Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 2, 2023, November 11, 2024, August 6, 2025, & September 8, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment, filed on February 11, 2026, has been received and made of record. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13, 18 & 19 have been amended. Applicant’s amendment to the Claim(s) have overcome each and every U.S.C. §112(a) rejection(s) set forth in the Final Office Action mailed September 11, 2025, hereafter referred to as the Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, & 19 under U.S.C. § 102(a)(1), and claims 4-7, 11-12 & 13-18 under U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection(s) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Rejections based on newly cited prior art references follow.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites “a battery pack dongle configurable for wired connection-to” in line 2. Recommend rephasing to read, “a battery pack dongle configurable for wired connection to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi et al. (US 2016/0294019 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 6, 2016, hereinafter Yamauchi), in view of Brockman et al. (US 2015/0318724A1, Pub. Date Nov. 5, 2015, hereinafter Brockman).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yamauchi, teaches:
A battery pack monitor comprising ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]):
a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: Figs. 3a & 3b; [0041]-[0042]: discloses portable device 200b used during warehouse stock management; Brockman: [0047]) ;
a controller within the battery monitor housing (Fig.1 [0027]-[0028]: CPU 220);
a memory communicatively connected to the controller (Fig. 1; [0027]-[0028]: memory 240);
a power source positioned within the battery monitor housing and operatively connected to the controller ([0027]-[0028]: power supply circuit 230); and
wherein the battery pack management system and the high voltage battery pack are enclosed within a battery pack housing that is separate and external to the battery monitor housing (Figs. 2, 3a & 3b; [0039]-[0041] & [0043]);
wherein the controller stores instructions which, when executed, cause the battery pack monitor to ([0025], [0032], [0041]-[0044] & [0056]):
store the state information in the memory ([0041]-[0046]); and
based on the state information, generate one or more battery alerts ([0041]-[0046] & [0054]-[0056]).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
a battery pack connector comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a battery pack management system associated with a high voltage battery pack of the plurality of high voltage battery packs,
receive, via the wired battery interface, state information from the high voltage battery pack;
However, Brockman, further teaches:
a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs (Disclosed in combination: Brockman: [0047]: discloses external diagnostic input/output tool 112 carried to different batteries to download historical data logs and transmit data to the battery management system; Yamauchi: [0041]);
a battery pack connector comprising a wired battery interface electrically connectable between the controller and a battery pack management system associated with a high voltage battery pack of the plurality of high voltage battery packs (Fig. 6; [0054]-[0060]: multi-conductor connector 160 with physical pins linking to BMS connector 18),
receive, via the wired battery interface, state information from the high voltage battery pack ([0047]-[0048] & [0054]-[0061]: diagnostic input/output tool receives data via wired pins coupled to connector 18, which is coupled to connector of the state of charge indicator 20);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the portable battery pack management device of Yamauchi to include the wired, multi-conductor diagnostic interface and handheld data input/output tool configuration as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that Yamauchi’s wireless communication is beneficial for checking batteries from a distance. Brockman teaches that utilizing a physical, multi-conductor interface provides a highly secure, reliable, and high-bandwidth connection capable of downloading extensive historical data logs without interruption. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to equip Yamauchi’s portable diagnostic device with the wired diagnostic port and connector of Brockman to provide the predictable advantage of a stable, interference-free connection for downloading critical abnormality flags and state information, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the battery pack connector electrically connects the power source to the battery pack management system, the battery pack connector including a plurality of signal lines, the plurality of signal lines including a power signal line and a communication signal line.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the battery pack connector electrically connects the power source to the battery pack management system (Fig. 6; [0048]-[0050] & [0055]-[0058]: connector 160/18 transmits power across the interface between the external diagnostic tool 112 and the battery system), the battery pack connector including a plurality of signal lines ([0048]-[0050] &[0055]-[0058]: multi-conductor connector 160 with 6 to 8 pins/contacts), the plurality of signal lines including a power signal line and a communication signal line (Figs. 5 & 6; [0048]-[0052] & [0054]-[0061]: discloses pins designated for power input/output and data input/output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the wired battery pack connector of the modified Yamauchi device to include a plurality of signal lines comprising both power and communication lines, as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that consolidating power and data transmission into a single multi-conductor interface is a standard engineering practice designed to reduce the number of physical ports required on both the diagnostic tool and the battery housing. Providing a power signal line within the diagnostic connector yields the predictable advantage of allowing the portable monitor to draw continuous operating power directly from the high-voltage battery pack being tested, ensuring the device does not lose power during diagnostic data downloads. Incorporating Brockman’s combined power and data connector configuration into the Yamauchi systems represents a simple substitution of known elements performing their established functions, motivated by the desire to simplify cable management, reduce hardware footprint, and increase the reliability of the portable diagnostic tool during field operations, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 2 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a diagnostic connector operably connectable to a battery diagnostic tool, the diagnostic connector being connected to the communication signal line of the battery pack connector.