DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hornstein et al. (U.S. Patent 11,415,728) in view of Guido et al. (EP 3088936 B1)
Regarding claim 1, Hornstein et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (col. 4, lines 26-35 – the pixels are preferably arranged on a pixel grid, but can be arranged in any suitable manner – the pixel grid is preferably a regular grid such as a linear grid, a curvilinear grid, skewed grid, and/or any suitable regular grid – however, the pixel grid can be irregular (e.g., include non-equal spacing) – each pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape – each pixel can be in contact with neighboring pixels and/or separated from neighboring pixels (e.g., by a pixel separation distance); col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape); and a plurality of lenticular lenses arranged such that an edge of a long side of each of the plurality of lenticular lenses has a first angle with respect to the second direction (col. 6, lines 8-14 – the lenticular array is preferably aligned to intersect the pixels of the screen – the lenticular grid can be rotated by an angle (e.g., between 0-90◦) relative to the pixel grid, parallel to the pixel grid, perpendicular to the pixel grid, and/or otherwise oriented), wherein a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels is a polygon of at least five sides that comprises: a first edge; a second edge; a third edge; a fourth edge; and a fifth edge (col. 4, lines 26-35 – the pixels are preferably arranged on a pixel grid, but can be arranged in any suitable manner – the pixel grid is preferably a regular grid such as a linear grid, a curvilinear grid, skewed grid, and/or any suitable regular grid – however, the pixel grid can be irregular (e.g., include non-equal spacing) – each pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape – each pixel can be in contact with neighboring pixels and/or separated from neighboring pixels (e.g., by a pixel separation distance); col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape). However, Hornstein et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels is a polygon of at least five sides that comprises: a first edge extending in the first direction; a second edge connected to the first edge, the second edge extending in the second direction, the first edge and the second edge forming a first right angle of the first sub-pixel; a third edge parallel to the first edge; a fourth edge parallel to the second edge, the third edge and the fourth edge forming a second right angle of the first sub-pixel; and a fifth edge connecting the second edge to the third edge, the first right angle and the second right angle being connected to each other by the fifth edge.
Referring to the Guido et al. reference, Guido et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 4 and 39; paragraph [0069] – in the stereoscopic pixel 120 as a whole, the arrangement order of RGB in the first row and the arrangement order of RGB in the first column are the same, i.e., R,G,B, then G – that is, in both the vertical direction and the horizontal direction, the sub pixels are arranged in order of R, G, B, then G (namely, the same order), starting from the sub pixel positioned at the upper left in the stereoscopic pixel 120); wherein a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels is a polygon of at least five sides that comprises: a first edge extending in the first direction; a second edge connected to the first edge, the second edge extending in the second direction, the first edge and the second edge forming a first right angle of the first sub-pixel; a third edge parallel to the first edge; a fourth edge parallel to the second edge, the third edge and the fourth edge forming a second right angle of the first sub-pixel; and a fifth edge connecting the second edge to the third edge, the first right angle and the second right angle being connected to each other by the fifth edge (Fig. 39 – a diagram showing a non-limiting example of shapes of sub-pixels; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1; each side has been labeled below as interpreted by the Examiner – the fifth edge connects the second edge and the third edge, via the first edge; and the sixth edge connects the first edge to the fourth edge, via the second edge – the claims do not require the fifth edge to directly connect the second edge to the third edge and the sixth edge to directly connect the first edge to the fourth edge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a first edge extending in the first direction; a second edge connected to the first edge, the second edge extending in the second direction, the first edge and the second edge forming a right first angle of the first sub-pixel; a third edge parallel to the first edge; a fourth edge parallel to the second edge, the third edge and the fourth edge forming a second right angle of the first sub-pixel; and a fifth edge connecting the second edge to the third edge, the first right angle and the second right angle being connected to each other by the fifth edge as disclosed by Guido et al. in the device disclosed by Hornstein et al. in order to increase the sampling efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as per previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the fifth edge extends parallel to the edge of the long side of each of the plurality of lenticular lenses (Hornstein et al.: col. 6, lines 8-14 – the lenticular array is preferably aligned to intersect the pixels of the screen – the lenticular grid can be rotated by an angle (e.g., between 0-90◦) relative to the pixel grid, parallel to the pixel grid, perpendicular to the pixel grid, and/or otherwise oriented; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 including that wherein the first sub-pixel further comprises a sixth edge connecting the first edge to the fourth edge, the first right angle and the second right angle being further connected to each other by the sixth edge (Hornstein et al.: col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1; see the rejection of claim 1 above and the Examiner’s interpretation of the sides of the pixel).
