on one node, so it gets partitioned into multiple blocks 2201-2204 (in this case, a 2×2 set)” Wald teaches determine, based on plurality of multiple random macrocells (referred to as the partitioned blocks) are generated (rendered) of distances (spaces, Fig. 1) with maximum density values (multiple 2x2 sets) of objects into group of cells.
However, Wald does not explicitly teach determine, a plurality of step sizes to be used for a first light ray to be traced through the plurality of macrocells, the a plurality of step sizes to be used to determine one or more macrocells to which to forward information for the light ray based, at least in part, upon a determination of a first light sampling being performed in the one or more macrocells at sample locations along the first light ray corresponding to the a plurality of step sizes.
Ozdas teaches determine, based on generated random numbers, a plurality of step sizes to be used for a first light ray to be traced through the plurality of macrocells, the a plurality of step sizes to be used to determine one or more macrocells to which to forward information for the first light ray based, at least in part, upon a determination of a first light sampling being performed in the one or more macrocells at sample locations along the first light ray corresponding to the a plurality of step sizes (Ozdas, [0031] “using both point sampling and volume sampling techniques (e.g., ray tracing and volume element sampling) in order to determine lighting information at a location in a 3-D scene are disclosed… volume sampling is undertaken by marching a conic section through a grid of volume elements. Sizes of the volume elements sampled can be determined according to distance from the point” and [0035] “In FIG. 3, volume elements 50-52 are specifically identified. Volume elements are associated with light transport characterization data” and [0044] “The location can be a point on a surface of an object in a scene, or a sample of a pixel in a rendering, for example. At 267, a ray (ray 124 of FIG. 5) is defined to be emitted from proximate the point, in a direction, and is associated with a spreading factor. In FIG. 5, an expression of the spreading factor is depicted (in 2-D) as a cone defined by boundaries 125 and 126 that bracket ray 124. At 269, a transition zone is defined and includes maximum and minimum ray tracing distances (minimum distance 131 and maximum distance 132 of FIG. 5)” Ozdas teaches a plurality of step sizes (define a ray tracing distance, step 269, Fig. 9) to be used to determine sample locations for the first light ray (124) in the first macrocell (the cell is intercepted with the light ray with distance 131) and the second macrocell (the cell is intercepted with the light ray with distance 132) (Fig. 5) (the first light ray performed in one or more macrocells).
Wald and Ozdas are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Wald to combine with step size for the light ray in the first macrocell and the second macrocell (as taught Ozdas) in order to provide step sizes to be used to determine sample locations for the light ray in the first macrocell and the second macrocell because Ozdas can provide a plurality of step sizes (define a ray tracing distance, step 269, Fig. 9) to be used to determine sample locations for the first light ray (124) in the first macrocell (the cell is intercepted with the light ray with distance 131) and the second macrocell (the cell is intercepted with the light ray with distance 132) (Fig. 5) (the first light ray performed in one or more macrocells) (Ozdas, Figs 5, 6, [0031], [0035], [0044]). Doing so, it may provide keeping the sampling density relatively low allows lower computation cost for ray tracing (Ozdas, [0024]).
Wrenninge teaches determine, based on generated random numbers, step sizes to be used for a light ray to be traced through the plurality of macrocells (Wrenninge, Col. 13 lines 43-50 “Ray 1100 may be defined by the location of a pixel of an image to be rendered, and the point at which the ray enters voxel grid 300, example of FIG. 11, ray 1102 is cast at time t=0.2 in a first direction, ray 1104 is cast at time t=1.0 in a second direction, and ray 1106 is cast at time t=0.5 in a third direction. The direction of each ray 1100 and the time associated with each ray 1100 may be determined randomly, pseudorandomly“ and Fig. 12, Col. 13 lines 63-67, Col. 14, line 1 “At operation 1206, multiple sample times and multiple sample position (e.g., N sample times and N sample positions of entry into a voxel grid) are determined for pixel p. The N sample times and N sample positions may be determined, for example, using a random or pseudorandom process, such as a random number generator” Wrenninge teaches a step sizes (the operation 1206, Fig. 12) for the light ray travel (rays 1102, 1104,1106, Fig. 11) are generated by a pseudorandom process, such as a random number generator to sample positions through macrocells (referred to as the ray enter plurality cells of a voxel grid 300).
Wald, Ozdas and Wrenninge are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Wald to combine with (as taught Wrenninge) in order to apply the random number generator generates one or more random distances for the light ray to travel because Wrenninge can provide a step sizes (the operation 1206, Fig. 12) for the light ray travel (rays 1102, 1104,1106, Fig. 11) are generated by a pseudorandom process, such as a random number generator to sample positions through macrocells (referred to as the ray enter plurality cells of a voxel grid 300) (Wrenninge, Fig.11, Col. 13 lines 43-50, Fig. 12, Col. 13 lines 63-67, Col. 14, line 1). Doing so, it may provide when sampling values along rays through the lattice, a motion blur effect results from sampling randomly in time (Wrenninge, Col. 1, lines 28-29).
