Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 2, 2023, November 11, 2024, August 6, 2025, & September 8, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 24, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 24, 2026, hereafter referred to as the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-10, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi (US 2016/0294019 A1), in view of Brockman (US 2015/0318724 A1), claims 13 & 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi, in view of Brockman, and further in view of DeSalle (US 2017/0148280 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Phares (US 2022/0407129 A1) in view of Biderman et al. (US 2020/0114753 A1), to properly address the amended limitations, requiring a separate portable monitor housing with an internal controller, memory and power source, and Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10, filed June 24, 206, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 2, which depends on base claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi (US 2016/0294019 A1), in view of Brockman (US 2015/0318724 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Phares, and Biderman, to properly address the amended limitations, further requiring “the power signal line connecting the power source to the battery management system of the selected high voltage battery pack when the battery pack connector is electrically connected to the low-voltage battery management interface of the battery pack management system,” and Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot. Please see updated mapping for dependent claim 2 below, which further discloses the amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 10-11, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 3, which depends from claim 2 “(and thus from claim 1)”, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi (US 2016/0294019 A1), in view of Brockman (US 2015/0318724 A1), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Phares, and Biderman, to properly address the amended limitations in base claim 1 and dependent claim 2, and the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments presented. The argument points out that relying on Brockman’s connector 174/178 is flawed because that connector is part of the battery housing, and not a diagnostic port located on the separate, handheld battery pack monitor. This argument only defeats the previous Yamauchi/Brockman combination. Shifting to the new combination of Pares in view of Biderman and Brockman, the Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot. The new 103 combination establishes that the portable monitor housing and its internal controller are taught by Biderman’s mobile device/controller and can use Biderman’s explicit teaching of a “diagnostic connector” integrated directly into the same control board. Biderman specifically discloses that its hardware interface (on the monitor side) includes a “diagnostic connector” that taps directly into the CAN bus (the communication signal line). Places the diagnostic connector exactly on the battery pack monitor itself. With the new combination of Phares/Biderman, claim 3 would be remapped as follows: “further comprising a diagnostic connector operably connectable to a battery diagnostic tool,” ([0679], [0685], [0723], [0804], [0822], [0826]-[0827], & [0834]: discloses that the control system’s “hardware interface 1432” includes “input ports, data ports” that “permit the plug in of other sensors, hardware devices, and/or peripherals” (such as a battery diagnostic tool), and states these interfaces include “a diagnostic connector”). Further, the mapping includes, “the diagnostic connector being connected to the communication signal line of the battery pack connector”, ([0822], [0824], [0826]-[0828], [0965], [0970]-[0971]: discloses that the hardware interfaces, including the diagnostic connector, are configured to “provide communication with the main control board 1450”. Biderman further discloses that this connection utilizes a “controller area network (CAN bus) interface 1436 integrated into the connection” for data transfer, linking the diagnostic connector directly to the communication signal line). A POSITA would have found it obvious to modify the portable battery monitor of Phares, Biderman, and Brockman by including a diagnostic connector operably connectable to a battery diagnostic tool, wherein the diagnostic connector is connected to the communication signal line of the battery pack connector as taught by Biderman. The motivation to provide this secondary diagnostic connector on the portable monitor is to allow specialized external computing devices or secondary diagnostic peripherals to interface with the monitor and access the main communication bus without having to sever the monitor’s connection to the high-voltage battery pack. This modification represents the application of a known technique to improve similar devices, specifically adding a secondary diagnostic data port or pass-through to a primary monitoring tool. This combination yields the predictable variation of a monitor that can simultaneously evaluate the battery and relay raw communication data to a secondary external diagnostic tool.
Further, pg. 11 of Applicant’s remarks, state “it is not a diagnostic connector on a separate, handheld monitor whose battery pack connector receives battery management system state information through a wired low-voltage interface.” In response to the Applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which the Applicant relies (i.e., “it is not a diagnostic connector on a separate, handheld monitor whose battery pack connector receives battery management system state information through a wired low-voltage interface”) are not recited in the rejected claim 3. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Circ. 1993). Please see MPEP 2111.01 and 2111. For the reasoning presented above, the rejection of claim 3 is respectively maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 11-12, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 12, which depends from claim 1, as well as independent claims 13 & 19, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi (US 2016/0294019 A1), in view of Brockman (US 2015/0318724 A1), and further in view of DeSalle et al. (US 2017/0148280 A1), stating that the claims are allowable because the cited prior art references allegedly fail to teach a standalone, handheld battery pack monitor having a wired battery interface to the battery management system interface of a selected high voltage battery pack, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Phares, and Biderman, to properly address the amended limitations in base claims 1, 13, & 19, and dependent claim 12, and the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments presented. Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot by the newly formulated grounds of rejection for the base claims. The base limitations of a standalone, handheld battery pack monitor equipped with a wired battery interface are fully and properly disclosed by the combination of the new prior art references, Phares and Biderman. Specifically, Phares discloses the external monitoring hub and the wired CANBUS connection to the battery pack management system, while Biderman discloses implementing external diagnostic tools within a handheld, portable mobile device housing having its own power source and a hard-wired interface. Since the base limitation of claim 1 is fully met by Phares in view of Biderman, and further in view of Brockman for the multi-conductor signal line limitations, the Applicant’s argument that dependent claim 12 is allowable by dependency is unpersuasive.
Furthermore, the Applicant has not presented any substantive arguments traversing the teachings of DeSalle as applied to the specific limitations of dependent claim 12. DeSalle explicitly discloses an event-driven wireless state-change notifier that activates an alarm output in response to predetermined events to automatically communicate notifications to specialized contacts, including government-operated emergency response systems, please refer to the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 24, 2026, pp. 15-17. Please refer to MPEP 714.02. The argument is not persuasive because it does not meet the requirements of 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b).
