DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, 12-15, and 17-26 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10, 12-15, and 17-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 12-13, 15, 18-20, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckhoff et al. (US 2019/0234312 A1) hereinafter Eckhoff, Cesiel et al. (US 11,548,402 B2) hereinafter Cesiel, Borud et al. (US 2017/0355259 A1) hereinafter Borud, Adamson et al. (US 2020/0386249 A1) hereinafter Adamson, Hagshenas et al. (US 2021/0122487 A1) hereinafter Hagshenas, and Leathers (US 6,568,203 B1) hereinafter Leathers.
Claim 1:
Eckhoff discloses a ground support apparatus for an aircraft [¶8] comprising: a set of motor controller configured to receive input power and to supply output power [¶¶9, 17; inverters are considered the controllers as they can be used to control the rpm rate based on voltage frequency]; the set of motor controllers is configured to provide a multiphase alternating-current output power [¶¶15-18], and a motor assembly configured to receive the output power from the set of motor controllers, wherein the motor assembly includes a rotatable motor shaft and two 3-phase motors [2; ¶¶34-35]; a gearbox having an input shaft and an output shaft, wherein the input shaft is coupled to the rotatable motor shaft of the motor assembly [¶42]; a compressor configured to generate compressed air, wherein the compressor includes an impeller coupled to a compressor shaft [¶18, radial compressors utilize an impeller on a shaft], and wherein the compressor shaft is coupled to the output shaft of the gearbox [1; ¶42]; and a flexible duct configured to provide the compressed air
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the input power is supplied by a battery of an electric vehicle, and wherein the set of motor controllers includes one or more fluid inlet ports configured to receive fluid from a cooling system, the one or more fluid inlet ports being in fluid communication with an internal channel to direct the fluid to flow through motor controllers of the set of motor controllers; a fluid line connected between the motor controllers to enable the fluid to flow between the motor controllers; a set of fluid lines, connected to the aircraft, in fluid communication with the cooling system; wherein the compressor is configured to operate at variable speeds to maintain a desired air pressure for the compressed air, and wherein the compressor further comprises a diffuser configured to increase air pressure and a collector configured to receive the compressed air before delivery to the aircraft; a heating or air conditioning system, within a housing of the ground support apparatus, configured to receive the compressed air from the compressor and condition the compressed air to a desired temperature before delivery to the aircraft; and provide the compressed air to an environmental control system (ECS) of the aircraft to enable internal temperature regulation of the aircraft wherein the ground support apparatus is transportable by the electric vehicle.
However, Cesiel does disclose wherein the input power is supplied by a battery of an electric vehicle, and wherein the ground support apparatus is transportable by the electric vehicle. [col. 2, lines 12-29; col. 8, lines 21-37; col. 9, lines 13-26]
Borud does disclose wherein the set of motor controllers includes one or more fluid inlet ports configured to receive fluid from a cooling system, the one or more fluid inlet ports being in fluid communication with an internal channel to direct the fluid to flow through motor controllers of the set of motor controllers; a fluid line connected between the motor controllers to enable the fluid to flow between the motor controllers [Figs. 38A-E; ¶126].
Adamson discloses a set of fluid lines, connected to the aircraft, in fluid communication with the cooling system [¶¶20, 40-43; Fig. 4].
Hagshenas discloses wherein the compressor is configured to operate at variable speeds to maintain a desired air pressure for the compressed air, and wherein the compressor further comprises a diffuser configured to increase air pressure and a collector configured to receive the compressed air before delivery to the aircraft [¶64].
Leathers discloses a heating or air conditioning system, within a housing of the ground support apparatus, configured to receive the compressed air from the compressor and condition the compressed air to a desired temperature before delivery to the aircraft; provide the compressed air to an environmental control system (ECS) of the aircraft to enable internal temperature regulation of the aircraft [Figs. 1-2; col. 3, lines 23-56].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff with the V2L vehicle of Cesiel to provide both transport and power for the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff and Cesiel with the fluid channels of Borud to provide necessary cooling to ensure efficient operation and durability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, and Borud with the cooling lines of Adamson to cool oil and hydraulic fluid in the aircraft thus increasing the efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, and Adamson with the variable speed compressor of Hagshenas to provide the optimum pressure required by ECS controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, and Hagshenas with the air conditioning system of Leathers to improve the cabin comfort for passengers.
Claim 2:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the input power comprises a direct current power and the output power comprises a three-phase alternating current power [¶17].
Claim 4:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the motor assembly comprises an electric motor [¶17].
