DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12/03/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 – 6, 9, 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanei et al. (US 5825632 A) in view of Kitazawa et al. (JP 2005101368 A, “Kitazawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Tanei discloses (Fig. 16, and 17) a multilayer structure (17) having a main surface (8), the multilayer structure comprising: a first conductor (10) extending in parallel with the main surface; a second conductor (see annotated figure below) extending in parallel with the main surface and disposed at a different position from the first conductor with respect to a thickness direction of the multilayer structure (see annotated figure below); and a third conductor (9) having a shape of which a longest direction thereof is any direction other than the direction perpendicular to the main surface, wherein within a range higher than a lower end of the third conductor and lower than an upper end of the third conductor in the thickness direction of the multilayer structure, at least a part of the first conductor is included and at least a part of the second conductor is included (see annotated figure below).
Tanei is silent on a shape of which a longest direction thereof is any direction other than the direction perpendicular to the main surface.
However, Kitazawa discloses (Fig. 1a - c) a shape (For the third conductor 5) of which a longest direction thereof is any direction other than the direction perpendicular to the main surface (See Fig. 1b).
Tanei and Kitazawa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of circuit board. Therefore, making the shape of the conductor 9 of Tanei a shape of which a longest direction thereof is any direction other than the direction perpendicular to the main surface would involve the mere addition or replacement of a well-known feature, and would not achieve any new effect, and thus could be addressed easily by a person skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Tanei in view of Kitazawa discloses the multilayer structure according to claim 1, wherein Tanei further discloses within the range higher than the lower end of the third conductor and lower than the upper end of the third conductor in the thickness direction of the multilayer structure, the first conductor is entirely included and the second conductor is entirely included (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 5, Tanei in view of Kitazawa discloses the multilayer structure according to claim 1, wherein Tanei further discloses the multilayer structure is a multilayer substrate (see Col. 9, lines: 63 - 64).
Regarding claim 6, Tanei in view of Kitazawa discloses the multilayer structure according to claim 1, wherein Tanei further discloses the multilayer structure is an electronic component (see Claim 1, and Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 9, Tanei in view of Kitazawa discloses the multilayer structure according to claim 1, wherein Tanei further discloses the third conductor is not exposed to an outer surface of the multilayer structure (See annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 14, Tanei in view of Kitazawa discloses the multilayer structure according to claim 2, wherein Tanei further discloses the multilayer structure is a multilayer substrate (see Col. 9, lines: 63 - 64).
Regarding claim 17, Tanei in view of Kitazawa discloses the multilayer structure according to claim 2, wherein Tanei further discloses the multilayer structure is an electronic component (see Claim 1, and Fig. 17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDI M MAIGA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847