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 11-12, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) independent claim 13, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi (US 2016/0294019 A1), in view of Brockman (US 2015/0318724 A1), and further in view of DeSalle et al. (US 2017/0148280 A1), stating that the claims are allowable because the cited prior art references allegedly fail to teach, disclose, or suggest, “that the battery pack dongle is “configurable for wired connection to a battery management system interface…wherein the battery pack management system and the high voltage battery pack are enclosed within a battery pack housing that is separate and external to the battery monitor housing”, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Phares, in view of Biderman, and further in view of Brockman to properly address the amended limitations in base claim 13, and the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments presented. Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot by the newly formulated grounds of rejection for claim 13. To address the “communicate the state information to a remote system”, DeSalle (US 2017/0148280 A1) is not needed. Biderman teaches that the portable, handheld mobile device (the dongle) acts as a gateway to transmit the collected hardware/sensor data directly to a remote “Server (Cloud) 1406” via cellular or Wi-Fi ([00828] & [0830]-[0832]). Therefore, Biderman’s teachings of housing the diagnostic tool in a mobile device that sends its collected state data to the cloud. For these reasons, the rejection of amended independent claim 13, and dependent claims 14-18, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of independent claim 13, are respectively maintained. Please see updated mapping for independent claim 13 below, which further discloses the amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 12-13, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) independent claim 19, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi (US 2016/0294019 A1), in view of Brockman (US 2015/0318724 A1), and further in view of DeSalle et al. (US 2017/0148280 A1), stating that the claims are allowable because the cited prior art references allegedly fail teach, disclose, and/or suggest “receiving battery state information from a battery management system associated…that encloses a controller and memory,” and “wherein the battery pack dongle is selectively connectable to and disconnectable from a low-voltage interface…and battery cells of the selected high voltage battery pack are enclosed within a battery pack housing that is separate and external to the battery monitor housing,” the method further including “generating, via the controller,…the display being indicative of a battery safety alert”, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Phares, in view of Biderman, to properly address the amended limitations in base claim 19, and the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments presented. Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot by the newly formulated grounds of rejection for claim 19. Phares discloses the core method of utilizing an external device (hub 150) to connect via a wired interface (CANBUS) to a separate battery enclosure to receive, query, and store battery state information (e.g., voltage, current) and output alarms. Biderman complements these teachings by teaching the implementation of external diagnostic tools within a selectively connectable, handheld, and portable mobile device housing equipped with an internal processor, memory, and a local display for rendering warnings. The combination of these references addresses the limitations of amended independent claim 19 without relying on the deficiencies of the previous prior art. For these reasons, the rejection of amended independent claim 19, and dependent claim 20, which depends from and incorporates the limitations of independent claim 19, are respectively maintained. Please see updated mapping for independent claim 19 below, which further discloses the amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 13-14, filed June 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) dependent claims 20 (depends from claim 19) and dependent claims 14-18 (depend from claim 13), under 35 U.S.C. § 103 Yamauchi (US 2016/0294019 A1), in view of Brockman (US 2015/0318724 A1), and further in view of DeSalle et al. (US 2017/0148280 A1), stating that the rejections “are not rendered obvious over the cited art at least by virtue of their dependency on an allowable base claim”, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Phares, in view of Biderman, to properly address the amended limitations in base claims 13 & 19, and the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments presented. The new grounds of rejection, specifically the standalone, handheld, portable, controller-bearing dongle having a wired battery interface to the battery management system are fully and properly disclosed by the combination of Phares in view of Biderman (Claim 19), and further in view of Brockman (claim 13). As detailed above, and further in new mappings below, Phares teaches the external monitoring hub and the wired CANBUS connection to the battery pack management system. Biderman teaches implementing such external diagnostic and control tools within a handheld, portable mobile device housing having its own internal power source, memory, and hard-wired interface. The base limitations of independent claims 13 & 19 are fully met by the new prior art combination, therefore the claims are not allowable, and consequently, dependent claims 14-18 & 20 are not allowable by dependency.
Furthermore, the Applicant has not presented substantive arguments traversing the specific teachings of the references applied to the additional limitations of the dependent claims. Therefore, because the independent claims are rendered obvious by the new base combination, and the additional limitations of the dependent claims are taught by the additional new references, the rejections of these dependent claims are maintained under the newly established grounds. Please refer to MPEP 714.02. The argument is not persuasive because it does not meet the requirements of 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b).
For these reasons, the rejection of amended independent claims 13 & 19, and dependent claims 1418 & 20, which depends from and incorporate the limitations of independent claims 13 & 19, are respectively maintained. Please see updated mapping for independent claims 13 & 19 below, which further disclose the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-15, & 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi et al. (US 2016/0294019 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 6, 2016, hereinafter, Yamauchi), in view of Brockman et al. (US 2015/0318724 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 5, 2015, hereinafter, Brockman), in view of Phares (US 2022/0407129 A1, Fil. Date Dec. 18, 2020, hereinafter, Phares), and further in view of Biderman et al. (US 2020/0114753 A1, Pub. Date Apr. 16, 2020, hereinafter, Biderman).
Regarding independent claim 1, Phares, teaches:
A battery pack monitor comprising ([0021]-[0022] & [0026]: discloses a monitoring device 100 featuring an external hub 150 that communicates with battery packs):
for use with different high voltage battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs ([0021]-[0023]: discloses the device is used to monitor a “battery 102 having multiple battery packs 104” where packs of “different physical and/or electrical specification may be mixed and matched”);
The Examiner is combining Phares in view of Biderman by implementing the portable mobile device housing that contains its own microprocessor 302 and the mobile device controller that connects to memory storage of Biderman ([0697] & [0873])
a controller within the battery monitor housing ([0026]-[0028] & [0040]: discloses the external hub 150 includes a processor 152);
a memory communicatively connected to the controller ([0026]-[0028] & [0031]: further discloses memory 151);
of a battery pack management system associated with a selected high voltage battery pack of the plurality of high voltage battery packs ([0024]-[0025]: discloses the wired interface connects to “circuitry within a pack” that provides “current and voltage regulation” and “monitoring of status information” (which defines a battery pack management system) for the individual battery packs),
wherein the controller stores instructions which, when executed, cause the battery pack monitor to ([0027]: discloses “the memory 151 may store one or more instructions to program the one or more processors 152 to perform any of the methods described herein”):
receive, via the wired battery interface, state information from the battery management system of the selected high voltage battery pack ([0016], [0023]-[0026], & [0034]-[0035]: discloses the hub forms a link to “receive the status information associated with each pack 104”), the state information including one or more of state of charge information, state of health information, voltage information, current information, temperature information, or a battery safety alert ([0014]-[0017], [0019], [0025], & [0035]: discloses the received low-level status information includes “a voltage, a current…a temperature…a Coulomb count” and uses this to synthesize “battery capacity, battery state of charge”);
store the state information in the memory ([0034]: discloses that “the received low level status information may be stored in a suitable format within the memory 151 of the hub 150”); and
based on the state information, generate one or more battery alerts ([0037]-[0039], [Claim 6], [Claim 7], & [Claim 8]: discloses that if a queried parameter (e.g., voltage or current) is determined to be outside a normal operating range based on the state information, the processor will “cause an alarm to be output to the user”).
