DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 18/302,430 filed on November 07 2025 in which claims 1 to 17 and 21-23 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on April 18 2023 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), filed on April 18 2023 and June 13 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner.
Notation
References to patents will be in the form of (C:L) where C is the column number and L is the line number. References to pre-grant patent publications will be to the paragraph number in the form of (¶ xxxx).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on November 07 2025 is acknowledged. Claims18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 18-20 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 and 17 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fleury et al. (US 2024/0023468 A1; “Fleury”).
Regarding claim 12, Fleury teaches in Figures 1-14 and related text e.g. 12. (Original) a semiconductor structure (Fig.1-3), comprising:
a first electrode (105a, Fig.2-3; ¶ 0079) and a second electrode (105b, Fig.2-3; ¶ 0079) spaced apart from one another along a first direction (First direction A-A);
a phase-change material layer (109; Fig.2-3; ¶ 0082) spanning over and in contact with the first electrode (105a) and the second electrode (105b), wherein the phase-change material layer (109) includes a plurality of segments spaced apart from one another along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (109 have segment perpendicular along to the direction of A-A; Fig. 2-3);
a metal feature (113, Fig.2; ¶ 0086) overlapping the phase-change material layer (109), wherein the metal feature extends lengthwise along the second direction (113 extends along first direction and second direction); and
an insulator (307; ¶ 0106) disposed vertically between the phase-change material layer (109) and the metal feature (113).
Regarding claim 13, Fleury teaches wherein each of the segments extends lengthwise along the first direction (109 segments extending along the first direction; Fig.3).
Regarding claim 14, Fleury teaches wherein the segments vary in lengths measured along the first direction (109 segments vary in length along A-A direction; Fig.3).
Regarding claim 15, Fleury teaches wherein the segments vary in widths measured along the second direction (109 segments as shown in Fig.4 will vary along first and second direction; Fig.3).
Regarding claim 17, Fleury teaches a third electrode (115b; Fig.2; ¶ 0086) spaced apart from the first electrode (105a) and the second electrode (105b), wherein each of the segments (109 is in electrical contact) is in contact with the first electrode (105a), a first portion of the segments (segments of 109 is in electrical contact) is in contact with the second electrode (105b), and a second portion of the segments (portions of the segments 109) is in contact with the third electrode (109 is in electrical contact with 115b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlmuth et al. (US 2023/0337554 A1; hereinafter “Wohlmuth”) in view of Borodulin et al. (US 2016/0079019 A1; hereinafter “Borodulin”).
Regarding claim 1, Wohlmuth teaches a semiconductor structure (Fig.1-16) and related text e.g., comprising:
a first electrode (13A, Fig. 10A; ¶ 0039) and a second electrode (13B; Fig.10A; ¶ 0039) disposed over a substrate (90; ¶0062);
heating element (92A and 92B; ¶ 0062; gate electrode is heater element even though the transistor is a heater) disposed over the substrate (90);
a phase-change material layer (PCM; 11; ¶ 0062) disposed over the substrate (90);
and an insulator (20; ¶ 0062) disposed vertically (layer 20 has length and width; Fig.10A) between the heating element (92) and the phase-change material layer (11), and the PCM (11) is electrically connected with both the first and second electrode (13A and 13B).
Wohlmuth does not teach wherein the phase-change material layer includes at least a first segment and a second segment separated from the first segment, each of the first and second segments overlaps the heating element in a top view, and each of the first and second segments is electrically connected with both the first and second electrodes.
However, Borodulin teaches a similar device in the same field of endeavor and teaches wherein the phase-change material layer (56, Fig.2; ¶ 0025) includes at least a first segment (any segment of 56) and a second segment (second segment of 56) separated from the first segment (separated from each other), each of the first and second segments overlaps the heating element in a top view (central portion 64 of 62; Fig.2; ¶ 0027), and each of the first and second segments (any two segment of 56) is electrically connected with both the first (52; ¶ 0027) and second electrodes(54; ¶ 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify the phase change material layer in the device of Wohlmuth to have at least a first and second segments and each of the first and second segments overlaps the heating element and are connected to each of the first and second electrode as taught by Borodulin for the purpose of having a PCM that is subjected to less thermal stress than a solid piece of PCM overlying a conductive strip (¶ 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Wohlmuth as modified by Borodulin teaches wherein each of the first and second electrodes includes at least a first extending arm (Borodulin; 164, Fig.4; ¶0036) in contact with the first segment (152) and a second extending arm (Borodulin; 166, Fig.4; ¶0036) in contact with the second segment (154), and a common portion (160 and 162; Fig.4) connecting the first and second extending arms (164 and 166; Fig.4).
Regarding claim 10, Wohlmuth teaches wherein the heating element (92, Fig.10A) is vertically disposed between the substrate (90, Fig.10A) and the phase-change material layer (11, Fig.10A; PCM).
Claims 5, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlmuth (7554 A1) in view of Borodulin (9019) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fleury (3468 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wohlmuth as modified by Borodulin does not teach wherein the first and second segments have different volumes.