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
further comprising a diagnostic connector operably connectable to a battery diagnostic tool ([0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047] & [0061]-[0062]: portable monitor includes a second connector 174 or 178 connectable to an external analyzing devices (e.g., charger/maintainer 24 or computer)), the diagnostic connector being connected to the communication signal line of the battery pack connector ([0061]-[0062]: teaches the data input pin 184 on the battery-side connector 160 is routed to an additional data output pin on the second connector 174 to transmit data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable monitor to include the secondary diagnostic pass-through connector as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize the predictable advantage of providing a secondary diagnostic connector, such as allowing the portable monitor to act as an intermediary hub, enabling a user to quickly plug in a heavier, more complex diagnostic computer or smart charger without the need to disconnect the portable monitor from the high-voltage battery pack. This simple integration of known elements (pass-through data port) performs its established function(s) of routing diagnostic data to secondary analysis tools, according to known methods, improving the overall efficiency of battery maintenance procedures, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a user interface including a status indicator and one or more programming buttons.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
further comprising a user interface ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0045] & [0047]-[0048]: state of charge indicator 20 and data input/output tool 112 act as a user interface for reading outputs and providing inputs) including a status indicator ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0055] & [0058]-[0060]: teaches visual indicator lights (e.g., LEDs or graphic) indicating the state of charge) and one or more programming buttons ([0045]-[0048], [0052] & [0061]-[0065]: teaches a “reset button 190” to control/program operation modes and an I/O tool 112 interface used to upload algorithms and thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the portable monitor of Yamauchi to include the user interface with status indicators and programming buttons as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that a portable diagnostic device requires a mechanism to visually relay the state information to a technician and a mechanism to accept technician inputs. Incorporating Brockman’s status indicators provides the predictable advantage of allowing a technician to rapidly and visually ascertain the health of a battery pack (e.g., via green/red LEDs or a graphic(s)) without needing to parse through complex data logs. Incorporating the programming buttons provides the predictable advantage of allowing the technician to control the battery’s operational state (e.g., forcing a sleep mode for maintenance) or to upload updated threshold algorithms directly from a handheld tool, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 4 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the status indicator identifies a charging state of the high voltage battery pack to which the battery pack monitor is connected.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the status indicator identifies a charging state of the high voltage battery pack to which the battery pack monitor is connected ([0040]-[0048], [0058], [0060]-[0066] & [0074]: teaches that the status indicators on the user interface are dedicated to identifying the charging state (state of charge) of the connected battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the status indicator of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable monitor to identify the charging state of the connected high-voltage battery pack, as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that the primary purpose of checking battery packs is to ensure they have not degraded or discharged below safety levels. By configuring the monitor’s physical status indicators to display the charging state (e.g., via red/yellow/green LEDs or graphic(s)), the modified Yamauchi device provides the predictable advantage of allowing a technician to instantly and visually verify if a stored battery pack requires maintenance charging, without needing to decipher complex numerical voltage readouts or connect a secondary computer. This represents a simple implementation of a known visual feedback mechanism to improve the efficiency of the battery maintenance workflow, according to know methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 5 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), operable in response to the controller generating the one or more battery alerts ([0025], [0032], [0041]-[0044], [0046] & [0055]-[0056]: teaches the controller generating alerts based on the state information).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the status indicator further includes an alarm indicator
