DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previously raised claim rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Specifically, the new limitations in the independent claims define a ridge/fin-shaped waveguide core continuously extending along an entire waveguide length and across at least two electrode sections. As was noted in the Advisory Action of 6/23/26, such limitations would necessitate a new ground of rejections, for example, using a reference by Doerr (US 2023/0152662 A1) cited therein. Accordingly, the Examiner has applied the Doerr reference which, in combination with other prior art of record, teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the limitations recited by the amended claims, as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (US 2022/0278753 A1) in view of Akiyama (US 2015/0277158 A1, hereinafter Akiyama 2).
Regarding claim 1, Akiyama discloses (Figs. 15, 16, 18, and 26; para. 0085 – 0090 and 0164 – 0187) an optical digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 13 (“a digital analogue convertor (DAC) 13” at para. 0075), comprising (with reference to Fig. 18):
a first waveguide path 15A1 configured to receive a first optical signal (from the upper branch of a branch unit 22);
a second waveguide path 15B1 configured to receive a second optical signal (from the lower branch of the branch unit 22; “The optical waveguide 14 includes an input unit 21, a branch unit 22, a multiplexing unit 23, and an output unit 24. The input unit 21 inputs an optical signal (continuous wave (CW) light) from a light source 2. The branch unit 22 branches an optical signal from the input unit 21 to each of the arms 15. The two arms 15 are, for example, a Mach-Zehnder (MZ) interferometer including an upper arm 15A1 and a lower arm 151B, for example” at para. 0087);
a first phase shifter segment 16B interfacing with the first waveguide path 15A1 (by the upper portion of 16B) and the second waveguide path 15B1 (by the lower portion of 16B), wherein the first phase shifter segment 16B comprises a first pair of junctions (between a pair of P doped regions and a respective pair of N doped regions) respectively having a first length L2 (as identified in Fig. 18), and wherein the first pair of junctions is configured to receive a first digital input B2 (output by a first voltage conversion unit 17B as a sequence of 0s and 1s, as shown in Fig. 3; para. 0077) to selectively generate a first phase shift f2 (para. 0092 – 0094) between the first optical signal (in 15A1) and the second optical signal (in 15B1) in response to the first digital input B1, wherein the first phase shifter segment 16B comprises a first n-doped (upper) region and a first p-doped (lower) region (as shown in Fig. 18), the first n-doped (upper) region contacting the first p-doped (lower) region along a first (horizontal) interface that continuously extends for the first length L2;
a second phase shifter segment 16A interfacing with the first waveguide path 15A1 (by the upper portion of 16A) and the second waveguide path 15B1 (by the lower portion of 16A), wherein the second phase shifter segment 16A comprises a second pair of junctions (between a pair of P doped regions and a respective pair of N doped regions) respectively having a second length L2, and wherein the second pair of junctions is configured to receive a second digital input B1 (output by a first voltage conversion unit 17A as a sequence of 0s and 1s, as shown in Fig. 3) to selectively generate a second phase shift f1 (para. 0092 – 0094) between the first optical signal (in 15A1) and the second optical signal (in 15B1) in response to the second digital input B1, wherein the second phase shifter segment 16A is separated from the first phase shifter segment 16B along a first (horizontal) direction (as shown in Fig. 18) and comprises a second n-doped (upper) region and a second p-doped (lower) region, the second n-doped (upper) region contacting the second p-doped (lower) region along a second (horizontal) interface that continuously extends for the second length L1 (as identified in Fig. 18), and
wherein the first digital input B1 and the second digital B2 input correspond to different bits of a digital signal B1 – B4 (as shown in Fig. 3; “The encoder 12 converts a first bit value b1 of the bit string data signal into a first bit value B1 in the modulation input code. The encoder 12 converts a second bit value b2 in the bit string data signal into a second bit value B.sub.2 in the modulation input code” at para. 0076; “The first phase shifter 16A of the upper arm 15A1 performs intensity modulation of an optical signal with the data signal of the first bit value B1 from the first voltage conversion unit 17A. Furthermore, the first phase shifter 16A of the lower arm 15B1 performs intensity modulation of an optical signal with the data signal of the first bit value B1 after the inversion from the first voltage conversion unit 17A. The second phase shifter 16B of the upper arm 15A1 performs intensity modulation of the optical signal with the data signal of the second bit value B2 from the second voltage conversion unit 17B” at para. 0099; also para. 0077).
