Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 03/13/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210257349 A1 hereinafter Yang in further view of US 20170115786 A1 hereinafter Kimura.
For claim 1, Yang teaches a display device comprising: a bank layer defining an emission area (Yang, fig. 3 numeral 40) in which light-emitting elements are disposed (fig. 3 numeral 30; fig. 4 shows multiple light emitting elements being disposed in the emitting area); a first electrode (fig. 3 numeral 26) and a second electrode (fig. 3 numeral 27) that are spaced apart from each other in the emission area, the light-emitting elements being disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 3 shows the light-emitting element 30 disposed between the first and second electrode); a first connection electrode electrically connecting the first electrode and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral 21(OE)); a second connection electrode electrically connecting the second electrode and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral 22(IE)); and an electrode pattern layer disposed above the bank layer, the light emitting elements, the first electrode, and the second electrode (fig. 3 numerals 21 and 22 shows an electrode pattern layer on the bank layer with parts above the other components; fig. 2 shows the electrode pattern layer covering the bank pattern 40 over contact holes CT1 and CT2). Figure 2 and figure 14 show the electrodes on the bank and the electrodes inside the area between the banks are separated and are individual electrodes (fig. 2 and 14, numeral 21(OE) and 22(IE); Par. [0103 – 0104]). Yang is silent regarding the electrode pattern layer including a lattice pattern not overlapping the emission area and that surrounds the edges of the emission area; and a slit pattern overlapping the emission area.
Kimura teaches a display device (Kimura; fig. 6) with an electrode pattern layer comprising a lattice pattern not overlapping the emission area and surrounding the emission area (fig. 6 numeral 6; fig. 7 numeral 6 and 60); and a slit pattern overlapping the emission area (fig. 6 shows slits separating the lattice pattern of the electrode pattern 6 and overlapping the emission areas shown by letters R, B, and G; fig. 7 numeral S).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the lattice pattern and slit pattern in Kimura with the electrode pattern layer and light-emitting elements in Yang in order to prevent peeling by increasing the adhesion between layers (Kimura, Par. [0127]; Par. [0068]).
For claim 2, Yang and Kimura teach all of claim 1. Yang teaches the electrode pattern layer overlapping the bank layer (Yang, fig. 3 numeral 21) and the electrode pattern layer includes a gap in the emission area where the light-emitting element is present (fig. 3). Kimura teaches the lattice pattern being present outside the light-emission area and not overlapping the emission area (Kimura, fig. 6 numeral 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combined device of Yang and Kimura can be modified to exclude the electrode pattern layer from the emission area so to have the slit pattern over the light-emitting elements as shown in Kimura and to have the electrode pattern on the bank layer as shown in Yang in order to prevent light from being blocked by the electrode pattern layer while providing structural support to the electrode layer to prevent stress fractures and other damage caused by outside force. Kimura focuses on the adhesion strength and preventing damage from outside forces through the electrode pattern layer (Kimura, Par. [0127 – 0128]). Yang focuses on improving light emission efficiency through the use of the electrode pattern layer (Yang, Par. [0171]).
For claim 3, Yang and Kimura teaches all of claim 2. Yang also teaches a first supply voltage applied to the first electrode (Yang, Par. [0084 – 0085]), a second supply voltage having a lower level than a level of the first supply voltage is applied to the second electrode (Par. [0084 – 0085]), and the electrode pattern layer further comprises a contact electrically connected to the second electrode (fig. 3 shows electrode pattern layer 22 in contact with the second electrode 27).
For claim 4, Yang and Kimura teaches all of claim 3. Yang also teaches the second electrode being in direct contact with the contact of the electrode (Yang, fig. 3 numeral 22(IE) shows the contact of the pattern electrode layer in direct contact with the second electrode 27).
Claim(s) 5 – 7, and 9 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210257349 A1 hereinafter Yang in further view of US 20170115786 A1 hereinafter Kimura and in further view of US 20200033689 A1 hereinafter Lee.
For claim 5, Yang and Kimura teach all of claim 1. Yang and Kimura are silent regarding the slit pattern comprising a plurality of scattering members spaced apart from one another with slits extended to traverse the emission area therebetween, and at least one of the plurality of scattering members overlaps the light-emitting elements.