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the status indicator further includes an alarm indicator ([0040]-[0048], [0051], [0058], [0060]-[0061] & [0074]: teaches that the status indicator has specific visual lights/graphic(s) dedicated to warning the user of adverse states)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable monitor such that the visual warning LED/graphic (alarm indicator) is made operable in response to Yamauchi’s controller generating an abnormality flag (battery alert). A POSITA would recognize that if a controller is designed to detect and log internal abnormalities, as taught by Yamauchi, and the device is equipped with a user interface capable of displaying visual warnings, as taught by Brockman, linking the two is a design necessity. Configuring the alarm indicator to trigger when an abnormality flag is generated provides the predictable advantage of immediately alerting the technician to a faulty or dangerous battery pack without requiring them to manually connect a computer to download the internal logs. This simple configuration of known elements ensures the safe and efficient handling of degraded high-voltage battery packs, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 5 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), and wherein the alarm output is configured to be activated in response to a predetermined type of alert of the one or more battery alerts ([0025], [0032], [0041]-[0044], [0046], [0052] & [0055]-[0056]: teaches the controller identifying specific conditions to generate alerts).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the status indicator includes an alarm output including at least one of an audible siren or a flashlight,
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the status indicator includes an alarm output including at least one of an audible siren or a flashlight ([0040]-[0041]: teaches that “any suitable type of output device (e.g., audio and/or visual output device) may be used to provide feedback to a user”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the audio/visual output device taught by Brockman as an audible siren or flashlight, and to activate it in response to a predetermined abnormality flag as taught by Yamauchi. A POSITA would recognize that an audible siren is a standard, commercially available audio output device designed to capture a user’s attention in a noisy environment. Brockman suggests using an “audio and/or visual output device” for battery feedback, and Yamauchi describes deploying these monitors in an industrial warehouse setting (high ambient noise). Substituting a generic audio output device with a loud audible siren is a predictable design choice, that would achieve the result of ensuring critical battery alerts (such as thermal runaway or sever under-voltage) are immediately noticed by personnel who might not be looking directly at the device’s screen, thus yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), wherein the power source comprises a rechargeable battery ([0027]: teaches the portable battery pack monitor has an onboard battery).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 8 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), electrically connected to the rechargeable battery ([0027]: teaches that the power supply circuit 230 is electrically wired/connected to the battery incorporated in the battery pack management device 200 in order to generate the Vcc and Vdd operating voltages).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
further comprising a charging input connector
However, Brockman, further teaches:
further comprising a charging input connector ([0020] & [0061]: teaches the portable monitor possesses an additional, separate connector dedicated to receiving charging power from an external source)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rechargeable portable monitor of Yamauchi to include the charging input connector of Brockman, and to electrically connect this charging input connector to the monitor’s internal rechargeable battery. A POSITA would recognize that a portable diagnostic tool could theoretically recharge by drawing power from the high-voltage battery pack it tests, relying on this method is inefficient, as it depletes the batteries being analyzed and requires the tool to be engaged with a vehicle/pack to charge. Incorporating a dedicated charging input connector, as taught by Brockman, and wiring it to the internal rechargeable battery, the modified device would achieve the predictable advantage of allowing the tool to be recharged from a standard wall outlet or external charger. This represents a simple substitution and routing of known electrical connections to ensure the portable diagnostic tool maintains operational readiness independent of the systems it is testing, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 1 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), further comprising a wireless communication interface ([0027]-[0030] & [0038]: teaches that the portable monitor utilizes radio (wireless) communication hardware) communicatively connected to the controller (Fig. 1; [0027]-[0030]: teaches the direct communication link between the CPU (controller) and the radio communication).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 10 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), wherein the wireless communication interface ([0027]-[0030] & [0038]) includes a wireless LAN and/or cellular data communication interface ([0038]: identifies the wireless protocol/band used by the communication interface as being for a wireless LAN).
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi, in view of Brockman, and further in view of DeSalle et al. (US 2017/0148280 A1, Pub. Date May 25, 2017, hereinafter DeSalle).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitor of claim 11 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, in combination with Brockman, are silent in regard to:
wherein the wireless communication interface includes an alarm output, the alarm output configured to communicate an alarm to emergency response personnel, the alarm output being activated in response to a predetermined type of alert of the one or more battery alerts.