Claim 6:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the compressor includes an air inlet in fluid communication with an environment and an air outlet in fluid communication with the flexible duct [Fig. 1, Item 1 is shown with inlet and outlet hoses], and wherein the flexible duct has a proximate end coupled to an air output of the compressor and a distal end configured to be coupled to the aircraft [¶40].
Claim 7:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the set of motor controller, the motor assembly, the gearbox, and the compressor are disposed within the housing [Fig. 1 shows housing covering all components].
Claim 12:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the fluid is supplied from a fluid tank or reservoir.
However, Borud does disclose wherein the fluid is supplied from a fluid tank or reservoir. [Figs. 38A-E; ¶126, any of the portions of the circuit could count as a reservoir or tank since they hold the cooling liquid]
Claim 13:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising a heat exchanger configured to receive the fluid, wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the fluid. [Figs. 38A-E; ¶126]
However, Borud does disclose further comprising a heat exchanger configured to receive the fluid, wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the fluid. [Figs. 38A-E; ¶126]
Claim 15:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the ground support apparatus comprises a starter unit for starting one or more jet engines of the aircraft [¶¶3, 21].
Claim 18:
Eckhoff discloses a portable apparatus for starting engines of an aircraft [¶8] comprising: a first controller configured to receive input power and to output a multiphase alternating-current output power; [¶¶9, 17; inverters are considered the controllers as they can be used to control the rpm rate based on voltage frequency]; a second controller configured to receive the input power and to output the multiphase alternating current output power [¶¶15-18] a motor assembly configured to receive the multiphase alternating-current output power [¶¶16-17], wherein the motor assembly includes a rotatable motor shaft and two 3-phase motors; a gearbox having an input shaft and an output shaft, wherein the input shaft is coupled to the rotatable motor shaft of the motor assembly [¶¶34-35, 42]; a compressor for generating pressurized air, wherein the compressor includes an impeller coupled to a compressor shaft [¶18, radial compressors utilize an impeller on a shaft], and wherein the compressor shaft is coupled to the output shaft of the gearbox [1; ¶42]; and a flexible duct configured to provide the pressurized air to
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the first controller includes one or more fluid inlet ports configured to receive fluid from a cooling system and direct the fluid to flow through the first controller; wherein the input power is supplied by a battery of an electric vehicle; a fluid line connected between the first controller and the second controller to enable the fluid to flow between the first controller and the second controller, wherein the second controller includes one or more fluid inlet ports configured to receive the fluid from the fluid line and direct the fluid to flow through the second controller; a set of fluid lines, connected to the aircraft, in fluid communication with the cooling system; wherein the compressor is configured to operate at variable speeds to maintain a desired air pressure for the pressurized air, and wherein the compressor further comprises a diffuser configured to increase air pressure and a collector configured to receive the pressurized air before delivery to the aircraft; a heating or air conditioning system, within a housing of the portable apparatus, configured to receive the pressurized air from the compressor and condition the pressurized air to a desired temperature before delivery to the aircraft; and provide the compressed air to an environmental control system (ECS) of the aircraft to enable internal temperature regulation of the aircraft wherein the portable apparatus is transportable by the electric vehicle.
However, Cesiel does disclose wherein the input power is supplied by a battery of an electric vehicle; wherein the portable apparatus is transportable by the electric vehicle. [col. 2, lines 12-29; col. 8, lines 21-37; col. 9, lines 13-26]
Borud does disclose wherein the first controller includes one or more fluid inlet ports configured to receive fluid from a cooling system and direct the fluid to flow through the first controller; [Figs. 38A-E; ¶126] a fluid line connected between the first controller and the second controller to enable the fluid to flow between the first controller and the second controller, wherein the second controller includes one or more fluid inlet ports configured to receive the fluid from the fluid line and direct the fluid to flow through the second controller; [Figs. 38A-E; ¶126]
Adamson discloses a set of fluid lines, connected to the aircraft, in fluid communication with the cooling system [¶¶20, 40-43; Fig. 4].
Hagshenas discloses wherein the compressor is configured to operate at variable speeds to maintain a desired air pressure for the pressurized air [¶64].
