Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach applying a “flexible push” to a side of the transfer substrate on which the electronic component is not disposed or the non-bonded side of the objective substrate. Specifically that the needle 226 of Wednt is not that of a “flexible push”.
Examiner asserts “flexibly push” is a broad term and consistent with the dictionary definition of flexible as capable of bending or flexing. Wendt (US 2018/0141163) paragraph 63 discloses needle 226 may be formed from metal, ceramic, plastic, etc. A person of ordinary skill would recognize these materials can flex/bend to some degree, particularly plastic. Wednt further teaches the needle repeatedly operates without tip breakage or wafer damage. Applicant neither specifies the required flexibility nor claims a gas filled airbag push generator in independent claim 5 that would distinguish over Wendt.
Examiner Suggestion
The Examiner suggests that the Applicant amend independent claim 5 to specific that the flexible push consists of a gas-filled airbag. Furthermore, the Examiner recommends that the Applicant further clarify the distinguishing features believed to overcome the prior art of record and incorporate those distinctions into the independent claim. The examiner remains available for an interview should the Applicant wish to discuss these suggestions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5, 8-9, & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wendt et al. (US 2018/0141163) [Hereinafter Wednt].
Regarding claim 5, Wendt teaches A method of bonding an electronic component, comprising:
providing a transfer substrate [fig. 2A, wafer tape 218, para 53] comprising a side [bottom side] on which the electronic component [fig. 2A, die 220, para 54] is disposed [fig. 2A];
providing an objective substrate [fig. 2A, substrate/circuit trace 210/212, para 50] having a bonded side [top side] and a non-bonded side [bottom side];
making the side (bottom side) of the transfer substrate in which the electronic component (fig. 2A, 220) is disposed face the bonded side (top side) of the objective substrate (fig. 2A, 210);
making the transfer substrate (fig. 2B, 218) and the objective substrate (fig. 2B, 210/212) approach each other until the electronic component contacts the bonded side of the objective substrate [fig. 2B, para 64, “Thus, the die 220 may be pressed via the needle 226 toward the product substrate 210 to the extent that the electrical contact terminals (not shown) of the die are able to bond with the circuit trace 212, at which point, the transfer operation proceeds to completion and the die 220 is released from the wafer tape 218.”];
applying a flexible push [fig. 2B, needle 226, para 62-63] to a side of the transfer substrate (fig. 2, 218) on which the electronic component (fig. 2, 220) is not disposed or the non-bonded side of the objective substrate (fig.2);
and applying an energy beam [fig. 2B, laser 236, para 71] to the electronic component (fig. 2, 220), so that the electronic component is released from the transfer substrate and bonded on the bonded side of the objective substrate [para 71, “Upon actuation of a predetermined controlled pulse duration of the laser 236 , the circuit trace 212 may begin to cure (and/or melt or soften) to an extent that a fusing bond may form between the material of the circuit trace 212 and the electrical contact terminals (not shown) on the die 220 . This bond further assists in separating the unpackaged die 220 from the wafer tape 218 , as well as simultaneously affixing the die 220 to the product substrate 210.” ]
Regarding claim 8, Wednt teaches The method of bonding the electronic component according to claim 5, wherein the energy beam is a laser beam [fig. 2B, laser 236, para 71].
Regarding claim 9, Wednt teaches The method of bonding the electronic component according to claim 5,
wherein the electronic component is a light-emitting diode [para 35, “ the machine may secure a product substrate for receiving “unpackaged” dies, such as LEDs . . . .”].
Regarding claim 11, Wednt teaches A method for manufacturing a light-emitting diode display,
comprising bonding a light-emitting diode [fig. 2B, die 220, para 35/54] using the method for bonding the electronic component according to claim 9 [as noted above Wendt teaches the method of claim 9].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt as applied to claims 5, 8-9, & 11 and further in view of Zhou et al. (CN 112151437A) [Hereinafter Zhou].
Regarding claim 6, Wednt teaches The method of bonding the electronic component according to claim 5,
wherein the flexible push is generated by an airbag pushing the side of the transfer substrate that is not provided with the electronic component or the non-bonded side of the objective substrate.
Wednt fails to explicitly disclose wherein the flexible push is generated by an airbag pushing the side of the transfer substrate that is not provided with the electronic component or the non-bonded side of the objective substrate.
Wednt notes in para 72, “Furthermore, a vacuum may be implemented to pull a die from the wafer tape, and air pressure may be implemented to push the die onto a product substrate.”
However Zhou teaches wherein the flexible push is generated by an airbag [fig. 7-9, airbag 311] pushing the side of the transfer substrate that is not provided with the electronic component or the non-bonded side of the objective substrate [para 47-49].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the air pressure to be provided by an airbag to achieve uniform pressure across many tiny components simultaneously preventing damage and ensuring all components are bonded correctly.
Regarding claim 7, Wednt/Zhou teaches The method of bonding the electronic component according to claim 6,
wherein the airbag is produced by inflating a pouch [Zhou, para 47-49].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt as applied to claims 5, 8-9, & 11 and further in view of Ning et al. (CN207217549U).
Regarding claim 10, Wednt teaches The method of bonding the electronic component according to claim 5,
Wednt fails to explicitly disclose wherein the objective substrate is a thin film transistor substrate.
Wednt notes in para 44, “The term “product substrate” may include, but is not limited to: a wafer tape (for example, to presort the dies and create sorted die sheets for future use); a paper or polymer substrate formed as a sheet or other non-planar shape, where the polymer—translucent or otherwise—may be selected from any suitable polymers, including, but not limited to, a silicone, an acrylic, a polyester, a polycarbonate, etc.; a circuit board (such as a printed circuit board (PCB)); a string or thread circuit, which may include a pair of conductive wires or “threads” extending in parallel; and a cloth material of cotton, nylon, rayon, leather, etc.”
However Ning teaches a thin film transistor substrate comprising a nanopaper substrate [ “A nanopaper substrate thin film transistor comprises a hard substrate, a nanopaper substrate . . . .”].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the product substrate as taught by Wednt to be that of a thin film transistor substrate comprising nanopaper due to its high flexibility for flexible electronics, low cost, and environmental sustainability.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812