However, DeSalle, further teaches:
wherein the wireless communication interface includes an alarm output ([0015]-[0018] & [0032]-[0035]: teaches the wireless communication interface transmits reports of events (alarms) via text, push notifications or computer-generated phone calls), the alarm output configured to communicate an alarm to emergency response personnel ([0015]-[0018], [0023]-[0025] & [0072]-[0074]: configured to send “emergency notifications” to specific role-related contacts and/or “government operated systems” (e.g., 911 services), based on specialized rules), the alarm output being activated in response to a predetermined type of alert of the one or more battery alerts ([0015]-[0018], [0038]-[0045] & [0139]: the server uses “specialized rules” to determine which contacts are notified based on the “type and severity of the event” (e.g., high temp, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wireless battery monitor of Yamauchi and Brockman to include the rule-based emergency notification routing taught by DeSalle. A POSITA would recognize that high-voltage battery packs pose significant safety hazards, including the risk of severe thermal runaway and fire if internal abnormalities are not addressed. Incorporating DeSalle’s wireless event-routing software to automatically dial or message emergency response personnel, or designated facility safety authorities, when the controller detects a critical, predetermined severity alert (e.g., such as extreme overheating) provides a predictable advantage. Ensuring immediate response intervention without relying on a warehouse worker to manually spot a flashing local LED, thus preventing catastrophic facility damage. This simple implementation of a known wireless notification protocol would improve the safety mechanisms of a known hazardous monitoring environment, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 13, Yamauchi, teaches:
A battery pack monitoring system comprising ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]):
a battery monitor housing that is handled and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: Figs. 3a & 3b; [0041]-[0042]: discloses portable device 200b used during warehouse stock management; Brockman: [0047]);
a controller within the battery monitor housing (Fig.1 [0027]-[0028]: CPU 220);
a memory operatively connected to the controller (Fig. 1; [0027]-[0028]: memory 240) and storing a high voltage battery pack status log ([0025], [0027], [0043] & [0060]: memory 240 storing “battery use history 34c” and abnormality flags);
a rechargeable battery maintained within the battery monitor housing and electrically connected to the controller ([0027]: teaches the portable battery monitor housing has an onboard battery), the rechargeable battery being electrically connectable to the battery management system interface associated with a high voltage battery pack (Disclosed in Combination: Yamauchi: [0027]: teaches that the power supply circuit 230 is electrically wired/connected to the battery incorporated in the battery pack management device 200 in order to generate the Vcc and Vdd operating voltages; Brockman: [0058]: connector 160 transmits power across the interface from the battery to the tool) the high voltage battery pack being one among the plurality of high voltage battery packs ([0003], [0008]-[0010], [0022]-[0023] & [0026]-[0029]), wherein the battery pack management system and the high voltage battery pack are enclosed within a battery pack housing that is separate and external to the battery monitor housing (Figs. 2, 3a & 3b; [0039]-[0041] & [0043]); and
wherein the controller is configured to ([0025], [0032], [0041]-[0044] & [0056]: receives state info, stores in memory, flags abnormalities):
store the state information in the memory ([0041]-[0046]);
based on the state information, generate one or more battery status alerts at the user interface (Disclosed in Combination: Yamauchi: [0041]-[0046] & [0054]-[0056]: receives state info, stores in memory, flags abnormalities; Brockman: [0047]-[0058] & [0059]: receives state info via wire, generates UI alerts); and
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
a battery pack dongle configurable for wired connection-to a battery management system interface of a battery management system with a high-voltage battery pack, the battery dongle comprising:
a wired battery pack connector;
via the wired battery pack connector,
a user interface;
receive, via the wired battery interface, state information from the high voltage
battery pack;
However, Brockman, further teaches:
a battery pack dongle configurable for wired connection-to a battery management system interface of a battery management system with a high-voltage battery pack ([0003]-[0005], [0016], [0019]-[0020] & [0047]: data input/output tool 112/state of charge indicator 20), the battery dongle comprising ([0003]-[0005], [0016], [0019]-[0020] & [0047]):
a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs (Disclosed in combination: Brockman: [0047]: discloses external diagnostic input/output tool 112 carried to different batteries to download historical data logs and transmit data to the battery management system; Yamauchi: [0041]);
a wired battery pack connector (Fig. 6; [0054]-[0060]: multi-conductor connector 160 linking to BMS connector 18);
