DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1- 13 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7- 8 and 11- 12 have been amended. Claim 13 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/moot:
First Argument (Pages 7- 13) under remarks in response to Claims 1, 11, and 12:
Applicant contends that Tsuzuki does not teach “that in response to a determination that a vehicle has been parked and that another vehicle has been detected from the video data, first video data in which the other vehicle has been detected is temporarily stored, and in response to detection of an event while the vehicle is parked after temporarily storing the first video data in which the another vehicle has been detected, second video data due to the event and the temporarily stored video data in which the another vehicle has been detected are stored as combined video.”. and further contends that Muddukrishna and Palmer do not cure the deficiencies of Tsuzuki.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Tsuzuki teaches a monitoring routine that begins at step S300, at which the ECU 20 determines “whether the vehicle 100 is parked and stopped” (Tsuzuki [0070]). Tsuzuki further teaches that, when another vehicle is present, “The monitoring camera 16 sequentially updates old image data and stores new image data in a temporary storage device” (Tsuzuki [0080]). Tsuzuki teaches that, upon event detection, “When the impact detection means detects that the movable object has collided with the parked vehicle 100, the ECU 20 captures image data captured by the monitoring camera 16 and stored in the temporary storage device including before and after the collision” (Tsuzuki [0067]). Therefore, Tsuzuki teaches parking detection, temporary storage of pre-event image data after another vehicle is detected, and storage of event related data together with the buffered data.
Applicant further argues that Tsuzuki does not teach the detection of the another vehicle from video data; however, Muddukrishna is relied on to teach the limitation rather than Tsuzuki. Muddukrishna teaches identifying another vehicle in the vicinity of the vehicle by an image recognition algorithm (Muddukrishna [0048], [0062]) and further teaches that such information is stored in relation to an event which the other vehicle was a part of (Muddukrishna [0048]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Second Argument (Pages 13- 14) under remarks:
Applicant contends that claim 3 depends from amended independent claim 1, and as discussed, none of Tsuzuki, Muddukrishna, or Palmer teach, disclose, or suggest all aspects set forth in amended independent claims 1.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments see response to main argument as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isamu Tsuzuki (JP 2009166737 A) (hereinafter Tsuzuki) in view of Aloka Muddukrishna (US 20190054880 A1) (hereinafter Muddukrishna) further in view of Jason Palmer (US 20180247471 A1) (hereinafter Palmer):
Regarding Claim 1, Tsuzuki teaches an on-vehicle recording control device (on vehicle recording system [0020]) comprising:
a video data acquisition unit configured to acquire video data captured by imagers that capture images of surroundings of a vehicle (camera (part 16) captures images surrounding the vehicle [0020], [0023], [0047], [0026]);
a parking detection unit configured to detect that the vehicle has been parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state [0070]);
an event detection unit configured to detect an event with respect to the vehicle (detecting an event with respect to the vehicle [0066], [0081]- [0082]);
and a recording controller (recording controller (part 20) [0020]) configured to
temporarily store (temporary storing video data in the buffer [0026]), in response to a determination by the parking detection unit that the vehicle has been parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state in step 300 which is the initial step [0070], [Fig. 7]), first video data, of the video data in which the another vehicle has been detected by the another vehicle detection unit to yield temporarily stored video data (when another vehicle is detected, the video data of the detected vehicle is stored in the buffer [0080],[0070]),
in response to the event detection unit detecting the event while the vehicle is parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state in step 300 which is the initial step [0070]; detecting an event with respect to the parked vehicle, and the cameras captures the event and is stored [0025], [0067]) after temporarily storing the first video data in which the another vehicle has been detected (when another vehicle is detected, the video data of the detected vehicle is stored in the buffer [0080],[0070]), store the video data due to the detected event and the temporarily stored video data in which the another vehicle has been detected (the video data at which the detected event is detected is stored [0067], and the detection of another vehicle is captured by the camera is temporary stored in the buffer [0006], [0026]), store second video data, of the video data due to the detected event and the temporarily stored video data such that the second video data due to the event and the temporarily stored video data are stored as combined video data (storing the temporary video data that includes the detected vehicle and the event video data [0082], [0067]).