Regarding claim 4, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-3 including that wherein the sixth edge extends parallel to the edge of the long side of each of the plurality of lenticular lenses (Hornstein et al.: col. 6, lines 8-14 – the lenticular array is preferably aligned to intersect the pixels of the screen – the lenticular grid can be rotated by an angle (e.g., between 0-90◦) relative to the pixel grid, parallel to the pixel grid, perpendicular to the pixel grid, and/or otherwise oriented; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 5, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-4 including that wherein the first sub-pixel corresponds to a first color, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels further includes: a second sub-pixel disposed on a side of the first sub-pixel in the first direction and corresponding to a second color; and a third sub-pixel disposed on a side of the second sub-pixel in the first direction and corresponding to a third color, and wherein the first color, the second color, and the third color differ from each other (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Figs. 4 and 39; paragraph [0069] – in the stereoscopic pixel 120 as a whole, the arrangement order of RGB in the first row and the arrangement order of RGB in the first column are the same, i.e., R,G,B, then G – that is, in both the vertical direction and the horizontal direction, the sub pixels are arranged in order of R, G, B, then G (namely, the same order), starting from the sub pixel positioned at the upper left in the stereoscopic pixel 120).
Regarding claim 6, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-5 including that wherein the plurality of sub-pixels further include a fourth sub-pixel disposed on a side of the first sub-pixel in the second direction and corresponding to a first color (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Figs. 4 and 39; paragraph [0069] – in the stereoscopic pixel 120 as a whole, the arrangement order of RGB in the first row and the arrangement order of RGB in the first column are the same, i.e., R,G,B, then G – that is, in both the vertical direction and the horizontal direction, the sub pixels are arranged in order of R, G, B, then G (namely, the same order), starting from the sub pixel positioned at the upper left in the stereoscopic pixel 120).
Regarding claim 7, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-5 including that wherein each of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel comprises an edge aligned with the first edge of the first sub-pixel in the first direction (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-5 and 7 including that wherein each of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel further comprises an edge aligned with the third edge of the first sub-pixel in the first direction (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 9, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-6 including that wherein the fourth sub-pixel comprises an edge aligned with the second edge of the first sub-pixel in the second direction (Hornstein et al.: col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 10, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1-6 and 9 including that wherein the fourth sub-pixel further comprises an edge aligned with the fourth edge of the first sub-pixel in the second direction (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 11, Hornstein et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (col. 4, lines 26-35 – the pixels are preferably arranged on a pixel grid, but can be arranged in any suitable manner – the pixel grid is preferably a regular grid such as a linear grid, a curvilinear grid, skewed grid, and/or any suitable regular grid – however, the pixel grid can be irregular (e.g., include non-equal spacing) – each pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape – each pixel can be in contact with neighboring pixels and/or separated from neighboring pixels (e.g., by a pixel separation distance); col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape); and a plurality of lenticular lenses arranged such that an edge of a long side of each of the plurality of lenticular lenses has a first angle with respect to the second direction (col. 6, lines 8-14 – the lenticular array is preferably aligned to intersect the pixels of the screen – the lenticular grid can be rotated by an angle (e.g., between 0-90◦) relative to the pixel grid, parallel to the pixel grid, perpendicular to the pixel grid, and/or otherwise oriented), wherein a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises: a first edge; a second edge; a third edge; a fourth edge; a fifth edge; and a sixth edge (col. 4, lines 26-35 – the pixels are preferably arranged on a pixel grid, but can be arranged in any suitable manner – the pixel grid is preferably a regular grid such as a linear grid, a curvilinear grid, skewed grid, and/or any suitable regular grid – however, the pixel grid can be irregular (e.g., include non-equal spacing) – each pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape – each pixel can be in contact with neighboring pixels and/or separated from neighboring pixels (e.g., by a pixel separation distance); col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape). However, Hornstein et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels is an irregular polygon of at least five sides that comprises: a first edge extending in the first direction; a second edge connected to the first edge, the second edge extending in the second direction; a third edge parallel to the first edge; a fourth edge parallel to the second edge; a fifth edge including one end connected to the second edge; and a sixth edge connecting the fifth edge to the third edge.