via the wired battery pack connector (Disclosed in combination: Brockman: Fig. 6; [0054]-[0061]: multi-conductor connector 160 linking to BMS connector 18, connector 160 transmits power across the interface from the battery to the tool; Yamauchi: [0027]),
a user interface ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0045], [0047]-[0048] & [0058]-[0062]: visual indicator lights (e.g., LEDs), graphic(s), and buttons 190);
receive, via the wired battery interface, state information from the high voltage battery pack ([0047]-[0048] & [0054]-[0060]: diagnostic input/output tool receives data via wired pins coupled to connector 18, which is coupled to connector of the state of charge indicator 20);
based on the state information, generate one or more battery status alerts at the user interface (Disclosed in Combination: Brockman: [0047]-[0059]: receives state info via wire, generates UI alerts; Yamauchi: [0041]-[0046] & [0054]-[0056]: receives state info, stores in memory, flags abnormalities)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify portable battery pack monitoring system of Yamauchi to include the physical, wired multi-conductor diagnostic interface with handheld data input/output tool configuration, and visual user interface taught by Brockman. Brockman’s wired connector transmits power from the tested battery to the diagnostic tool. Therefore, it would be an obvious design choice to use this power to recharge the internal battery taught by Yamauchi, ensuring the device remains powered during field use. A POSITA would also recognize that Yamauchi’s wireless communication is beneficial for checking batteries from a distance. Brockman teaches that utilizing a physical, multi-conductor interface provides a highly secure, reliable, and high-bandwidth connection capable of downloading extensive historical data logs without interruption. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to equip Yamauchi’s portable diagnostic device with the wired diagnostic port and connector of Brockman to provide the predictable advantage of a stable, interference-free connection for downloading critical abnormality flags and state information, and use Brockman’s wired connect to recharge the internal battery, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Yamauchi, in combination with Brockman, are silent in regard to:
communicate the state information to a remote system.
However, DeSalle, further teaches:
communicate the state information to a remote system ([0017]-[0018]: reports events/state to a “remote cloud-based data collection and distribution server”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamauchi’s device to include the physical, wired multi-conductor diagnostic connector and visual user interface taught by Brockman. Brockman’s wired connector transmits power from the tested battery to the diagnostic tool. Therefore, it would be an obvious design choice to use this power to recharge the internal battery taught by Yamauchi, ensuring the device remains powered during field use. To ensure critical state information and battery alerts are rapidly disseminated beyond the local user interface, it would be obvious to configure the controller to transit the state information to a remote cloud-based server/system as taught by DeSalle, allowing off-site engineers or emergency personnel to monitor the health of the high-voltage batteries, according to known methods, and yield predicable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the battery pack dongle further comprises a diagnostics connector electrically connectable to a diagnostics tool.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the battery pack dongle ([0003]-[0005], [0016], [0019]-[0020] & [0047]) further comprises a diagnostics connector ([0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047] & [0061]-[0062]: dongle includes a second connector 174 or 178 used for coupling to external analyzing devices (e.g., charger/maintainer 24 or computer)) electrically connectable to a diagnostics tool ([0042]-[0043], [0046]-[0047] & [0061]-[0062]: second connector electrically couples the tool to a “charger/maintainer 24”, which evaluates the battery or to a “processing device, such as a computer, for analysis”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined Yamauchi/Brockman battery pack dongle to include the secondary diagnostics connector as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize the predictable advantage of outfitting the portable dongle with a secondary pass-through connector, allowing the portable dongle to act as a local hub. Providing this connector enables a technician to plug-in a more complex diagnostics computer (e.g., a laptop with advanced diagnostic software) directly into the dongle to run localized tests or retrieve system logs, all without needing to disconnect the dongle from the high-voltage battery pack or sever its wireless connection to the remote cloud server. This represents a simple integration of a known physical data port to perform its established function of routing diagnostic data to secondary analysis tools, according to known methods, thus improving the overall versatility of the battery maintenance workflow, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]),