Lee teaches a display device (Lee, fig. 16) with a slit pattern comprising a plurality of scattering members (fig. 16 numeral 250), the scattering members spaced apart from each other (each scattering member 250 is spaced by area OA), with slits extended to traverse the emission area therebetween and at least one of the plurality of scattering members overlaps the light-emitting elements (fig. 16 shows scattering members 250 traversing emission areas by being over emitting layers EL with gaps between forming slits in the emission areas OA; fig. 2 shows the light L emitting by the elements overlapping with the scattering members 250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the scattering members in Lee with the light-emitting elements in Yang and the lattice pattern in Kimura in order to improve the viewing angle of the device (Lee, Par. [0082]).
For claim 6, Yang, Kimura, and Lee teach all of claim 5. Lee also teaches a capping layer disposed between the light-emitting elements and the plurality of scattering members (Lee, fig. 17 numeral 270); and a wavelength conversion material disposed on an upper surface of the plurality of scattering members to convert a wavelength of light output from the light-emitting elements (fig. 17 numeral 550).
For claim 7, Yang, Kimura, and Lee teach all of claim 6. Kimura teaches the lattice pattern comprising black carbon (Kimura, Par. [0014]; Par. [0055 – 0056]). Lee teaches the scattering members being comprised of black carbon (Lee, Par. [0074 – 0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the scattering members and the lattice pattern in Yang, Kimura, and Lee could be made out of the same material, as the prior art teaches the same material for each component and to save on manufacturing costs by only using the one material instead of using multiple that would require swapping depositing or formation methods.
For claim 9, Yang, Kimura, and Lee teach all of claim 6. Lee also teaches the slits extending in a direction parallel to an extending direction of the light-emitting elements (Lee, fig. 16 shows light emitting elements EL extending in multiple directions, and the slits formed by the scattering members 250 has dimensions extending parallel to portions of the light-emitting elements). A specific direction would be the top layer of the scattering member 250 and the light-emitting elements EL extend parallel to each other in the horizontal direction.
For claim 10, Yang, Kimura, and Lee teach all of claim 6. Lee also teaches the slits extending in a direction that intersects an extending direction of the light-emitting elements (Lee, fig. 16 shows light emitting elements EL extending in multiple directions, and the slits formed by the scattering members 250 has dimensions extending and intersecting the extending directions of the light-emitting elements). A specific direction would be the side layers of the scattering member 250 and the light-emitting elements EL extend in directions that intersect to each other in diagonals, as they taper upward.
Claim(s) 11 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210257349 A1 hereinafter Yang in further view of US 20120105337 A1 hereinafter Jun.
For claim 11, Yang teaches a display device comprising: a first electrode disposed on a substrate to receive a first supply voltage (Yang, fig. 3 numeral 26); a second electrode spaced apart from the first electrode on the substrate to receive a second supply voltage having a level lower than a level of the first supply voltage (fig. 3 numeral 27; Par. [0084 – 0085]); light-emitting elements disposed on a space between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 3 numeral 30; fig. 4 numeral 30); a capping layer disposed above the first electrode, the second electrode, and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral 53); and a first connection electrode electrically connecting the first electrode and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral 21(OE)) and a second connection electrode electrically connecting the second electrode and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral (IE)). Yang does not teach a ground electrode disposed on the capping layer and electrically connected to the second electrode.
Jun teaches a display device (Jun, fig. 3) including a capping layer (fig. 3 numeral 45) with a ground electrode disposed on the capping layer (fig. 3 numeral 70; Par. [0074]; Par. [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the ground electrode in Jun with the capping layer and electrodes in Yang in order to better control the voltage and capacitance in the device and prevent short circuiting or other damage.
For claim 12, Yang and Jun teach all of claim 11. Yang also teaches a second supply voltage line (fig. 3 numeral VL2) disposed between the substrate (fig. 3 numeral 11) and the second electrode (fig. 3 numeral 27) and applying the second supply voltage to the second electrode (Par. [0084 – 0085]); and a driver disposed on the substrate to apply a driving signal to the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral DT), wherein the second supply voltage line and the driver are electrically connected with each other (Par. [0085]).
For claim 13, Yang and Jun teach all of claim 12. Yang also teaches a via insulating layer disposed between the second voltage line and the second electrode (Yang, fig. 3 numeral 19) and wherein the second electrode is in electrical contact with the second supply voltage line through an electrode contact hole penetrating the via insulating layer (fig. 3 numeral CT2; Par. [0093 - 0094]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210257349 A1 hereinafter Yang in further view of US 20200033689 A1 hereinafter Lee.