Regarding Claim 17, a combination of Wald, Ozdas and Wrenninge, discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the information for the first light ray is forwarded to a subsequent microcell the third microcell after determining that the first light ray is to be sampled in the subsequent microcell third microcell (Wald, [0032] FIG. 28, in which one particular node includes relevant data for a particular ray” and [0228] “as shown in FIG. 28. If node 2010 has to trace a ray that straddles node's 2011-2013's data regions then the ray may be projected onto the proxy and traversed there, as indicated by the dotted arrow This indicates that though the ray does pass through space owned by nodes 2010-1212, only node 2012 actually contains any interesting regions, so this ray can be forwarded to node 2012, as indicated in FIG. 28 by the solid arrow” Wald teaches the information for the light ray (solid arrow) is forwarded to the third microcell (node 2012) after determining that the light ray will be sampled in the third microcell (Fig. 28).
Wald, Ozdas and Wrenninge are combinable see rationale in claim 16.
Regarding Claim 19, the system of claim 16, Wald does not explicitly teachwherein one or more individual macrocells further include a plurality of cells associated with points in the data volume.
However, Ozdas teaches wherein the individual macrocells further include a plurality of cells associated with points in the data volume (Ozdas, [0031] “examples of using both point sampling and volume sampling techniques (e.g., ray tracing and volume element sampling) in order to determine lighting information at a location in a 3-D scene are disclosed. In summary of the following, point sampling is undertaken for one or more samples that are limited to within a threshold distance of the point” and [0066] “FIG. 14 depicts an example of light energy records located within defined volume elements of a 3-D space…Light energy record 496 includes data defining an emission 497 that has a directionally-specific distribution of light energy” Ozdas teaches individual macrocells (a volume element) associated with points in the data volume (Fig. 14).
Wald, Ozdas and Wrenninge are combinable see rationale in claim 16.
Regarding Claim 20, a combination of Wald, Ozdas and Wrenninge, discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the system comprises at least one of:
a system for performing simulation operations (Wald, [0115] “FIG. 11 A design facility 1130 can generate a software simulation 1110 of an IP core design in a high level programming language (e.g., C/C++). The software simulation 1110 can be used to design, test, and verify the behavior of the IP core using a simulation model 1112. The simulation model 1112 may include functional, behavioral, and/or timing simulations” Wald teaches a system for performing simulation operations;
a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications;
a system for performing digital twin operations;
a system for performing light transport simulation;
a system for rendering graphical output;
a system for performing deep learning operations;
a system for performing generative AI operations using a large language model (LLM),
a system implemented using an edge device;
a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content;
a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content;
a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content;
a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs);
a system implemented at least partially in a data center;
a system for performing hardware testing using simulation;
a system for performing generative operations using a language model;
a system for synthetic data generation;
a collaborative content creation platform for 3D assets; or
a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources.
Wald, Ozdas and Wrenninge are combinable see rationale in claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Independent claims 1 and 10 are allowed after amending incorporated features of an allow subject matter to independent claims 1 and 10.
Dependent claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to independent claims 1, 10, 16, , the closest prior art references the examiner found are Wald (U.S. 2022/0012935 A1) in view of Ozdas et al.(U.S. 2024/0233243 A1) and Wrernninge (U.S. 9,292,953 B1) have been made of record as teaching: obtaining, for a data volume corresponding to a scene to be rendered, density information for a plurality of macrocells associated with respective partitions of the data volume (Wald, [0053], [0224], [0226]); selecting a light ray to be traced through the plurality of macrocells (Wald, [0225]); one or more step sizes to be used to determine sample locations for the light ray in the first macrocell and the second macrocell (Ozdas, [0031], [0035], [0066]); determining that none of the sample locations are located within the second macrocell (Ozdas, [0035]); the random number generator generates one or more random distances for the light ray to travel (Wrenninge, Fig. 11, Col. 13 lines 43-50) recited in claims 1, 10, 16.
However, the art of record did not teach or suggest the claim taken as a whole and particular the limitation pertaining
“wherein the random number generator generates, by sampling a probabilistic distribution of distances computed based on at least the first maximum density and the second maximum density” recited in independent claims 1, 10.
“determining an actual density value corresponding to a first step size; and rejecting a sample value corresponding to the first step size if the actual density value is more than a threshold amount lower than the maximum density for the first macrocell” recited in dependent claim 18.
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-15 are allowed because they depend on independent claims 1, 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHOA VU/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611