Tsuzuki does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, Muddukrishna, in analogous art, teaches an another vehicle detection unit configured to detect another vehicle from the video data (the detection of another vehicle using image data [0048], and [0062]).
Storing combined video data of video data due to the detected event and video data due to another detected event ( storing multiple sensor data before and after multiple events as one joint event package [0028], [0026], [0024])
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 1. Tsuzuki teaches wherein the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect, when the parking detection unit detects that the vehicle has been parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state in step 300 which is the initial step [0070], [Fig. 7]), however, fails to explicitly teach the detection of the another vehicle from the video data for a predetermined period of time prior to a time at which the vehicle has been parked.
However, Muddukrishna teaches the detection of the another vehicle from the video data (the detection of another vehicle from the video data [0048]) for a predetermined period of time prior to a time at which the vehicle has been parked (the capturing of video data that for a pre-defined period prior to the vehicle being in a standstill position [0065]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 2. Tsuzuki teaches wherein the imagers (multiple cameras (part 16) Fig. 2 [0090]) includes
first imagers that capture front and rear sides of the vehicle (cameras capture the front, rear, left and right of the vehicle [0090], Fig. 2), and
second imagers that are provided on left and right sides of the vehicle (cameras capture the front, rear, left and right of the vehicle [0090], Fig. 2),
the video data acquisition unit is further configured to acquire the video data captured by the first imager and the video data captured by the second imager (capturing video data from all 4 directions with respect to the vehicle [0039]), however, fails to explicitly teach the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect the another vehicle from the video data captured by the second imager and acquired by the video data acquisition unit.
However, Muddukrishna teaches the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect the another vehicle from the video data captured by the second imager and acquired by the video data acquisition unit (the detection of vehicles from video data using detection algorithms [0048]. The video data is acquired by camera that capture the vehicle sides [0090]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 2. Muddukrishna teaches wherein the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect the another vehicle and a license plate of the another vehicle from the video data acquired by the video data acquisition unit (detecting another vehicle and the license plate of the vehicle [0062]), and
the recording controller is further configured to temporarily store the first video data in which the another vehicle and the license plate of the another vehicle have been detected by the another vehicle detection unit (The collecting and storing of vehicle sensor data from all sensors, a camera is an image sensor, there are multiple cameras [0031]; detecting another vehicle and the license plate of the vehicle, and storing the license plate with association with the event detected [0062]), and
store, in an associated manner, the second video data due to the detected event and the first video data in which the another vehicle and the license plate of the another vehicle have been detected (The collecting and storing of vehicle sensor data from all sensors, a camera is an image sensor, there are multiple cameras [0031]; detecting another vehicle and the license plate of the vehicle, and storing the license plate with association with the event detected [0062]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 2. Tsuzuki teaches a moving object detection unit configured to detect a moving object that is moving near the vehicle while the vehicle is parked (The detection of a moving object around the vehicle within a predetermined distance, while the vehicle is parked [0034]), however, fails to explicitly teach wherein when the moving object detection unit detects the moving object, the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect, from the video data detected by the video data acquisition unit, that the moving object is the another vehicle that is present near the vehicle.
However, Muddukrishna teaches wherein when the moving object detection unit detects the moving object, the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect, from the video data detected by the video data acquisition unit, that the moving object is the another vehicle that is present near the vehicle (the detection of an object in the vicinity of the vehicle, and the utilization of the video data to determine that the object is a vehicle [0048]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 6. Tsuzuki teaches wherein the video data acquisition unit is further configured to acquire the video data captured by the imagers that capture images in different image capturing directions (the capturing of video data all around the vehicle using 8 cameras [0016]), and
the recording controller is further configured to temporarily store at least the first video data (temporary storing video data in the buffer [0026]).
Tsuzuki does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Muddukrishna teaches the video data in which the another vehicle has been detected among from pieces of the video data captured by the imagers (the utilization of the video data to determine that the detected object is a vehicle [0048]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 6. Tsuzuki teaches temporarily store the first video data (temporary storing video data in the buffer [0026]) in which the another vehicle and the license plate of the another vehicle have been detected by the another vehicle detection unit (storing the video data of the another vehicle and the license plate of the another vehicle [0010], [0025]).