Akiyama illustrates, by way of example but not limitation, several embodiments with different ratios of the length of the three phase shifters 16A,16B,16C (e.g., “Note that a ratio of the electrode lengths L1:L2:L3 is, for example, 20:21:22” at para. 0059; “In the optical modulator 3, a ratio of the electrode length L1 of the first phase shifter 16A, the electrode length L2 of the second phase shifter 16B, and the electrode length L.sub.3 of the third phase shifter 16C is set to, for example, L1:L2:L3 =21:34:45 so as to make the electric field intensities for the respective signal levels (1 to 8) at equal intervals” at para. 0098). Akiyama renders obvious that other L3:L2:L1 ratios can be used (e.g., 3:2:1), depending on a particular intended distribution of electric field intensities (as long as L3 > L2 > L1) and relative amplitudes of the different bits of the digital signal. For example, L3/L1 = 45/21 ≈ 2 is cited at para. 0098 and meets the limitation by a simple remapping of L3 to L2.
While Akiyama generally renders obvious, as a matter of trivial/common knowledge in the art, that the junctions/interfaces between the oppositely doped (P and N) regions 16A,16B,16C in Figs. 15 and 18 are p-n junctions, Akiyama does not (i) expressly name such interfaces as p-n junctions. Akiyama also does not illustrate (ii) a suitable/workable waveguide type, such as a ridge/fin-type waveguide, for the first and second waveguide paths 15A1,15B1. However, Doerr provides features (i) and (ii), as detailed below.
As for feature (i), Doerr discloses (Figs. 1 and 2; para. 0022 – 0035) an electro-optic converter that has essential structural features (of a waveguide Mach-Zehnder interferometer) similar to those in Akiyama and comprises oppositely doped (P and N) regions 234/230 and 236/232 that contact each other along a first interface (vertical interface in Fig. 2) that continuously extends for a length (as seen in Figs. 2 and 7). Doerr expressly names junctions of such oppositely doped (P and N) regions as p-n junctions (e.g., para. 0031 and 0035).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the junctions/interfaces between the oppositely doped (P and N) regions 16A,16B,16C in Akiyama are p-n junctions, as generally renders obvious by Akiyama and expressly named by Doerr, as needed for proper operation of the device/modulator (i.e., electro-optic phase modulation in each waveguide arm, as detailed at para. 0034 and 0035 of Doerr).
As for feature (ii), Doerr illustrates a transverse cross-section of the Mach-Zehnder interferometer arms (first and second waveguide paths) 202,204 and shows that a phase shifter segment in the first waveguide path 202 comprises an n-doped region 230 and a p-doped region 234 arranged within a fin/ridge 203 of semiconductor material (e.g., silicon; para. 0030) having a first (right vertical) sidewall (of the ridge) along the n-doped region 230 and an opposing second (left vertical) sidewall along the p-doped region 234. The second waveguide path 204 has the same structure as the waveguide path 202 and meets the corresponding recited limitations.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first and second waveguide paths 15A1,15B1 in Akiyama can be formed by fin/ridge-type waveguides, as a suitable/workable waveguide type that provides the benefits of light confinement within the fin/ridge (as needed for waveguiding), an efficient push-pull modulation (para. 0026 of Doerr) and the option to balance a trade-off between optical loss and modulation bandwidth (para. 0038 and 0041 of Doerr).
Doerr also teachers (para. 0033) that the electrodes 224,226 can form phase shifter segments similar to how it is illustrated in Fig. 7 which shows that the right of each waveguide path 702,704 extends continuously along the first (horizonal/longitudinal) direction between all phase shifter segments. Thus, the Akiyama – Doerr combination considers that the fin/ridge of semiconductor material and the first sidewall continuously extending along the first direction between the first phase shifter segment and the second phase shifter segment.
In light of the foregoing analysis, the Akiyama – Doerr combination teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the recited limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Akiyama expressly teaches (Figs. 2 and 18) a beam splitter 21,22 arranged upstream of the first (leftmost) phase shifter segment 16A and the second phase shifter segment 16B, wherein the beam splitter has a coupling ratio of 1:2 (a single input “CW light” is split into two paths; para. 0087); and
a beam combiner 23,24 disposed downstream (to the right) of the first phase shiter segment 16A and the second phase shifter segment 16B and configured to combine the first optical signal (in 15A1) and the second optical signal (in 15B1) to generate an optical output signal (“Modulation Output”) having a plurality of different optical output powers corresponding to different values the digital signal B1 – B3 (as shown in Figs. 6, 7, 9, 11, and 12; para. 0091 – 0096).