Phares, is silent in regard to:
a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable
a power source positioned within the battery monitor housing and operatively connected to the controller; and
a battery pack connector carried by the battery monitor housing and comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a low-voltage battery management system interface
the battery pack monitor being selectively connectable to and disconnectable from the battery pack management system of the selected high voltage battery pack via the wired battery interface;
However, Biderman, further teaches:
a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable ([0696], [0868]-[0873]: discloses implementing external diagnostic, monitoring, and control tools within a handheld, portable housing, specifically “a mobile device 230” or “mobile device 1708” such as a smart mobile device or tablet);
a power source positioned within the battery monitor housing and operatively connected to the controller ([0871]-[0873] & [0875]: discloses the mobile device 1708 is powered by a “minimum battery life on the mobile device 1708,” indicating an internal power source operatively connected to the device’s controller); and
The Examiner is combining Phares in view of Biderman by implementing the hub connection to the battery packs via wired connections such as a “CANBUS” of Phares ([0031]) and the “packs of different physical and/or electrical specification” ([0023]).
a battery pack connector carried by the battery monitor housing ([0826]: discloses hardware interfaces carried by the portable housing that “permit the plug in of other sensors, hardware devices”) and comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a low-voltage battery management system interface ([0872]-[0874], [0894]-[0899], [0907], [0912], [0922]-[0923], [0930], & [0932]-[0934]: discloses the portable mobile device 1708 connects to the system via a “hard-wired interface such as a CAN bus” directly supplying the wired battery interface)
the battery pack monitor being selectively connectable to and disconnectable from the battery pack management system of the selected high voltage battery pack via the wired battery interface ([0506], [0723], [0747], [0826]-[0827], & [0963]: discloses physical selective connectability and disconnectability via the wired interface by “awaiting plugging in of a device” into the system to exchange data and commands);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the external battery monitoring hub of Phares with the portable mobile device housing, internal power source, and hard-wired interface taught by Biderman. This combination corresponds to the battery pack monitor by utilizing Phares’s external monitoring hub, which contains a controller, communicatively connected memory, and wired battery interface that receives, stores, and evaluates state information such as voltage and current to generate battery alerts across different high-voltage battery packs housed in a separate, external battery pack enclosure ([0031] & [0034]-[0038]), and implementing it with Biderman’s handheld, portable mobile device housing that features its own internal power source and a selectively connectable/disconnectable hard-wired CAN bus connector ([0506], [0697], & [0826]). The motivation to integrate these features is to enhance field mobility and diagnostic efficiency, enabling a technician to easily carry a standalone, self-powered diagnostic scanner and physically plug it into various high-voltage battery arrays without relying on stationary diagnostic equipment. This modification represents a substitution of a stationary external controller for a portable mobile controller, yielding the predictable variation of a mobile, hard-wired battery diagnostic tool capable of issuing alarms based on collected battery data (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Phares, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([0021]-[0022] & [0026]: discloses a monitoring device 100 featuring an external hub 150 that communicates with battery packs),
Phares, is silent in regard to:
wherein the battery pack connector electrically connects the power source to the battery pack management system, the battery pack connector including a plurality of signal lines, the plurality of signal lines including a power signal line and a communication signal line, the power signal line connecting the power source to the battery management system of the selected high voltage battery pack when the battery pack connector is electrically connected to the low-voltage battery management interface of the battery pack management system.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the battery pack connector electrically connects the power source to the battery pack management system (Fig. 6; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0019], [0048]-[0050], [0055]-[0059], & [0061]: discloses a “multi-conductor connector 18” and “connector 160” that couple external devices “to the battery management system 50” which includes routing power between the external device and the internal battery management system ), the battery pack connector including a plurality of signal lines ([0048]-[0050] & [0055]-[0058]: discloses the multi-conductor connector 160 with 6 to 8 pins/contacts serving as a plurality of signal lines), the plurality of signal lines including a power signal line and a communication signal line (Figs. 5 & 6; [0048]-[0052] & [0054]-[0061]: discloses the connector includes pins designated for power input/output and data input/output, providing both power signal lines and communication signal lines within the same connector),
The Examiner is combining Brockman in view of Biderman by implementing that “Power may flow either in or out of the power port” demonstrating that an external device’s power source can connect and supply power to the internal system of Biderman ([0760]).