Tsuzuki does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Muddukrishna teaches wherein the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect the another vehicle and a license plate of the another vehicle from the video data acquired by the video data acquisition unit (detecting another vehicle and the license plate of the vehicle [0042], [0062]), and
store, in an associated manner, the second video data due to the detected event and the first video data in which the another vehicle and the license plate of the another vehicle have been detected (The collecting and storing of vehicle sensor data from all sensors, a camera is an image sensor, there are multiple cameras [0031]; detecting another vehicle and the license plate of the vehicle, and storing the license plate with association with the event detected [0062]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 6. Tsuzuki teaches wherein the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect that the moving object detected by the moving object detection unit is the another vehicle that has stopped at a location near the vehicle (the detection of the another vehicle engine that has stopped next to the vehicle. The detection that the engine of the another vehicle is parked [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 8. Tsuzuki teaches wherein the another vehicle detection unit is further configured to detect that the moving object detected by the moving object detection unit is the another vehicle that has stopped at a location near the vehicle (the detection of the another vehicle engine that has stopped next to the vehicle. The detection that the engine of the another vehicle is parked [0050]).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsuzuki teaches an on-vehicle recording control method performed by
an on-vehicle recording control device (on vehicle recording system [0020]), comprising:
acquiring video data captured by imagers that capture images of surroundings of a vehicle (camera (part 16) captures images surrounding the vehicle [0020], [0023], [0047], [0026]);
detecting that the vehicle has been parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state [0070]);
detecting an event with respect to the vehicle (detecting an event with respect to the vehicle [0066], [0081]- [0082]);
in response to the detecting that the vehicle has been parked (step 300 is the initial step that detects that the vehicle is parked and starts the monitoring routine [0070]), temporarily storing first video data, of the video data, in which the another vehicle has been detected to yield temporarily stored video data (when another vehicle is detected, the video data of the detected vehicle is stored in the buffer [0080], [0070], [0026], [0071]), and
in response to the detecting of the event: acquiring second video data, of the video data, due to the event (continuing camera capture after detecting an event [0067], [0082])
storing, after the temporarily storing of the first video data and while the vehicle is parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state in step 300 which is the initial step [0070]; detecting an event with respect to the parked vehicle, and the cameras captures the event and is stored [0025], [0067]), the second video data due to the detected event and the temporarily stored video data in which the another vehicle has been detected (the video data at which the detected event is detected is stored [0067], and the detection of another vehicle is captured by the camera is temporary stored in the buffer [0006], [0026]) such that the second video data due to the event and the temporarily stored video data are stored as combined video data (storing the temporary video data that includes the detected vehicle and the event video data [0082], [0067]).
Tsuzuki does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Muddukrishna, in analogous art, teaches detecting another vehicle from the video data (the detection of another vehicle using image data [0048], and [0062]);
Storing combined video data of video data due to the detected event and video data due to another detected event ( storing multiple sensor data before and after multiple events as one joint event package [0028], [0026], [0024]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsuzuki teaches an on-vehicle recording control device (on vehicle recording system [0020]) comprising:
a video data acquisition unit configured to acquire video data captured by imagers that capture images of surroundings of a vehicle (camera (part 16) captures images surrounding the vehicle [0020], [0023], [0047], [0026]);
a parking detection unit configured to detect that the vehicle has been parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state [0070]);
an event detection unit configured to detect an event with respect to the vehicle (detecting an event with respect to the vehicle [0066], [0081]- [0082]);
and
and a recording controller (recording controller (part 20) [0020]) configured to
in response to a determination by the parking detection unit that the vehicle has been parked (step 300 is the initial step that detects that the vehicle is parked and starts the monitoring routine [0070]), temporarily store first video data of the video data in which the another vehicle has been detected by the another vehicle detection unit to yield temporarily stored video data (when another vehicle is detected, the video data of the detected vehicle is stored in the buffer [0080], [0070], [0026], [0071], temporary storing video data in the buffer [0026]), and
in response to the event detection unit detecting the event while the vehicle is parked (a parking detecting step of detecting whether a vehicle is in a parked state in step 300 which is the initial step [0070]; detecting an event with respect to the parked vehicle, and the cameras captures the event and is stored [0025], [0067]) after temporarily storing the first video data in which the another vehicle has been detected (when another vehicle is detected, the video data of the detected vehicle is stored in the buffer [0080],[0070]), store second video data of the video data due to the detected event and the temporarily stored video data in which the another vehicle has been detected (the video data at which the detected event is detected is stored [0067], and the detection of another vehicle is captured by the camera is temporary stored in the buffer [0006], [0026]) such that the second video data due to the event and the temporarily stored video data are stored as combined video data (storing the temporary video data that includes the detected vehicle and the event video data [0082], [0067]).
