DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Anspach (US 3334327).
Regarding claim 11: Anspach (Figures 1-2) teaches a contact terminal for a cable, the contact terminal comprising:
a first body portion (i.e. from 11 to far end of 14) defining a first diameter (i.e. diameter between 14 and 18), a first end (i.e. 14), and a second end (i.e. 11) opposite the first end, wherein the first body portion extends along a first distance between the first end and the second end; and
a second body portion (i.e. 10, 12, 13) extending from the first body portion and defining a second diameter (i.e. diameter of 12), wherein the second diameter is greater than the first diameter of the first body portion,
wherein the first body portion comprises a compressed section (i.e. portion between and including 14 and 18) that defines a channel (i.e. portion between 14 and 18) in the first body portion, the channel being configured to receive a bracket of a connecting device (i.e. as the portion between 14 and 18 is configured to receive).
Regarding claim 12: Anspach (Figures 1-2) teaches the contact terminal of claim 11, wherein the second body portion extends from the first end of the first body portion, and wherein the contact terminal further includes an annular projection (i.e. 11) extending from the first body portion, the annular projection being axially spaced apart from the second body portion.
Regarding claim 13: Anspach (Figures 1-2) teaches the contact terminal of claim 11, wherein the second body portion extends from the first end of the first body portion, and wherein the contact terminal further includes a third body portion (i.e. 17) extending from the second end of the first body portion, the third body portion being axially spaced apart from the second body portion by the first distance.
Regarding claim 14: Anspach (Figures 1-2) teaches the contact terminal of claim 11, wherein the second body portion extends from the second end of the first body portion (i.e. as in figure 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 15, and 19-20 allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 1 now includes the subject matter deemed allowable in the previous rejection. Regarding claim 15, applicant’s arguments are persuasive. The prior art of record does not teach a passage, and the first slot and the second slot being configured to receive the at least the portion of the contact terminal therein alone or in obvious combination with the remainder of the claim.
Claims 2-5, 9-10, and 19-20 allowed at least for their dependence on allowed claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at 571-272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GREGORY L MANGOT/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834