DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, 24, 29, 33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al. (hereinafter Astrom)(US 2023/0134701) in view of Gopalakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Gopal)(US 2023/0336229).
Regarding claim 16, Astrom teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor,
cause the apparatus at least to: estimate a location of the apparatus based on at least one satellite positioning signal and/or at least one terrestrial positioning signal(item 4010 and 4020; Fig. 4; also P[0095], device receives GNSSD data from at least three satellites; determine the position of the device; item 1406 in Fig. 14); wherein the at least one satellite positioning signal is received from at least one of a serving satellite of the non-terrestrial network or one other satellite(item 4010 and 4020; Fig. 4; also P[0095], device receives GNSSD data from at least three satellites; determine the position of the device ).
determine a quality of the estimated location(P[0088], position at any point can be estimated to some accuracy);
determine, based on the location of the apparatus, a plurality of frequency pre-compensation values for accessing a non-terrestrial network, in response to determining that the quality of the estimated location meets a condition for applying multiple frequency pre-compensation values for accessing the non- terrestrial network(P[0283], pre-compensated time and frequency based on location; item 1410; item 1402, A-GNSS); and
transmit a plurality of random access preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values(item 1410 in Fig. 14; P[0094], random access signal with precompensated time and frequency).
Astrom did not teach specifically the apparatus wherein configured to determine the quality of the estimated location based on at least one of downlink information received from the serving satellite or measurements of at least one downlink signal received from the serving satellite; wherein determining of the quality of the estimated location is based on at least one of: variance of time information, frequency information, or location information determined based on the at least one satellite positioning signal; a number of satellites used for determining the time information, frequency information, or the location information; variance of the downlink information; or downlink radio channel conditions associated with the at least one downlink signal. However, Gopal teaches in an analogous art wherein configured to determine the quality of the estimated location based on at least one of downlink information received from the serving satellite or measurements of at least one downlink signal received from the serving satellite(P[0134], quality metrics; measurements; P[0059; 0073], NTN non-terrestrial networks); wherein determining of the quality of the estimated location is based on at least one of: variance of time information, frequency information, or location information determined based on the at least one satellite positioning signal; a number of satellites used for determining the time information, frequency information, or the location information; variance of the downlink information; or downlink radio channel conditions associated with the at least one downlink signal(P[0134], downlink reference signals received at the UE; ToA).
Note: P[0057-0059] UE may receive signals for deriving geolocation information from SVs(plurality of satellites) and also using SBAS (P[0058], Global and regional navigation satellite systems) for satellite positioning system that UE can use as location information(P[0057],. UE may include one or more receivers designed to receive signals for deriving geo-location information from the SVs(satellites)). Here, plurality of satellites ….used for location information of UE reads on number of satellites used for determination of the location information.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus wherein configured to determine the quality of the estimated location based on at least one of downlink information received from the serving satellite or measurements of at least one downlink signal received from the serving satellite; wherein determining of the quality of the estimated location is based on at least one of: variance of time information, frequency information, or location information determined based on the at least one satellite positioning signal; a number of satellites used for determining the time information, frequency information, or the location information; variance of the downlink information; or downlink radio channel conditions associated with the at least one downlink signal in order to have improved quality.
Regarding claim 17, Astrom teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 16 configured to determine, based on the location of the apparatus, a single frequency pre-compensation value and transmit a single random access preamble corresponding to the single frequency pre-compensation value, in response to determining that the quality of the estimated location does not meet the condition for applying multiple frequency pre-compensation values for accessing the non-terrestrial network(P[0047], determine the location of the wireless device using GNSS satellites; P[0048], how long the GNSS information is valid; P[0170-0173], pre-compensated time and frequency; determining how long the GNSS information is valid; validity of the GNSS information is based on the mobility of the wireless device).
Regarding claim 24, Astrom teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the condition for applying the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values for accessing the non-terrestrial network comprises the quality of the estimated location being above or equal to a first threshold(P[0090], validity duration is first threshold; that determines how long the information is valid), the apparatus is further configured to:
determine a reference frequency offset based on a signal received from the non-terrestrial network in response to the quality of the estimated location being above or equal to a second threshold(P[0093], minimum permitted angular separation as second threshold for positioning accuracy); determine a current frequency offset based on a signal received from the non-terrestrial network in response to the quality of the estimated location being below or equal to the first threshold; determine a current Doppler shift based on a subtraction of the reference frequency offset and the current frequency offset; and determine the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values based on the current Doppler shift(P[0046], determine doppler time and frequency offsets; signals from GNSS satellites; determine location of the wireless device using the GNSS information; pre-compensated time and frequency based on the determined Doppler time and frequency offsets; P[0017], in order to determine the offset the device may first determine the current location and the previous location).
Claims 29 and 35 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 16.
Claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17.
Claim 33 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 24.
Claim(s) 22-23 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al. (hereinafter Astrom)(US 2023/0134701) in view of Gopalakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Gopal)(US 2023/0336229) and Park et al. (hereinafter Park)(US 2018/0220466).
Regarding claim 22, Astrom in view of Gopal teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus as claimed configured to: transmit a subsequent random access preamble of the plurality of random access preambles, in response to not receiving a random access response within a predetermined time period from transmission of a previous random access preamble, or transmit the plurality of random access preambles before an expected reception time of a random access response. However, Park teaches in an analogous art the apparatus as claimed configured to: transmit a subsequent random access preamble of the plurality of random access preambles, in response to not receiving a random access response within a predetermined time period from transmission of a previous random access preamble, or transmit the plurality of random access preambles before an expected reception time of a random access response(P[0116], random access preambles; predetermined period of time; preamble transmission has failed ; after a predetermined delay time retransmission of random access preamble). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus as claimed configured to: transmit a subsequent random access preamble of the plurality of random access preambles, in response to not receiving a random access response within a predetermined time period from transmission of a previous random access preamble, or transmit the plurality of random access preambles before an expected reception time of a random access response in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 23, Park teaches the apparatus, wherein at least two of the plurality of random access preambles overlap in time and/or wherein the plurality of random access preambles comprise same preamble sequence(P[0116], random access preamble sequence).