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the user interface further includes a status indicator and one or more programming buttons.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the user interface ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0045] & [0047]-[0048]: state of charge indicator 20 and data input/output tool 112 act as a user interface for reading outputs and providing inputs) further includes a status indicator ([0016], [0040]-[0042], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0055] & [0058]-[0060]: teaches visual indicator lights (e.g., LEDs or graphic) indicating the state of charge) and one or more programming buttons ([0045]-[0048], [0052] & [0061]-[0065]: teaches a “reset button 190” to control/program operation modes and an I/O tool 112 interface used to upload algorithms and thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the user interface of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable battery pack dongle to include the user interface with status indicators and programming buttons as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that a portable diagnostic device requires a mechanism to visually relay the state information to a technician and a mechanism to accept technician inputs. Incorporating Brockman’s status indicators provides the predictable advantage of allowing a technician to rapidly and visually ascertain the health of a battery pack (e.g., via green/red LEDs or a graphic(s)) without needing to parse through complex data logs. Incorporating the programming buttons provides the predictable advantage of allowing the technician to control the battery’s operational state (e.g., forcing a sleep mode for maintenance) or to upload updated threshold algorithms directly from a handheld tool, and yield predictable results (KSR). This represents a straightforward implementation user-interface hardware to increase the local usability of the diagnostic tool.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), and wherein the cloud server is configured to analyze battery state information received from a plurality of high voltage battery packs via a plurality of battery pack dongles (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: [0041]-[0044]: checks different battery packs among a plurality of high voltage battery packs; DeSalle: [0017]-[0018], [0049]-[0051] & [0070]-[0071]: the cloud server receives and processes reports of events from “multiple monitoring devices” monitoring “multiple individual pieces of equipment”).
Yamauchi, in combination with Brockman, are silent in regard to:
further comprising the remote system, wherein the remote system comprises a cloud server communicatively connected to the battery pack dongle and configured to receive the state information from the battery pack dongle, and wherein the cloud server is configured to analyze battery state information received from a plurality of high voltage battery packs via a plurality of battery pack dongles.
However, DeSalle, further teaches:
further comprising the remote system ([0017]-[0018]: discloses a “remote cloud-based data collection and distribution server”), wherein the remote system comprises a cloud server communicatively connected to the battery pack dongle and configured to receive the state information from the battery pack dongle ([0015]-[0018], [0023], [0032]-[0035], [0038]-[0045] & [0139]: teaches reporting events/states to a remote cloud-based server connected to a network (Internet) via the monitoring device’s network interface), and wherein the cloud server is configured to analyze battery state information received from a plurality of high voltage battery packs via a plurality of battery pack dongles (Disclosed in combination: DeSalle: [0017]-[0018], [0049]-[0051] & [0070]-[0071]: the cloud server receives and processes reports of events from “multiple monitoring devices” monitoring “multiple individual pieces of equipment”; Yamauchi: [0041]-[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the remote system of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman battery monitoring architecture as a cloud server configured to analyze data from a plurality of dongles, as taught by DeSalle. A POSITA would recognize that utilizing a local host controller, as in Yamauchi, limits data analysis to a single geographic location (e.g., one specific warehouse or vehicle). Upgrading the data collection to a cloud-based server architecture, as taught by DeSalle, provides a predictable advantage of centralized fleet management. By routing the same information from a plurality of battery pack dongles to a single cloud server, technicians and engineers can remotely monitor, analyze, and verify health and safety statuses of a distributed fleet of high-voltage battery packs from just about anywhere. This integration would represent a simple application of known cloud computing environments to a known network of distributed sensors to achieve the established benefit of global data aggregation and remote analysis, according to known methods, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), wherein the rechargeable battery ([0027]: power supply circuit 230 powered by an “incorporated battery”)
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
is configured to be recharged via the wired battery pack connector from the high voltage battery pack connected thereto.