Regarding claim 3, the Akiyama – Doerr combination considers that the fin/ridge of semiconductor material (corresponding to 203 and 207 in Fig. 2 of Doerr) has a topmost surface that continuously extends in the first longitudinal) direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1 and perpendicular to the plane of Fig. 2) between the first phase shifter segment and the second phase shifter segment (as suggested by Fig. 18 of Akiyama and Figs. 2 and 7 of Doerr).
Regarding claim 4, the Akiyama – Doerr combination the first p-doped region and the first n-second doped region respectively can comprise U-shaped regions, as viewed in a cross-sectional view (as shown in the cross-sectional view of Fig. 2 of Doerr), the U-shaped regions that contacting one another along maximum heights of the U-shaped regions and the U-shaped regions being symmetric about an interface between the U-shaped regions.
Regarding claim 5, the Akiyama – Doerr combination considers (e.g., Fig. 18 of Akiyama; Fig. 1 of Doerr) the contemplated DAC further comprises an optical splitter upstream (21,22 in Fig. 18 of Akiyama) of the first phase shifter segment 16B and the second phase shifter segment 16A, wherein the first length L2 is greater than the second length L1. While Fig. 18 shows, by way of illustration but not limitation, the phase shifter segments are arranged with monotonically increasing lengths L1-L4, the phase shifter segments can be rearranged in any sequence, because the total/cumulative phase modulation produced by them is additive and does not depend on a particular order in which phase shifter segments are arranged along the optical paths 15A1,15B1. In particular, the first phase shifter segment 16B may be placed closer to the optical splitter 21,22 than the second phase shifter segment 16A, as a suitable design choice.
Regarding claim 7, the Akiyama – Doerr combination considers (e.g., Fig. 18 of Akiyama; Figs. 1 and 2 of Doerr) interconnection wires that are formed to establish electrical connections to the doped regions, as needed for proper operation, and covers a variety of other suitable/workable electrical layouts, including the recited one, which would be routine to a person of ordinary skill in the art of optical waveguide modulators (which is noted as being high). In Fig. 2 of Doerr, the p-doped regions 234,236 can be transposed with respective the n-doped regions 230,232 without changing the principle of operation. In this case, a first (e.g., left) interconnect wire 216 is to be connected to the first n-doped region 230 (flipped/transposed with 234) of a first (left) p-n junction 212 of the first pair of p-n junctions 212,214 (para. 0031), a second (middle) interconnect wire 228 connected to the first p-doped region of the first p-n junction 212 and to a third p-third doped region of a second p-n junction 214 of the first pair of p-n junctions 212,214 (according to Fig.2 of Doerr wherein the p-doped regions 234,236 can be transposed with respective the n-doped regions 230,232 without changing the principle of operation). As seen in Fig. 2, the middle region is wider than the left and right regions and can accommodate a wider interconnect wire. The Examiner takes official notice that multi-part interconnect wires are well known in the art of electrical connections for electro-optic modulators. Such multi-part interconnect wires would be obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art as a suitable/workable design choice and can reduce electrical/ohmic resistance (due to its wider width/cross-section).
As an aside, it is also noted that the cross-section in Fig. 2 of Doerr has essential features (two U-shaped waveguide cross-sections, each having a vertical PN junction) substantially similar/identical to those in Fig. 4B of the instant application. The middle portion can be formed as a single/combined portion (as in Fig 2 of Doerr) or be split in two (as in Fig. 4B of the instant application), as matter of suitable/workable design choices.
Regarding claim 8, Akiyama expressly teaches (Fig. 18) that the optical DAC 13 further l1comprises:
a third phase shifter segment 16C in communication with the first waveguide path 15A1 and the second waveguide path 15B1 and disposed downstream (to the right) of the second phase shifter segment 16B, the third phase shifter segment 16C being configured to selectively generate a third phase shift f3 (para. 0092 – 0094) between the first optical signal (in 15A1) and the second optical signal (in 15B1) in response to a third digital input B3 (from a third voltage conversion unit 17C).