Claim 32 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 22.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al. (hereinafter Astrom)(US 2023/0134701) in view of Gopalakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Gopal)(US 2023/0336229) and Cui et al. (hereinafter Cui)(US 2024/0244578).
Regarding claim 25, Astrom in view of Gopal teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus wherein the first threshold is equal to the second threshold or wherein the first threshold is lower than the second threshold. However, Cui teaches in an analogous art wherein the first threshold is equal to the second threshold or wherein the first threshold is lower than the second threshold(P[0052], reporter UE location is larger than a threshold; UE frequently reports updated time information and pre-compensation values; Astrom further teaches thresholds based on time). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus wherein the first threshold is equal to the second threshold or wherein the first threshold is lower than the second threshold in order to have improved quality.
Claim(s) 26, 28 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al. (hereinafter Astrom)(US 2023/0134701) in view of Gopalakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Gopal)(US 2023/0336229) and Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2023/0337163).
Regarding claim 26, Astrom in view of Gopal teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus configured to determine a first frequency pre- compensation value based on the location of the apparatus; and select the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values from an interval between the first frequency pre-compensation value and a second frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to the current Doppler shift. However, Wang teaches in an analogous art configured to determine a first frequency pre- compensation value based on the location of the apparatus; and select the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values from an interval between the first frequency pre-compensation value and a second frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to the current Doppler shift(P[0213-0214], location information; determine frequency pre-compensation values first and second; P[0006], UE has severe Doppler frequency shift) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus configured to determine a first frequency pre- compensation value based on the location of the apparatus; and select the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values from an interval between the first frequency pre-compensation value and a second frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to the current Doppler shift in order to have improved quality.
Regarding claim 28, Astrom teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 26, configured to estimate at least one of a direction or an amount of change of the current Doppler shift; and to determine a next frequency pre-compensation value of the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values based on the at least one of the direction or the amount of change of the current Doppler shift(P[0090], update the GNSS information and thus requires new frequency pre-compensation values; P[0095], Doppler frequency offsets are based on current position, P[0092], line of sight directions ).
Claim 34 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 26.
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al. (hereinafter Astrom)(US 2023/0134701) in view of Gopalakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Gopal)(US 2023/0336229), Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2023/0337163) and Manolakos et al. (hereinafter Manolakos)(US 2023/0216546).
Regarding claim 27, Astrom in view of Gopal and Wang teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus wherein determining of a next frequency pre- compensation value of the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values is based on a weighted average of a previous frequency pre-compensation value and a predetermined change of the frequency pre- compensation value. However, Manolakos teaches in an analogous art wherein determining of a next frequency pre- compensation value of the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values is based on a weighted average of a previous frequency pre-compensation value and a predetermined change of the frequency pre- compensation value(P[0021], doppler pre-compensation for each communication; estimation of weighted values). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus wherein determining of a next frequency pre- compensation value of the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values is based on a weighted average of a previous frequency pre-compensation value and a predetermined change of the frequency pre- compensation value in order to have improved quality.
Regarding claim 28, Astrom teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 26, configured to estimate at least one of a direction or an amount of change of the current Doppler shift; and to determine a next frequency pre-compensation value of the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values based on the at least one of the direction or the amount of change of the current Doppler shift(P[0092], line of sight direction).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that paragraph [0134] of Gopal mentions a "quality metric" associated with a channel profile and measurements, but the Examiner does not fairly establish how such a mention of a quality metric corresponds at all with the claimed feature to:
... determine a quality of the estimated location based on at least one of downlink information received from the serving satellite or measurements of at least one
downlink signal received from the serving satellite ....
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gopal further teaches in P[0057-0059] UE may receive signals for deriving geolocation information from SVs(plurality of satellites) and also using SBAS (P[0058], Global and regional navigation satellite systems) for satellite positioning system that UE can use as location information(P[0057],. UE may include one or more receivers designed to receive signals for deriving geo-location information from the SVs(satellites)). Here, plurality of satellites ….used for location information of UE reads on number of satellites used for determination of the location information.
Applicant argues that Gopal and its combination with Astrom still fail because these features are not established by the Examiner as being taught in the claimed environment of being "received from the serving satellite or measurements of at least one downlink signal received from the serving satellite."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Astrom in view of Gopal teaches all the functionalities claimed in the independent claim. Astrom also receiving signals from plurality of GNSS satellites and also initiating a connection process with the network satellite(P[0165-0170]). Also Fig. 1, access link between the device and the satellite 102(also Fig. 3, satellite 102,cellular; P[0092], cellular NTN node 102).
Applicant argues that Examiner has not established that Astrom teaches transmitting a plurality of random access preambles corresponding to the plurality of frequency pre-compensation values. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Astrom further teaches in P[0094], In some embodiments a method performed in a network device may be used to connect the network device to a cellular satellite network. This may be achieved by the network device first receiving a system information message including A-GNSS information and signals from a subset of GNSS satellites including at least three GNSS satellites. Based on the A-GNSS information and the GNSS signals, the location of the device may be determined, and from that, Doppler time and frequency offsets compared to the network satellite can be determined. This allows the device to perform a connection to the cellular satellite network by transmitting a random access signal with pre-compensated time and frequency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647