the power signal line connecting the power source to the battery management system of the selected high voltage battery pack when the battery pack connector is electrically connected to the low-voltage battery management interface of the battery pack management system ([0058]-[0059] & [0061]: discloses that the power pins (e.g., “first pin 164 for power input,” or “third pin 180 and a fourth pin 182”) “transmit the power to the battery management system 50” when the connector 160 is electrically connected to the battery’s multi-conductor connector 18, which acts as the low-voltage interface linking to the internal battery management system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the portable battery monitor of Phares and Biderman by configuring the wired battery pack connector as a multi-conductor including a plurality of signal lines, specifically a power signal line and a communication signal line that electrically connects the monitor’s internal power source to the battery pack management system, as taught by Brockman. This corresponds to the battery pack connector to include a plurality of signal lines featuring a power signal line connecting to the monitor’s power source to the battery management system and a communication signal line for data transfer when electrically connected to the low-voltage battery management interface. The motivation to incorporate and route Brockman’s multi-conductor power and data connector pinout into the portable diagnostic monitor is to streamline and provide a dedicated low-voltage wake-up supply to power the battery management circuitry for diagnostic querying, ensuring the monitor can retrieve state information even if the target high-voltage battery pack is completely depleted or locked in a protective deep-sleep state and allowing a single physical plug to simultaneously supply operating power and facilitate bilateral data transfer between the tool and the battery pack management system. This modification represents the application of a known technique to improve similar devices, specifically utilizing an active diagnostic tool’s internal battery to power a localized slave controller, yielding the predictable variation of a robust diagnostic monitor capable of analyzing completely dead battery packs, and a streamlined single-cable interface that securely provides both power and communication (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 2 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027], [0041], & [0086]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a diagnostic connector operably connectable to a battery diagnostic tool, the diagnostic connector being connected to the communication signal line of the battery pack connector.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
further comprising a diagnostic connector operably connectable to a battery diagnostic tool ([0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047] & [0061]-[0062]: portable monitor includes a second connector 174 or 178 connectable to an external analyzing devices (e.g., charger/maintainer 24 or computer)), the diagnostic connector being connected to the communication signal line of the battery pack connector ([0061]-[0062]: teaches the data input pin 184 on the battery-side connector 160 is routed to an additional data output pin on the second connector 174 to transmit data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable monitor to include the secondary diagnostic pass-through connector as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize the predictable advantage of providing a secondary diagnostic connector, such as allowing the portable monitor to act as an intermediary hub, enabling a user to quickly plug in a heavier, more complex diagnostic computer or smart charger without the need to disconnect the portable monitor from the high-voltage battery pack. This simple integration of known elements (pass-through data port) performs its established function(s) of routing diagnostic data to secondary analysis tools, according to known methods, improving the overall efficiency of battery maintenance procedures, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a user interface including a status indicator and one or more programming buttons.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
further comprising a user interface ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0045] & [0047]-[0048]: state of charge indicator 20 and data input/output tool 112 act as a user interface for reading outputs and providing inputs) including a status indicator ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0055] & [0058]-[0060]: teaches visual indicator lights (e.g., LEDs or graphic) indicating the state of charge) and one or more programming buttons ([0045]-[0048], [0052] & [0061]-[0065]: teaches a “reset button 190” to control/program operation modes and an I/O tool 112 interface used to upload algorithms and thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the portable monitor of Yamauchi to include the user interface with status indicators and programming buttons as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that a portable diagnostic device requires a mechanism to visually relay the state information to a technician and a mechanism to accept technician inputs. Incorporating Brockman’s status indicators provides the predictable advantage of allowing a technician to rapidly and visually ascertain the health of a battery pack (e.g., via green/red LEDs or a graphic(s)) without needing to parse through complex data logs. Incorporating the programming buttons provides the predictable advantage of allowing the technician to control the battery’s operational state (e.g., forcing a sleep mode for maintenance) or to upload updated threshold algorithms directly from a handheld tool, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 4 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027], [0041], & [0086]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the status indicator identifies a charging state of the high voltage battery pack to which the battery pack monitor is connected.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the status indicator identifies a charging state of the high voltage battery pack to which the battery pack monitor is connected ([0040]-[0048], [0058], [0060]-[0066] & [0074]: teaches that the status indicators on the user interface are dedicated to identifying the charging state (state of charge) of the connected battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the status indicator of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable monitor to identify the charging state of the connected high-voltage battery pack, as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that the primary purpose of checking battery packs is to ensure they have not degraded or discharged below safety levels. By configuring the monitor’s physical status indicators to display the charging state (e.g., via red/yellow/green LEDs or graphic(s)), the modified Yamauchi device provides the predictable advantage of allowing a technician to instantly and visually verify if a stored battery pack requires maintenance charging, without needing to decipher complex numerical voltage readouts or connect a secondary computer. This represents a simple implementation of a known visual feedback mechanism to improve the efficiency of the battery maintenance workflow, according to know methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 5 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027], [0041], & [0086]), operable in response to the controller generating the one or more battery alerts ([0025], [0032], [0041]-[0044], [0046] & [0055]-[0056]: teaches the controller generating alerts based on the state information).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the status indicator further includes an alarm indicator