Regarding claim 9, Akiyama illustrates, by way of example but not limitation, several embodiments with different ratios of the length of the three phase shifters 16A,16B,16C (e.g., “Note that a ratio of the electrode lengths L1:L2:L3 is, for example, 20:21:22” at para. 0059; “In the optical modulator 3, a ratio of the electrode length L1 of the first phase shifter 16A, the electrode length L2 of the second phase shifter 16B, and the electrode length L.sub.3 of the third phase shifter 16C is set to, for example, L1:L2:L3 =21:34:45 so as to make the electric field intensities for the respective signal levels (1 to 8) at equal intervals” at para. 0098). Akiyama renders obvious that other L3:L2:L1 ratios can be used (e.g., 3:2:1), depending on a particular intended distribution of electric field intensities (as long as L3 > L2 > L1) and relative amplitudes of the different bits of the digital signal.
Regarding claim 10, the Examiner takes official notice that Z/S-shaped electrodes (as in Fig. 4A of the instant application) are very) well known in the art of waveguide modulators. Such design choice would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and allows the electrical input and the electrical output to be disposed on the opposite side of a substrate in which a device/modulator is formed and thereby provide more space for each of the electrical input and the electrical output.
Regarding claim 11, Akiyama expressly teaches (Figs. 18 and 26) that the optical DAC 13 in Fig. 18 can be comprised in a more complex layout in Fig. 26 (IQ modulator) that comprises a tandem of the optical DACs 13 in Fig. 18 (the upper DAC 13A and the lower DAC 13B).
The lower DAC 13B has the same structure as that of the upper DAC 13A and comprises:
a third waveguide path 15A2 configured to receive a third optical signal (para. 0223);
a fourth waveguide path 15B2 configured to receive a fourth optical signal (para. 0223);
a third phase shifter segment (the 16A of 13B) in communication with the third waveguide path 15A2 and the fourth waveguide path 15B2, the third phase shifter segment being configured to selectively generate a third phase shift between the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal in response to a third digital input
B
1
Q
; and
a fourth phase shifter segment (the 16B of 13B) in communication with the third waveguide path 15A2 and the fourth waveguide path 15B2, the fourth phase shifter segment being configured to selectively generate a fourth phase shift between the third optical signal and the fourth optical signal in response to a fourth digital input
B
2
Q
.
Regarding claim 12, Akiyama expressly teaches (Fig. 26) that the first waveguide path 15A1 and the second waveguide path 15B1 are arranged in parallel to the third waveguide path 15A2 and the fourth waveguide path 15B2.
Claims 6, 13, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Doerr, in view of Srinivasan et al (US 2021/0405499 A1), and further in view of Sobu et al (US 2022/0311534 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Akiyama teaches that the phase difference f0 between the first waveguide path 15A1 and the second waveguide path 15B1 (the two waveguides being the arms of a Mach-Zehnder interferometer) can be different from zero, e.g., 90o (Fig. 6; para. 0091 – 0094). While Akiyama does not expressly teach that such (bias) phase shift can be implemented by using different lengths of the Mach-Zehnder interferometer arms, this design choice is well known in the art. For example, Srinivasan discloses (Fig. 1; para. 0020 – 0023) a Mach-Zehnder interferometer 103 comprising two waveguide arms 107,109 that have a phase difference of 90o between them and expressly teaches that the phase difference is implemented by using a length difference/asymmetry between the two waveguide arms 107,109, the length difference/ asymmetry being due to an extension DL that gives a second (lower) waveguide path 109 a longer path length than a first (upper) waveguide path 107.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first waveguide path in Akiyama can be configured, in accordance with the teachings of Srinivasan, to have a different (e.g., smaller) path length than the second waveguide path due to an extension DL in the second waveguide path, in order to create a non-zero phase bias phase difference f0, as intended by Akiyama.
The Akiyama – Doerr – Srinivasan combination considers an extension DL in the second waveguide path to preset (in the design) a non-zero phase bias phase difference f0 (e.g., 90o) and a heater (18A1,18B1 in Fig. 18 of Akiyama) configured to heat a part of the second waveguide path to a higher temperature than the first waveguide path and thereby fine-tune the preset non-zero phase bias phase difference f0 after fabrication and during operation, e.g., to compensate for fabrication tolerances and temperature variations.