However, Brockman, further teaches:
is configured to be recharged via the wired battery pack connector from the high voltage battery pack connected thereto ([0020] & [0054]-[0062]: teaches transmitting power from the tested battery pack to the portable monitor via the wired connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the internal rechargeable battery of the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable dongle to be recharged via the wired battery pack connector using power drawn from the connected high-voltage battery pack, as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that portable diagnostic tools require consistent power to avoid shutting down during lengthy data extraction or cloud-synchronization processes. Brockman teaches a wired connection that actively supplies operating power from the high-voltage battery pack to the monitor. Routing this incoming electrical power to trickle-charge the tool’s internal battery would be an obvious and standard engineering practice. This design choice provides the predictable advantage of extending the operational field-life of the portable dongle without requiring the technician to return to a charging station, utilizing the massive energy reserves of the tested high-voltage battery pack to maintain the diagnostic tool’s readiness, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Yamauchi, teaches:
The battery pack monitoring system of claim 13 ([Abstract], [0001]-[0002], [0027] & [0041]), and wherein the state information includes one or more state of charge (SOC) and state of health (SOH) parameter ([0009]-[0010], [0025], [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0043]-[0044], [0052], [0054] & [0059]-[0060]: teaches acquiring information to detect the “charge state (SOC: State of Charge)” and the “degradation state (SOH: State of Health)”).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
wherein the wired battery pack connector comprises a connection interface including a multi-conductor connection arrangement providing power and communication lines,
However, Brockman, further teaches:
wherein the wired battery pack connector comprises a connection interface including a multi-conductor connection arrangement providing power and communication lines ([0048]-[0052] & [0054]-[0062]: teaches a multi-conductor with dedicated pins for power input/output and data (communication) input/output),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the multi-conductor connection arrangement taught by Brockman in the combined Yamauchi/Brockman portable dongle, and to extract the specific SOC and SOH parameters taught by Yamauchi over the connection lines. A POSITA would recognize that consolidated power and data transmission into a single multi-conductor interface is standard engineering practice designed to simplify cable management and reduce hardware footprint on portable diagnostic tools. Providing dedicated power and communication lines provides the predictable advantage of allowing the portable dongle to draw continuous power from the high-voltage battery pack while simultaneously downloading SOC and SOH data parameters over the parallel data lines. This combination is a simple substitution of known elements performing their established functions to increase the reliability and efficiency of the portable diagnostic tool, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 19, Yamauchi, teaches:
A method of monitoring a battery pack via a dongle ([Abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0009]-[0010], [0027] & [0041]: battery pack management device 200 constitutes the dongle), the method comprising ([Abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0009]-[0010], [0027] & [0041]):
receiving battery state information from a battery management system associated with a high voltage battery pack ([0009]-[0010], [0025]-[0026], [0029], [0032]-[0033], [0043]-[0044], [0052], [0054] & [0059]-[0060]), the high voltage battery pack being one among a plurality of high voltage battery packs ([0003], [0008]-[0010], [0022]-[0023], [0025]-[0029] & [0044]), wherein the dongle comprises a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among the plurality of high voltage battery packs (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: Figs. 3a & 3b; [0027] & [0041]-[0042]: portable device used for multiple packs; Brockman: [0047]: portable diagnostic input/output tool 112 carried to different batteries), wherein the dongle comprises a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among the plurality of high voltage battery packs (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: [0027] & [0041]-[0042]: portable device used for multiple packs; Brockman: [0047]: portable diagnostic input/output tool 112 carried to different batteries), that encloses a controller (Fig.1; [0027]-[0028]: CPU 220) and memory (Fig. 1; [0027]-[0028]: memory 240), and wherein the battery management system and the high voltage battery are enclosed within a battery pack housing that is separate and external to the battery monitor housing (Figs. 2, 3a & 3b; [0039]-[0041] & [0043]);
storing, via the controller, the battery state information in the memory of the battery pack dongle ([0025] & [0041]-[0046]: CPU/control circuit records the acquired information in the memory as measurement information);
based on the battery state information obtained from the battery management system, generating, via the controller ([0041]-[0046] & [0054]-[0056]: generates abnormality flags (safety alerts) from the state information), a display indicative of the battery state information at a user interface of the battery pack dongle (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: [0041]-[0046] & [0054]-56]: generates abnormality flags (safety alerts) from the safety information; Brockman: [0040] & [0047]-[0059]: generates a visual indication display (e.g., LEDs, and/or graphic(s)) at the tool’s interface to alert of a critical/adverse battery state), the display being indicative of a battery safety alert (Disclosed in combination: Yamauchi: [0041]-[0046] & [0054]-56]; Brockman: [0040] & [0047]-[0059]).