Leathers discloses wherein the compressor further comprises a diffuser configured to increase air pressure and a collector configured to receive the pressurized air before delivery to the aircraft; a heating or air conditioning system, within a housing of the portable apparatus, configured to receive the pressurized air from the compressor and condition the pressurized air to a desired temperature before delivery to the aircraft provide the compressed air to an environmental control system (ECS) of the aircraft to enable internal temperature regulation of the aircraft [Figs. 1-2; col. 3, lines 23-56].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff with the V2L vehicle of Cesiel to provide both transport and power for the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff and Cesiel with the fluid channels of Borud to provide necessary cooling to ensure efficient operation and durability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, and Borud with the cooling lines of Adamson to cool oil and hydraulic fluid in the aircraft thus increasing the efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, and Adamson with the variable speed compressor of Hagshenas to provide the optimum pressure required by ECS controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, and Hagshenas with the air conditioning system of Leathers to improve the cabin comfort for passengers.
Claim 19:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 18.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the first controller, the second controller, the motor assembly, the gearbox, and the compressor are disposed within the housing, and [Fig. 1 shows housing covering all components].
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the housing is configured to be transported by the electric vehicle.
However, Cesiel discloses wherein the housing is configured to be transported by the electric vehicle. [col. 2, lines 12-29; col. 8, lines 21-37; col. 9, lines 13-26]
Claim 20:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 18.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the motor assembly comprises an electric motor [¶17].
Claim 23:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the compressor is a radial compressor. [¶18]
Claim 24:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff also discloses wherein the compressor is a radial compressor. [¶18]
Claim 25:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising: a conduit that extends between one or more of the motor controllers and the motor assembly to enable the fluid to be supplied from the set of motor controllers to the motor assembly.
However, Borud does disclose further comprising: a conduit that extends between one or more of the motor controllers and the motor assembly to enable the fluid to be supplied from the set of motor controllers to the motor assembly. [Figs. 38A-E; ¶126]
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Hagshenas, and Leathers as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buschur (US 2018/0202528 A1) hereinafter Buschur.
Claim 5:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the output shaft of the gearbox is configured to rotate at a faster speed than the input shaft.
However, Buschur does disclose wherein the output shaft of the gearbox is configured to rotate at a faster speed than the input shaft. [¶97]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers with the gearbox of Buschur to increase the range of available speeds on the output shaft of the transmission thus enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the appropriate input speed for the compressor based on system design.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Hagshenas, and Leathers as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kahn et al. (US 2014/0245727 A1) hereinafter Kahn.
Claim 10:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising a switch configured to enable the input power to be selectively provided to the set of motor controllers.
However, Kahn does disclose further comprising a switch configured to enable the input power to be selectively provided to the set of motor controllers. [¶46]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers with the switch of Kahn to selectively provide power to circuits only when needed thus saving energy.
Claim(s) 14, 17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Hagshenas, and Leathers as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Musial (US 2004/0011918 A1) hereinafter Musial.
Claim 14:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising: a power source having an output terminal; and a power cable having a proximate end coupled to the output terminal of the power source and a distal end configured to be coupled to the aircraft.
However, Musial does disclose further comprising: a power source having an output terminal; and a power cable having a proximate end coupled to the output terminal of the power source and a distal end configured to be coupled to the aircraft. [¶10]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers with the vehicle of Musial to provide means of attaching the power source to the aircraft being serviced.
Claim 17:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the electric vehicle includes a tow bar.
However, Musial does disclose wherein the electric vehicle includes a tow bar. [Fig. 2, Items 24, 26]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers with the vehicle of Musial to provide means of attaching the power source to the aircraft being serviced.
Claim 26:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 18.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the electric vehicle includes a tow bar.
However, Musial does disclose wherein the electric vehicle includes a tow bar. [Fig. 2, Items 24, 26]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Hagshenas, and Leathers with the vehicle of Musial to provide means of attaching the power source to the aircraft being serviced.
Claim(s) 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Brofft et al. (US 2002/0163196 A1) hereinafter Brofft.
Claim 21:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the electric vehicle is an electric truck having a bed, and wherein the ground support apparatus is configured to be positioned on the bed of the electric truck.
However, Brofft does disclose wherein the electric vehicle is an electric truck having a bed, and wherein the ground support apparatus is configured to be positioned on the bed of the electric truck. [claim 22]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers with the vehicle of Brofft to provide means of transporting to necessary location.
Claim 22:
Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 18.
Eckhoff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the electric vehicle is an electric truck having a bed, and wherein the ground support apparatus is configured to be positioned on the bed of the electric truck.
However, Brofft does disclose wherein the electric vehicle is an electric truck having a bed, and wherein the ground support apparatus is configured to be positioned on the bed of the electric truck. [claim 22]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the portable starting apparatus of Eckhoff, Cesiel, Borud, Adamson, Hagshenas, and Leathers with the vehicle of Brofft to provide means of transporting to necessary location.
Conclusion
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747