The Akiyama – Doerr – Srinivasan combination renders obvious that the heater can be disposed at any location/space available along the second waveguide and, in particular, above the extension in order to minimize the space/length collectively taken up by the extension and the heater. While the Akiyama – Akiyama2 – Srinivasan combination does not illustrate such design choice, Sobu discloses (Figs. 10, 18, and 19; para. 0077 – 0079) an asymmetric Mach-Zehnder interferometer (the same type as that in Fig. 1 of Srinivasan) that comprises two waveguides of different lengths due to extensions (shaped as loops similar to the loop DL in Fig. 1 of Srinivasan), wherein the heaters H are each disposed above a corresponding extension. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the heater can be disposed above the extension, as a suitable/workable design choice that is generally rendered obvious by the Akiyama – Doerr – Srinivasan combination and explicitly illustrated by Sobu.
Regarding claim 13, the teachings of Akiyama, Doerr, Srinivasan, and Sobu combine (see the arguments and motivation for combining, as provided above for claims 1 and 6) to teach expressly or render obvious all of the recited limitations, as detailed above for claims 1 and 6. Specifically, the Akiyama – Doerr – Srinivasan – Sobu (ADSS) combination considers an optical digital-to-analog converter (DAC), comprising (with reference to Fig. 18 of Akiyama):
a first phase shifter segment 16B comprising a first plurality of (P and N) doped regions extending over a first length L2, the first plurality of doped regions forming a first p-n junction (in the upper portion of 16B) and a second p-n junction (in the lower portion of 16B), wherein the first p-n junction comprises an n-doped region contacting a p-doped region along a first interface that continuously extends for a first length, wherein the n-doped region is along a first sidewall of a fin of semiconductor material and the p-doped region is along an opposing second sidewall of the fin of semiconductor material, and wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall are substantially parallel to the interface (as detailed above for claim 1);
a second phase shifter segment 16A comprising a second plurality of doped regions extending over a second length L1 that is different than the first length L2, the second plurality of doped regions forming a third p-n junction (in the upper portion of 16A) and a fourth p-n junction (in the lower portion of 16A);
a first (upper) waveguide path 15A1 having a first path length and extending through the first p-n junction and the third p-n junction (as seen in Fig. 18); and
a second (lower) waveguide path 15B1 having a second path length and extending through the second p-n junction and the fourth p-n junction (as seen in Fig. 18), the second path length being larger than the first path length (according to the teachings of Srinivasan, as detailed above for claim 6), wherein the first waveguide path (or the second wave path for that matter) comprises an extension (DL in Fig. 1 of Srinivasan) that gives the first waveguide path a longer path length than the second waveguide path; and
a heater is disposed along the extension (generally rendered obvious by the ADSS combination and explicitly illustrated by Sobu).
The ADSS combination considers that the third p-n junction comprises an n-doped region contacting a p-doped region along a second interface that continuously extends for a second length, a ratio of the first length to the second length being approximately 2:1 (as detailed above for claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, the ADSS combination considers that the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the fin of semiconductor material continuously extend past the first phase shifter segment and the second phase shifter segment (as detailed above for claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Akiyama teaches (Fig. 18) that the first p-n junction (within the upper portion of 16A) is separated from the second p-n junction (within the lower) portion of 16A) along a first (vertical) direction and wherein the first phase shifter segment 16A is separated from the second phase shifter segment 16B along a second (horizontal) direction that is perpendicular to the first (vertical) direction.