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the status indicator further includes an alarm indicator ([0040]-[0048], [0051], [0058], [0060]-[0061] & [0074]: teaches that the status indicator has specific visual lights/graphic(s) dedicated to warning the user of adverse states)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable monitor such that the visual warning LED/graphic (alarm indicator) is made operable in response to Yamauchi’s controller generating an abnormality flag (battery alert). A POSITA would recognize that if a controller is designed to detect and log internal abnormalities, as taught by Yamauchi, and the device is equipped with a user interface capable of displaying visual warnings, as taught by Brockman, linking the two is a design necessity. Configuring the alarm indicator to trigger when an abnormality flag is generated provides the predictable advantage of immediately alerting the technician to a faulty or dangerous battery pack without requiring them to manually connect a computer to download the internal logs. This simple configuration of known elements ensures the safe and efficient handling of degraded high-voltage battery packs, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 5 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027], [0041], & [0086]), and wherein the alarm output is configured to be activated in response to a predetermined type of alert of the one or more battery alerts ([0025], [0032], [0041]-[0044], [0046], [0052] & [0055]-[0056]: teaches the controller identifying specific conditions to generate alerts).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the status indicator includes an alarm output including at least one of an audible siren or a flashlight,
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the status indicator includes an alarm output including at least one of an audible siren or a flashlight ([0040]-[0041]: teaches that “any suitable type of output device (e.g., audio and/or visual output device) may be used to provide feedback to a user”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the audio/visual output device taught by Brockman as an audible siren or flashlight, and to activate it in response to a predetermined abnormality flag as taught by Yamauchi. A POSITA would recognize that an audible siren is a standard, commercially available audio output device designed to capture a user’s attention in a noisy environment. Brockman suggests using an “audio and/or visual output device” for battery feedback, and Yamauchi describes deploying these monitors in an industrial warehouse setting (high ambient noise). Substituting a generic audio output device with a loud audible siren is a predictable design choice, that would achieve the result of ensuring critical battery alerts (such as thermal runaway or sever under-voltage) are immediately noticed by personnel who might not be looking directly at the device’s screen, thus yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027], [0041], & [0086]), wherein the power source comprises a rechargeable battery ([0027]: teaches the portable battery pack monitor has an onboard battery).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), electrically connected to the rechargeable battery ([0027]: teaches that the power supply circuit 230 is electrically wired/connected to the battery incorporated in the battery pack management device 200 in order to generate the Vcc and Vdd operating voltages).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a charging input connector
However, Brockman, further teaches:
further comprising a charging input connector ([0020] & [0061]: teaches the portable monitor possesses an additional, separate connector dedicated to receiving charging power from an external source)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rechargeable portable monitor of Yamauchi to include the charging input connector of Brockman, and to electrically connect this charging input connector to the monitor’s internal rechargeable battery. A POSITA would recognize that a portable diagnostic tool could theoretically recharge by drawing power from the high-voltage battery pack it tests, relying on this method is inefficient, as it depletes the batteries being analyzed and requires the tool to be engaged with a vehicle/pack to charge. Incorporating a dedicated charging input connector, as taught by Brockman, and wiring it to the internal rechargeable battery, the modified device would achieve the predictable advantage of allowing the tool to be recharged from a standard wall outlet or external charger. This represents a simple substitution and routing of known electrical connections to ensure the portable diagnostic tool maintains operational readiness independent of the systems it is testing, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027], [0041], & [0086]), further comprising a wireless communication interface ([0027]-[0030] & [0038]: teaches that the portable monitor utilizes radio (wireless) communication hardware) communicatively connected to the controller (Fig. 1; [0027]-[0030]: teaches the direct communication link between the CPU (controller) and the radio communication).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 10 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027], [0041], & [0086]), wherein the wireless communication interface ([0027]-[0030] & [0038]) includes a wireless LAN and/or cellular data communication interface ([0038]: identifies the wireless protocol/band used by the communication interface as being for a wireless LAN).
Regarding independent claim 13, Phares, teaches:
A battery pack monitor comprising ([0021]-[0022] & [0026]: discloses a monitoring device 100 featuring an external hub 150 that communicates with battery packs):
a battery pack dongle configurable for wired connection to a battery management system interface of a battery management system associated with a selected high-voltage battery pack, the battery pack dongle comprising ([0021]-[0027], & [0031]: discloses a monitoring “device 100” (system) featuring an external “hub 150” (dongle) that connects via wired connections such as “CANBUS” to battery pack circuitry that performs monitoring and regulation (BMS)):
for use with different high voltage battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs ([0021]-[0023]: discloses the device is used to monitor a “battery 102 having multiple battery packs 104” where packs of “different physical and/or electrical specification may be mixed and matched”);
a controller within the battery monitor housing ([0026]-[0028] & [0040]: discloses the external hub 150 includes a processor 152);
The Examiner is combining Phares in view of Brockman by implementing that memory “may store a history (e.g., log) of exceptions,” satisfying the requirement for storing a status log ([0046]).
a memory operatively connected to the controller and storing a high voltage battery pack status log ([0026]-[0028] & [0031]: further discloses memory 151);
the high voltage battery pack being one among the plurality of high voltage battery packs (Fig. 1A; [0021] & [0024]-[0026]), wherein the battery pack management system and the high voltage battery packs are enclosed within a battery pack housing that is separate and external to the battery monitor housing (Fig. 1A; [0021] & [0024]-[0026]: discloses that the hub 150 is structurally and physically separate from the battery 102 enclosure that houses the individual high voltage battery packs 104); and
a user interface (Fig. 1; [0019], [0028]-[0029], [0045], [0048], [0050], & [Claim 9]: discloses the system utilizes a “user interface 114”);
wherein the controller is configured to ([0027], [0031], [0040], & [0046]:
receive, via the wired battery interface, state information from the battery management system of the selected high voltage battery pack ([0016], [0023]-[0026], & [0034]-[0035]: discloses the hub forms a link to “receive the status information associated with each pack 104”), the state information including one or more of sate of charge information, state of health information, voltage information, current information, temperature information, or a battery safety alert ([0014]-[0017], [0019], [0025], & [0034]-[0035]: discloses the hub receives low-level status state information and selectively queries “a voltage, a current…a temperature…a Coulomb count” and uses this to synthesize the status info., including “battery capacity, battery state of charge” and temperatures),
store the state information in the memory ([0034]: discloses that “the received low level status information may be stored in a suitable format within the memory 151 of the hub 150”);
based on the state information, generate one or more battery alerts ([0019], [0028]-[0029], [0037]-[0039], [0045], [0048], [0050], [Claim 6], [Claim 7], [Claim 8], & [Claim 9]: discloses that if a queried parameter (e.g., voltage or current) is determined to be outside a normal operating range, based on the state information, the processor will “cause an alarm to be output to the user” at the interface); and
Phares, is silent in regard to:
a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable
a wired battery pack connector providing a wired battery interface that is selectively connectable to and disconnectable from the battery management system of the selected high voltage battery pack;
a rechargeable battery maintained within the battery monitor housing and electrically connected to the controller;
communicate the state information to a remote system.