For claim 18, Yang teaches a display device comprising: a bank layer defining an emission area (Yang, fig. 3 numeral 40) in which light-emitting elements are disposed (fig. 3 numeral 30; fig. 4 shows multiple light emitting elements being disposed in the emitting area); a first electrode (fig. 3 numeral 26) and a second electrode (fig. 3 numeral 27) that are spaced apart from each other in the emission area, the light-emitting elements being disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 3 shows the light-emitting element 30 disposed between the first and second electrode); a first connection electrode electrically connecting the first electrode and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral 21(OE)) and a second connection electrode electrically connecting the second electrode and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral (IE)), and a capping layer disposed above the first electrode, the second electrode, and the light-emitting elements (fig. 3 numeral 53). Yang is silent regarding the display device including a plurality of scattering members disposed on the capping layer such that the plurality of scattering members are spaced apart from one another, and wherein at least one scattering member among the plurality of scattering members overlaps the light-emitting elements.
Lee teaches a display device (Lee, fig. 16) with a slit pattern comprising a plurality of scattering members (fig. 16 numeral 250), the scattering members spaced apart from each other (each scattering member 250 is spaced by area OA), with slits extended to traverse the emission area therebetween and at least one of the plurality of scattering members overlaps the light-emitting elements (fig. 16 shows scattering members 250 traversing emission areas by being over emitting layers EL with gaps between forming slits in the emission areas OA; fig. 2 shows the light L emitting by the elements overlapping with the scattering members 250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the scattering members in Lee with the light-emitting elements in Yang in order to improve the viewing angle of the device (Lee, Par. [0082]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim 8, Kimura, Lee, and Yang are silent regarding the scattering members comprising a transparent conductive oxide and that, as claim 8 is dependent on claim 7, that the lattice pattern would also comprise a transparent oxide. While Yang specifically teaches the use of transparent conductive materials such as indium tin oxide and other oxides (Yang, Par. [0097]), Kimura and Lee specifically teach absorbing materials comprising black carbon, and not a transparent oxide. The use of a transparent oxide in Kimura and Lee for the lattice pattern and the scattering members combined would teach away from the absorbing benefits taught in Kimura and Lee.
For claim 14, Kimura, Lee, Yang, and Jun teach the electrode contact hole passing through the capping layer (Yang, fig. 3 numeral CT1 and CT2). Kimura, Lee, Yang, and Jun do not appear to teach the ground electrode being in direct contact with the second electrode through the electrode contact hole. Yang appears to teach the electrode contact hole allowing for direct contact between the voltage line and the upper electrode, but the second electrode (Yang, fig. 3 numeral 27) is isolated from the contact hole by the surrounding layers.
For claim 16, Lee does tach the scattering members spaced apart from one another, and at least one member overlaps the light-emitting elements (Lee, fig. 16 shows elements EL overlapping scattering members 250). Lee, Kimura, Yang, and Jun do not teach the ground electrode and the plurality of scattering members comprising a same material. Lee teaches the scattering members comprising a black carbon while Jun is silent regarding the use of black carbon as an electrode material and the use of black carbon material as an electrode does not appear to be common in the art and would likely teach away from the use of oxide electrodes taught in Yang, Kimura, and Jun.
For claim 19, Lee, Kimura, Yang, and Jun do not appear to teach the plurality of scattering members not overlapping the bank layer. Lee appears to specifically teach that he scattering members should overlap the bank layers (Lee fig. 16 shows bank layers B and the scattering members 250 overlapping).
Claims 15, 17, and 20 are allowed primarily as being dependent on an allowable claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments focus on the prior art not teaching a first and second connecting electrodes connecting the first electrode and the light emitting elements and the second electrode and the light emitting elements. However, the prior appears to include connecting electrodes that connect to the first and second electrodes and the light emitting elements (see the above rejection). As the prior art appears to teach the limitations of the claims, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230155064 A1 teaches a display device with multipole electrodes including connection electrodes connecting the light emitting diode to other layers and a pair of electrodes spaced apart from each other with the light emitting diode located between the pair of electrodes.
/J.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815