Regarding claim 18, the ADSS combination teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the recited limitations, as detailed above for claim 10.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Doerr, in view of Srinivasan, in view of Sobu, and further in view of Sonkoly et al (US 11,164,893 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Akiyama teaches (Fig. 18) electrical connections between a voltage source 11,12 and the (P and N) doped regions, but does not detail a suitable/workable structure for them. However, Sonkoly discloses (Figs. 1 and 2; 2:28 – 3:18) an optical modulator comprising an optical waveguide 108 that can comprise a p-n junction and is modulated by a voltage provided by a signal pad (identified as 208 in Fig. 2) coupled to the first p-n junction by an interconnect structure 114,118,116 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the optical DAC of Akiyama can further comprise a plurality of signal pads that each are coupled to a respective p-n junction by a respective interconnect structure, as a suitable/workable structure that is illustrated by Sonkoly and provides electrical connections between the voltage source 11,12 and the (P and N) doped regions.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Doerr in view of Srinivasan, in view of Sobu, and further in view of Li et al (US 2010/0247029 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the Akiyama – Doerr – Srinivasan – Sobu combination considers a plurality of interconnects (17 in Figs. 1 and 5 of Akiyama2) and the heater (18 in Fig. 18 of Akiyama), but does not detail their relative placement. However, Li discloses (Fig. 8; para. 0063 – 0069) an electro-optic modulator 800 comprising:
a plurality of interconnects 418 arranged within a dielectric layer 416 (as identified in Fig. 7) over a substrate 410, the plurality of interconnects 418 being coupled to a p-n junction (within an optical waveguide 414; as detailed in Fig. 1 and at para. 0037); and
wherein a heater 710 is arranged vertically between the waveguide 414 and the plurality of interconnects 418-1,418-3, as shown in Fig. 8.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the plurality of interconnects and the heater of the Akiyama – Doerr – Srinivasan – Sobu combination can be disposed as illustrated by Li, so that the heater is placed in a space defined by the interconnects and in proximity of the waveguide which ensures higher/improved thermo-optic efficiency.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Doerr, and further in view of Rakowski et al (US 2022/0252910 A1).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Akiyama teaches (Fig. 18) that the disclosed optical DAC 13 comprises p-doped and n-doped regions, but does not detail a suitable/workable method for making them. However, Rakowski discloses (Figs. 1 – 4; para. 0018 – 0023) an optical modulator comprising an optical waveguide core 12 with a p-n junction created by doped regions 28,30. Rakowski expressly teaches that the doped regions 28,30 can be formed by an implantation process.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the doped regions in the DAC of Akiyama can be formed by a implantation process as a suitable/workable method for forming doped regions that as expressly identified by Rakowski.
The Akiyama – Doerr – Rakowski combination considers a method of forming an optical DAC, comprising:
performing a first implantation process to implant dopants with a first (e.g., N) doping type into a substrate (the top silicon layer of an SOI substrate, as taught by Rakowski; para. 0022) to form a first pair of doped regions (the pair of N-doped regions in the phase shifter 16A in Fig. 18 of Akiyama) and a second pair of doped regions (the pair of N-doped regions in the phase shifter 16B);
performing a second implantation process (with a different implantation mask) to implant dopants with a second (P) doping type into the substrate to form a third pair of doped regions (the pair of P-doped regions in the phase shifter 16A in Fig. 18 of Akiyama) and a fourth pair of doped regions (the pair of P-doped regions in the phase shifter 16B) (“The doped regions 28, 29 may be concurrently formed in the waveguide cores 12, 14 by a masked ion implantation process, and the doped regions 30, 31 may be concurrently formed in the waveguide cores 12, 14 by a separate masked ion implantation process” at para. 0019 of Rakowski), the third pair of doped regions abutting the first pair of doped regions along a first pair of PN junctions (within the phase shifter 16A) respectively having a first length L1 (as identified in Fig. 18) and the fourth pair of doped regions abutting the second pair of doped regions along a second pair of PN junctions (within the phase shifter 16B) respectively having a second length L2; and
patterning the substrate to form a first waveguide path 15A1 with a first path length and a second waveguide path 15A2 with a second path length, the first waveguide path and the second waveguide path respectively extending through one of the first pair of PN junctions and one of the second pair of PN junctions (as seen in Fig. 18), and
forming a first (middle) interconnect that is coupled to a first doped region of a first PN junction and a first doped region of a second PN junction, the first pair of PN junctions comprising the first PN junction and the second PN junction, wherein the first interconnect extends along a first direction past opposing sides of the first PN junction and further extends along a second direction from the first PN junction to the second PN junction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (as detailed above for claims 1 and 7), and
forming a second (outer) interconnect coupled to a second doped region of the first PN junction, the second interconnect having a smaller width along the second direction than the first interconnect.
Finally, the Akiyama – Doerr – Rakowski combination renders obvious that a ratio of the first length to the second length can be approximately equal to 2:1, as detailed above for claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0025615 A1 Fig. 3
/ROBERT TAVLYKAEV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896