However, Biderman, further teaches:
a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable ([0696], [0868]-[0873]: discloses implementing external diagnostic, monitoring, and control tools within a handheld, portable housing, specifically “a mobile device 230” or “mobile device 1708” such as a smart mobile device or tablet);
a wired battery pack connector providing a wired battery interface that is selectively connectable to and disconnectable from the battery management system of the selected high voltage battery pack ([0506], [0723], [0747], [0826]-[0827], [0874], & [0963]: discloses hardware interfaces that “permit the plug in of other sensors, hardware devices” and awaiting a request that includes “awaiting plugging in of a device,” teaching physical selective connectability and disconnectability via the hard-wired CANBUS interface);
a rechargeable battery maintained within the battery monitor housing and electrically connected to the controller ([0684], [0760], [0871]-[0873], [0875], & [0920]: discloses the portable mobile device is powered by an internal “battery life on the mobile device 1708,” teaching a rechargeable battery maintained within the housing);
communicate the state information to a remote system ([0551], [0560], [0693], [0696]-[0698], [0721], [0796], [0804], [0820]-[0821], [0823], [0826], [0828]-[0829], [0831]-[0833], [0835], [0837], [0840], [0863], [0869], [0953], [0966], [0970]-[0971]: discloses that the mobile device 1416 serves as a gateway to process and transmit the collected battery data to a remote “server 1406” or cloud-based system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the external battery monitoring hub of Phares by incorporating the portable mobile device housing, internal-rechargeable battery, user interface, and remote communication capabilities taught by Biderman ([0693], [0696]-[0697], [0831]-[0832], & [0872]). This combination provides the battery pack dongle comprising a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable, an internal rechargeable battery, a selectively connectable wired battery pack connector, a user interface generating alerts, and a controller configured to communicated the received state information to a remote system (Phares: [0031] & [0037-[0038]; Biderman: [0506], [0696], [0826], & [0832]). The motivation to incorporate Biderman’s portable mobile device housing, user interface, and remote server connectivity into Phare’s external hub is to enhance field mobility and diagnostic efficiency, enabling a technician to easily view alerts directly on-screen and transmit collected battery state data to remote cloud servers for further analysis. This modification represents the application of a known technique to improve similar devices and a substitution of a stationary external controller for a portable smart device, yielding the predictable variation of a mobile, networked diagnostic tool with local display capabilities (KSR).
Phares, in combination with Biderman, are silent in regard to:
the rechargeable battery being electrically connectable to the battery management system interface associated with a high voltage battery pack via the wired battery pack connector,
However, Brockman, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Phares and Brockman in view of Biderman by implementing that “Power may flow either in or out of the power port” to/from an external connected device such as one or more rechargeable batteries ([0684], [0760], & [0920]).
the rechargeable battery being electrically connectable to the battery management system interface associated with a high voltage battery pack via the wired battery pack connector ([0046], [0057]-[0062]: discloses a “third pin 180 and a fourth pin 182” designated “to transmit the power to the battery management system 50” through the low-voltage wired connector interface),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the portable battery pack monitoring system of Phares and Biderman by incorporating the specific status log memory and bi-directional power connection pinout taught by Brockman to include the physical, wired multi-conductor diagnostic interface with handheld data input/output tool configuration, and visual user interface taught by Brockman. Brockman’s wired connector transmits power from the tested battery to the diagnostic tool, a memory storing ahigh voltage battery pack status log, and the monitor’s rechargeable battery being electrically connected to the battery management system interface via the wired battery pack connector to supply power ([0046] & [0057]-[0061]). Brockman further teaches that utilizing a physical, multi-conductor interface provides a highly secure, reliable, and high-bandwidth connection capable of downloading extensive historical data logs without interruption. The motivation to configure the wired connector to electrically link the monitor’s internal battery to the high-voltage pack’s BMS, and to specifically store a status log, is to provide a dedicated low-voltage “wake-up” power supply for retrieving historical exception logs from a depleted or sleeping battery pack. This modification represents the application of a known technique to improve similar devices, specifically utilizing an active diagnostic tool’s internal battery to power a localized slave controller to pull logged historical data, yielding the predictable variation of a diagnostic monitor capable of analyzing offline batteries, interference-free connection for downloading critical abnormality flags and state information, and using Brockman’s wired connection to recharge the internal battery, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the battery pack dongle further comprises a diagnostics connector electrically connectable to a diagnostics tool.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the battery pack dongle ([0003]-[0005], [0016], [0019]-[0020] & [0047]) further comprises a diagnostics connector ([0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047] & [0061]-[0062]: dongle includes a second connector 174 or 178 used for coupling to external analyzing devices (e.g., charger/maintainer 24 or computer)) electrically connectable to a diagnostics tool ([0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047] & [0061]-[0062]: second connector electrically couples the tool to a “charger/maintainer 24”, which evaluates the battery or to a “processing device, such as a computer, for analysis”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined Yamauchi/Brockman battery pack dongle to include the secondary diagnostics connector as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize the predictable advantage of outfitting the portable dongle with a secondary pass-through connector, allowing the portable dongle to act as a local hub. Providing this connector enables a technician to plug-in a more complex diagnostics computer (e.g., a laptop with advanced diagnostic software) directly into the dongle to run localized tests or retrieve system logs, all without needing to disconnect the dongle from the high-voltage battery pack or sever its wireless connection to the remote cloud server. This represents a simple integration of a known physical data port to perform its established function of routing diagnostic data to secondary analysis tools, according to known methods, thus improving the overall versatility of the battery maintenance workflow, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the user interface further includes a status indicator and one or more programming buttons.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the user interface ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0045] & [0047]-[0048]: state of charge indicator 20 and data input/output tool 112 act as a user interface for reading outputs and providing inputs) further includes a status indicator ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0055] & [0058]-[0060]: teaches visual indicator lights (e.g., LEDs or graphic) indicating the state of charge) and one or more programming buttons ([0045]-[0048], [0052] & [0061]-[0065]: teaches a “reset button 190” to control/program operation modes and an I/O tool 112 interface used to upload algorithms and thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the user interface of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable battery pack dongle to include the user interface with status indicators and programming buttons as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that a portable diagnostic device requires a mechanism to visually relay the state information to a technician and a mechanism to accept technician inputs. Incorporating Brockman’s status indicators provides the predictable advantage of allowing a technician to rapidly and visually ascertain the health of a battery pack (e.g., via green/red LEDs or a graphic(s)) without needing to parse through complex data logs. Incorporating the programming buttons provides the predictable advantage of allowing the technician to control the battery’s operational state (e.g., forcing a sleep mode for maintenance) or to upload updated threshold algorithms directly from a handheld tool, and yield predictable results (KSR). This represents a straightforward implementation of user-interface hardware to increase the local usability of the diagnostic tool.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), wherein the rechargeable battery ([0027]: power supply circuit 230 powered by an “incorporated battery”)
