DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 69 depends on any of claims 1, 4, 6, 9 and adds a limitation that the patient has intact or impaired renal function. Those two options for renal function cover all possibilities, therefore claim 69 does not further limit claims on which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9, 48-51, 64-65, 68-70, 72, 74-77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anonymous (“Lumasiran in the treatment of primary hyperoxaluria type I in all age groups”, 14 July 2020, pages 1-3, cited from IDS) as evidenced by Hauptmann et al (WO 2018/185241, October 2018).
Concerning claims 1, 6, 48-51, 64, 70, 74 Anonymous disclose methods of treatment of primary hyperoxaluria type 1 in human subjects of body weight less than 10 kg (see page 2) by administering lumasiran through loading dose of 6 mg/kg once a month for 3 months and maintenance dose of 3 mg/kg once a month (see page 2). Lumasiran is a double-stranded RNA compound consisting of instant SEQ ID NOs: 213 and 330 and a ligand at 3’ end of sense strand identical to claimed in instant claims 49-51, 70, 72 as taught by Hauptmann (see pages 66-67). Anonymous do not specifically point out pediatric population treatment, but specifies that adults and children can be treated (see page 1), meaning that pediatric population can be treated by instant methods.
Concerning claim 4, 9, 72, 75 Anonymous disclose methods of treatment of primary hyperoxaluria type 1 in pediatric subjects of body weight of 10-20 kg (see page 2) by administering lumasiran through loading dose of 6 mg/kg once a month for 3 months and maintenance dose of 6 mg/kg once a month (see page 2).
Concerning claims 65, 76-77 Anonymous disclose pharmaceutical compositions comprising lumasiran (see page 1).
Concerning claim 68 Anonymous disclose subcutaneous administration of lumasiran (see page 2).
Concerning claim 69 the patient can have intact or impaired renal function, covering all possible states of renal function (see 112 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 48-51, 64-79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anonymous, above, as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 48-51, 64-65, 68-70, 72, 74-77, and in further view of Erbe (WO 2019/014491, January 2019, of record) and O'Hara (Aust Prescr., 2016, 39: 208-210, of record).
Teachings of Anonymous are discussed above.
Anonymous do not teach administration of further doses as in instant claims 2, 5, 7, 10, 71, 73, or administration of lumasiran in a salt form, or administration of additional therapeutic agent.
Erbe teaches methods of treatment of primary hyperoxaluria comprising administering double stranded RNAi agent that inhibits expression of HAO1 (see lines 10-15 on page 2), exemplifying the methods by administering double stranded siRNA AD-65585 with antisense strand of SEQ ID NO: 15 with all modified nucleotides (see lines 3-7 on page 101): usAfsuauUfuCfCfaggaUfgAfaagucscsa, wherein lower case letters refer to 2'-OMe modified nucleotides and nucleotides with "f" after nucleotide letter are 2'-F modified (see Table B), same as lumasiran (see lines 9-10 on page 105). Erbe teaches administration in a salt form (see lines 18-21 on page 84) and administration of additional therapeutic agents (see lines 8-11 on page 86).
O'Hara teach pharmacokinetics of drugs and drug doses in pediatric population based on child's age and weight (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve treatment taught by Anonymous by methods taught by Erbe and develop further administration treatments based on teachings of O’Hara. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Erbe discusses treatment of the same disease with the same compound and O’Hara provide teachings to further improve treatments such as additional administration of active compound.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 48-51, 64-79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,478,500 in view of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara, above. Claims from '500 recite the siRNA targeting HAO1 of the same sequence as lumasiran (see claim 19). Teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara are discussed above. It would have been obvious to treat pediatric subjects with siRNA from '500 with a treatment regimen as in instant claims based on teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 48-51, 64-79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,446,380 in view of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara, above. Claims from '380 recite the siRNA targeting HAO1 of the same sequence as lumasiran (see claim 1). Teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara are discussed above. It would have been obvious to treat pediatric subjects with siRNA from '380 with a treatment regimen as in instant claims based on teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14, 25, 48-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,261,447 in view of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara, above. Claims from '447 recite methods of treating of human subjects by limasiran (see claim 1). Teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify methods from '447 for treatment of pediatric subjects with a treatment regimen as in instant claims based on teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14, 25, 48-51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 18-28, 32-41 of copending Application No. 17/579655 in view of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara, above. Claims from '655 recite methods of treating of human subjects by lumasiran (see claim 1). Teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara are discussed above. It would have been obvious to modify methods from '655 for treatment of pediatric subjects with a treatment regimen as in instant claims based on teachings of Anonymous, Erbe and O'Hara.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection. It is noted though that Notice of Allowance was issued 04/20/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous rejections are withdrawn in view of new amendments, arguments are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 06/10/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637