However, Fleury teaches wherein the first and second segment have different volumes (first and second segments of 109 have different volumes; 109; Fig.4; ¶ 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention; to have the first and second segments have different volumes in the device of Wohlmuth and Borodulin as taught by Fleury since such modification would have involved a mere change in size/shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Examiner note: volume should be further defined to avoid any 112 rejections or objection because volume can be anything based on area and thickness and should be further defined.
Regarding claim 6, Wohlmuth as modified by Borodulin does not teach wherein the first and second segments have different thicknesses.
However, Fleury teaches wherein the first and second segment have different thicknesses (first and second segments of 109 have different volumes; 109; Fig.4; ¶ 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have the first and second segments have different thicknesses in the device of Wohlmuth and Borodulin as taught by Fleury since such modification would have involved a mere change in size/shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being with the level of ordinary skill in the art MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Regarding claim 11, Wohlmuth as modified by Borodulin does not teach wherein the phase-change material layer is vertically disposed between the substrate and the heating element.
However, Fleury teaches wherein the phase-change material layer (109; Fig.4; ¶ 0082) is vertically disposed between the substrate (101; Fig.4; ¶ 0077) and the heating element (11, Fig.4; ¶ 0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to have the phase-change material layer is vertically disposed between the substrate and the heating element in the device of Wohlmuth and Borodulin as taught by Fleury since it is very well known in the art to either form the heating element above the PCM layer or below the PCM layer.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlmuth et al. (US 2023/0337554 A1; hereinafter “Wohlmuth”) in view of Fleury et al. (US 2024/0023468 A1; “Fleury”).
Regarding claim 21, Wohlmuth teaches a semiconductor structure (Fig.1-16) and related text e.g., comprising:
A heating element (92A and 92B; ¶ 0062; gate electrode is heater element even though the transistor is a heater) disposed over the substrate (90);
a first electrode (13A, Fig. 10A; ¶ 0039) and a second electrode (13B, Fig. 10A; ¶ 0039) spaced apart from one another along the second direction (second direction), wherein each of the phase-change elements (11; Fig.10A; ¶ 0062) connects the first electrode (13A) to the second electrode (13B);a first contact landing on the first electrode (upper portion of the 13A parallel to the PCM is a first contact); and a second contact landing on the second electrode (upper portion of the 13B parallel to the PCM is a second contact) .
Wohlmuth does not teach a plurality of phase-change elements disposed over the heating element and spaced apart from one another along the first direction, wherein measured along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction a dimension of a center one of the phase-change elements is different from a dimension of an edge one of the phase-change elements.
However, Fleury teaches a similar device in the same field of endeavor a plurality of phase-change elements (109; Fig.2; ¶ 0082) disposed over the heating element (105; heating element since it’s an electrode) and spaced apart from one another along the first direction (direction perpendicular to A-A line Fig.2), wherein measured along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction a dimension of a center one of the phase-change elements is different from a dimension of an edge one of the phase-change elements (the dimension of the 109 formed at the edge of 305 has a different dimension of a segment of 19 formed over 305 along second direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to have a plurality of phase-change elements disposed over the heating element and spaced apart from one another along the first direction, wherein measured along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction a dimension of a center one of the phase-change elements is different from a dimension of an edge one of the phase-change elements in the device of Wohlmuth as taught by Fleury for the purpose of having a PCM that a has thermal efficiency greater than the a switch with a PCM block (¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 23, Wohlmuth teaches wherein measured along the second direction the dimension of the center one of the phase-change elements is smaller than the dimension of the edge one of the phase-change elements (the dimension of the central 109 is smaller than the dimension of the edge one of 109; Fig.3).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlmuth (7554) in view of Fleury (3468) as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of Borodulin (9019).
Regarding claim 22, Wohlmuth and Fleury do not explicitly teach wherein the first electrode includes a plurality of arms extending from a common portion, each of the arms connected to a corresponding one of the phase-change elements.
However, Borodulin teaches wherein the first electrode (164, Fig.4; ¶0036) includes a plurality of arms (164) extending from a common portion (160; Fig.4), each of the arms connected to a corresponding one of the phase-change elements (152; ¶ Fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to have the first electrode includes a plurality of arms extending from a common portion, each of the arms connected to a corresponding one of the phase-change elements in the device of Wohlmuth and Fleury as taught by Borodulin to provide control input to each separate PCM (¶ 0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7, 9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 is objected to since the prior art reference does not teach the following limitation: “… wherein the first and second segments have different sizes in the top view.”
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to since the following claims are dependent on claim 2.
Claim 7 is objected to since the prior art reference does not teach the following limitation: “the phase-change material layer also includes a third segment separated from the first and second segments and overlapping the heating element in the top view, the first, second, and third segments are disposed in sequence along a lengthwise direction of the heating element, and an edge-to-edge spacing between the first and second segments is different from that between the second and third segments.”
Claim 9 is objected to since the prior art reference does not teach the following limitation: “wherein a width of the first extending arm equals a width of the first segment, and a width of the second extending arm equals a width of the second segment” with the rest of the limitations of claims 8 and 1.
Claim 16 is objected to since the prior art reference does not teach the following limitation: “wherein the segments vary in spacings between adjacent two of the segments.”
Conclusion
/Mounir S Amer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818