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
is configured to be recharged via the wired battery pack connector from the high voltage battery pack connected thereto.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
is configured to be recharged via the wired battery pack connector from the high voltage battery pack connected thereto ([0020] & [0054]-[0062]: teaches transmitting power from the tested battery pack to the portable monitor via the wired connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the internal rechargeable battery of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable dongle to be recharged via the wired battery pack connector using power drawn from the connected high-voltage battery pack, as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that portable diagnostic tools require consistent power to avoid shutting down during lengthy data extraction or cloud-synchronization processes. Brockman teaches a wired connection that actively supplies operating power from the high-voltage battery pack to the monitor. Routing this incoming electrical power to trickle-charge the tool’s internal battery would be an obvious and standard engineering practice. This design choice provides the predictable advantage of extending the operational field-life of the portable dongle without requiring the technician to return to a charging station, utilizing the massive energy reserves of the tested high-voltage battery pack to maintain the diagnostic tool’s readiness, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), and wherein the state information includes one or more state of charge (SOC) and state of health (SOH) parameter ([0009]-[0010], [0025], [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0043]-[0044], [0052], [0054] & [0059]-[0060]: teaches acquiring information to detect the “charge state (SOC: State of Charge)” and the “degradation state (SOH: State of Health)”).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the wired battery pack connector comprises a connection interface including a multi-conductor connection arrangement providing power and communication lines,
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the wired battery pack connector comprises a connection interface including a multi-conductor connection arrangement providing power and communication lines ([0048]-[0052] & [0054]-[0062]: teaches a multi-conductor with dedicated pins for power input/output and data (communication) input/output),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the multi-conductor connection arrangement taught by Brockman in the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable dongle, and to extract the specific SOC and SOH parameters taught by Yamauchi over the connection lines. A POSITA would recognize that consolidated power and data transmission into a single multi-conductor interface is standard engineering practice designed to simplify cable management and reduce hardware footprint on portable diagnostic tools. Providing dedicated power and communication lines provides the predictable advantage of allowing the portable dongle to draw continuous power from the high-voltage battery pack while simultaneously downloading SOC and SOH data parameters over the parallel data lines. This combination is a simple substitution of known elements performing their established functions to increase the reliability and efficiency of the portable diagnostic tool, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 19, Phares, teaches:
A method of monitoring a battery pack dongle, the method comprising ([0021]-[0022], [0026], & [0031]-[0034]: discloses a monitoring device 100 featuring an external hub 150 that communicates with battery packs):
receiving battery state information from a battery management system associated with a selected high voltage battery pack ([0021] & [0023]-[0026]), the selected high voltage battery pack being one among a plurality of high voltage battery packs (Figs. 1A & 2; [0005]-[0007], [0021], [0023]-[0027], [Claim 1], [Claim 10], & [Claim 17]: discloses the hub receives “first status information” (battery state information) from “circuitry within a pack” that regulates current and voltage (the battery management system) of a “a battery 102 having multiple battery packs 104”), at a battery pack dongle via a wired battery pack connector ([0021]-[0027] & [0031]: discloses the hub 150 (dongle) communicated with the battery packs via “wired connections such as CANBUS” to battery pack circuitry that performs monitoring and regulation (BMS)),
and wherein the battery management system and battery cells of the selected high voltage battery pack are enclosed within a battery pack housing that is separate and external to the battery monitor housing (Fig. 1A; [0003], [0015], [0017], [0021]-[0022] & [0024]-[0026]: discloses that the hub 150 is structurally and physically separate and external to the battery 102 enclosure that houses the individual high voltage battery packs 104 and their internal circuitry),
storing, via the controller, the battery state information in the memory of the battery pack dongle ([0014]-[0017], [0019], [0023]-[0027], [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0040], & [0046]: discloses that “the received low level status information may be stored in a suitable format within the memory 151 of the hub 150”);
Phares, is silent in regard to:
wherein the dongle comprises a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among the plurality of high voltage battery packs, that encloses a controller and memory,
wherein the battery pack dongle is selectively connectable to and disconnectable from a low-voltage interface of the battery management system of the selected high voltage pack via the wired battery interface,
based on the battery state information obtained from the battery management system, generating, via the controller, a display indicative of the battery state information at a user interface of the battery pack dongle, the display being indicative of a battery safety alert.
However, Biderman, further teaches:
wherein the dongle comprises a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among the plurality of high voltage battery packs ([0696]-[0700] & [0868]-[0874]: discloses implementing external diagnostic monitoring tools within a handheld, portable housing, specifically “a mobile device 230” or “mobile device 1708” such as a smart phone or tablet), that encloses a controller and memory ([0696]-[0697] & [0868]-[0873]: the mobile device such as a smart phone or tablet enclose an internal “microprocessor 302” and memory),
wherein the battery pack dongle is selectively connectable to and disconnectable from a low-voltage interface of the battery management system of the selected high voltage pack via the wired battery interface ([0506], [0723], [0747], [0826]-[0827], [0874], & [0963]: discloses hardware interfaces that “permit the plug in of other sensors, hardware devices” and awaiting a request that includes “awaiting plugging in of a device,” teaching selective connectability and disconnectability of the portable device via a “hard-wired interface such as a CAN bus”),
The Examiner is combining Phares in view of Biderman by implementing that if a queried parameter is outside normal operating ranges based on the state information, the processor will “cause an alarm to be output to the user” at the “user interface 114” of Phares ([0015], [0019], [0028]-[0029], [0034], [0036]-[0039], [0045], [0048], & [0050]).
based on the battery state information obtained from the battery management system, generating, via the controller, a display indicative of the battery state information at a user interface of the battery pack dongle, the display being indicative of a battery safety alert ([0445], [0450], [0696]-[0698], [0701], [0751], [0803], [0832], & [0858]: discloses the mobile device 230 includes a “display 308 which may include a touchscreen” acting as a user interface and that alerts can generate a display of “data or warnings on the mobile device 230”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the external battery monitoring method of Phares by implementing the monitoring hub within a handheld, portable mobile device housing with a local display as taught by Biderman. This combination teaches the method comprising receiving and storing battery state information via a wired connector from a separate battery pack housing into a selectively connectable, handheld battery pack dongle enclosing a controller and memory, and generating a display indicative of a battery safety alert directly at the dongle’s user interface (Phares: [0031], [0034], & [0037]-[0038]; Biderman: [0506], [0696]-[0697], [0751], & [0873]). The motivation to incorporate Biderman’s portable mobile device housing and local display into Phares’s external hub method is to enhance field mobility and diagnostic efficiency, enabling a technician to easily plug into a battery array and view critical safety alerts on a handheld screen. This modification represents the application of a known technique to improve similar diagnostic processes and a substitution of a stationary external controller for a portable smart device display, yielding the predictable variation of a mobile, hard-wired diagnostic method capable of rendering local visual warnings (KSR).