Tsuzuki does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Muddukrishna, in analogous art, teaches an another vehicle detection unit configured to detect another vehicle from the video data (the detection of another vehicle using image data [0048], and [0062]);
Storing combined video data of video data due to the detected event and video data due to another detected event ( storing multiple sensor data before and after multiple events as one joint event package [0028], [0026], [0024]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isamu Tsuzuki (JP 2009166737 A) (hereinafter Tsuzuki) in view of Aloka Muddukrishna (US 20190054880 A1) (hereinafter Muddukrishna) further in view of Miyuki Omori (US 20190344828 A1) (hereinafter Omori):
Regarding claim 3, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 2. Tsuzuki teaches wherein the video data acquisition unit is further configured to acquire the video data captured by the imagers that capture images in different image capturing directions (total of 8 cameras, one at each corner and one between each corner camera. The cameras capture surrounding the vehicle and sends it to the controller [0017], [0022]),
the recording controller is further configured to temporarily store the first video data (temporary storing video data in the buffer [0026]).
Tsuzuki does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Muddukrishna teaches the video in which the another vehicle has been detected by the another vehicle detection unit from the video data captured by an imager that is included in the imagers (the detection of vehicles from video data using detection algorithms [0048]. The video data is acquired by cameras that capture the vehicle sides [0090]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to increase the efficiency of object and event detection (Muddukrishna [0010]).
Muddukrishna does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Omori, in analogous art, teaches the parking detection unit is further configured to detect a vehicle entering direction into a parking section during parking of the vehicle (generating the images of the region of the travel direction of the vehicle while parking [0091]), and
that captures the image in the vehicle entering direction detected by the parking detection unit (generating the images of the region of the travel direction of the vehicle while parking [0091]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to further add the detection of the direction of the vehicle's parking as disclosed by Omari to improve the parking process of the vehicle and improve the safety of parking the vehicle by enhancing the display of viewpoint images (Omari [0009]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isamu Tsuzuki (JP 2009166737 A) (hereinafter Tsuzuki) in view of Aloka Muddukrishna (US 20190054880 A1) (hereinafter Muddukrishna) further in view of Jason Palmer (US 20180247471 A1) (hereinafter Palmer):
Regarding claim 13, Tsuzuki in view of Muddukrishna teach the on-vehicle recording control device according to claim 1. Tsuzuki further teaches
wherein the recording controller is further configured to store, as the combined video data, the second video data due to the event (detecting an event with respect to the parked vehicle, and the cameras captures the event and is stored [0025], [0067]) and the temporarily stored video data in which the another vehicle has been detected (when another vehicle is detected, the video data of the detected vehicle is stored in the buffer [0080],[0070])such that the second video data due to the detected event and the temporarily stored video data (the video data at which the detected event is detected is stored [0067], and the detection of another vehicle is captured by the camera is temporary stored in the buffer [0006], [0026]).
Tsuzuki does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Palmer, in analogous art, teaches the second video data due to the detected event and the temporarily stored video data are continuously replayed. (the continuous playback of the video data related to the events [0037]- [0037], [0052], [0054], and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the event detection while the vehicle is in a parked state as disclosed by Tsuzuki to add the video analysis and the detection of vehicle in captured video data by Muddukrishna to further add the continuous replay of the event disclosed by Palmer to improve the review and the analysis of the detected events (Palmer [0004]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486