DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 01/19/2026, in which claims 1, 7 were amended, claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-19, 21-23, 25 were cancelled, claims 14, 20, 24 were withdrawn, claims 26-27 were added, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and claim 26, claim 7 and claim 26 each
recites the limitation “the semi-circle of the first one of the plurality of second openings”, “the semi- circle of the first one of the plurality of first openings”, “the semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of second openings”, “the semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of first openings”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of this Action, the above limitations will be interpreted and examined as –a semi-circle of the first one of the plurality of second openings--, --a semi- circle of the first one of the plurality of first openings--, --a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of second openings--, --a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of first openings--.
Claims depending from the rejected claims noted above are rejected at least on the same basis as the claim(s) from which the dependent claims depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. 20200075488) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20210050308) and Daubenspeck et al. (US Pub. 20100164096).
Regarding claim 1, Wu et al. discloses in Fig. 9C, paragraph [0043] a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate [302];
a first redistribution layer (RDL) [first 308] formed over a first surface of the substrate [302];
a first insulating layer [310A] formed over the first RDL [308];
a second RDL [311A] formed over the first insulating layer [310A] with the first RDL [308] disposed between the first surface of the substrate [302] and second RDL [311A] and a first conductive via formed through the first insulating layer [310A] electrically connecting the first RDL [308] and second RDL [311A];
a plurality of first openings formed in the second RDL [311A] and extending through the second RDL [311A] to the first insulating layer [310A] around at least a portion of the first conductive via, wherein a second one of the plurality of first openings is laterally separated from a first one of the plurality of first openings by a portion of the second RDL [311A];
a second insulating layer [310B] formed over the second RDL [311A] and extending into the plurality of first openings of the second RDL [311A] to provide stress relief;
a third RDL [311B] formed over the second insulating layer [310B] with a second conductive via formed through the second insulating layer [310B] electrically connecting the second RDL [311A] and third RDL [311B]; and
a plurality of second openings formed in the third RDL [311B] and extending through the third RDL [311B] to the second insulating layer [310B] around at least a portion of the second conductive via, wherein a second one of the plurality of second openings is laterally separated from a first one of the plurality of second openings by a portion of the third RDL [311B] and the first one of the plurality of second openings is offset to be outside a vertical projection of the first one of the plurality of first openings and further outside a vertical projection of the second one of the plurality of first openings, and the second one of the plurality of second openings is offset to be outside a vertical projection of the second one of the plurality of first openings.
Notes, the limitation of “to provide stress relief” directs to an intended use of the first opening. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Wu et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular;
wherein the first one of the plurality of second openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of second openings is semi- circular.
Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 11, Fig. 17
wherein the first one [150 or 150a] of a plurality of openings is semi-circular and the second one [154 or 150b] of the plurality of openings is semi-circular.
Daubenspeck et al. discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0026]-[0027]
wherein openings [32c] formed in a RDL [30] are semi-circular.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. and Daubenspeck et al. into the method of Wu et al. to include wherein the first one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular; wherein the first one of the plurality of second openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of second openings is semi-circular. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable shape of openings formed in an RDL in plan view.
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 27, Wu et al. discloses in Fig. 9C, paragraph [0043] a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate [302];
a first redistribution layer (RDL) [first 308] formed over the substrate [302];
a first insulating layer [310A] formed over the first RDL [308];
a second RDL [311A] formed over the first insulating layer [310A] and a first conductive via formed through the first insulating layer [310A] electrically connecting the first RDL [308] and second RDL [311A];
a plurality of first openings formed in the second RDL [311A] and extending through the second RDL [311A] to the first insulating layer [310A] around at least a portion of the first conductive via, wherein a second one of the plurality of first openings is laterally separated from a first one of the plurality of first openings by a portion of the second RDL [311A];
a second insulating layer [310B] formed over the second RDL [311A] and extending into the plurality of first openings of the second RDL [311A] to provide stress relief;
a third RDL [311B] formed over the second insulating layer [310B] with a second conductive via formed through the second insulating layer [310B] electrically connecting the second RDL [311A] and third RDL [311B]; and
a plurality of second openings formed in the third RDL [311B] and extending through the third RDL [311B] to the second insulating layer [310B] around at least a portion of the second conductive via, wherein a second one of the plurality of second openings is laterally separated from a first one of the plurality of second openings by a portion of the third RDL [311B];
wherein the plurality of first openings formed in the second RDL [311A] is offset from the plurality of second openings formed in the third RDL [311B];
wherein the first one of the plurality of second openings is offset to be outside a vertical projection of the first one of the plurality of first openings and further outside a vertical projection of the second one of the plurality of first openings, and the second one of the plurality of second openings is offset to be outside a vertical projection of the second one of the plurality of first openings.
Notes, the limitation of “to provide stress relief” directs to an intended use of the first opening. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Wu et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular;
wherein the first one of the plurality of second openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of second openings is semi- circular;
a semi-circle of the first one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi- circle of the first one of the plurality of first openings;
a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of first openings.
Kim et al. discloses in Fig. 11, Fig. 17
wherein a first one [150 or 150a] of a plurality of openings is semi-circular and a second one [154 or 150b] of the plurality of openings is semi-circular.
Daubenspeck et al. discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0026]-[0027]
wherein openings [32c] formed in a RDL [30] are semi-circular.
Daubenspeck et al. further suggests in Fig. 7 a suitable arrangement of offset openings including a semi-circle of one of a plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi- circle of one of a plurality of first openings.
Wu et al. suggests the first one of the plurality of second openings being offset with respect to the first one of the plurality of first openings; and the second one of the plurality of second openings being offset with respect to the second one of the plurality of first openings. Incorporating openings having semi-circle shape and arrangement of offset openings as suggested by Daubenspeck et al. and Kim et al. into Wu et al. would result to “a semi-circle of the first one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi- circle of the first one of the plurality of first openings; a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of first openings.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. and Daubenspeck et al. into the method of Wu et al. to include wherein the first one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of first openings is semi-circular; wherein the first one of the plurality of second openings is semi-circular and the second one of the plurality of second openings is semi-circular; a semi-circle of the first one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi- circle of the first one of the plurality of first openings; a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of first openings. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable shape of openings formed in an RDL and suitable arrangement of offset openings in plan view.
Regarding claim 26, Wu et al. suggests the first one of the plurality of second openings being offset with respect to the first one of the plurality of first openings; and the second one of the plurality of second openings being offset with respect to the second one of the plurality of first openings.
Daubenspeck et al. suggests in Fig. 7 a suitable arrangement of offset openings including a semi-circle of one of a plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi- circle of one of a plurality of first openings.
Incorporating openings having semi-circle shape and arrangement of offset openings as suggested by Daubenspeck et al. and Kim et al. into Wu et al. would result to “a semi-circle of the first one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi- circle of the first one of the plurality of first openings; a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of first openings.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al. and Daubenspeck et al. into the method of Wu et al. to include a semi-circle of the first one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi- circle of the first one of the plurality of first openings; a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of second openings being rotationally offset with respect to a semi-circle of the second one of the plurality of first openings. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable arrangement of offset openings in plan view to direct stresses away from the metal pads, wires and interconnects.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 11, 26-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893