Claims 12, 16, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi, in view of Brockman, in view of Phares, in view of Biderman, and further in view of DeSalle et al. (US 2017/0148280 A1, Pub. Date May 25, 2017, hereinafter DeSalle).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, in combination with Brockman, are silent in regard to:
wherein the wireless communication interface includes an alarm output, the alarm output configured to communicate an alarm to emergency response personnel, the alarm output being activated in response to a predetermined type of alert of the one or more battery alerts.
However, DeSalle, further teaches:
wherein the wireless communication interface includes an alarm output ([0015]-[0018] & [0032]-[0035]: teaches the wireless communication interface transmits reports of events (alarms) via text, push notifications or computer-generated phone calls), the alarm output configured to communicate an alarm to emergency response personnel ([0015]-[0018], [0023]-[0025] & [0072]-[0074]: configured to send “emergency notifications” to specific role-related contacts and/or “government operated systems” (e.g., 911 services), based on specialized rules), the alarm output being activated in response to a predetermined type of alert of the one or more battery alerts ([0015]-[0018], [0038]-[0045] & [0139]: the server uses “specialized rules” to determine which contacts are notified based on the “type and severity of the event” (e.g., high temp, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wireless battery monitor of Yamauchi and Brockman to include the rule-based emergency notification routing taught by DeSalle. A POSITA would recognize that high-voltage battery packs pose significant safety hazards, including the risk of severe thermal runaway and fire if internal abnormalities are not addressed. Incorporating DeSalle’s wireless event-routing software to automatically dial or message emergency response personnel, or designated facility safety authorities, when the controller detects a critical, predetermined severity alert (e.g., such as extreme overheating) provides a predictable advantage. Ensuring immediate response intervention without relying on a warehouse worker to manually spot a flashing local LED, thus preventing catastrophic facility damage. This simple implementation of a known wireless notification protocol would improve the safety mechanisms of a known hazardous monitoring environment, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), and wherein the cloud server is configured to analyze battery state information received from a plurality of high voltage battery packs via a plurality of battery pack dongles (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: [0041]-[0044]: checks different battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs; DeSalle: [0017]-[0018], [0049]-[0051] & [0070]-[0071]: the cloud server receives and processes reports of events from “multiple monitoring devices” monitoring “multiple individual pieces of equipment”).
Yamauchi, in combination with Brockman, are silent in regard to:
further comprising the remote system, wherein the remote system comprises a cloud server communicatively connected to the battery pack dongle and configured to receive the state information from the battery pack dongle, and wherein the cloud server is configured to analyze battery state information received from a plurality of high voltage battery packs via a plurality of battery pack dongles.
However, DeSalle, further teaches:
further comprising the remote system ([0017]-[0018]: discloses a “remote cloud-based data collection and distribution server”), wherein the remote system comprises a cloud server communicatively connected to the battery pack dongle and configured to receive the state information from the battery pack dongle ([0015]-[0018], [0023], [0032]-[0035], [0038]-[0045] & [0139]: teaches reporting events/states to a remote cloud-based server connected to a network (Internet) via the monitoring device’s network interface), and wherein the cloud server is configured to analyze battery state information received from a plurality of high voltage battery packs via a plurality of battery pack dongles (Disclosed in combination: DeSalle: [0017]-[0018], [0049]-[0051] & [0070]-[0071]: the cloud server receives and processes reports of events from “multiple monitoring devices” monitoring “multiple individual pieces of equipment”; Yamauchi: [0041]-[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the remote system of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman battery monitoring architecture as a cloud server configured to analyze data from a plurality of dongles, as taught by DeSalle. A POSITA would recognize that utilizing a local host controller, as in Yamauchi, limits data analysis to a single geographic location (e.g., one specific warehouse or vehicle). Upgrading the data collection to a cloud-based server architecture, as taught by DeSalle, provides a predictable advantage of centralized fleet management. By routing the same information from a plurality of battery pack dongles to a single cloud server, technicians and engineers can remotely monitor, analyze, and verify health and safety statuses of a distributed fleet of high-voltage battery packs from just about anywhere. This integration would represent a simple application of known cloud computing environments to a known network of distributed sensors to achieve the established benefit of global data aggregation and remote analysis, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Yamauchi, teaches:
The method of claim 19 ([Abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0009]-[0010], [0027] & [0041]), further comprising communicating the battery state information ([0032]-[0033]) of the battery pack dongle ([Abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0009]-[0010], [0027] & [0041]: battery pack management device 200 constitutes the dongle).
Yamauchi, in combination with Brockman, are silent in regard to:
to a cloud server via a wireless communication interface
However, DeSalle, further teaches:
to a cloud server ([0017]-[0018]: teaches reporting events/states to a “remote cloud-based data collection and distribution server” connected to the Internet) via a wireless communication interface ([0015]-[0018], [0023], [0032]-[0035] & [0139]: method utilizes a “wireless communication interface 218” on the monitoring device to transmit the reports)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery monitoring method of Yamauchi/Brockman to include the step of communicating the battery state information to a cloud server via the dongle’s wireless communication interface, as taught by DeSalle. A POSITA would recognize that transmitting critical battery state information to a centralized cloud server, as taught by DeSalle, rather than a localized host controller (Yamauchi) provides the predictable advantage of widespread, decentralized data access. Employing the dongles wireless interface to push the extracted data to the cloud, the modified method enables fleet managers, engineers, and emergency personnel to monitor the health and safety of high-voltage battery packs globally, independent of the technician’s proximity to a local host network. This represents a simple incorporation of known cloud-reporting methods via standard wireless hardware to achieve the established benefit of remote system monitoring and alert distribution, according to known methods, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 August 24, 2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 9/2/2026