Referring to the Guido et al. reference, Guido et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 4 and 39; paragraph [0069] – in the stereoscopic pixel 120 as a whole, the arrangement order of RGB in the first row and the arrangement order of RGB in the first column are the same, i.e., R,G,B, then G – that is, in both the vertical direction and the horizontal direction, the sub pixels are arranged in order of R, G, B, then G (namely, the same order), starting from the sub pixel positioned at the upper left in the stereoscopic pixel 120); wherein a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises: a first edge extending in the first direction; a second edge connected to the first edge, the second edge extending in the second direction; a third edge parallel to the first edge; a fourth edge parallel to the second edge; a fifth edge including one end connected to the second edge; and a sixth edge connecting the fifth edge to the third edge (Fig. 39 – a diagram showing a non-limiting example of shapes of sub-pixels; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1; each side has been labeled below as interpreted by the Examiner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels is an irregular polygon of at least five sides that comprise a first edge extending in the first direction; a second edge connected to the first edge, the second edge extending in the second direction; a third edge parallel to the first edge; a fourth edge parallel to the second edge; and a fifth edge connecting the second edge to the third edge as disclosed by Guido et al. in the device disclosed by Hornstein et al. in order to increase the sampling efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including that wherein the fifth edge has a second angle with respect to the edge of the long side of each of the plurality of lenticular lenses, and wherein the second angle is less than the first angle (Hornstein et al.: col. 6, lines 8-14 – the lenticular array is preferably aligned to intersect the pixels of the screen – the lenticular grid can be rotated by an angle (e.g., between 0-90◦) relative to the pixel grid, parallel to the pixel grid, perpendicular to the pixel grid, and/or otherwise oriented; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 13, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 11 and 12 including that wherein the sixth edge has a third angle with respect to the edge of the long side of each of the plurality of lenticular lenses, and wherein the third angle is less than the first angle (Hornstein et al.: col. 6, lines 8-14 – the lenticular array is preferably aligned to intersect the pixels of the screen – the lenticular grid can be rotated by an angle (e.g., between 0-90◦) relative to the pixel grid, parallel to the pixel grid, perpendicular to the pixel grid, and/or otherwise oriented; Guido et al.: Figs. 1-3 – octagonal shaped pixel; paragraph [0044] – the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel may each be arranged to an octagonal shape, wherein each of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel may have a regular octagon shape or an irregular octagonal shape).
Regarding claim 14, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 11-13 including wherein the second angle is equal to the third angle (Hornstein et al.: col. 6, lines 8-14 – the lenticular array is preferably aligned to intersect the pixels of the screen – the lenticular grid can be rotated by an angle (e.g., between 0-90◦) relative to the pixel grid, parallel to the pixel grid, perpendicular to the pixel grid, and/or otherwise oriented; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 17, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 11 including wherein the first sub-pixel corresponds to a first color, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels further include: a second sub-pixel disposed on a side of the first sub-pixel in the first direction and corresponding to a second color; and a third sub-pixel disposed on a side of the second sub-pixel in the first direction and corresponding to a third color, and wherein the first color, the second color, and the third color differ from each other (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Figs. 4 and 39; paragraph [0069] – in the stereoscopic pixel 120 as a whole, the arrangement order of RGB in the first row and the arrangement order of RGB in the first column are the same, i.e., R,G,B, then G – that is, in both the vertical direction and the horizontal direction, the sub pixels are arranged in order of R, G, B, then G (namely, the same order), starting from the sub pixel positioned at the upper left in the stereoscopic pixel 120).
Regarding claim 18, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 11 and 17 including wherein the plurality of sub-pixels further include a fourth sub-pixel disposed on a side of the first sub-pixel in the second direction and corresponding to a first color (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Figs. 4 and 39; paragraph [0069] – in the stereoscopic pixel 120 as a whole, the arrangement order of RGB in the first row and the arrangement order of RGB in the first column are the same, i.e., R,G,B, then G – that is, in both the vertical direction and the horizontal direction, the sub pixels are arranged in order of R, G, B, then G (namely, the same order), starting from the sub pixel positioned at the upper left in the stereoscopic pixel 120).
Regarding claim 19, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 11 and 17 including wherein each of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel comprises an edge aligned with the first edge of the first sub-pixel in the first direction, and wherein each of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel further comprises an edge aligned with the third edge of the first sub-pixel in the first direction (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Regarding claim 20, Hornstein et al. in view of Guido et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 11, 17, and 18 including wherein the fourth sub-pixel comprises an edge aligned with the second edge of the first sub-pixel in the second direction, and wherein the fourth sub-pixel further comprises an edge aligned with the fourth edge of the first sub-pixel in the second direction (Hornstein et al.: col. 3, lines 21-32 – RGB; col. 4, lines 47-55 – each pixel can include one or more sub-pixels – in a specific example, each pixel can include three sub-pixels wherein each sub-pixel corresponds to a different color (e.g., a red sub-pixel, a blue sub-pixel, and a green sub-pixel) – in a second specific example, each pixel can correspond to five sub-pixels – however, each pixel can correspond to any suitable number and/or type of sub-pixels – each sub-pixel can be square, rectangular, circular, oblate, polygonal, and/or any suitable shape; Guido et al.: Fig. 39; paragraph [0162] – the shapes of sub pixels are not limited thereto, but may be circle or an oval – further, other polygonal shapes may be employed - Fig. 39 shows a non-limiting example of different shapes of sub pixels in the arrangement pattern 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with all of the other elements claimed:
wherein the first sub-pixel further comprises: a seventh edge including one end connected to the first edge; and an eighth edge connecting the fourth edge with the seventh edge (dependent claim 15, which depends from claim 11; claim 16 depends from claim 15).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEATHER R JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481
April 28, 2026