DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2015/0195608) in view Arseneau et al. (US 2007/0022447), and further in view of Rekstad et al. (US 2020/0021880).
Claim 1, Kang teaches a computer-implemented method for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the method comprising:
splitting a video into an audio stream and a video stream (p. 0062);
identifying time points at which there is no sound in the audio stream and deriving pause gaps in the audio stream (i.e. audio silence detector) (p. 0091, 0164);
Kang is not entirely clear in teaching a computer-implemented method for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the method comprising:
applying a binary classifier to predict sound presence or absence in frames of the video stream and deriving pause gaps in the video stream;
identifying desynchronization between the pause gaps in the video stream and the pause gaps in the audio stream; and
aligning the pause gaps in the video stream with the pause gaps in the audio stream, based on metadata of the pause gaps in the video stream.
Arseneau teaches the specific features of:
applying a binary classifier to predict sound presence or absence in frames of the video stream and deriving pause gaps in the video stream (i.e. binary value for silence or speech) (p. 0120);
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective invention was filed to have provided detecting silence as taught by Arseneau to the system of Kang to save processing time of encoding (p. 0120).
Rekstad teaches the specific feature of:
identifying desynchronization between the pause gaps (i.e. audio silence) in the video stream (i.e. GOPs are scene changes which are pause gaps) and the pause gaps in the audio stream (i.e. audio silence) (p. 0024-0026); and
aligning the pause gaps in the video stream with the pause gaps in the audio stream, based on metadata (i.e. GOPs may be sent as metadata) of the pause gaps in the video stream (i.e. verification of the temporal alignment) (p. 0024-0027).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective invention was filed to have provided aligning streams as taught by Rekstad to the system of Kang to provide synchronization (p. 0024).
Claim 5, Kang teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
feeding the video stream into the binary classifier (i.e. scene change detection) to obtain binary values which indicate whether the sound presence or absence in the frames of the video stream (i.e. using black frames) (p. 0192).
Claim 6, Kang is silent regarding the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein, by aligning the pause gaps in the video stream with the pause gaps in the audio stream, the video stream and the audio stream are synchronized.
Rekstad teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein, by aligning the pause gaps in the video stream with the pause gaps in the audio stream, the video stream and the audio stream are synchronized (i.e. verification of the temporal alignment) (p. 0024-0027).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective invention was filed to have provided aligning streams as taught by Rekstad to the system of Kang to provide synchronization (p. 0024).
Claim 7 recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 1.
Kang inherently discloses recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 1.
Kang inherently discloses recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 3.
Claim 11 recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 5.
Kang inherently discloses recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 5.
Claim 12 recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 6.
Kang inherently discloses recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 6.
Claim 13 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 17 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 5.
Claim 18 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 6.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2015/0195608) in view Arseneau et al. (US 2007/0022447), and further in view of Rekstad et al. (US 2020/0021880), and further in view of Ishtiaq et al. (US 2015/0082349).
Claim 2, Kang teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
splitting a training video (i.e. audio or video) into a training audio stream and a training video stream (p. 0062);
identifying time points at which there is no sound in the training audio stream and deriving pause gaps in the training audio stream (i.e. audio silence detector) (p. 0091, 0164).
Kang is not entirely clear in teaching The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting the training audio stream into a binary stream with sound flags identifying the time points; and
using the sound flags and frames in the training video stream to train the binary classifier.
Ishtiaq teaches The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
converting the training audio stream into a binary stream with sound flags identifying the time points (i.e. periods of silence) (p. 0117); and
using the sound flags (i.e. periods of silence) and frames in the training video stream to train the binary classifier (i.e. training modules to detect audio features) (p. 0117)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective invention was filed to have provided detection of audio features as taught by Ishtiaq to the system of Kang to determine periods of silence in the audio stream (p. 0117).
Claim 3, Kang is silent regarding the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the training video is a normal video which has no desynchronization of the training audio stream and the training video stream.
Ishtiaq teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the training video is a normal video which has no desynchronization of the training audio stream and the training video stream (i.e. trained models come from normal audio and vide content) (p. 0115-0117, 0129).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective invention was filed to have provided detection of audio features as taught by Ishtiaq to the system of Kang to determine periods of silence in the audio stream (p. 0117).
Claim 8 recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 2.
Kang inherently discloses recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 2.
Claim 9 recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 3.
Claim 14 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 2.
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2015/0195608) in view Arseneau et al. (US 2007/0022447), and further in view of Rekstad et al. (US 2020/0021880), and Kumar et al. (US 2024/0098346).
Claim 4, Kang is silent regarding the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein training the binary classifier is through supervised machine learning.
Kumar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein training the binary classifier is through supervised machine learning (p. 0036).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective invention was filed to have provided machine learning for scene detection as taught by Kumar to the system of Kang to allow boundary locations to be identified (p. 0036).
Claim 10 recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 4.
Kang inherently discloses recites “A computer program product for synchronizing audio and video using pause gap analysis, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therewith” for performing the steps of claim 4.
Claim 16 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 4.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2015/0195608) in view Arseneau et al. (US 2007/0022447), and further in view of Rekstad et al. (US 2020/0021880), and Kumar et al. (US 2024/0098346).
Claim 19, Kang is silent regarding the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the metadata includes video frame sequence numbers and lengths of the pause gaps.
Barger teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the metadata includes video frame sequence numbers (i.e. frames for segment that is bring segmented) and lengths of the pause gaps (i.e. set amount of time) (p. 0053-0056).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective invention was filed to have provided metadata for silence detection and scene change detection as taught by Berger to the system of Kang to segment long media (p. 0054).
Claim 20 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 11/4/2026