Yamauchi, is silent in regard to:
at a battery pack dongle via a wired battery pack connector,
However, Brockman, further teaches:
at a battery pack dongle ([0003]-[0005], [0016], [0019]-[0020] & [0047]) via a wired battery pack connector (Fig. 6; [0054]-[0061]: receives data via a wired “multi-conductor connector”),
wherein the dongle comprises a battery monitor housing that is handheld and portable for use with different high voltage battery packs among the plurality of high voltage battery packs (Disclosed in combination: Brockman: [0047]: portable diagnostic input/output tool 112 carried to different batteries; Yamauchi: [0027] & [0041]-[0042]: portable device used for multiple packs),
a display indicative of the battery state information at a user interface of the battery pack dongle (Disclosed in combination: Brockman: [0040] & [0047]-[0059]: generates a visual indication display (e.g., LEDs, and/or graphic(s)) at the tool’s interface to alert of a critical/adverse battery state; Yamauchi: [0041]-[0046] & [0054]-56]: generates abnormality flags (safety alerts) from the safety information), the display being indicative of a battery safety alert (Disclosed in combination: Brockman: [0040] & [0047]-[0059]; Yamauchi: [0041]-[0046] & [0054]-56]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery monitoring method of Yamauchi to include the steps of receiving the state information via a wired connector and generating a visual display of the battery safety alert on the portable device, as taught by Brockman. A POSITA would recognize that performing diagnostics wirelessly, as in Yamauchi, can be unreliable in industrial settings with high RF interference, necessitating the known method of extracting data via a physical, wired diagnostic port, as taught by Brockman, to ensure secure data transfer(s). Modifying the method to generate a visual display of the abnormality flag directly on the portable dongle provides a predictable advantage of immediately alerting the onsite technician to a dangerous battery condition (e.g., sever fault or deep discharge) without requiring the technician to interface with a separate computer terminal. The combination represents the application of known data extraction and display techniques to yield a reliable, local verifiable method of battery methods, according to known methods, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Yamauchi, teaches:
The method of claim 19 ([Abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0009]-[0010], [0027] & [0041]), further comprising communicating the battery state information ([0032]-[0033]) of the battery pack dongle ([Abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0009]-[0010], [0027] & [0041]: battery pack management device 200 constitutes the dongle).
Yamauchi, in combination with Brockman, are silent in regard to:
to a cloud server via a wireless communication interface
However, DeSalle, further teaches:
to a cloud server ([0017]-[0018]: teaches reporting events/states to a “remote cloud-based data collection and distribution server” connected to the Internet) via a wireless communication interface ([0015]-[0018], [0023], [0032]-[0035] & [0139]: method utilizes a “wireless communication interface 218” on the monitoring device to transmit the reports)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery monitoring method of Yamauchi/Brockman to include the step of communicating the battery state information to a cloud server via the dongle’s wireless communication interface, as taught by DeSalle. A POSITA would recognize that transmitting critical battery state information to a centralized cloud server, as taught by DeSalle, rather than a localized host controller (Yamauchi) provides the predictable advantage of widespread, decentralized data access. Employing the dongles wireless interface to push the extracted data to the cloud, the modified method enables fleet managers, engineers, and emergency personnel to monitor the health and safety of high-voltage battery packs globally, independent of the technician’s proximity to a local host network. This represents a simple incorporation of known cloud-reporting methods via standard wireless hardware to achieve the established benefit of remote system monitoring and alert distribution, according to known methods, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 19, 2026
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 19, 2026